Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Nothing so. Who does that fat redneck think he is? Waddle off into the sunset...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

cournioni wrote: »
    3 concerts or 3 events?

They have a €500,000 fund for your friend to put his dog in a pound for a few more nights, along with tickets and even a job to go towards this. He bought a house beside the biggest stadium in the country, so he should be aware that goalposts can move from year to year. Who knows? Dublin might have a short run in the championship this time around.

Like it or not, the Old Trafford reference is very relevant as it plays host to more games than Croke Park which varies greatly on the teams success.

AFAIK they've held events as well as 3 concerts, I think it was Westlife who did 3 gigs the same summer the Eucharist Congress took place in Croke Park. Whatever the case may be there's still no excuse for attempting to raise concert nights from three to eight without engaging the residents in meaningful dialogue. The GAA could have achieved it's objectives but the manner in which they behaved has been like throwing petrol on a smouldering fire.

Residents rejected the €500,000 fund. It worked out at €18 per household. It costs my mate €15 a night to house one of his dogs in the pound and he's got two of them, so €30 a night. Total costs of 8 concerts for him was €240 for housing them in kennels. Like I said he was always prepared for three concerts, no bother. Five he said is a bit much but hey, he'd tolerate it, eight ? Now yer taking the piss.

Anyway now the day has begun I am predicting that there is going to be an avalanche of faux outrage from our pro-business right wing meeja. Here's what we're going to be listening to all day long

-Ireland's reputation will be damaged internationally (as other city councils in Europe or the US have never refused permission for an event, ever)
    -No way will we get to host the Rugby World Cup if we can't even host 5 Country and Western gigs (Strawman argument, rugby is sport and the IRFU are not the GAA. Furthermore the rugby will be spread out across 5 or 6 venues, not one)
    -Tourists have booked their holiday around the Garth Brooks concert and they won't come now. Airlines and hotels ain't so good at refunds, use it or lose it baby.
    -Jobs will be lost because Dublin won't get a boost to the local economy. Hoteliers and Publicans will be wheeled out onto Newstalk to tell us how they were going to employ extra staff for a few days and now they're not. They will also push the line hard about how this episode is damaging internationally. At no point will the interviewer ask them if they think gouging tourists for three times the regular hotel rate is damaging our tourist industry. The publicans won't be asked about some of the highest alcohol prices in Europe and if they feel that is damaging to the Irish economy and why tourists see Ireland as bad value for money. All that won't even be spoken of in the right wing meeja. And nor will planning law and it's inadequate provisions or the failure of successive FF and FG governments to address the issue before it had to go this far. No blame for either of the two parties who have always held power in this state, Newstalk won't even ask them to be accountable for not doing anything about it all this time.

So when you're listening to radio today and the onslaught begins and all you hear is about Garth Brooks this and Garth Brooks that and jobs, jobs, jobs and what about the boost to the local economy, sure Ireland will never get out of this recession if we don't let Garth Brooks play, rabble, rabble, rabble, it's a disgrace Joe, when you're hearing all that stop and think to yourself just how insignificant the Garth Brooks concerts are in terms of our national debt.

Garth Brooks Concerts €10m boost to the economy, per concert
    National debt €179,775,038, 550, and rising by €3.2m per hour, every hour, night and day.
    Source http://www.financedublin.com/debtclock.php

Let's call it an even €180 billion we owe. At that level of national debt if Garth Brooks brings the economy €10m per night then we would need to let him play for another 18,000 nights to pay off the national debt. Not 5 nights, 18,000 nights. At this rate we need Garth to continue playing every night for the next 49 years, he'll be playing every night from now till 2063 to get this economy back on track.

Our national debt is rising at the tune of almost €900 per second. Every 24 hours we as a nation owe €84m than we did 24 hours previous. Any spend of €50 million at the Garth Brooks concerts would be wiped out in under sixteen hours of our debt clock rising. Take a look and see the speed that this thing is going at and think of that when 90% of the arguments you hear are about how Garth Brooks was trying to save the Irish economy and we wouldn't let him :rolleyes:
    http://www.financedublin.com/debtclock.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Butsymarc wrote: »
    This threath of total cancellation is the biggest bluff ever. Who would turn their back on 240,000 tickets sold? 1D did well from 3 nights and they have to split it 5 ways.

One fifth to the band.

One fifth to the record label.

One fifth to Simon Cowell.

One fifth to the songwriters, and

One fifth to the Hype Machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

nm wrote: »
    A fantastic win 'for the people' :rolleyes:

No, but a great win for regulation, planning, and a refusal to be bullied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Now 'the people' are happy to turn away 10 million euro per night because Garth isn't going to single handedly pay off the national debt?

