Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

My problem with the DCC is that i've bought a ticket to a concert and it took them until 3 weeks beforehand to decide that they can't go ahead.

Your problem is that you don't know whose fault that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

decision taken was correct , if 5 went ahead then the residents would have had more concerts that what was originally agreed , there will be 6 , including the 1D concerts, assuming the other 3 gb will go ahead, i can understand where the residents are coming from , from going to maker in croker, i've seen so many fans disrespect properties of the residents without a care in the world

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Nox, you said people should That's not noise.

You see why nobody takes your posts seriously?

And by havoc I meant disrupt the fuc*ing place, causing damage never entered my head.

If you cant understand that then its not my fault your brain cant process the information.
    OldGoat wrote: »
    You seem to be labouring under the impression that the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few. The reality of the situation is that the Rights of the few outweigh the wants of the many.
    And rightly so.

The few had no needs. They couldn't accept that their choice of living location means a certain amount of disruption. But no they want to live the life of someone in the country in the middle of the capital city. The 5 nights should have been granted and the residents who complained told to shut up and go home or move elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭paddyirish23

Your problem is that you don't know whose fault that is.

Try reading the rest of my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,738 ✭✭✭✭Penn

My problem with the DCC is that i've bought a ticket to a concert and it took them until 3 weeks beforehand to decide that they can't go ahead.
    Surely to god someone in DCC would have the balls to come out and say as soon as the app for the licence came in that no way will you be allowed 5?!
    3 bloody weeks and i feel worse for ppl coming from abroad
    This guy picked our country for one of the biggest shows the world will ever see, He's up there with the best with hundreds of millions sold, to Residents, DCC, promoters & GAA are all in this together not just one at fault.
    Get together back in march hammer out a deal and avoid all this sh*t, how hard would that have been??!!
    Makes this country looks a right laughing stock!!

The Council doesn't do that because there is a particular system in place which has to be adhered to. There are timeframes in place to allow people to make objections/observations, and to allow the various departments in the Council to judge the application (for example, it's not just the Council deciding it; Roads/Traffic department, Public Transport departments, Gardai and emergency services etc all have to be consulted).

It's simply not just a case of "It probably won't go ahead, so we're refusing it". They have to give proper consideration to all applications, and that takes time. It's when the application was submitted which is important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

gg2 wrote: »
    Won't GB be paid for all 5 concerts even if only 3 go ahead? I would have assumed that in an event like this, his fee would be safeguarded in his contract.

I suspect there are lawyers in Dublin and Oklahoma going thru some very fine print in those contracts right now.

Did the promoters protect themselves against the risk that some of the concerts not get a licence?
    Does GB get paid for all 5 converts regardless?
    Does he only get paid for any concerts that go ahead?
    Can he walk away if some of the 5 concerts do not go ahead?
    Who is liable for costs incurred by both sides if some/none of the concerts go ahead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Yes but the law needs changing because it states he only needed to apply for the licence 10 weeks before the gig, which he did and i know he did this so the DCC woulld be under pressure to give the go ahead as it would only be a matter of weeks before the gigs that they'd have an answer but really?! Turning away 400000 ppl and 26M euro or something is crazy, have ppl forgotten this country is still f*cked?! Look at the tourism that they were bringing in
    As a once off let them go ahead but never again can this happen

While by law they only need to apply for a licence 10 weeks out, there was nothing stopping Aiken submitting their application well before this date. Whether delaying the application was a tactic by Aiken to force a grant, I'll leave that for others to argue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭paddyirish23

Penn wrote: »
    The Council doesn't do that because there is a particular system in place which has to be adhered to. There are timeframes in place to allow people to make objections/observations, and to allow the various departments in the Council to judge the application (for example, it's not just the Council deciding it; Roads/Traffic department, Public Transport departments, Gardai and emergency services etc all have to be consulted.

It's simply not just a case of "It probably won't go ahead, so we're refusing it". They have to give proper consideration to all applications, and that takes time. It's when the application was submitted which is important.

