If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Pregnant Womans Moan Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Jerrica

Merkin wrote: »
    That's interesting. I've been advised NOT to squat at all in the last couple of months. The midwife said that it can force the baby down into an unfavorable position before its ready to engage naturally so any kind of squatting is ill-advised. I think it's probably fine until you get to the more advanced stages. I'm 34 weeks now and fear if I was to squat right now the little man would come flying out!! :o
    j@utis wrote: »
    I've read in one of the links posted here (by Merkin?) that it's not recommended to squat below parallel later in the pregnancy because it might interfere with baby getting into right position for the labor.

If baby is not in an optimal position after 30 weeks then squatting is not recommended, but if he's head down then go for it, they're a fantastic exercise to do - great prep for labour, great for your pelvic floor, and a great position for labouring in. We do squats at every pregnancy pilates class, and even for those us us late into the third trimester it's a case of go as far as you're comfy :)

edit: sorry Merkin, not trying to say your midwife is wrong :o I think it's another case of different people give different advice, my antenatal yoga teacher (also a midwife) was/ is a huge fan of squats throughout pregnancy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭SmokeyEyes

I started finding bending over awkward months ago, now I'm at a few days short of 40 weeks I've lost my patience with myself, I get in a grump just having to pick something off the floor because I'm so awkward and uncomfortable!

Ahh to be able to walk like a normal person again or god forbid, roll over in bed with ease....:pac:

So excited and happy but the past few days I've passed into the ready to roll stage, partly because I just need to feel normal again!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭dizzymiss

SmokeyEyes wrote: »
    I started finding bending over awkward months ago, now I'm at a few days short of 40 weeks I've lost my patience with myself, I get in a grump just having to pick something off the floor because I'm so awkward and uncomfortable!

Ahh to be able to walk like a normal person again or god forbid, roll over in bed with ease....:pac:

So excited and happy but the past few days I've passed into the ready to roll stage, partly because I just need to feel normal again!:D

I hear you hun. Ive started to just leaving things on the floor when I drop them. Loading/unliading the washing machine is a curse.

Feel like ive been pregnant forever. Cant wait to meet bubs and looking forward to getting back to myself. My own clothes, exercise, generally moving with ease :D

SPD is pretty bad today. I had midwives clinic this afternoon where they confirmed. Basically told me to organise my own physio as I'll prob have my baby before I get any kind of letter from them for an appt. So will look into that myself.
    Im in bits.

dizzymiss wrote: »
    I hear you hun. Ive started to just leaving things on the floor when I drop them. Loading/unliading the washing machine is a curse.

Feel like ive been pregnant forever. Cant wait to meet bubs and looking forward to getting back to myself. My own clothes, exercise, generally moving with ease :D

SPD is pretty bad today. I had midwives clinic this afternoon where they confirmed. Basically told me to organise my own physio as I'll prob have my baby before I get any kind of letter from them for an appt. So will look into that myself.
    Im in bits.

You poor yoke, have to say SPD has been the biggest annoyance during pregnancy, since about 20 weeks it's caused me a lot of hassle, from pain in bed that has me up every hour to pain when walking, pain with sex, pain just trying to move around! I'm wondering how long it takes to recover once baby arrives?

In 33weeks and up until about ten days ago the pregnancy was going so well. Thought initially id just pulled a muscle or something but it gradually got worse. There have been days I can't get one foot in front of the other without tears. And it's so unfair on my 11month old, not able to play as much on the floor with her as I'd like.

Personal question??!!! How do you manage sex? I know sex is what got me in this position in the first place but well ya know... pardon the puns!

In 33weeks and up until about ten days ago the pregnancy was going so well. Thought initially id just pulled a muscle or something but it gradually got worse. There have been days I can't get one foot in front of the other without tears. And it's so unfair on my 11month old, not able to play as much on the floor with her as I'd like.

Personal question??!!! How do you manage sex? I know sex is what got me in this position in the first place but well ya know... pardon the puns!

Ah you poor thing it can be really tough and exhausting!