Holy god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Muahahaha wrote: »
    AFAIK they've held events as well as 3 concerts, I think it was Westlife who did 3 gigs the same summer the Eucharist Congress took place in Croke Park. Whatever the case may be there's still no excuse for attempting to raise concert nights from three to eight without engaging the residents in meaningful dialogue. The GAA could have achieved it's objectives but the manner in which they behaved has been like throwing petrol on a smouldering fire.

Anyway now the day has begun I am predicting that there is going to be an avalanche of faux outrage from our pro-business right wing meeja. Here's what we're going to be listening to all day long

-Ireland's reputation will be damaged internationally (as other city councils in Europe or the US have never refused permission for an event, ever)
    -No way will we get to host the Rugby World Cup if we can't even host 5 Country and Western gigs (Strawman argument, rugby is sport and the IRFU are not the GAA. Furthermore the rugby will be spread out across 5 or 6 venues, not one)
    -Tourists have booked their holiday around the Garth Brooks concert and they won't come now. Airlines and hotels ain't so good at refunds, use it or lose it baby.
    -Jobs will be lost because Dublin won't get a boost to the local economy. Hoteliers and Publicans will be wheeled out onto Newstalk to tell us how they were going to employ extra staff for a few days and now they're not. They will also push the line hard about how this episode is damaging internationally. At no point will the interviewer ask them if they think gouging tourists for three times the regular hotel rate is damaging our tourist industry. The publicans won't be asked about some of the highest alcohol prices in Europe and if they feel that is damaging to the Irish economy and why tourists see Ireland as bad value for money. All that won't even be spoken of in the right wing meeja. And nor will planning law and it's inadequate provisions or the failure of successive FF and FG governments to address the issue before it had to go this far. No blame for either of the two parties who have always held power in this state, Newstalk won't even ask them to be accountable for not doing anything about it all this time.

So when you're listening to radio today and the onslaught begins and all you hear is about Garth Brooks this and Garth Brooks that and jobs, jobs, jobs and what about the boost to the local economy, sure Ireland will never get out of this recession if we don't let Garth Brooks play, rabble, rabble, rabble, it's a disgrace Joe, when you're hearing all that stop and think to yourself just how insignificant the Garth Brooks concerts are in terms of our national debt.

Garth Brooks Concerts €10m boost to the economy, per concert
    National debt €179,775,038, 550, and rising by €3.2m per hour, every hour, night and day.
    Source http://www.financedublin.com/debtclock.php

Ireland not unique with cancellations,
    1992 The Cure denied license in England,
    1992 Nirvana in Singapore
    2012 Lady Ga Ga in Indonesia,
    2014 Kreator in Kuala Lumpur
    2014 DJ Hardwell in Edinburgh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Irishcrx wrote: »
    He won't be pulling out of the whole tour, won't want to loose the money or the risk of the fanbase turning on him, the 3 night's will go ahead no doubt.

I'm disapointed for the people who are missing out , I've tickets for the Saturday night luckily but they pushed their luck holding the OD gigs there as well this year. On the flip side if you bought a house close to Croke park tough, GAA events are held there and concerts are held there get over it.

This will be an ongoing battle for years to come. Frankly f*** the residents, 180,000 people are going to be out of pocket, businesses are going to loose money and I think the whole event was a great boost for the country regardless if anyone on here likes/hates his music there was a lot of demand and buzz for the event overshadowed by all this crap.

And I don't think it will get any better , I'd hate to see property damaged in the area but there is a chance that is going to happen Garda presence will have to ramped up for the 3 gigs.

I actually want to apologise for this statement yesturday , It was heat of the moment and I felt sorry for the fans who would be missing out. It's disapointing but I GB showed his true colours in that statement last night.

Clearly it's sugar coated to ' get all his fans to see him' but what he really meant is I want all my money or I'm not coming, the whole thing has taken a shine off the event as a whole and off GB himself now I think I'll be selling my ticket regardless now couldn't be bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Heard it announced on the TV behind me on RTE news. Garth cannot now confirm any gigs will be going ahead.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0703/628237-garth-brooks/

Why do you keep the TV behind you?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Residents rejected the €500,000 fund. It worked out at €18 per household. It costs my mate €15 a night to house one of his dogs in the pound and he's got two of them, so €30 a night. Total costs of 8 concerts for him was €240 for housing them in kennels. Like I said he was always prepared for three concerts, no bother. Five he said is a bit much but hey, he'd tolerate it, eight ? Now yer taking the piss.
    What is the exact wording of the agreement? Events or concerts? A concert would suggest a one off, whereas an event, such as a festival or whatever can be stretched out over a period of time.

