Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Send that guy my way please! :D

He has parts for a 900 too, and 9-5. I only know him through facebook!
    davycc wrote: »
    106E:( some price considering the bargain price you paid for the entire car..

hope that meath lad works out for you

With postage + VAT I'd say I'd be looking at about €120-ish!

I'm heading up to him tomorrow sometime, he's in Kentstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Forgot to say, touch up's for the Pajero came today. I was expecting them to be a nail varnish type thing, with the brush, but no, you get you bottle and you're expected to apply the paint with a cocktail skewer type thing, which is what was supplied.... ehh what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Forgot to say, touch up's for the Pajero came today. I was expecting them to be a nail varnish type thing, with the brush, but no, you get you bottle and you're expected to apply the paint with a cocktail skewer type thing, which is what was supplied.... ehh what?

Well off you go :pac:

You're a pro at bodyshop stuff now :P

Well off you go :pac:

You're a pro at bodyshop stuff now :P

Lets just say I won't be putting up any pics of this one :pac: I kind of winged it though - could use the lacquer brush off the Mondeo touch up, and I applied the paint, wait for it..... with my fingers, gloves on of course, just dab your finger of paint on the chip, worked well if I do say so myself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Yeah that's the norm. Idea is you clean out the chip, build it up tiny bits at a time using the cocktail stick. Get it past flush with the normal paint, then flat it back and polish it.

Ahh, meh, my method works better :pac: tried that actually, and when it came to making it flat again (sanding I assume) I made a balls of the surrounding area with marks, so I parked that method there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Ahh, meh, my method works better :pac: tried that actually, and when it came to making it flat again (sanding I assume) I made a balls of the surrounding area with marks, so I parked that method there...

I always fix stonechips and scratches using a toothpick. I find it to be far more precise than a brush at keeping the touch up paint confined to the repair area.

I want to go work on the 900, but the sun is shining right were i need to be, so i can't :(

First world problem to the max, while I'm here if anyone has any blue silcone vacuum lines they could part with I'll gladly take it from you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Will you melt or something if you're in the sun :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

No but the tea in the teacosy on his head may evaporate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

OSI wrote: »

Mmmm... Delivery day. Get herselfs Micra serviced at the weekend, and off to it's new owner.

I got one of those oil filter removal tools but found it useless, the grips seem to do the job much better, let me know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I got one of those oil filter removal tools but found it useless, the grips seem to do the job much better, let me know how you get on.

Or, if your car was serviced by someone who knew what he was doing, the filter would be openable by hand (if that's a word!)

Yeah, when I do the filters myself I dont screw them on super tight. On anonother not I hate the sun, its terrible for my car, the dash is so hot it burns to touch, I can see dash lift happening also as the glue that holds the dash down is melting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Yeah, when I do the filters myself I dont screw them on super tight. On anonother not I hate the sun, its terrible for my car, the dash is so hot it burns to touch, I can see dash lift happening also as the glue that holds the dash down is melting.

I left a new BMW outside in the sun for a few hours, a couple of years ago, with the reg plates across the top of the instrument binnacle.

Had to order new plates, as the ones in the car had melted to the same shape as the binnacle :eek:

Sun also has benefits though. De-badged a 318d that I forgot to order de-badged, with just my fingers, after it had been sitting in the sun for a few hours (badge to the sun)

No but the tea in the teacosy on his head may evaporate

exactly! gawd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Got her to fire up this evening. A bit of faffing about was needed, but it wasn't so bad considering it hadn't moved at all in 13 years prior to that.
    Still at early stages of the whole project obviously, we're hoping to have it on the road in about a month and sometime down the line we'll be doing an engine conversion, when we get a lock up and a decent lift.

Was that the one sitting up at northpoint NCT?

Interslice wrote: »
    Was that the one sitting up at northpoint NCT?

Thats the one. Saw it on Donedeal but only copped where it was when I had a car up there recently.

Just got rear ended while waiting at traffic light, old man, not much damage but the steering is fecked.

Ah ffs :mad:

Pity to happen to such a nice car :(
    Everyone ok?

Pity to happen to such a nice car :(
    Everyone ok?

yeah we are fine, my wife and son were in the car so lucky enough. The guy said I dont know what I was thinking.

He said it was 100% his fault but I gave him my insurance details anyway. Will call his insurance now.

Ah no way, sorry to hear Chris. Hope the car is okay, and glad to hear you're okay yourself.

actually my neck is a little stiff, normal I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sir pickleton guy doing my pdr used to own a 9-5 aero and 3 900s so pm me if you need any oddball parts he.might have.

He said it was 100% his fault but I gave him my insurance details anyway. Will call his insurance now.

Call insurance, make sure you got photos of the incident location and the garda were called.
    Also make sure you notify your insurance beforethe other guy does.

Ah Jesus. Sorry to hear that. Glad no one was hurt.

The opposite happened to me last week in my work car park. Some lad driving in was scouting the place for a handy spot close to the entrance of the factory. He spots one but drove too far to make the turn, slaps his 2012 A4 into reverse, never checked his mirrors and BAM, straight into the front of my stopped car. No damage done because I slapped on the horn as soon as he started reversing so it was only a tip. About 20 of the lads witnessed it and couldn't believe what you're man just did. He admitted fault straight away, would not stop apologising despite me trying to calm him down and we left it at that. I really need a dashcam

Call insurance, make sure you got photos of the incident location and the garda were called.
    Also make sure you notify your insurance beforethe other guy does.

Called his company and they said they will call me after they talk to the other driver. No Garda called, I went to the station and they said there is no need to call them if one party has admitted liability, they only need to come out if there is a dispute. I just called my company there thanks.

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am having the worst F**king day, I just got this from ebay seller about my side skirts.
    "dear sir

thank for purchase on my item..sorry sir for disturb..
    sir just now i receive a phone call and message from the shipping company and they inform me about their shipping truck face seriously accident.
    and the truck cargo is separate with the truck chassis..
    so most of the item slip out everywhere..so sir they told me your item is in the missing and broken list,but sir they will investigate on it and inform me as soon as possible..
    sorry sir in case the,the item is missing or broken,we will refund the money for you as my apologize..
    .really sorry sir.hope that you can understand..

thank and have a nice day ":mad::mad::mad::mad:

Words are beyond me, that is a proper horrid day right there :(

Sir pickleton guy doing my pdr used to own a 9-5 aero and 3 900s so pm me if you need any oddball parts he.might have.

I shall faceache you