Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

moy83 wrote: »
    I can see a dirty joke in that :D

Aaand I'm going to give myself a slap on the wrist for talking so much on the photo thread. Moving to Chit Chat:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Old school nabouger keeps all his luck money for years, loves the stuff. The ould lad would get right pissed off if he didn't get sum luck money back after buying a few cattle off a lad!! He would even walk around the mart after selling a few to trow out sum luck money. Must be an old tradition or sum thing?

Yea it was the way it was done years ago, if the owner was happy with the deal he'd throw back a penny for luck.
    It had died off there, bsr a few, but seams to be the thing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

PMU wrote: »
    o really. have ye been to knock since the Roscommon match ,or what

Remind me again who won the mayo vrs Ross game. We played pure muck but got the win in the end.we have galway in castlebar I feel we will play a hell of a lot better than we did against Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Should I fill the slats with cats instead of cattle ? :D

Is that above the slats or below it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

naughto wrote: »
    Is that above the slats or below it

Now now none of that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

Was lucky with the weather for the first batch of bales ... cut wednesday evening , baled saturday mourning , conditioned twice, no rain and got 132 bales from 12 acres .....13.5 bales to the acre after 8 weeks and it was sprayed earlier in the year for docks .
    ls1s.jpg
    y0gg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Old school silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

simx wrote: »
    Old school silage
    OH knows a man who is still using bags on round bales. I think he is based in Galway or Mayo. Seems he bought in a large stock of them years ago before them became obsolete.
    Most of the younger ones on this site would never have seen them but they were all the rage 25/30 years ago.
    Can't find any pics of them on the net :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Base price wrote: »
    OH knows a man who is still using bags on round bales. I think he is based in Galway or Mayo. Seems he bought in a large stock of them years ago before them became obsolete.
    Most of the younger ones on this site would never have seen them but they were all the rage 25/30 years ago.

Never seen them in the flesh myself but was watching a video on youtube about farming in monaghan in 1985 and seen them on it. Did you reverse them into them with a spike? Hard to exclude air l would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Bags? How would that work :confused: Wrap it around the bale and tie it up or what?

simx wrote: »
    Old school silage

Not easy fill that trailer from the side I'd say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Damo810 wrote: »
    Bags? How would that work :confused: Wrap it around the bale and tie it up or what?
    Pick up bale off the ground on the spike of either a three point linkage or on a front loader. Place bag over same, expel as much air as possible, drop bale on ground, reverse out of same, expel the rest of the air and seal with either a tie or baler twine. I did hundreds of them over the years.
    Thanks to the lad who invented the wrapper :)
    The first wrapped bales that I saw was in my uncles farm in Longford probably about 1988. It took a few years for it to catch on around my home place in nc Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

Do any of ye remember yer man winning the business grant show on rte bout 12-15 years ago for the "silo sock"? Basically reusable bale wrap...

Muckit wrote: »
    Thanks Muckit for posting that link.
    It brings back so many memories including tie up byres and pipeline systems.
    I had forgotten about the excessive wet summer of 1985. The memory dulls as the years roll by ;)
    Thankfully I was not badly affected that year due to having good dry north county Dublin land but I do remember loading the cattle trailer with fodder and barley every weekend and heading to my Uncle's farm in Longford to help him out.
    I have searched on the web but cannot find any videos of bagging round bale silage. Maybe some of ye younger farmers can find a video.

I had forgotten about the excessive wet summer of 1985. The memory dulls as the years roll by ;)
    Thankfully I was not badly affected that year due to having good dry north county Dublin land but I do remember loading the cattle trailer with fodder and barley every weekend and heading to my Uncle's farm in Longford to help him out.
    I have searched on the web but cannot find any videos of bagging round bale silage. Maybe some of ye younger farmers can find a video.

Like these things? http://www.sliponsbalebonnets.com/balebag.htm :confused:

Never heard of it before so I'd love to see a video!

I do remember that Killeshandra Creamery supplied or maybe even manufactured the bags.

Mighty video Muckit , I love watching stuff like that .

