Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

even though they hadn't bothered to issue a statement or even send a representative on to discuss DCC's decision.Media in this country,and RTE in particular,are a joke.

He did say they'd issue a statement on Monday, followed by a withering whatever that may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

You have got to credit the GAA for doing a great job on avoiding all the flak. They've said next to nothing and the whole country is gone mad blaming the residents/Aiken/Brooks/DCC.

How did the GAA not know that there would be trouble with 8 gigs in 1 year when they had an agreement in place to consult the residents and didn't talk to them until after the tickets were sold? That's a question I would like them to answer whenever they talk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

The one thing that has come out if this is the type of person Garth Brooks is. Here's a guy who refuses to put his music on YouTube and now says it's 5 shows or nothing, greedy bastard.

Brooks obviously only cares about the money. He has probably already been paid by the promoters and his money guaranteed.

He will not give fans anything without getting paid, Not even a poxy video on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

nm wrote: »
    So you're telling me that they just need to apply before they can sell tickets, irrespective of the outcome?

That makes no sense, although, that's doesn't mean it's not true I suppose with some of our laws.
    Can you link me to a source? Genuinely interested.

Planning and Development Act 2000. I think someone said section 230, but I'm not sure.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I don't see it being a matter of greed - Garth Brooks saying '5 or none'.

There's little logic in having a system whereby licences have been granted after tickets have been put on sale.

There's even less logic in DCC allowing 3 GB concerts after the 3 One Direction ones have already taken place - if they allow 3, they should allow 5.

I'm with Garth Brooks on this one - he's not holding a country to ransom - he's being a rebel with a cause - the cause of the Dublin 160,000.

As much as people are bashing the residents, it probably came down to residents saying that the initial 3 weren't a big deal but to add a fourth and then a fifth without discussing it with them first was the straw that broke the camel's back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nope, it's like winning 3 tickets to an All Ireland Final and promising them to 3 friends, and then winning 2 more and promising them to 2 more friends. The 2 you won are cancelled so you decide that's not fair so nobody is getting a ticket.

Actually, it's a bit like being a player who's friend offered two more tickets to his friends. Before he even was sure he'd be getting the tickets himself. Now the player refuses to play unless he can get the tickets for his friend`s friends.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Garth is dead right with his threats, the county is a laughing stock and the DCC are a total joke. He obviously see the people involved as total amatuers and I dont think you will find many of the 400,000 fans blaming anyone but the residents first and foremost and then DCC for their absolute and utter incompetence. No where else in the world would this happen, planning would be granted without a second thought.

90 GAA matches my arse.

There are probably 4 matches maybe 6 that cause any form of disruption in the area and they are almost exclusively on sunday afternoons when nobody is doing anything anyway. There no were near 90 days a year where there are matches and I mean nowhere there might be 20 a year I'd say roughly.

6 big GAA games and 8 concerts is absolutely nothing and should be the minimum expected if you want to live in this sort of location. What would the poor miserable residents do if they lived near a premier league ground where there are matches nearly twice a week on average? They are absolutely pathetic and I have no doubt they will be repercussions for them.
    Do you really think the residents give a **** that a load culchies blame them for two of the concerts being cancelled?! I seriously doubt it.
    And what repercussions will they suffer as a result? I'm dying to hear this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭jibber5000

RTE only tore in to the GAA re Sky because they perceived the GAA's Sky deal as a threat to them commercially.The lad hosting RTE's hard hitting current affairs show last night brushed off any criticism of the GAA's part in this concert fiasco.Ridiculous.

Well he couldn't have a completely one sided discussion with the RA spokesman just tearing into them..Listen there's a kot of stuff going on in the background that no one knows about..Kieran Mulvey on the radio there, while criticising the GAA and Aiken did seem to suggest that the RA wern't the easiest to deal with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Caliden wrote: »
    As much as people are bashing the residents, it probably came down to residents saying that the initial 3 weren't a big deal but to add a fourth and then a fifth without discussing it with them first was the straw that broke the camel's back

I reckon you're absolutely right. 3 concerts and there might have been some grumbling but that's about it. Once Aitken and the GAA started to take the piss with five in a row the trouble started, and they got their hands rightly slapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

How about allow the 5 days to go ahead and disallow any more gigs in Croker for 2 years.
    It's a compromise on both sides. The residents have the annoyance for one week but then no more for a couple of years.
    The GAA get their gig and might not try to pull these stunts again when they're next allowed to book gigs.

Do you really think the residents give a **** that a load culchies blame them for two of the concerts being cancelled?! I seriously doubt it.
    And what repercussions will they suffer as a result? I'm dying to hear this one.

