Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You're welcome to kip my couch for a few days dude. I'm in Dublin though so you'll have to give the Scooby a blast. ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cheers lads. I will stay at home. I will have to go tomorrow and check a mattress as I am sleeping on old ****ty one, which we replaced few months ago. Will need some home plugs too as wireless is **** in my "new room".

That actually reminds me, that mattress was not split. I will demand my half of it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Cheers lads. I will stay at home. I will have to go tomorrow and check a mattress as I am sleeping on old ****ty one, which we replaced few months ago. Will need some home plugs too as wireless is **** in my "new room".

That actually reminds me, that mattress was not split. I will demand my half of it! :pac:

Just swap it when she aint there:cool:

Sorry to hear by the way, not a nice thing to have happen. However things will work themselves out, they always seem to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dude thats crap and it's saddening to hear all this sh*t happening to you :(

I have been there myself. The worst was when I was 19, lost my job, failed college miserably, lost the then mrs, got attacked while driving. It was a bleak place where I was even terrified to go out the door.

With that, I made sure to pull myself out of the sh*tter and make something of myself. Years later, I'm in a much better position where things are looking up. That's not to say it was easy but I'm nearly there :)

This year has been rough in places, where I broke a tooth, overloaded in college with work, stressed, losing close people. One of the hardest things I had to do was watch my 406 be towed off with its new owner, after all I done for it I couldn't keep it. But onwards and upwards, its with a top gent :D

My advice is to take a break from the house for a bit. Chat to people, I can't stress that enough, bottling only blurs the mind. Take one day at a time, don't rush. It's pretty much what I did, it worked for me, it should work for you :)

We're here for you man, any time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sorry to hear about all the misfortune man! It'll all work out in time

One thing about you folk around here, ye are so genuine and caring!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Thanks for all kind words lads. I know I am just some dude from internet, but hey, Ill take what I can these days. :o

For some reason, I really want a trip to Amsterdam now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

For some reason, I really want a trip to Amsterdam now...

The architecture is easy to admire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

ba_barabus wrote: »
    The architecture is easy to admire

Yeah... the architecture... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Not that I've any success in this area but imo priority,. Move on. Worst thing you could do is have hopes of a resolution. Who cares why it ended. It did. Move on.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Yeah... the architecture... :pac:
    I've always admired the scenery on nudist beaches.

Anyway, back to motoring. I'm going to help a friend with a PH2 Renault 25 tomorrow.

nd wrote: »
    Not that I've any success in this area but imo priority,. Move on. Worst thing you could do is have hopes of a resolution. Who cares why it ended. It did. Move on.

I think that's a bit sharp. Move out for a period and get space yes. But move on and forget may be premature after 10 years. With more experience I'm beginning to appreciate why people repair cars and not scrap them at the smallest breakdown :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Sorry to hear that SH, I am crap at advice but hang in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

But if you read back i think the car has a blown engine. And needs to be scraped :)

@ ba_barabus

@ shawdow imo althought it may not seem like it if you have your health(mental and physical) you are very very lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Really sorry to hear, SH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

sorry to hear SH. life will most certainly go on whatever happens. hang in there through these tough days and things will start looking up again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I think that's a bit sharp. Move out for a period and get space yes. But move on and forget may be premature after 10 years. With more experience I'm beginning to appreciate why people repair cars and not scrap them at the smallest breakdown :P

Spoken like a true alfisti

Funnily enough it's behaving itself perfectly. I love it :cool:

So much so I've taken it on some lovely roads this week.

I've been asked will I upgrade it, but you know what, I love it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

Hey SH,

Really sorry I hear. I'm not a man that has any good words to dish out I'm pretty useless in that position but it's up to you now as to what makes you happy.

Also ask your friends for help if you need it. Your real friends are the ones that don't mind listen to you crying into a drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Off to the NCT. Hopefully won't fail on anything more than steering and the windscreen. Skint enough as it is :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Fingers crossed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Funnily enough it's behaving itself perfectly. I love it :cool:

So much so I've taken it on some lovely roads this week.

I've been asked will I upgrade it, but you know what, I love it as it is.

upgrade it with Poly bushings at the front, you wont believe the difference;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The golf is repaired as of yesterday. Couldn't believe the finish I can't tell myself where the dents were. The whole boot and bumper was re sprayed so not so much as a scratch left. The paint Matches really good too. No fillers used either all dents were bet out really top class job delighted

joujoujou wrote: »
    Fingers crossed. :)

Only failed on tracking and the the windscreen. Thought the inners or a bush might be gone so didn't bother tracking it. But also this which is the main thing. Primary structure corrosion :cool:. WIll be an awkward bit to make up. Maybe just a paralell cut 10mm away from the boot seal and weld onto that. Or chop the bit out of another car. Not sure what to do.

e61rv7.jpg

edit: **** it, think I'll filler it,paint it and bring it back....
    Re-tester: "where was the corrosion"
    Me: " Not sure man, just dropped it in to a lad and gave him the sheet"
    Re-tester: "Looks grand"

Anyone any experience with this sort of thing? I reckon it's borderline as it is. Might weld two strips onto it to strengthen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was the trim off or what that they spotted it?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Was the trim off or what that they spotted it?

Not off but it was a bit loose, doesn't really clip in properly. In hindsight I should have just glued it shut and it wouldn't have been noticed. It was repaired perfectly on the outer panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Is that a lump of filler half way up on the vertical shut line? Between two sections of steel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

That arch rubbing sound that was annoying me for the last 2 weeks was not arches at all but my front brake pads are worn, I have never let it get to this stage so did not know what it sounded like, I thought it would be a more metallic sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Jimny update.

The boot floor was past it. I got a cross member fabricated and got the floor panel from Suzuki. I could have got the floor fabricated for half the cost but it was handier to keep the seats and seatbelt mountings.

Service bits and pieces on the way from MicksGarage. She'll be treated to a lovely service when it's back from the welders.

Total cost should be under the price of one that didn't need work on done deal.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Is that a lump of filler half way up on the vertical shut line? Between two sections of steel?

No, it's just the clear coat has lifted off. Had another look at it there. Think I'll just cut two strips off steel, use them to make an outline, cut a hole and weld them into the gap. Needs a few spotwelds around nearer the light where the old ones have broke away. Tidy it all up then with a bit of anti corrosion paint. Be grand :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Interslice wrote: »
    [...] Primary structure corrosion :cool:. [...]

Ouch! :eek:

Doesn't look nice. :(