Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

I remember some Fuji cameras that could buffer a few seconds continuously, and save the previous buffer to memory card when you press the shutter button.

Would be cool to see this in dashcams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Banned for a year and ordered to do 150 hours community service and fined £85 costs, Ladies and gentlemen I give you Christian Clark from Leeds.

Full story here,http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2670523/Reckless-motorist-undertakes-lorry-hard-shoulder-swerves-fast-lane-brakes-right-car.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭ZENER

Sweet Jeebus !!

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

ken wrote: »
    Banned for a year and ordered to do 150 hours community service and fined £85 costs, Ladies and gentlemen I give you Christian Clark from Leeds.

What an absolute idiot, imagine the horror crash that could have caused, especially with the truck beside them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'd have given more than a year, feckin idiot deserves to be a bus passenger than a driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

That is shocking stuff...

I wonder would he have been held to account if it had happened here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Impatient Kerry farmer. Tourist parked rented car in gateway to field.

Lads, ye cant be doin' dat! Dat's blatant abandonment of cars. Now if it happens agin, PJ will be down wit de book. That's right, I'll be down wit de book, no better man!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

The defendant has admitted that he made a massive error of judgement.
    "Error of judgement"? An error of judgement is not checking your blindspot when changing lanes or misjudging a length of a gap in traffic. It is not undertaking a HGV in a hard shoulder, swerving across two lanes of traffic and performing a brake test on the car behind. Should be banned for much longer than that.

The scary thing is, I've seem similar incidents of using the hard shoulder as an extra lane on the M50 during rush hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The dash cam driver did incredibly well to brake in time considering he came from the left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Caliden wrote: »
    The dash cam driver did incredibly well to brake in time considering he came from the left.

It was a savage piece of driving by the dash cam driver. I don't think I'm going to far in saying that the dash cam drivers lightening reactions saved lives that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

It was a savage piece of driving by the dash cam driver. I don't think I'm going to far in saying that the dash cam drivers lightening reactions saved lives that day.

Quick reaction alright, only takes a second for thing to get out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭b318isp

"Error of judgement"? An error of judgement is not checking your blindspot when changing lanes or misjudging a length of a gap in traffic. It is not undertaking a HGV in a hard shoulder, swerving across two lanes of traffic and performing a brake test on the car behind. Should be banned for much longer than that.

The scary thing is, I've seem similar incidents of using the hard shoulder as an extra lane on the M50 during rush hour.

I'll leave this here...from the N81 this morning. I was about to pop back to the left lane when the corner of my eye caught this genius in my mirror who had undertaken in the hard shoulder and sped up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Iwannahurl wrote: »

[Info redacted]

I seriously hope the fella was hung and quartered for that shocking display

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

For future reference, when posting a video, you use the following syntax:

If this is your youtube link:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=[B]81cyUwnM71U[/B]

Take what's after the v= and post it like below:

[noparse][/noparse]

For reference when embedding vids....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Should be prosecuted for that, judging by the car it was a young / inexperienced / testosterone driven driver who needs a proper beating before he gets behind the wheel again.

If you have a reg - report it. As much as I hate reporting things, this is unacceptable.

Could have been a nasty crash...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

My wife doesn't have a dash cam in her car but will be getting one now, driver overtook her (in the overtaking lane) coming to the M50 turn off for Sandyford (northbound) then left hooked between two lorries (in the left lane, not turning off) in front of her and then skidded in front of her to straighten up to get up the ramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

Slightly related, what's the point of the camera on the right considering it appears to be looking at the back of the rear view mirror.

Killinator wrote: »
    Slightly related, what's the point of the camera on the right considering it appears to be looking at the back of the rear view mirror.

Proof of not being on the phone? Not a great place to put a rear mounted camera anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Hidden camera for thieves maybe?

Sure they never check the rear view mirror anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

useful if installed with a clear view of the rear window...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

I say the driver of the car doesn't need the benefits of an inward facing camera and as such didn't bothering fitting it so that it would have a proper view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Video removed. I guess it is being taken further?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 dnphoto

can anyone recommend a good rechargeable dash cam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

dnphoto wrote: »

Really depends on your budget. Check out this thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81902582

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Dacelonid

Got a new dashcam and wanted to try it out.
    Captured this yesterday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

CiniO wrote: »
    If it's the former one, then this dashcam would need to have an option to start recording 9 seconds before shock is detected. Brilliant - I want one like that.

That's the way the roadhawk works; it gets a shock or you press the button and it saves the previous 10 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

dnphoto wrote: »

Most of them only have a small battery to allow you snap a few pictures and review video while not plugged in.

You could perhaps use a USB power bank like those aldi were selling. I'm not sure if they would power it though some devices are odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭huggs2

This bus driver decided to turn right when the left green filter came on.
    Sorry about the flare on the camera.