You know a jackeen is getting annoyed when the culchie statements start to be thrown around :D

Trust me, despite what "da dubs" think the vast majority of people from the country (and other cities around the country) hate Dublin and are damn glad not to be living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Jamsiek wrote: »
    It was the correct decision, an agreement was broken by the GAA
    If you had been following the thread you would know the residents don't want compensation

Eh I don't have to follow a Thread on boards to know what's going on...... The whole fcukin World is watching this embarrassing monumental fcuk-up unfold on Media outlets EVERYWHERE...... Those two licences should not have been denied 'PERIOD'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

ardle1 wrote: »
    Eh I don't have to follow a Thread on boards to know what's going on...... The whole fcukin World is watching this embarrassing monumental fcuk-up unfold on Media outlets EVERYWHERE...... Those two licences should not have been denied 'PERIOD'

If the licenses should not have been denied why bother applying for them at all. Sure Aiken can just sell events and then go to the media saying DCC is blocking them and the "whole fckuin World " can watch it every time they want a new gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

http://entertainment.ie/music/news/Croke-Park-residents-to-sign-petition-to-have-all-five-nights-of-Garth-Brooks-concerts-reinstated/270985.htm

Don't know if it was mentioned yet. The residents want the concerts reinstated.

Surely they'd want to make sure concert limits are adhered to for certain in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 hereford

gaa and organisers are just greedy pigs the disruption will last a week because of staging and riggers transport etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The whole world isn't watching, and the only thing Ireland has to be embarrassed about is that we sold out 5 stadium gigs in a row to a fat washed up country and western singer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Luckily these lads have kept track of "the international outrage"
    Look at the venom against ireland

http://thedailyedge.thejournal.ie/garth-brooks-international-headlines-ireland-1552977-Jul2014/

Oh wait, no-one cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

No one outside if Ireland and Oklahoma gives a toss about any of this (with the exception of those traveling to the gig). It's hardly front page news on CNN's website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

All five should have been denied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

A clusterf*ck waiting to happen , it was only a matter of time .Laws apply for all the people not just the great unwashed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

I wonder would Garth Brooks sell out even 1 night in civilized societies such as France / Spain /Holland etc ? Just an honest straight up thought ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,668 ✭✭✭secman

Ah that explains the RANT............ puts coat on and leaves the room.................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

sabat wrote: »
    Now Billy Ray Cyrus is saying he might have to reconsider Slane 2015-I hope the residents are happy.

Oh god, that made me spit out my tea laughing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There's even less logic in DCC allowing 3 GB concerts after the 3 One Direction ones have already taken place - if they allow 3, they should allow 5.

That makes no sense. Do you understand what logic is?

If they allow 5, then 5 is ok. (I have no idea why, but we'll go with it). If 5 are ok, then 7 must be (And if that makes no sense, then why does 5?). If 7 are ok....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Shouldn't we be thanking him for that?

Small mercies and all that :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

You know a jackeen is getting annoyed when the culchie statements start to be thrown around :D

Trust me, despite what "da dubs" think the vast majority of people from the country (and other cities around the country) hate Dublin and are damn glad not to be living there.

Yawn yawn yawn , hate us jaks all you want but don't forget, apart from Australia and Canada, DUBLIN is the hand that feeds all ye yokes lol puts up with all yer badly house trained students coming up to train as teachers in pats college etc.....

Gives all of ye yokels the jobs ye don't have in yer small towns ..

Hate us , Gwan ya Madsers , hate Dublin lol

Done forget though, you never were and never will be nothing without us as your masters xxxxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Flem31

This line that the world is watching and we are embarrassed by this is way overplayed.
    After all the dirty linen we have revealed to the world since 2008......we should be well used to it by now.

The world has a 5 sec attention span so we are old news if we were even news to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

http://entertainment.ie/music/news/Croke-Park-residents-to-sign-petition-to-have-all-five-nights-of-Garth-Brooks-concerts-reinstated/270985.htm

Don't know if it was mentioned yet. The residents want the concerts reinstated.

Surely they'd want to make sure concert limits are adhered to for certain in the future?

Really?
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0704/628423-garth-brooks/
    A solicitor for one of the Croke Park residents' groups has threatened to take High Court action against holding any Garth Brooks concerts at the venue.
    Anthony Fay has said a High Court injunction will be taken on behalf of a local resident against the Croke Park authorities and Aiken Promotions unless they call off the concerts by next Monday

italodisco wrote: »
    Yawn yawn yawn , hate us jaks all you want but don't forget, apart from Australia and Canada, DUBLIN is the hand that feeds all ye yokes lol puts up with all yer badly house trained students coming up to train as teachers in pats college etc.....

Gives all of ye yokels the jobs ye don't have in yer small towns ..

Hate us , Gwan ya Madsers , hate Dublin lol

Done forget though, you never were and never will be nothing without us as your masters xxxxx

Dublin, Australia or Canada don't feed me. I've never lived nor never intend on living in any of them. There is plenty in Ireland without having to live in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Glad the haters stay where they are then. Good of you to talk for all 25 counties by the way.