As for the deed itself, spoony is the way to go, hope it's ok to post illustration but this way there's no weight on my pelvis, I can put a cushion under my bump and it's just much more relaxed and enjoyable for us both!:)

def2daea2703088025c270177da840bd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

:D:D As my pregnancy progressed, things got less and less dignified! Started out me on top, (grand) then spooning (could get fiddly) and finally doggy style was all we could manage! :p The glamour I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭j@utis

:D:D and you can call "threesome" if baby is awake and kicking at the time :D

Jerrica: what squats are you doing? legs wide apart - "sumo" style, or legs straight in front of you - "monkey" squats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Betsie_xr3i

Oh if I don't get some decent sleep soon was 2am before I got to sleep last night and was awake at 5.30 xx im finding it so hard at the moment with a very energetic 1.5yr old and all I want to do is sleep xx

j@utis wrote: »
    Jerrica: what squats are you doing? legs wide apart - "sumo" style, or legs straight in front of you - "monkey" squats?

Just regular squatting right now and I'm only comfortable going to parallel or just above, but from around 37 weeks I'll be squatting daily - sumo, monkey, whatever way my legs will let me :D Baby is nicely head down, my hips are wide and mobile and I have a long history of strength sports (I used to be able to squat 100kg without breaking a sweat) so it's an incredibly comfortable position for me. I'm hoping to labour primarily in a squat position :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭FurBabyMomma

I have to moan about how objective the whole eissue of weight gain is. I'm 25 weeks today and my pregnancy app is telling me my 19lb weight gain is 'excessive'.

Now yes this may seem like a lot but I'm 5'1" and was 115lbs before I got pregnant so surely the baby needs this weight? And if it's excessive how come last week my doctor told me my bump was measuring smaller than normal?

I still walk 1hr 20mins a day plus do a pregnancy pilates video a few times a week.

FurBaby I have only once during this pregnancy gotten up on the scales to measure my weight gain, and it's the stupidest thing I could have done. I agonized over it for days and worried and berated myself over how much weight I'd put on. But the hospital has only once weighed me at my booking appointment and never since! It's so, so subjective, but the lighter you start pit the more pronounced weight gain will be. You're exercising loads which is fantastic, so stay healthy and let your body do what it needs to do - baby growing is heavy work, try not to let the figure take over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Lucuma

Jerrica wrote: »
    If baby is not in an optimal position after 30 weeks then squatting is not recommended, but if he's head down then go for it, they're a fantastic exercise to do - .

Thank you for this advice, I'm 30 weeks on Friday and my baby is not in the right position yet. So I better stop squatting then!

Lucuma check out the Spinning Babies website - loads of recommended exercises there to encourage baby to slip around the right way :)http://spinningbabies.com/techniques/activities-for-fetal-positioning

Girls weight gain is natural, I started pregnancy being in awful shape and therefore panicking and now I'm 20lbs lighter than I was before I fell pregnant at 40 weeks! I would have loved to have been in a healthier position starting rather than having to work so hard during pregnancy!

Have Rotunda appointment today so if blood pressure is high they may get the ball rolling, if I'm still hanging in there I'll be sent home, not sure which would be better:D

Lucuma, I was 36 weeks before baby got into the right position. You have plenty of time x

Spooning didn't work very well for us (pity) so at nearly 30 weeks we're somehow still managing a variation of missionary. I find putting a pillow under me to prop me up and semi pushing him away/holding him up up so he can't lean down too much on the bump works fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Another good one is lying with your bum on the edge/side of the bed and your partner can stand on the floor at the side of the bed, allows for quite deep penetration but it's not putting pressure on any joints etc

It's awful when the missionary position becomes something exotic and complicated you can only dream of:D:D

At least we're still all managing it girls! Am wondering after labour how long before downstairs will feel up for anything of that nature assuming I give birth vaginally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

Yeah I think really any position worked for us just some days certain ones didn't.. It changed from time to time..

As for after birth around 3 weeks after my first I stopped bleeding after a week and at 4 weeks with number 2 as I bled for 3 weeks.. Both were natural births

It's awful when the missionary position sex becomes something exotic and complicated you can only dream of:D:D

:o

:o

Haha listen fiance surprised me with a large caramel frappuccino last Friday, it was like sex it was that good I told him I'd marry him on the spot in my pjs for that alone!

