sammyjo90 wrote: » topper for a pencil sharpener
deise08 wrote: » topper- sharpener.
Nimr wrote: » Surely, we weren't the only ones that called them 'parers' :eek: I've never actually heard the word 'topper' before..
Sam Kade wrote: » Never heard of flogs in Ireland, what part are you from?
MakeEmLaugh wrote: » Most Irish do, but plenty of English do as well. I personally pronounce it 'Aitch', but that's because I teach English and that is technically how it should be pronounced.
Dozen Wicked Words wrote: » Parer here too
deise08 wrote: » Marla. pronounced more la. they call plasticine.
goz83 wrote: » The word "the" almost doesn't exist with the ordinary english person. "I'm going down pub" "Put bag down" "I am best"
tommy100 wrote: » also chatting to someone and you say 'your man or your one'. an english bloke was totally confused when I said "I was talking to yer one (yer man). he said, who is my man.
gvn wrote: » Mála (pronounced maw-la) is what I and everyone I knew when young called modelling clay.
Steve wrote: » Irish person: What's the craic? English person: /looks at ceiling " I think there may have been a leak at some point"
mikemac1 wrote: » Ask the English barman for a rock shandy, a red lemonade and two packs of tayto and you will disappointed Brennans bread has bus stop advertising about fixing yourself a sambo. I was told that's a racist term in England, anyone confirm?
aunt aggie wrote: » Someone in England asks how are you? I say "Grand now" They ask what was wrong earlier... Also a topper is actually called a pencil parer and no one in England has ever heard the term topper before.. i had to make the gesture for topping a pencil to be understood!!
Sam Kade wrote: » I'm Irish and around a long time I've never heard of a pencil parer called a topper.
MakeEmLaugh wrote: » Living in England, I've noticed things I say that no one in England says. Here are a couple of examples.
Sam Kade wrote: » They call Ireland Island, America is Americur. They call the ground the floor, they still can't distinguish between outdoors and indoors :rolleyes: