Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

bumper234 wrote: »
    Funny that because i know the people who have the contracts for croker security and i spoke to one today and he says he is still waiting to hear back.

security for garth is being done by sword. G4S and Crokers own. G4s contacted security this week, maintaining availability as its at the height of summer and informed of what they imagine roles will be..

Im.only passing on information i received myself. Id actually assumed licence had been granted due to the phonecall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

if they block the trucks from removing the cars illegitimately blocking the streets they will be removed, that may mean the riot squad being called, bad parking won't be taken as an excuse

You obviously have no idea how little the guards want to get involved during a peacefull protest. Last summer small groups of 20 - 30 people brought Dublin to a standstill during rush hour traffic by blocking three major junctions. The guards went nowhere near them. If the residents do cause a blockade people will be turned away I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭JRant

if they block the trucks from removing the cars illegitimately blocking the streets they will be removed, that may mean the riot squad being called, bad parking won't be taken as an excuse

Mawhahaha.

Riot squad for a bit of ropey parking!!

Tell you what, give us a shout when you touch down.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

From what I've heard, it's going ahead. From a very well placed source. Now all I need to worry about is what pub to hit beforehand, and afterwards.

Do us a favour?
    Post on here which pub "all y'all" garthy fans will be congregating in so we can all avoid it like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Smidge wrote: »
    Do us a favour?
    Post on here which pub "all y'all" garthy fans will be congregating in so we can all avoid it like the plague.
    Do you really need to ask what pub country folk who are into **** things are going to be at, given that the gig's on in Drumcondra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Actually, I'll give you a hint: it's owned by NAMA and rhymes with "bins."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Actually, I'll give you a hint: it's owned by NAMA and rhymes with "bins."

Actually in there is pretty Dub now, the times I have popped in the last few months seems a big change of crowd from the country student teachers that used to be there the times I was in before in the mid 2000's.
    I think the Big Tree whenever it opens is more of a culchie drinking spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Do you really need to ask what pub country folk who are into **** things are going to be at, given that the gig's on in Drumcondra?

I'm from Dublin, so I wouldn't have a clue where "country folk" will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

But it won't be the cars locking the trucks from going down the street will it? It will be the PEACEFUL protesters who will be blocking the entrance to the streets. If the residents happen to be bad at parking on those narrow streets then so be it.

The gards won't take sides. If a vehicle is illegally parked and preventing emergency services from a route then it will be removed at the owners cost.

What if an ambulance is prevented from attending a patient due to an car badly parked?
    That is how the emergency services will view the situation. God forbid that that scenario happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

The licenses have been granted. It's all above abroad. What will ye be protesting about?

To suddenly have a stadium next door? And shock horror, for it to be in use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

bennyl10 wrote: »
    security for garth is being done by sword. G4S and Crokers own. G4s contacted security this week, maintaining availability as its at the height of summer and informed of what they imagine roles will be..

Im.only passing on information i received myself. Id actually assumed licence had been granted due to the phonecall.

No licences granted yet ;)

Ranchu wrote: »
    You obviously have no idea how little the guards want to get involved during a peacefull protest. Last summer small groups of 20 - 30 people brought Dublin to a standstill during rush hour traffic by blocking three major junctions. The guards went nowhere near them. If the residents do cause a blockade people will be turned away I'd imagine.

You don't even need to go back to last year, no riot squads moving in on the protesters who are blocking the water meter installation.

The licenses have been granted. It's all above abroad. What will ye be protesting about?

To suddenly have a stadium next door? And shock horror, for it to be in use?

Sigh

No licences issued as of yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

Sigh

No licences issued as of yet.

They are according to my source.

Well here's news for you.

Your source is wrong.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,377 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

What if an ambulance is prevented from attending a patient due to an car badly parked?
    That is how the emergency services will view the situation. God forbid that that scenario happens.

Now you're thinking like the residents - do you see our problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,738 ✭✭✭✭blueser

After all those hormonal, hysterical teenagers last weekend, I'd have thought all those middle aged, wannabe cowboys and cowgirls will be a piece of cake in comparison. Yee-haw!

blueser wrote: »
    After all those hormonal, hysterical teenagers last weekend, I'd have thought all those middle aged, wannabe cowboys and cowgirls will be a piece of cake in comparison. Yee-haw!

Yeah

Cos middle aged women don't have hormone problems :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

JRant wrote: »
    Mawhahaha.

Riot squad for a bit of ropey parking!!

Tell you what, give us a shout when you touch down.

They don't neef to go that far. Just make an absolute nuisence of themselves, make it as awkward as possible and cause as much disruption as possible so that it will be harder to get permission next time round

Creative obstructionism. The most useful under utilised tool of the protest group.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

They don't neef to go that far. Just make an absolute nuisence of themselves, make it as awkward as possible and cause as much disruption as possible so that it will be harder to get permission next time round

Creative obstructionism. The most useful under utilised tool of the protest group.

Exactly

Easy enough to park cars in a way that leaves plenty of room for an ambulance or fire engine but not a couple of 40 ft lorries carrying equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,516 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

blueser wrote: »

Have you read some of the female Garth Brooks fans posts? The gutter mouthed rantings of Xanax boosted fanatics. The last thing you want is this lot topped up with cheap sauv blanc any where near you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Saying you have a source is not the same as revealing your source. You can't make bold statements like "The licenses have been granted" like it's fact and then withhold your source. That is just nincompoopery.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

OldGoat wrote: »
    Saying you have a source is not the same as revealing your source. You can't make bold statements like "The licenses have been granted" like it's fact and then withhold your source. That is just nincompoopery.

Tabloidology.

"A source close to the Star said..." = "We're making this **** up while covering our own backsides"

Tabloidology.
    "Nincompoopery" was my word of the week and I was running out of time to use it. :)

Well congratulations on using it to perfection :D

Of the week? It's only Tuesday...:confused:

I only came across the word last Wednesday. Besides, a week is a week from whatever point you start in it. A repeating cycle is circulartorical. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Psychobabble

It would be surprising if the Council had made their decision on this just yet. The deadline for Observations was just last Wednesday; It's likely they're still sifting through those and distributing them to the Statutory Bodies for discussion, ahead of their meeting on this. There is still also the very real possibility of Oral Hearings, as Councillors have already agreed a motion supporting this.
    Once the statutory avenues have been exhausted, Residents are within their rights to then use the legal approaches. It would be up to a judge to decide if the planning process had been duely adhered to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Smidge wrote: »
    Its a "Talk to Joe" article, what can you expect? :rolleyes:
    I actually cringe at what that rag prints.
    Deirdre never apparantly bothered her backside to ring the guards despite her wailing and hand wringing.
    What did she do???
    She rang liveline and got a MARKER to colour in the t-shirt. :eek::D:rolleyes:
    You really couldn't make it up.

It was clear to me that Deirdre rang Joe in the hope that Niall Horan would hear, take pity and arrive at her house to present her, sorry I mean the child, with a new T-shirt and cap.
    ....and Horan will fall madly in love with her and whisk her away from all this misery, of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

It would be surprising if the Council had made their decision on this just yet. The deadline for Observations was just last Wednesday; It's likely they're still sifting through those and distributing them to the Statutory Bodies for discussion, ahead of their meeting on this. There is still also the very real possibility of Oral Hearings, as Councillors have already agreed a motion supporting this.
    Once the statutory avenues have been exhausted, Residents are within their rights to then use the legal approaches. It would be up to a judge to decide if the planning process had been duely adhered to.

The decision has been made. They are just going through the motions. (like the fish in Dublin Bay)