Does anyone else feel very unsexy? I felt good about myself but last couple of weeks just feel like a lump with a giant baby hanging out of the front of me so feel very bleugh about myself. Other half is always great about me and makes me feel good but I just can't feel sexy this pregnant any more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

It's awful when the missionary position becomes something exotic and complicated you can only dream of:D:D

At least we're still all managing it girls! Am wondering after labour how long before downstairs will feel up for anything of that nature assuming I give birth vaginally!

I gave birth vaginally and also had an episiotomy, for a couple of weeks after I wondered if I'd ever manage sex again! :eek: However at my six-week check (which actually happened at five weeks), the doctor had a good rummage around down there and said all was perfect - like I'd never even had a baby! So I, eh, got back in the saddle that night. And all good, if anything it's better than ever before! ;)

We never really managed pregnant sex. I just couldn't enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭FurBabyMomma

FurBaby I have only once during this pregnancy gotten up on the scales to measure my weight gain, and it's the stupidest thing I could have done. I agonized over it for days and worried and berated myself over how much weight I'd put on. But the hospital has only once weighed me at my booking appointment and never since! It's so, so subjective, but the lighter you start pit the more pronounced weight gain will be. You're exercising loads which is fantastic, so stay healthy and let your body do what it needs to do - baby growing is heavy work, try not to let the figure take over.

Thanks Jerrica, I'll try not to let it get to me but I've always been sensitive about my weight and this is not helping! I think I'll take your advice and stay away from the scales :)

Smokey Eyes congrats on getting so healthy during your pregnancy when it's such a difficult time to do it!

It was nine weeks after first baby before I managed sex. Body was well ready before that but I was so self concious body wise. However, the sex is so so much better since having. It's like alk the little receptors have become more sensitive.

Weight has always been something ive had issues with and I found the weight gain hard to deal with. I put on 45pounds first time. By the time I got home from hospital I'd lost 25lbs and was 7lbs off prepregnancy weight when I got pregnant again. I know I'll have to work hard to get back in shape but I'm looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Betsie_xr3i

10weeks after my 1st before I could do anything. Had a bad rip had no problem with sex 1st time around this time finding it difficult :-( poor hubby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

We gave it a go at about 6 weeks post baby, but I found it hurt - I had a c-section; the pain was kind of deep inside and felt like he was hitting something. A couple of weeks later it was still sore, but manageable. All good now. When we aren't so knackered we'd rather drive hot pokers into our eyes than have sex :D

My moan today is that I thought I was feeling very strong mentally about labour (only took 9 months..:o) but woke up in middle of night last night with pains and thought it was the big event and I got all shaky and panicky! I was like a little kid!

Gave myself a stern talking to in my head and refused to wake up my fiance for pep talk because I knew I was being silly and I knew it was something I had to cop on about, but was very disappointed in myself that I got so scared so fast when come hell or high water it's going to happen! Hoping it was the fact it was the middle of the night that also made me feel more scatterbrained about it but still....needed a hug and a pep talk this morning when we both got up:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭llambert

Oh God SmokeyEyes I haven't even started having that chat with myself yet!!

In all fairness if its your first how are you suppose to know. My sister was induced on her first so when she went into labour in the middle of the night on her 2nd she wasn't sure. She rang the hospital and they were lovely. Told her to come in and they'd have a look. She felt bad waking her hubby and our Mum up at half 2 but just aswell because my niece arrived at 5.20am. I think its only natural to have abit of a panic.

I have a little over 8 weeks before I'll have medical intervention. Expecting twins so won't go past 38 wks. My consultant told me that there's a 50% chance I'll go myself before 37 wks. Everyone else is worrying I'll go myself at home alone. Both our families are a long drive away, more than 3 hours. My hubby travels for work so he could be anywhere. If its during the day my near by friends will be at work. I'm living in a case odds denial!! If all else fails I'll ring the ambulance :-)

Lucuma, I was 36 weeks before baby got into the right position. You have plenty of time x

Dizzymiss did you feel baby turn when it did turn? Like did you know straight away it was after turning or did you have to wait til scan to find out? I think I'd know coz the kicks would stop being in my lower belly and move up towards my ribs?