Agreed, but they and all parties should've seen this coming and sorted it out months ago
    My question now is how do the 5 go ahead, by the sounds of it He won't back down for 3 only.
    Ideas anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

And by havoc I meant disrupt the fuc*ing place, causing damage never entered my head.

If you cant understand that then its not my fault your brain cant process the information.

The few had no needs. They couldn't accept that their choice of living location means a certain amount of disruption. But no they want to live the life of someone in the country in the middle of the capital city. The 5 nights should have been granted and the residents who complained told to shut up and go home or move elsewhere.

Disrupt in what way exactly?

Why don't you actually say what you mean to say, rather than backtracking all the time when caught out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭newport2

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    It took 349 pages but fair play to you. You found a way to blame the RCC. Now there are slates loose on my roof, can you find a way to blame them for that? Good man.

Sure it was the wind that loosened them slates, an act of God if I ever saw one. That damn RCC....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Agreed, but they and all parties should've seen this coming and sorted it out months ago
    My question now is how do the 5 go ahead, by the sounds of it He won't back down for 3 only.
    Ideas anyone?

Have him play in Coppers, with each ticket holder getting a song and a ware before they leave.

As a once off let them go ahead but never again can this happen

If it should never be allowed to happen again, why should it be allowed to happen once?

Two Garth Brooks concerts weren't going to solve our economic problems. Not even close. A small bump, nothing more. And neither the GAA, Aiken or Brooks cared about the money or tourism it'd bring to Dublin. They cared only about the money it'd bring to themselves, as is plainly evident by Brooks threatening to cancel all the concerts.

Valetta wrote: »
    Disrupt in what way exactly?

Why don't you actually say what you mean to say, rather than backtracking all the time when caught out?

Block up the streets, have a big singsong until late at night, maybe have a sound system and blare out some Garth, some chants running down the residents and maybe a couple of cans for good measure.

Its not like it would ever happen but in an ideal world who knows.

True. Unfortunately "Sure it'll be grand. We've always got by this way" seems to be what was decided instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Block up the streets, have a big singsong until late at night, maybe have a sound system and blare out some Garth, some chants running down the residents and maybe a couple of cans for good measure.

So you're inciting people to do a bunch of illegal activity basically?

Is that before or after Enda steps in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Well I think we should all just go up and p**s in their front gardens anyway, concert or no concert!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Someone's throwing their straw hat and lion dancing boots out of the pram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭newport2

Penn wrote: »
    If it should never be allowed to happen again, why should it be allowed to happen once?

Two Garth Brooks concerts weren't going to solve our economic problems. Not even close. A small bump, nothing more. And neither the GAA, Aiken or Brooks cared about the money or tourism it'd bring to Dublin. They cared only about the money it'd bring to themselves, as is plainly evident by Brooks threatening to cancel all the concerts.

Perhaps letting them go ahead, but banning concerts in Croke Park for the next 3 years would be a compromise.

Keep the fans happy and make the organisers think twice about ever doing this again. They'd lose the rights to 9 concerts due to trying to squeeze an extra few in.

And the residents would have a few quiet years to look forward to, no more concerts until 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

It's laughable to think that Aiken didn't have some sort of plan B in place.

Caliden wrote: »
    It's laughable to think that Aiken didn't have some sort of plan B in place.

Arrogance? Complacency?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Well feck him if he pulls all the concerts. There'll be a day of mourning here in Roscommon.

Really? That's an "ideal world" scenario?

The residents are simply not to blame for this. The Council are not to blame for this.

GAA/Aiken made promises that not only could they not keep, but that they knew went against their own planning agreements and likely would be refused. They tried to force the Council and the residents to submit purely so they could line their own pockets, and now with the abuse being directed at the residents they're even escaping backlash for their mistakes.

The residents are not to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,538 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Rasheed wrote: »
    Well feck him if he pulls all the concerts. There'll be a day of mourning here in Roscommon.

