Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

What is the reason, though, is what has me thinking. :confused:

I know someone who had one and the heating going was the biggest issue (apparently a flap somewhere breaks and it gets stuck, so it's always blowing either hot or cold air. Can cost 600-700 to fix).

But thats all im really hearing. Otherwise seems grand? (hers was a 1.8 petrol though)
    The 1.6 HDi 407 my dad had as a company car was both reliable and comfortable but I don't think the interior is as nice as other cars of the time.

Just from experience myself, I've had a lot of dealings with them and I've worked on them a lot. The main reason though was DPF clogging, but that was because most of the people who bought them did loads of stop start city driving, and they only have them because "its diesel" and "its cheap to tax" - you know the kind, I'm sure.

The PAS pump and associated ECU can be a costly repair if it it gives trouble also.

Also your friend's 407 heating problem is a common issue. The heater control flaps stripp gears and you lose the ability to control temperature/direction of air.

A cousin of mine traded in a limited edition 2006 Yamaha R1 bike for a 2007 Peugeot 407 1.8 for his missus, I think he gave something like €10k with the bike in 2008, the car depreciated like a sack of spuds hitting the deck.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Just from experience myself, I've had a lot of dealings with them and I've worked on them a lot. The main reason though was DPF clogging, but that was because most of the people who bought them did loads of stop start city driving, and they only have them because "its diesel" and "its cheap to tax" - you know the kind, I'm sure.

The PAS pump and associated ECU can be a costly repair if it it gives trouble also.

Also your friend's 407 heating problem is a common issue. The heater control flaps stripp gears and you lose the ability to control temperature/direction of air.

A cousin of mine traded in a limited edition 2006 Yamaha R1 bike for a 2007 Peugeot 407 1.8 for his missus, I think he gave something like €10k with the bike in 2008, the car depreciated like a sack of spuds hitting the deck.

Well I do a lot of town driving, but I also do a lot of miles (~25,000km in the Rav4 in 12 months).

I've heard the DPF can be sorted with a good long blast on the motor way in high revs?

A lot of my journeys would be relatively start stop (not as bad as dublin, driving, for example) but would also be somewhat lengthy journeys (30mins on average) with a fair bit of constant-speed driving (or coasting, in my case).

I've no idea what the PAS pump or ECU really are, but are these things that a mechanic (or indeed, clued in joe soap like myself) could look at when viewing a car to get a feel for them or their likeliness to go?).

My plan would be to buy the car cos I like it (low tax and economical are also nice, but if i could afford the Rav, Im sure I could afford another 1.8 petrol). But 1.6 diesel does sound tempting.

However, chances are, this time next year, it'd be up for sale again, as I'd want something new again for a bit of novelty (much like my selling of the Rav).

As someone who has worked on them, would you take an educated punt on one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I think you should go for a 1.4 Corolla myself if you just want something reliable to get from A-B, should be decent one's around for your budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Well I do a lot of town driving, but I also do a lot of miles (~25,000km in the Rav4 in 12 months).

I've heard the DPF can be sorted with a good long blast on the motor way in high revs?

A lot of my journeys would be relatively start stop (not as bad as dublin, driving, for example) but would also be somewhat lengthy journeys (30mins on average) with a fair bit of constant-speed driving (or coasting, in my case).

I've no idea what the PAS pump or ECU really are, but are these things that a mechanic (or indeed, clued in joe soap like myself) could look at when viewing a car to get a feel for them or their likeliness to go?).

My plan would be to buy the car cos I like it (low tax and economical are also nice, but if i could afford the Rav, Im sure I could afford another 1.8 petrol). But 1.6 diesel does sound tempting.

However, chances are, this time next year, it'd be up for sale again, as I'd want something new again for a bit of novelty (much like my selling of the Rav).

As someone who has worked on them, would you take an educated punt on one?

RE the power steering pump (PAS = power assisted steering btw). Its an electric pump. Basically, while driving the power steering cuts out (you'll notice, the steering will get really heavy) and a "power steering faulty" warning light will come on. In most cases if you stop the car, turn it off and on again it'll be fine for a few more miles but it'll happen again, and theres no pattern to when it might happen. Its generally down to a faulty ECU on the pump, but generally the pump is changed for a new one (no point in buying second hand either). So you should be able to tell on a test drive if it were on the way out.

To be honest, to save you a lot of potential hassle, go for a petrol - either 1.8 or 2.0 model. They are reliable cars tbh.
    Two things to worry about. The coolant temp sensor leaking. And the 1.8 are fond of oil - so be sure its topped up regularly.

If you were able to run the 1.8 Rav4 without it being too costly a petrol Peugeot should be no problem, probably a bit better on fuel compared to the Rav4 I'd guess.

Re-sale value wouldn't be great but you could pick one up really cheap at the moment.

Look out for a 2.0 sport, or an X-Line spec which was 1.8 and 2.0 AFAIK. They got nice leather or half leather seats.

