Everybody else in the family is at the Commonwealth Games, so why aren't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

maybe we could rejoin for the games and then once its over leave again

and do the same in 4 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

LordSutch wrote: »
    "We" didn't, but some drunk Dail politician did ;)

A big mstake that needs to be put right.

Oh Lord Sutch, you little rascal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

FierceMild wrote: »
    We actually left the Commonwealth in 1949 with the implementation of the Ireland Act. It wasn't just a drunken Dail deputy.

Also, I quite like having a President instead of the Queen. Michael D is good craic.

Please read your own thread or are you having a few yourself tonight lord sutch :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Former Taoiseach John A Costello never drank in his life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Who would that be in this odd little family?

The people that sit on the sidelines making uneducated, snide remarks about having a monarch as head of state, delusions of grandeur etc.

Obviously they are far superior intellectually and morally than the thousands taking part and the millions watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭SERCPRO

Quite a lot of the athletes competing for NI race for Ireland in their respective sports.
    I don't see why we shouldn't join, it could be a great boost for the economy to host
    the games. It might also be a great way to get us a long awaited Velodrome !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He was a very useless Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭magentis

'Nearly' every country in the world who has even the slightest connection to Britain is there competing in every sport represented, from boxing to athletics, to karate, to rugby, horse riding, shooting, and swimming, yet the ROI is completly absent, leaving NI to go it alone as usual :mad:

Yes, I know the reasons well, and I know that I will probably get a massive backlash for even suggesting that we should be rubbing shoulders with the Welsh, the Scots, the English, Canadians, Aussies, Indians etc etc, but I still can't help thinking that here we are (the closest of all to Britain) yet still sulking & absent as usual since about 1959, when some drunken Dail politician decided on the spur of the moment that "Ireland had now left the commonwealth".

Personally I think we should rejoin for no other reason than to be able to participate in the games. There would of course be a lot of trade opportunities with other CW countries too, that might also come into play with such connections. I think its been a disgrace that we have been absent from the commonwealth family for so long.

What say you?

Sits in bunker with pith helmet on, waiting for the artillery shells to rain in :D

Fair play op you have just won the internet.
    Highest ****e per line ratio i have seen in some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

'yet still sulking

Sits in bunker with pith helmet on, waiting for the artillery shells to rain in :D

Who's sulking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Shush with your facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

SERCPRO wrote: »
    Quite a lot of the athletes competing for NI race for Ireland in their respective sports.
    I don't see why we shouldn't join, it could be a great boost for the economy to host
    the games. It might also be a great way to get us a long awaited Velodrome !

They race for Ireland in real championships.

Host a British fake Olympics?

To get a velodrome?

Some Irish people ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Poor Span, can't even afford an "i" :P
    Say after me: "the Ran in Span falls Manly on the Plan".

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

They race for Ireland in real championships.

Host a British fake Olympics?

To get a velodrome?

Some Irish people ...

You don't need to be insulting !
    It's the small mindedness of certain 'Irish' people that have this country in the state it is in !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

We could badly do with a bit of common wealth, so I reckon go for it. Send Lizzie a "We're sorry, let's be friends" card from Funkypigeon and drag Sonia O Sullivan out of Mothballs. Can't be any worse than that "Gathering" shyte anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

You don't need to be insulting !
    It's the small mindedness of certain 'Irish' people that have this country in the state it is in !

Personally I think we're in a great state.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Its no longer the British Commonwealth just the commonwealth and while the queen is head at the moment her successor wont necessarily be, most countries in the commonwealth are republics and others have their own monarchs as head of state. Im not really in favour of joining but there's a lot in this thread that isn't true.

"her successor won't necessarily be"

Ha, I'd love to see all those British Lords doff their caps to some Pakistani or Australian as 'Head of the Commonwealth'.

Have a feeling they'll want to break up the "family" then.

You'll find they'll soon get cold of the idea and their "historical connections".

Karl Stein wrote: »
    The 'Commonwealth' is a relic

A Romanian has easier access to Britain than the vast majority of commonwealth citizens.

The athletes from the third world are shipped in then followed by police until they are shipped off again.

It's amazing how they treat their "family".

Some have already claimed asylum. That's the only reason they went.

One would not be impressed. ;)

We could badly do with a bit of common wealth, so I reckon go for it. Send Lizzie a "We're sorry, let's be friends" card from Funkypigeon and drag Sonia O Sullivan out of Mothballs. Can't be any worse than that "Gathering" shyte anyway.

Don't you mean the 'Scattering' ?? ;)

The Shakedown as Gabriel Byrne would say ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

This is coming from someone who believes that Ireland should overturn half a century of foreign policy to join the Commonwealth so that Dublin might get a new velodrome? I really don't think that you're in a position to be questioning either the 'small mindedness' or 'Irishness' of other posters.

The people that sit on the sidelines making uneducated, snide remarks about having a monarch as head of state, delusions of grandeur etc.

Obviously they are far superior intellectually and morally than the thousands taking part and the millions watching.

Yep. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

But we're not in this "family" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

But we're not in this "family" ;)
    By choice. These days the Commonwealth of Nations includes countries such as Mozambique, which was colonised by the Portuguese but was never part of the British Empire. Ireland could easily join if it wanted to - heck, de Valera was in favour of the idea just a few years after Ireland became a Republic - but it would never pass a vote. Too much irrational hatred of anything that might appear to link you to your nearest neighbour.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

bnt wrote: »
    By choice. These days the Commonwealth of Nations includes countries such as Mozambique, which was colonised by the Portuguese but was never part of the British Empire. Ireland could easily join if it wanted to - heck, de Valera was in favour of the idea just a few years after Ireland became a Republic - but it would never pass a vote. Too much irrational hatred of anything that might appear to link you to your nearest neighbour.

Why would we though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

bnt wrote: »
    it would never pass a vote. Too much irrational hatred of anything that might appear to link you to your nearest neighbour.

So people who would vote against it, people who don't agree with you, are irrational and full of hate?

That's sounds a lot like hatred of democracy to me.

Do you hate democracy?

Reekwind wrote: »
    This is coming from someone who believes that Ireland should overturn half a century of foreign policy to join the Commonwealth so that Dublin might get a new velodrome? I really don't think that you're in a position to be questioning either the 'small mindedness' or 'Irishness' of other posters.

I was simply making a response ...and I got insulted by a narrow minded poster.
    The comment about the velodrome was made in jest !
    I don't for any moment believe we should be part of the commonwealth, based on history, but if the Irish were invited to be a part of the games as invitees only, I don't see why not, in the interest of forging stronger ties and friendships with other countries !

Reekwind wrote: »

I have the right just like ever other poster to give an opinion without being insulted by others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭764dak

efb wrote: »
    It's kinda cr@p though even the best athletes don't compete ("injured")

Usain Bolt is going to run in the 4x100 relays. I think Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce will also compete in the women's equivalent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Personally I favour the following process:

(1) Re-unification of the national territory

(2) Usurpation of the Saxe-Coburg-Gotha usurpers and restoration of the Jacobite Stuarts line

After the above steps are put in place, we could potentially talk about Ireland rejoining Commonwealth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

"her successor won't necessarily be"

Ha, I'd love to see all those British Lords doff their caps to some Pakistani or Australian as 'Head of the Commonwealth'.

Have a feeling they'll want to break up the "family" then.

You'll find they'll soon get cold of the idea and their "historical connections".

Hi estranged bitter little cousin.