Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

pred racer wrote: »
    It has only gotten worse!

Ya know, the course itself is basic. But the instructor is what makes it. If you've some boring lad just flying through a power point presentation to get the pay check (The guys doing it on weekends make good money from it) then it's pointless almost. But if you get an instructor that engages with people and gets them thinking, theycome away with a lot more from it. The main problem with safe pass is the quality of some of the people leading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

tossy wrote: »
    What did you buy ?

2007 SE spec Volvo S60 2.0T

Think this is five cylinder also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

2007 SE spec Volvo S60 2.0T

Think this is five cylinder also

Think? Check the manifold. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

td04 15 h I think it is!

If you want it refurbished i can get just the lads to do it for ya ! in dublin / ballymount on the M50 for the turbo
    Parked in their favourite spot - cleaning up I'd say as its a struggle to crawl at 30k around here.

30.zip

These pictures won't help the clampers PR campaign!

31.jpg

311.gif

looks to me like the van pulled the car over ?

anyway would love to hear the thoughts of the guy in the wheel chair !, drove past that myself but didnt see the guy at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I'll just leave this here...

fcstuff19.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

OSI wrote: »
    The Civic with "The Whale Dick"™ air intake?

Willy but yes. :D
    It was swapped for a different box last time I was in "it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

The Mazda sold thank god! Took 3 days, had 4 people queuing to buy it, and I thought it'd be a hard sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

This is the first one I have heard been held in Dublin, I think there was another in Phoenix park a few years back.

I hope it is easy to find the location for the meet,
    Don't want to take a wrong turn and ask the wrong people "are ye the fellas from t'internet" in the phoenix park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Safe pass isn't all that bad but it depends a lot on the instructor. The lax attitude to safety in this country by a sizeable chunk of contractors means it's all too often the only safety training a lot of people get. But then again those people are always indestructible:rolleyes:

The fact that it MIGHT be the only safety training people get - is all the more reason why having GOOD instructors that can engage with their audience well is important.

Having a group of people that are BORED out of their mind isn't conducive to learning I feel.

Safety isn't exactly an exciting subject - but a VERY essential one - so we need to avoid the trap that bad teaching encourages - where your only learning to pass any exam you need to pass - rather then learning for the benefit of YOUR future safety.

Sorry for the off topic rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

The Mazda sold thank god! Took 3 days, had 4 people queuing to buy it, and I thought it'd be a hard sell

I've my van up for sale since yesterday. Had a few lads calling for a chat but nothing definite yet...

What yous think of the ad?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/t4-vw-transporter-2-5-tdi-for-sale/7201064

Interslice wrote: »
    I've my van up for sale since yesterday. Had a few lads calling for a chat but nothing definite yet...

What yous think of the ad?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/t4-vw-transporter-2-5-tdi-for-sale/7201064

Looks good... exactly the same instrument cluster as my Bora. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Incase anyone is interested:

http://www.irishdriftchampionship.com/livestream

Semi-pro top 32 starts at 15:30

Anyone up for going down to the Mondello race track tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Ya know, the course itself is basic. But the instructor is what makes it. If you've some boring lad just flying through a power point presentation to get the pay check (The guys doing it on weekends make good money from it) then it's pointless almost. But if you get an instructor that engages with people and gets them thinking, theycome away with a lot more from it. The main problem with safe pass is the quality of some of the people leading it.

Infairness the instructor I had was good has been head safety guy in many power stations around the world. But he even said himself the content is out of date by about 10 years. He spent more time showing us mistakes in the fas slides all thing that were missing. It was a long day not long finished as I done manual handling too. Still grand to have them done for another few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

GvidoR wrote: »

What's on ?

What's on ?

btn_1403520432.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Bpmull wrote: »
    Infairness the instructor I had was good has been head safety guy in many power stations around the world. But he even said himself the content is out of date by about 10 years. He spent more time showing us mistakes in the fas slides all thing that were missing. It was a long day not long finished as I done manual handling too. Still grand to have them done for another few years.

Sounds like the instructor was good so. It works best when it's someone with the experience to elaborate on the content. I did one a few years ago and it was a case of watch me recite the slides and I'll tell you the answers later. Totally useless as there was a load of young guys who knew nothing about what to do or not to do.

Ah there was a few young guys who were never on site before so he was emphasising some stuff for there benefit. It was my second time. But from being on sites well for the summer anyway many don't realise just how dangerous they can be a lot of stuff going on all the time. Had great plans to properly clean and polish the golf today but when I remembered I had this booked from 3 weeks ago I was gutted :) has to be done. A fair bit of overtime starting from next week so god know when I'll get the time to clean it.

Decent tyres for the swede ?

Need 2 now 2 in afew weeks.

Anyone?

Just in the drive thru in mc Donald's and I noticed something about the que the cars in order
    Silver golf mk 5
    Blue golf mk 5
    Black golf mk 4
    Black golf mk 5 (me)
    Red golf mk 5 (directly behind me)
    Black passat 08 (behind that red golf)
    Then a focus but who cares about them :pac:
    Anyone notice the pattern and I'm genuinely not making that up I couldn't believe it :eek: it took me a few moment to notice it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Anyone?

I as gonna go in the MG, but I'm looking at two Rovers tomorrow for cheapies so I probably won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Bpmull wrote: »
    Just in the drive thru in mc Donald's and I noticed something about the que the cars in order
    Silver golf mk 5
    Blue golf mk 5
    Black golf mk 4
    Black golf mk 5 (me)
    Red golf mk 5 (directly behind me)
    Black passat 08 (behind that red golf)
    Then a focus but who cares about them :pac:
    Anyone notice the pattern and I'm genuinely not making that up I couldn't believe it :eek: it took me a few moment to notice it.

Yeah the pattern is they were all probably driven by young lads

Volvo S60's can't make drive through turns :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Volvo S60's can't make drive through turns :p

Mine can, but you'd need the skills of an artic driver to get around the bend in the one in newbridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Yeah, my Legend used to be a right nightmare, so I'd park up and go in and eat in the car.

You need to look up out the window of the Wolseley to see the counter :pac:

Yeah the pattern is they were all probably driven by young lads

No two of the mk5s were driven by two women I'd say in there late 20s they both opened the doors and leaned out when making collecting order and there windows were down so I don't know what that was about. The other mk5 by a lad in his 30s I'd say. The mk 4 had a load of young lads in it. Huge exhaust sitting on the ground Nuremberg sticker you get the picture. Also noticed it had no working rear lights whatsoever not even number plate lights but sure rear lights are over rated anyway lad :eek: :pac:

I have noticed that Golfs are very very common here, especially MK5s with MK4 being a close second.

'First to see will buy' - Apparently can be true.

I wish the new owner of the Rav4 the best of success, and I hope it brings him as much trouble-free motoring as it did for me. Well wear, my friend!

291B90C44AE94A19B60CEEF55C1E3CB3-0000333410-0003597704-00800L-73B669E4BFCC4A1185D5E4AF811DA400.jpg

Incidentally, hadn't a single phone call about it since listing it, until today when the chap that bought it rang to take a look. As soon as we finished the deal I got two calls. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Yes curse the popularity, driving up the prices :mad:

Never a big fan of drive through's - nearest one is about 30 mins away. Took note while there, that about 90% of the cars in Castlebar are 2008 - 2010 MO imports...... and black.