Here's a nice example of a 2.0 Sport -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/spotless-peugeot-407/7121685

I reckon you could get this for under €2000. Low miles, in the colour you want and its got very good spec.

And a newer one here with longer NCT for under €2k, with higher miles though -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-407-2-0-litre-petrol/7207887

Anyone have any idea on a price for a MAF for an E39? I'm seeing them range from 15 odd Sterling on Amazon to €400 on MicksGarage.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    RE the power steering pump (PAS = power assisted steering btw). Its an electric pump. Basically, while driving the power steering cuts out (you'll notice, the steering will get really heavy) and a "power steering faulty" warning light will come on. In most cases if you stop the car, turn it off and on again it'll be fine for a few more miles but it'll happen again, and theres no pattern to when it might happen. Its generally down to a faulty ECU on the pump, but generally the pump is changed for a new one (no point in buying second hand either). So you should be able to tell on a test drive if it were on the way out.

To be honest, to save you a lot of potential hassle, go for a petrol - either 1.8 or 2.0 model. They are reliable cars tbh.
    Two things to worry about. The coolant temp sensor leaking. And the 1.8 are fond of oil - so be sure its topped up regularly.

If you were able to run the 1.8 Rav4 without it being too costly a petrol Peugeot should be no problem, probably a bit better on fuel compared to the Rav4 I'd guess.

Re-sale value wouldn't be great but you could pick one up really cheap at the moment.

Look out for a 2.0 sport, or an X-Line spec which was 1.8 and 2.0 AFAIK. They got nice leather or half leather seats.

Here's a nice example of a 2.0 Sport -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/spotless-peugeot-407/7121685

I reckon you could get this for under €2000. Low miles, in the colour you want and its got very good spec.

And a newer one here with longer NCT for under €2k, with higher miles though -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-407-2-0-litre-petrol/7207887

Cheers for that very helpful post.

Lots to consider. I am still thinking diesel though (for a few reasons, one being it'll be easier to shift on if i dont like it or it shows issues, other being i wouldnt mind a diesel for the sake of it, see what the fuss/difference really is).

But petrol is looking like the sensible option again.

Ah, I'll have to sleep on it and think about it again tomorrow (and consider other cars too, in my budget, im having a bit of tunnel vision with the 407 cos I like the look of it in black so much).

Genuinely appreciating the help, though. Thank you Kaiser :) (and everyone else, of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,750 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I wouldn't buy a 1.6 Diesel 407 unless I had the money in my account to cover replacing the following.

EGR replacement - Cannot blank as it fries turbos.
    Turbo replacement - regularly known to overheat due to faulty EGRs
    DPF removal and remapping - Roughly €500-600 and something I'd consider doing even if it wasn't faulty.
    Clutch - again it's a known fault

BTW I drive a 2.0 Hdi so I'm no Peugeot hater, just stating the reasons I went for the 2.0 over the 1.6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Quazzie wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy a 1.6 Diesel 407 unless I had the money in my account to cover replacing the following.

EGR replacement - Cannot blank as it fries turbos.
    Turbo replacement - regularly known to overheat due to faulty EGRs
    DPF removal and remapping - Roughly €500-600 and something I'd consider doing even if it wasn't faulty.
    Clutch - again it's a known fault

BTW I drive a 2.0 Hdi so I'm no Peugeot hater, just stating the reasons I went for the 2.0 over the 1.6.

+1 on this.
    If your buying anything with a 1.6 hdi/ tdci / Psa engine you'd want a few thousand put aside to cover any or a few of the above problems occurring. Abs and traction control issues seem to be an issue in these to. Tbh it's as easy to buy a diesel that doesn't have a dpf my 07 golf doesn't have one. Although id a lot of long trips so it wouldn't be an issue but kkv is doing a lot of town driving.

Bpmull wrote: »
    +1 on this.
    If your buying anything with a 1.6 hdi/ tdci / Psa engine you'd want a few thousand put aside to cover any or a few of the above problems occurring. Abs and traction control issues seem to be an issue in these to. Tbh it's as easy to buy a diesel that doesn't have a dpf my 07 golf doesn't have one. Although id a lot of long trips so it wouldn't be an issue but kkv is doing a lot of town driving.

How would an average joe soap (ie; me) know what cars do and dont have one? I know a lot of cars share similar or the same engines.

I want a diesel, for the novelty of it, and just so i can have some first hand experience of them. But much like the Rav4, even though I really want it now, I know it'll be gone next year, cos I'll be bored of it.

So if I can get one trouble-free year, I'm the happiest little camper. At the same time, I'm not great with money management (terrible at savings, great at loans :D ) so don't want to have to be rushing out the door some morning to do a job and the car let's me down.

In this day and age, if you buy a used car off a dealer, presumably you get some kind of warranty? I know my brother bought a renault megane that had a decent warranty a while back. Timing belt went after warranty expired but the dealer still paid something towards the cost (admittedly, the dealer was an actual Renault dealer). It was a used car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

To be honest, once you get to old diesels they will inevitably be leggy but that's not a bad thing providing there's a maintenance history or some sorts, flywheels, timing belts etc.

