Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Reasons to be cheerful:

- We've got Juan Mata.

- We have a genuinely world class manager who did exceptionally well with a fairly limited Dutch squad. He is tactically excellent and has won league titles in every country he has worked.

- David De Gea is a wall.

- We have Luke Shaw & Adnan Januzaj, two of the most exciting teenagers in world football.

- We signed a ****ing center midfield who is creative and can pass a football.

- We have a decent run of fixtures which should give us a bit of momentum to start off.

- The days of worrying about the Glazer's debt is over.

- Our two weakest areas (LB & CM) have been strengthened.

- No Champions League football will help us in all the domestic competitions.

- The players (such as Kagawa, Mata) will be used in a system that makes sense.

- Players like Rafael, Fellaini (etc), can only increase their contribution from last season.

- We have the best striker in the league who is capable of winning games by himself.

- Our kits are actually going to be a lot nicer for the next 10 years.

- Adidas & Chevrolet are like:

mayweather-money.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Masshesshter!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

im getting a horrible feeling that apart from 1 or 2 of his own dutch players, that the vast majority of our spending is done.

i hope i am wrong and that after a week or so he sees how poor some of our options are and he forces something through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Scholesy will be back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

im getting a horrible feeling that apart from 1 or 2 of his own dutch players, that the vast majority of our spending is done.

i hope i am wrong and that after a week or so he sees how poor some of our options are and he forces something through.

Cheer up Homer
    stop being a kill joy
    be a bloody optimist for once would ye
    he's hardly going to tell the press these are all the new signings i have planned and drive up the prices on them now is he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

On the biggest thing that makes him excited.

[looooong pause]

"It's difficult to describe. I've met a lot of people here, who are loving the club. Its a big family. They expect a lot of me, they are excited to meet me.

"Can I fulfill, that expectation? I think I can.

But because of the greatness of this club it's also much more difficult than any other club.

"Also this club is guided in the commercial way and we have to fulfil that also and that is not always possible to fulfil the commercial expectations and the football expectations.

"That - after two days here - is my biggest challenge."

3:25 pm
    Jim Daly
    "Sir Alex called me to congratulate me.

"We know each other very well and I shall drink coffee and wine with him maybe the better wine."

3:24 pm
    Jim Daly
    On being a bad ass...

"The media want to show that part of my personality but that part is small

"But when you always repeat everyone thinks like that

"When I was 39 and started coaching, until now the personality has not changed. It's the same.

"But autocratic and strong personality is not the same word...it's not the same.

"I have a strong philosophy.

"Sir Alex also had a strong philosophy yeah? it was always confirming that because he won a lot of titles with United.

"I hope I can do that."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/live-louis-van-gaals-first-3873409#ixzz37jhRLREF
    Follow us: @DailyMirror on Twitter | DailyMirror on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Were the media asked not to mention Vidal?

did he just say Carrick is injured 2 days ago and it a big blow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Carrick is injured!

Already! Balls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,953 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

"This club is guided in a commercial way and it is not always possible (to reconcile that with football). That is my big challenge"

I'm sure many of you fancy would agree with that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

brinty wrote: »
    Cheer up Homer
    stop being a kill joy
    be a bloody optimist for once would ye
    he's hardly going to tell the press these are all the new signings i have planned and drive up the prices on them now is he

Or alienate the players he is hoping to create this "click" with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Did Van Gaal injure carrick so they would sign another midfielder for him? Love him already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Carrick is injured!

Already! Balls!

Buy Vidal and De Jong,problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

any word on new players??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

zerks wrote: »
    David McDonnell gets the Louis treatment already:pac::pac:

What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭statto25

Nope. Said he would look at players for 3 or 4 weeks before looking at new signings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

I love this guy.

statto25 wrote: »
    Nope. Said he would look at players for 3 or 4 weeks before looking at new signings.

Great..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

yermandan wrote: »
    On the biggest thing that makes him excited.

[looooong pause]

"It's difficult to describe. I've met a lot of people here, who are loving the club. Its a big family. They expect a lot of me, they are excited to meet me.

"Can I fulfill, that expectation? I think I can.

But because of the greatness of this club it's also much more difficult than any other club.

"Also this club is guided in the commercial way and we have to fulfil that also and that is not always possible to fulfil the commercial expectations and the football expectations.

"That - after two days here - is my biggest challenge."

3:25 pm
    Jim Daly
    "Sir Alex called me to congratulate me.

"We know each other very well and I shall drink coffee and wine with him maybe the better wine."

3:24 pm
    Jim Daly
    On being a bad ass...

"The media want to show that part of my personality but that part is small

"But when you always repeat everyone thinks like that

"When I was 39 and started coaching, until now the personality has not changed. It's the same.

"But autocratic and strong personality is not the same word...it's not the same.

"I have a strong philosophy.

"Sir Alex also had a strong philosophy yeah? it was always confirming that because he won a lot of titles with United.

"I hope I can do that."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/live-louis-van-gaals-first-3873409#ixzz37jhRLREF

#LVGOUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

did he just say Carrick is injured 2 days ago and it a big blow?

That was just left hanging...big blow? Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

And with that he's gone!

A very interesting performance from LVG there in his first public appearance as a Man Utd employee.

Some telling stuff about Wayne Rooney there are the end talking about the player as a human being and not just being talented peeps.

We'll have reaction coming from our man David McDonnell who was there at Old Trafford and all sorts of other stuff to follow...

3:30 pm
    Jim Daly
    On Rooney...

"You have to know that I'm not always convinced of the experience of players.

"Because I have said a lot of times a boy like Clarence Seedorf he was 16 years old, I let him make his debut in the Ajax team, but with 16 years old he was sometimes more experienced than a player of 30.

"It's always the personality. You named Rooney but for example Michael Carrick he has been injured the last few days. In my opinion that is a big blow because he is an experience player.

"It's always very important we have experienced player not only in football experience but also experience as a human being

"My philosophy is not only the foot player but in total - and then there are not so many experienced plaers. I'm sorry.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/live-louis-van-gaals-first-3873409#ixzz37jiclfmD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Straight talking, with no wiff waffy bullshít and in total command. It feels like Christmas morning to me.

That was just left hanging...big blow? Ffs

We have Cleverley. Not much of a blow at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Carrick out for long time apparently.
    David Ornstein ‏@bbcsport_david 3m
    Louis van Gaal confirms Michael Carrick injured himself in training in last 2 days and is out for "a long time" #bbcsportsday #mufc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Thats the worry. How can he judge a players capability on the training ground or in mickey mouse friendlys like on the US tour. Big mistake if we dont strengthen further in my opinion as Shaw and Herrera may need time to settle. We cannot afford to miss out on a top 4 place again.

well if he is true to his word, we shouldnt expect any new players before the start of the season.

depressing thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

I really think some posters find it impossible to be optimistic.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Sounds like we can stay on the transfer merry-go-round for another while yet lads,

Cue stories over the next 3-4 weeks of ''Van Gaal eyes up ''X'' because he thinks Rooney's attitude is terrible''

Also I wonder if he confirmed the seriousness of Carrick's injury to any journalist afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

billyhead wrote: »
    Thats the worry. How can he judge a players capability on the training ground or in mickey mouse friendlys like on the US tour. Big mistake if we dont strengthen further in my opinion as Shaw and Herrera may need time to settle. We cannot afford to miss out on a top 4 place again.

Would new players not need the same time frame as the two players you mentioned to settle in...FFS people cheer up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Carricks injury could be good news, speed along buying another midfielder.