So 27000 people are directly affected by concerts/events held at Croke Park? North Dublin's population density must have increased to the same level as Hong Kong since the last time I've been there. What radius is that covering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mickey1979

To be honest after last night statement brooks can go spin. I am going not a big fan more for craic. However this morning you can see why it was not just bankers who brought the country down. The Irish Independent is meant to be a broadsheet newspaper. How will we look if we back down from this to an egomaniac of a country star who would not fill one stadium in America at the moment or anywhere else. The hysteria over this is way ott and mr brooks is fanning the flames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

mickey1979 wrote: »
    To be honest after last night statement brooks can go spin. I am going not a big fan more for craic. However this morning you can see why it was not just bankers who brought the country down. The Irish Independent is meant to be a broadsheet newspaper. How will we look if we back down from this to an egomaniac of a country star who would not fill one stadium in America at the moment or anywhere else. The hysteria over this is way ott and mr brooks is fanning the flames.

It's always been about the money for brooks. Do you really think he has his fan bad at heart? It's about the green backs - 5 nights he was laughing all the way to the bank, 3 not do much

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I can understand with 3 weeks to go why Garth would want to stick to 5 rather than 3. Surely logistics, staff, plans etc are all planned with contracts signed for the full 5 nights. People saying he is greedy, he doesn't need the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,721 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Goes to show that it was always planned for 5 concerts even without all the usual "Extra date added" BS.

But DCC shouldn't reverse their decision. As much as I'd love the concerts to just be cancelled outright, I hope they find somewhere else for them. Maybe Punchestown or something. DCC reversing the decision would be setting a terrible precedent and would be infringing on the rights of the residents just to let GAA/Aiken/Brooks make a quick buck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

mickey1979 wrote: »
    The Irish Independent is meant to be a broadsheet newspaper.

Lolers. It's never been anything but a glorified tabloid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Woop, hope he sticks to his word and does none at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He signed the contract with the promoter with his own blood im sure he will stand over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Sheeps wrote: »
    Woop, hope he sticks to his word and does none at all!

All the while the GAA remain silent on their monumental f**k up and continue to let the residents take the flak on their and Aikens behalf.

Wonder will joe duffy cancel funny friday to cover this national tragedy?

Garth is dead right with his threats, the county is a laughing stock and the DCC are a total joke. He obviously see the people involved as total amatuers and I dont think you will find many of the 400,000 fans blaming anyone but the residents first and foremost and then DCC for their absolute and utter incompetence. No where else in the world would this happen, planning would be granted without a second thought.
    Seaneh wrote: »
    It's 8 nights on top of 90 GAA matches and dozens of conventions.

It's not "only 8 nights out of 365 days in the year".

90 GAA matches my arse.

There are probably 4 matches maybe 6 that cause any form of disruption in the area and they are almost exclusively on sunday afternoons when nobody is doing anything anyway. There no were near 90 days a year where there are matches and I mean nowhere there might be 20 a year I'd say roughly.

6 big GAA games and 8 concerts is absolutely nothing and should be the minimum expected if you want to live in this sort of location. What would the poor miserable residents do if they lived near a premier league ground where there are matches nearly twice a week on average? They are absolutely pathetic and I have no doubt they will be repercussions for them.

He signed the contract with the promoter with his own blood im sure he will stand over it

Yeah but if the contract was for 5 concerts and Aiken couldn't deliver on that, they're the ones breaching the contract, not Brooks. Hell Brooks might even get a payout from Aiken if none of the concerts go ahead, depending on the contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

It'll be interesting to see how today plays out. Will Enda say anything more about it? If the Taoiseach gets too involved he could end up with egg on his face.

Minister for Tourism Leo Varadkar is unusually quiet which is far from normal for him. If Leo thought he could hop into bed with the GAA and the residents and come out smelling like roses then he would, that lad loves a solo run. He doesn't appear to be saying anything which speaks volumes.

Real issue here now though is that it is still possible for all 5 concerts to go ahead and for faces to be saved all around. If the residents were to remove their objections then DCC would convene an emergency planning meeting to review the new application.

In order to get the full agreement the GAA are gonna have to use up three of these concerts for their 2015 allowance and the other two for 2016. This means all 5 Garth Brooks concerts would go ahead as planned and in exchange the residents get no gigs in Croker in 2015, one in 2016 and then back to the regular three in 2017.

If the residents were willing to settle on the above deal then right now they actually have a golden opportunity of limited duration to completely out-manoeuvre the GAA and it's PR mandarins. All the residents groups have to do is agree to let all 5 concerts go ahead, but only on condition that there is no concerts in 2015, one in 2016 then back to three per year, every year as per the 2009 agreement with the GAA.