If you want one that gives little trouble something like this is what I'd be looking at.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2001-toyota-avensis-non-d4d/7210419

A cheap diesels warranty won't be worth a whole lot tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,293 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's my old car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Anyone have any idea on a price for a MAF for an E39? I'm seeing them range from 15 odd Sterling on Amazon to €400 on MicksGarage.

Who makes the bmw ones? If it's anything like the alfa, oem is the only way to go. The Bosch unit is the best of a bad lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

How would an average joe soap (ie; me) know what cars do and dont have one? I know a lot of cars share similar or the same engines.

It's hard enough to know which engines have dpf and which don't. Best thing to do is post here when looking at a particular car and someone will tell you. In some cases the same engine with different power outputs may have a dpf on one variant and not the other even though it's the same car same engine that's how confusing it gets. For example a 1.6 hdi / tdci / Psa (the peugeot engine) the 90 bhp version has no dpf the 110 bhp has a dpf.

Who makes the bmw ones? If it's anything like the alfa, oem is the only way to go. The Bosch unit is the best of a bad lot.

Yeah they're Bosch alright. Will see if I can get a lend of a unit first to see if that solves the limp problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Yeah they're Bosch alright. Will see if I can get a lend of a unit first to see if that solves the limp problem.

Unplug it and see if it drives better.....if it does its the maf. If it doesn't its something else

I did that but it only drove slightly better, I think it might be the electronic control unit itself on top of it as the maf itself is very clean, that's why I want to get a lend of a working one to see if that works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

While I'm at it, can ye upload pics directly from ye're phone's gallery - got a new phone and it's not playing ball. It seems that there is a five pic limit. Won't even upload one!

Is there usually a limit of how much you can drive someone else's car with the Driving of Other Cars benefit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I think if I was going to have a 407 - it would have to be a Coupe with leather and toys.

Not sure how true this is - but ive read the Coupes were better built then the normal 407s - I think they were built on a separate line.

I actually think the Coupe 407s look nice - but they definitely aren't the design classic the 406 coupe was

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-407-2-2-coupe-hi-spec-model-nct/6722403

Ignore the price - im only putting up this one to show KKV what the coupe actually looks like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Trip #2 with GoCar. Took out a SEAT Mii this time. Nice car! Very roomy inside and definitely more space in the drivers footwell compared to the Fiesta.

Quite a peppy car to drive and once you get up a bit on the revs it's got a nice engine note. It's a 1L 3cyl. The horn sounds like it came in a christmas cracker though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Of course im not saying he should go 407 coupe or indeed ANY 407

I just think the Coupe is more appealing then the normal 407 (personal view) - and as ive said ive read that they are better built then the normal 407 - I don't know how true that is though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Anyone know a good place to get tyres balanced / tracked, preferably around midlands? I brought my car to a garage a couple of weeks ago, then took one wheel off, got some U-shaped tool, adjusted something, charged me 30 euro but it was exactly the same as before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Teachack

Can I ask, does anyone know if there is a limit to the number of vehicles that one person can be insured as the main driver?

I hate pestering ye guys so much, but what do ye guys make of this (im broadening out my search from the 407).

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-1-9-diesel-nct-09-14/7175979

Looks okay. I drove a Skoda Fabia before, not sure what year/spec, but it was the single worst car interior I'd ever seen. Looked like it was some mad soviet russian design and made with the cheapest of cheap plastic everywhere.

And that Octavia seems cheap, so I'm assuming it'd be the same?

Otherwise, can anyone comment on the reliability of the 1.9 diesel and rough MPG a person could expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I hate pestering ye guys so much, but what do ye guys make of this (im broadening out my search from the 407).

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-1-9-diesel-nct-09-14/7175979

Looks okay. I drove a Skoda Fabia before, not sure what year/spec, but it was the single worst car interior I'd ever seen. Looked like it was some mad soviet russian design and made with the cheapest of cheap plastic everywhere.

And that Octavia seems cheap, so I'm assuming it'd be the same?

Otherwise, can anyone comment on the reliability of the 1.9 diesel and rough MPG a person could expect?

They're a nice place to be, comfy like, but i think they're the blandest yokes going, a friend of mine has one in that champagne colour they came in, great boot space, and he claims to get 55+mpg but still, they scream I'm bland as fcuk to me, but each to their own and all

They are decent yokes - that 1.9 engine seems to go on forever with around 50 mpg from what I have researched. Share the engine with Seat, VW and Audi. Wouldn't be a bad option, although they are all over the place!

On another note, car viewing starts tomorrow :D

Wehey! :D

I've been watching fear and loathing in las vegas and I've decided i want a car like the one in the film :pac:

Wehey! :D

I've been watching fear and loathing in las vegas and I've decided i want a car like the one in the film :pac:

Starting with the one I showed you. Will see if it has anything to hide.......

I'm expecting lots to be honest, but i could be wrong