I have been trawling through the internet in search of a video/photo of bagging round bales of silage but unfortunately to no avail :(
    I hope this period of Irish farming has not gone by undocumented.
    I did however discover the person responsible for round baled silage - Lloyd Forester.
    http://www.newsandstar.co.uk/sudden-death-of-farming-legend-1.940224?referrerPath=home/2.1962

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Killeshandra played a role to popularize it, through the monthly "Farm Notes". (The author of those had a catch phrase "you can fodder your cows in your Sunday clothes" )but it was Volac in Killeshandra who introduced the concept in this end of the country. Who remembers using a wooden horn shaped thing to roll on the rubber sealing rings? The tiniest hole in a bag and the whole bale was dung.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Killeshandra played a role to popularized it, but it was Volac in Killeshandra who introduced the concept in this end of the country. Who remembers using a wooden horn shaped thing to roll on the rubber sealing rings? The tiniest hole in a bag and the whole bale was dungeon.
    After reading your post I do remember that Volac was printed on the bags in latter years. It was a few years before they marketed milk replace - I think?
    My uncle used to supply Killeshandra Creamery when I was a childer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Not easy fill that trailer from the side I'd say :D

wasnt as bad as expected, theres a chute extension for it just not on it at the moment, would make a good difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Killeshandra played a role to popularized it, but it was Volac in Killeshandra who introduced the concept in this end of the country. Who remembers using a wooden horn shaped thing to roll on the rubber sealing rings? The tiniest hole in a bag and the whole bale was dung.

Did a good bit of bagging silage and I think I still have that yoke for rolling the rubber ring on over the bag. I bought one of the first Welger rp12's that was sold in the country ,'79 I think,which was one of the few balers at that time that could bale silage, I remember baling silage and people coming across the fields to see what was happening. In '85 the supply of bags ran out and one local farmer found liners for bulk cement bags could be used.

Remember that "summer", neighbour drew out the grass from the field onto a stretch of road, forked it out again and round baled it on the road.
    We were struggling with a JF FC80 harvester, and using a second tractor to push trailers on the hills.
    And bringing a railway sleeper to each field, to drop the trailers on, cause otherwise the trailer drawbar ring would sink below the level the pick-up hitch could get to.
    The farmer in the video with the block cutter on the Massey digger was ahead of the pack, cause shear grabs didn't really come in till 1986 or 87. Those cutters were good when they were new, but when they aged, they could start missing a tooth, and not moving on. Then you left the hydraulics running and got off the tractor and give the knife motor unit a push on by hand............... H & S would not be impressed !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

The first wrapper I saw was a tanco hand held one. The bale was lifted on a spike which rotated like a cement mixer and the wrap was held by hand in a dispenser like the ones on the modern wrappers. The bale was rotated and the dispenser was held by hand until the round part was wrapped then dropped on the ground and the operator walked around the the bale with the dispenser sealing the flat parts. Hard to describe, something like this.

net.http://www.farmshow.com/view_articles.php?a_id=1044

Damo810 wrote: »

Lift the bale as high as possible on a spike, and with a helper pull the bag onto it. Back into position where the bale would be stored and let the bale down. Then you got as much air out as possible and used a rubber ring like a version of a lamb tail docking ring to seal the bag.
    If you were storing them near the parlour, you could run a length of water piping from the milking machine and use it to suck out the air from the bag before sealing.
    The bag would blow up like a balloon on day two or three, and you had to check the ring didn't roll off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Here's a HEX bullock that can't quite make up his mind on colour.. He started off as totally red and then started to chage.. Seems to have settled on this mixture, shame as he was much nicer looking all red..

14464418406_5dc53b823f_c.jpg

_Brian wrote: »
    Here's a HEX bullock that can't quite make up his mind on colour.. He started off as totally red and then started to chage.. Seems to have settled on this mixture, shame as he was much nicer looking all red..

Whale oil beef hooked.

Never knew that could happen! He's a brindle now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

_Brian wrote: »

14464418406_5dc53b823f_c.jpg

have a cow that threw a calf like every from the old stock bull,

changed the bull and her calves come red now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

36 acres knocked for baling tomorrow, praying the morning will come middling good!

IMG_02121_zpse630be36.jpg
    IMG_02131_zps83c1e54e.jpg