Y'see this is exactly the impression many people in Dublin have. If rural folk want him over so badly then stick him on in McHale Park or Lissadell and leave us in peace from his utterly rubbish music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

For sale:
    4 Gareth Brooks tickets
    Genuine reason for sale.
    Will consider swap.

newport2 wrote: »
    Perhaps letting them go ahead, but banning concerts in Croke Park for the next 3 years would be a compromise.

Keep the fans happy and make the organisers think twice about ever doing this again. They'd lose the rights to 9 concerts due to trying to squeeze an extra few in.

And the residents would have a few quiet years to look forward to, no more concerts until 2018.

The 3 Garth Brooks concerts which were allowed are the compromise, as technically they're against the planning agreement anyway. And if GAA/Aiken had gotten the resident's together and proposed a similar plan to what you described above before announcing the concerts, something probably could have been agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

The few have rights. I agree with you that living where they do they should expect a certain amount of disturbance. However the levels of disturbance proposed are beyond acceptable. That was their argument to the Council and after consideration by the Council their argument was deemed legitimate.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Cienciano wrote: »
    Not blaming GB for the 3 concerts he's not going to play is like putting your fingers in your ears and saying "la la la la la, I can't hear you".
    The anger that people have at Brooks here is seriously misplaced. He is as much a victim here as the residents and tickets holders are.

Incidentally, I have always got the sense from reading this thread that much of the support for the residents complaints here is really paper thin and is being feigned so that those concerns of the residents can be used as a stick to beat Garth Brooks fans with.

I'm a Dub through and through but there is anti-culchieness® running through this thread like a stick of rock. Suggestions that the fans are showing their intelligence level and remarks like 'Gombeen' being thrown around etc. All of it needless.

The blame here lies with the licensing laws process and also with foolish concessions and deals being given to residents down the years. I could understand if there was a max of a dozen nights that Croke Park could stage concerts and maybe no more than three in a row, but the current deal is a a non-sense as it is far too small a number these days, especially when you consider that Dublin does not have another stadium with similar capacity.

In any case, refusing permission for the two concerts was not the correct decision. The bigger picture should have been looked at here and fines and bans should have been issued. Aitken could have been banned from using Croke Park as a venue for the next two to three years, the GAA could have been banned from holding concerts there for a similar period and then they should have all went off and made sure that legislation is put in place so that tickets can not be sold to events in which licenses have not yet been granted for.

No regard has been given to the 160,000 tickets holders here, the accommodation and transport they most likely have paid for, nor indeed Brook's management who have obviously been working away arranging and organizing the logistics of putting on these concerts. It may not even be possible for them to scale all that has been put in motion to cater for five nights, down to three. A mess all round but the decisions to handle the mess are a far bigger calamity than the one which led to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Very interesting.

Looks like there might be 5 concerts after all I'd say.

Said I was done with this thread, but just to point out that for the concerts to be reinstated, the GAA will have to admit they messed up. And they've been stony silent so far so don't see that happening.

And a petition won't necessarily get the decision overturned or even be signed by many people. Surely it'd be open to abuse, people from outside the area signing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Valetta wrote: »
    Yes they did.

They promoted the concerts without having a license.

That is breaking the law.
    nm wrote: »
    Where are you pulling this from?

That means every gig is breaking the law. Maybe they are but if so what law is it, I'd like to read it can you link me.
    hynesie08 wrote: »
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2001/en/si/0154.html
    And here http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2000/...30.html#sec230

states that
    (3) Any person who—

(a) organises, promotes, holds or is otherwise materially involved in the organisation of an event to which this section applies, or

(b) is in control of land on which an event to which this section applies is held,

other than under and in accordance with a licence, shall be guilty of an offence.

Found it for you.

OldGoat wrote: »
    The few have rights. I agree with you that living where they do they should expect a certain amount of disturbance. However the levels of disturbance proposed are beyond acceptable. That was their argument to the Council and after consideration by the Council their argument was deemed legitimate.

Plus it's also very likely that the Council would have come to the same decision even if no objections were raised. It's their job to take the rights of the local residents into consideration even if the residents didn't raise objections.