All the residents would then have to do is call a press conference, the media will be there in droves. At it they apologise to all Garth Brooks fans and say they're sorry for any stress caused. Then they go on to explain how they only wanted their previous agreement with the GAA to be respected and how it wasn't and how much these increased crowds affect their quality of life, etc. But also to say how they don't want to disappoint 400,000 Garth Brooks fans and that they would be prepared to remove their objections if the GAA abide by their conditions of the agreement.

At that point the GAA is completely out manoeuvred and out foxed from a PR perspective, it would be an absolute nightmare for them if the Residents were to completely turn the tables right now and allow all 5 once their conditions are met. They'd be pressurising the GAA into signing a 3 gig a year deal, no ifs or buts.

If the GAA refused then the 5 concerts are off again after peoples hopes had been raised and then they are looking at a complete and utter PR disaster as 400,000 fans blame the GAA for being greedy instead of just sorting it out. On top of all that senior GAA officials would be lobbied hard by hoteliers, politicians and publicans to make sure it goes ahead. It'd be pretty intense to say no. To make matters worse many Garth Brooks ticket holders are also GAA members. Their own members would be ripping up their membership cards if the GAA didn't let it go ahead by agreeing with the residents.

If the residents groups have some smarts and want a way to win this battle and get their 3 gig a year agreement copper fastened once and for all then the above is the perfect way to now turn the tables on the GAA and really crank up the pressure on them to get the deal that they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Garth is dead right with his threats, the county is a laughing stock and the DCC are a total joke. He obviously see the people involved as total amatuers and I dont think you will find many of the 400,000 fans blaming anyone but the residents first and foremost and then DCC for their absolute and utter incompetence. No where else in the world would this happen, planning would be granted without a second thought.

90 GAA matches my arse.

There are probably 4 matches maybe 6 that cause any form of disruption in the area and they are almost exclusively on sunday afternoons when nobody is doing anything anyway. There no were near 90 days a year where there are matches and I mean nowhere there might be 20 a year I'd say roughly.

6 big GAA games and 8 concerts is absolutely nothing and should be the minimum expected if you want to live in this sort of location. What would the poor miserable residents do if they lived near a premier league ground where there are matches nearly twice a week on average? They are absolutely pathetic and I have no doubt they will be repercussions for them.

How can you possibly say DCC were "incompetent"?

Of all the parties involved, they are the only ones who adhered to regulations that have been in place for years.

If the concert goers want to continue to blame the wrong people then they are bigger eejits.

GAA and AIken got slapped back when they tried to walk over both the planning law and the agreement that the GAA agreed to.

They are the people that should be getting the flak.

Its pretty f**kin simple really but sure dont let that get in the way of your blinkered world view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Nua

The disruption of these concerts, especially the Monday & Tuesday dates, would cause mayhem for way way more people than are covered in the Residents' 240000 . . . anyone commuting to or from the Northside, training in Fairview Park, DARTs going through town
    . . . DCC are right to put interests of Dubliners before profit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

They are absolutely pathetic and I have no doubt they will be repercussions for them.

Such as? We already know about the wing mirror stuff....anything else planned?

Put it this way:

A local businessman living beside you wants to build a huge extension to his house which blocks your view/light and applies for planning permission. You object to the council, the council agree and refuses his planning. He then threatens to move his company to another town and take jobs out of the area unless he's allowed to build it.

Is it your fault jobs might be lost in the area, or the businessman's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It'll be interesting to see how today plays out. Will Enda say anything more about it? If the Taoiseach gets too involved he could end up with egg on his face.

Apart from North Korea maybe,what other country on earth would the leader of a country get involved in a row with a washed up country and western singer over a gig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

There is no point in the GAA offering a new agreement when clearly they had no regard for the last one

Apart from North Korea maybe,what other country on earth would the leader of a country get involved in a row with a washed up country and western singer over a gig?

Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Penn wrote: »
    Put it this way:

A local businessman living beside you builds a huge extension to his house which blocks your view/light without planning permission. You complain to the council, so he applies for retention permission and it's refused so he's ordered to demolish it. He then threatens to move his company to another town and take jobs out of the area unless he's allowed to keep it.

Is it your fault jobs might be lost in the area, or the businessman's?

It's the businessman's fault.

Proper sequence of events should be:

Businessman needs to expand.
    He applies for planning permission to relevant council.
    Neighbour objects due to blocked view/light.
    Council refuses permission.
    Businessman decides to move to greenfield site where permission is granted.

It's nobodies fault as such that the jobs have moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,488 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I dont think you will find many of the 400,000 fans blaming anyone but the residents first and foremost

Nonsense hard man. A few keyboard warriors like yourself blaming and threatening violence (from behind your computer screen of course :D), but most educated Garth fans know exactly who to blame. The promoter and the GAA.