Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Dord wrote: »
    Welcome to the club! We actually have money! :D :pac:

Congrats on the jerb!

Yaaaay! :pac:

Thank ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Congrats on the new job TP:D i dont know the garage in question but sounds like loads of fun and you will get plenty more hands on experience

davycc wrote: »
    Congrats on the new job TP:D i dont know the garage in question but sounds like loads of fun and you will get plenty more hands on experience

It's a little one outside of kildare, nice set up so it is! I'll be bursting with it at the end of it :pac: Tomorrow I'm reassembling a reanult megane, something with a rover 75 and doing the brakes on the camper we were at today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Saw a drunk driver on Newbridge roads about 20 minutes ago.

03-D Green MK4 Golf.

If I remembered the reg I'd be making a phone call to Gardai right at this minute.

Can't believe there are still eejits like that out there.

Hope you get caught, fcukface.

you should have called the cops anyway to be honest- enough for them to go by for starters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

davycc wrote: »
    you should have called the cops anyway to be honest- enough for them to go by for starters

Didn't have my phone on me :( You suggest I call now? They won't find him at this stage either way :mad:

03-D green golf is not much to go by either. I had thoughts of overtaking him, blocking him and taking the keys off him, but what would I do then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

happy to hear you got a job TP.

Thank you :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

What make and model are both cars ?

1.6 Laguna (03), 1.5 Kia Rio (08)

Sobanek wrote: »
    Didn't have my phone on me :( You suggest I call now? They won't find him at this stage either way :mad:

03-D green golf is not much to go by either. I had thoughts of overtaking him, blocking him and taking the keys off him, but what would I do then...

yep shame about your phone- still some amount of drink drivers taking chances and getting away with it due to the ever declining garda presence:(

I wish I had a volvo tank with bull bars so I could do the pitt manouver on their drunk asses- vigailante style:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Well done Mr TP, dead proud of ya! Nothing will beat doing a job that you love :)

Oh_stop_it_you.png

Yep! My grandad always said get a job you love because you'l never have to work a day in your life then, never really understood it till i was older but he was right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Jesus. wrote: »
    1.6 Laguna (03), 1.5 Kia Rio (08)

I was going to suggest take the better of the two but im stumped now......

Take the kia and its a dull noisy uncomfortable place to be

Take the laguna and its more comfort but youd need that while waiting for a tow truck.

Have you thought about renting a car from hertz or enterprise for the day ?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Any word on if there'll be another meet soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

W00T!

Managed to do 100km on less than a quarter tank for the first time since I bought the car. (Well, mixed/city mileage anyway)

Dartz wrote: »
    W00T!

Managed to do 100km on less than a quarter tank for the first time since I bought the car. (Well, mixed/city mileage anyway)

Amateur! :pac:

Fair play though, nothing like driving frugally :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I was going to suggest take the better of the two but im stumped now......Take the kia and its a dull noisy uncomfortable place to be Take the laguna and its more comfort but youd need that while waiting for a tow truck. Have you thought about renting a car from hertz or enterprise for the day ?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Amateur! :pac:

Fair play though, nothing like driving frugally :cool:

Bollox to driving frugally. I just fixed an ignition fault with the car and it's like night and day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Rant.
    My fvcking alfa's clutch snapped this morning. Well, the cable anyway - pedal stuck to the floor.
    In addition to the recent electrical issues this is another un-needed pain in the hole.

Was planning to chuck it through merlin's on Saturday to part fund another banger, but now I'll have to either (a) look up and see how to change it myself or (b) pay someone to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Rant.
    My fvcking alfa's clutch snapped this morning. Well, the cable anyway - pedal stuck to the floor.
    In addition to the recent electrical issues this is another un-needed pain in the hole.

Was planning to chuck it through merlin's on Saturday to part fund another banger, but now I'll have to either (a) look up and see how to change it myself or (b) pay someone to do it.

The clutch on these are hydraulic...wait until you see where they put the slave cylinder.
    It mightn't be that though, there's a little pin that secures the clutch pedal to the master cylinder that was a common failure on them a few years back and was subject to a recall. If it is the pin, a paper clip will do the job.

The clutch on these are hydraulic...wait until you see where they put the slave cylinder.
    It mightn't be that though, there's a little pin that secures the clutch pedal to the master cylinder that was a common failure on them a few years back and was subject to a recall. If it is the pin, a paper clip will do the job.

Yeah I just read that online aswell, re the paper clip. Apparantly for a permanent fix it's a 'box out job (meaning I won't be doing it!)

Might see if the paperclip fixes it somewhat later. Where abouts is it - the pin. Is it at the pedal end or at the master cylinder end?

Yeah I just read that online aswell, re the paper clip. Apparantly for a permanent fix it's a 'box out job (meaning I won't be doing it!)

Might see if the paperclip fixes it somewhat later. Where abouts is it - the pin. Is it at the pedal end or at the master cylinder end?
    Clutch pedal end thankfully.
    Yep box off job to change the slave and the master is fairly inaccessible.

Clutch pedal end thankfully.
    Yep box off job to change the slave and the master is fairly inaccessible.
    Grand that makes it infinitely easier. Will see if that works. Hilarious. A paper clip fix reccomended on multiple owner's forums, only for an Alfa!!

All part of the Alfa experience. When they work, they're brilliant, when they don't, that fire aspect of tpft insurance becomes appealing :pac:
    That's provided the clip fell out! At dealer or specialist indie rates, you can't afford to go to them with every little thing. The clutch pin is well known about them...just hope it's that and not the slave

If it's the slave cylinder I'll be transporting it to my new gaff in meath and breaking it.

I'm half expecting to see a paper clip behind the pedal already tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Dartz wrote: »
    W00T!

now try doing that WITHOUT pushing the car around the place :pac:

Any word on if there'll be another meet soon?
    There was a thread a while back but it died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

If it's the slave cylinder I'll be transporting it to my new gaff in meath and breaking it.

I'm half expecting to see a paper clip behind the pedal already tbh.

What Alfa is this? Didn't know you had one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

A 156.
    Happened to me as well that the clutch pedal jammed to the floor.
    Popped the bonnet to see brake fluid all over the place.
    Cylinder had packed in, back on the road 3 hours later.

What Alfa is this? Didn't know you had one...

Yeah I was keeping it quiet, didn't want people to know of my dirty alfister secret!
    It's a 156 1.8 tspark POS