Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Eamo71

Dry your eyes you over privileged prawn sandwich eaters -- the Aviva might come to the rescue - http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/garth-brooks-concerts-aviva-put-forward-as-possible-venue-for-two-axed-concerts-30404148.html

Though surely MCD will fleece Aiken for them to step in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

SteM wrote: »
    This 'one time' would set a precedent for the future. Can people not see that?

Yes, a precedent that three concerts in a row is plenty for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Well done to the residents for standing up for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

hoodwinked wrote: »
    i'd say they are selling them right now before the dates are confirmed cancelled!

To who?

Even Garth Brooks fans can't be that dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Paulie1987

or the other way of looking at it is

Typical of this country we live in, The company never bothered putting in a plan B given that this was always a likely option

It's obviously a one off..it's unprecedented demand not likely to be repeated ever again. What's 5 days in these peoples lives??. The comments here would leave you to be believe these people only get satisfaction at the misfortune of others. I wonder what they do for fun tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Definitely cancelled for Monday and Tuesday. Will seriously cost TM , and good enough for them, I don't like them. Feel bad for people who had tickets, especially those who bought off touts. A win for the little guys like was said, happy days

What about all the little guys who wanted to see Garth Brooks?

I agree with the premise and I do think justice was served but to say that this is a win for the little guy isn't strictly true. People have hotels booked, train tickets bought, and in some cases plane tickets, all for nothing now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

To who?

Even Garth Brooks fans can't be that dumb.

there will always be one who will buy hoping for the best...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Didn't hold gigs till 1996 though. I agree if you complain about gaa games you're an idiot though.

I remember U2 and Simple Minds doing a few gigs in the 80's.

U2 deffo did Croker gigs on the Unforgettable Fire and Joshua Tree tours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Paulie1987 wrote: »
    It's obviously a one off..it's unprecedented demand not likely to be repeated ever again. What's 5 days in these peoples lives??. The comments here would leave you to be believe these people only get satisfaction at the misfortune of others. I wonder what they do for fun tbh

The demand was only there after aiken announced he was coming..

I doubt very much the culchies giving out had a petition in with the gubberment demanding the guy play here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

What about all the little guys who wanted to see Garth Brooks?

I agree with the premise and I do think justice was served but to say that this is a win for the little guy isn't strictly true. People have hotels booked, train tickets bought, and in some cases plane tickets, all for nothing now.

People will also get refunds on tickets, hotels, trains and (some) planes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

BREAKING

Three Swedish house mafia concerts announced for summer 2015, Aiken promotions believe this will provide residents with a sense of perspective

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Common sense? That would be not moving an 80.000 capacity gig at 3 weeks notice.

Petty begrudgers? they the ones threatening to ****e in someones garden cause they cant get mouldy and sway around a field?

No common sense would be letting the concerts go ahead good fella :)

Nope that's obvious provocative hyperbole. The begrudgers are the ones who say their day has been made by other peoples day being ruined..typical Irish doom and gloom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭recyclops

How would they go about deciding who goes to what day if they move the events from two days to three and what bout seating arrangements

so much more for people to make a mess of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

How there could have ever been demand for 5 concerts is beyond me.

The GAA are the ones I blame for this fiasco. They should be sued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

urabell wrote: »
    BREAKING

Three Swedish house mafia concerts announced for summer 2015, Aiken promotions believe this will provide residents with a sense of perspective

You forgot to mention that tickets will not be sold in advance but on the day of each gig, first come first served. Concert goers must form an orderly queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭SteM

lambayire wrote: »
    I remember U2 and Simple Minds doing a few gigs in the 80's.

U2 deffo did Croker gigs on the Unforgettable Fire and Joshua Tree tours.

Yeah, thought that '96 date was well off. Saw U2 there in 87 and that was for Joshua Tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

It's obviously a one off..it's unprecedented demand not likely to be repeated ever again.
    Except for the unprecedented demand for the One Direction concerts earlier this year. And obviously the next U2 homecoming gigs will be a once-off too, and so on.

In 2009 the GAA agreed a deal with local residents to a maximum of three concerts per year. In 2014, they have already had three nights for One Direction and were pushing for another five nights for Brooks. Looking for 1-2 extra concerts when 3 were agreed is one thing, but 5 extra nights above the agreed number is just taking the piss. What was the point in the GAA agreeing the original contract if they were going to renege on it? If the residents didn't complain, of course it sets a precedent for this to happen every year.

People are quick to blame the residents. May they should re-target their vitriol at Croke Park and the promoters who sold them tickets based on a planning license which they could never deliver on. I can clearly understand people being very disappointed now, but it is the concert organisers who have created this disappointment by their presumption that they could ignore an agreement that was already in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Delighted for the residents. absolutely delighted.
    A great result for people power and the local community over the greed of the GAA and the promoters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

Eamo71 wrote: »
    Dry your eyes you over privileged prawn sandwich eaters -- the Aviva might come to the rescue - http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/garth-brooks-concerts-aviva-put-forward-as-possible-venue-for-two-axed-concerts-30404148.html

Though surely MCD will fleece Aiken for them to step in....

I believe that moving the gigs is not an option as there is a 10 week licence application required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,206 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It's for 5 days it's not like they'r building an airport beside these residents. It's so symptomatic of this moany nothing better to do but complain attitude in this country of some people. Theyv spent how many days and how much of their time complaining about the whole thing just get over it this one time

What in the name of jaysus has building an airport got to do with license approval for a few concerts?

Seriously, what is your point?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

SteM wrote: »
    Yeah, thought that '96 date was well off. Saw U2 there in 87 and that was for Joshua Tree.

They played in 85 too.

http://www.u2gigs.com/show540.html

Memories!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

Rightwing wrote: »

How can you blame the gaa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Rightwing wrote: »

Garth Brooks has been on the go for decades and has legions of fans worldwide. It's not really that hard to understand tbh.

If you want to lay blame, lay it where it is actually due. Blame all those fans. The extra concerts would never have even been considered it the demand wasn't there in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

People will also get refunds on tickets, hotels, trains and (some) planes.

lol. They most certainly will not get train, hotel and plane refunds.

The demand was only there after aiken announced he was coming..

I doubt very much the culchies giving out had a petition in with the gubberment demanding the guy play here.

Yes when was the last time this guy played here?..likely to be his last gigs in this country..the demand has always been there..decency and compassion are important because you never know when you might rely on society in the future :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I really hope that certain personalities in this thread have tickets for the cancelled dates.
    Monday night, so one of the two nights that are being suggested to be cancelled by some people.

I actually don't know why I'm bothering with this conversation though as there is zero chance of any night being cancelled. The residents will either be ignored or paid off or a bit of both and all 5 dates will go ahead.

:(

For anyone missing out on the Monday and Tuesday some tickets are after becoming available for the Sunday night just bought some on TM now. I doubt they will be there for long!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

So will people get money back for the price of the tickets on the Monday and Tuesday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Do you know what? After some of the vitriol spewed in this thread by concert goers it really would make me happy.

Yet most people didn't. I bought my parents tickets for Monday and tickets for my brother and I for Tuesday.

I was looking forward to going.

I thought the deal the mediator came up with was reasonable.

I completely understand the residents' problems with concerts in Croke Park. I get it. I agree with them. But, I do think it's a bit unfair on the 160,000 people who were looking forward to going to something that's now only a couple of weeks away.

I really think that having the agreement to limit it to 9 events in a 3 year period (only 1 more between 2015 and 2016) would have been the best solution for everyone.

I'd be lying if I said I'm not disappointed, I've feck all to be excited about these days and life's quite sh!t lately so I was actually looking forward to getting out for a change :(