Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Muckit wrote: »
    Well it's over 2 years ago by my calculations.
    'Beef to the heels like a Mullingar Galway heifer'

:D:D

I remember now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    :D:D

I remember now!
    You and them quotes

Reggie. wrote: »
    You and them quotes

How else do I pin ye down if I'm multiquoting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Chopped the base of all the ivy here in feb and the damn stuff is still alive

Apparently if you drive copper nails into the ivy after you cut it it kills it. Only heard about it a month ago, neighbour was going to do it, bit early to tell if it worked yet tho....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

Zr105 wrote: »
    Apparently if you drive copper nails into the ivy after you cut it it kills it. Only heard about it a month ago, neighbour was going to do it, bit early to tell if it worked yet tho....

Pull it down and give it to the cows, they love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

heard a chap who worked with tree care surgeon in states allege his boss used that trick on trees when he required a little "employment " if they were too healthy and business was quiet. but cows are mad for and so are ssshhh goats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,350 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

also heard if you pour milk into the branches/roots it will kill it. Problem is if you pull it off walls its very hard to get it all:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

At corn and silage today. Contractor told me last night it would be Friday, rang today said he was. Half hour away!! And to top it all off the tractor lift has shat itself!

Always the way. Hope you have a baler eating up that straw straight away

Stuck waiting on the rest of the bales and the wrapper!
    Vx4HqTMl.png

Always the way. Hope you have a baler eating up that straw straight away

Big square baler coming in the morning for the straw!
    I think wrapper coming tomorrow evening.
    Will that be enough time for the silage I wonder? I think it will be rowed into bigger rows in the morning !

Vx4HqTMl.png

Thata girl

Big square baler coming in the morning for the straw!
    I think wrapper coming tomorrow evening.
    Will that be enough time for the silage I wonder? I think it will be rowed into bigger rows in the morning !

Ah It should be. It would be around the 24hr mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Vx4HqTMl.png

Chief supervisor?
    Get onto baler man about the bales. Horrible edges. They don't seal as well with them edges

Chief supervisor?
    Get onto baler man about the bales. Horrible edges. They don't seal as well with them edges

Be a pain to stack them aswell

Chief supervisor?

They'll do grand for free bales......be the first to be used anyway so not too long stored & won't be stacked.

Jaysus free bales. You Cavan lot are a class of your own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Nice light crop. A few extra bales won't hurt.

Bales seem very far apart for the size of them rows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Thata girl

Nice to see ye went to the effort to line them straight, nothing used to drive me as cracked as when lads would line bales up on top of each other and crooked when I was wrapping. I'd have them wrapped in half the time if they were scattered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Bales seem very far apart for the size of them rows

Very light crop, in 30ft swart. Nice big mcale bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Nice to see ye went to the effort to line them straight, nothing used to drive me as cracked as when lads would line bales up on top of each other and crooked when I was wrapping. I'd have them wrapped in half the time if they were scattered!

Haha ya want to try wrapping in a spot where you've a bunch of lads drawing to you with single handlers and you catch up on them quick, on a bank so you have the wrapper backed around and they decide to be helpful and put it as close to the arm as possible.... Ie sitting at 45degrees to the arm stuck again the back wheel :(:(

you learn quick enough to jack knife the tractor completely so they cant get near it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Very light crop, in 30ft swart. Nice big mcale bales.

only always take light cuts here @ this time of year , after grass will come back a lot faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

what symtoms has lift, maybe some one could give a remedy. nice clean crops well looked after imo

Silage done

Silage done

Nice shaped bales there

They'd want to be they out of a new fusion

Its down to the driver not the baler ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Yesterday's action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭naughto

Few pics of silage cows bull and rushes lots of rushes you can see the field that got the licker.