Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,024 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

P 3.59
    Fat 4.06
    25l
    SCC 72
    Urea 39

Serious solids gg,would u be worried about urea been so high,could lead to a lot of repeats ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I'm on 36 to 48 hour blocks,with 12 hours cows are been forced to graze tight every 12 hours whereas with 36 or 48 hour blocks it's only once every 1.5 to 2 days ,big help.

Have you expierience of a 12 hr block? And when you changed did you notice the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Have you expierience of a 12 hr block? And when you changed did you notice the difference?

I work of 12 hour blocks here all year round, in my opinion to much grass is trampled/walked/**** on with 24/36 hour block, if you know your paddocks and are confident in your grass measuring skills theirs no reason why cows should be under pressure on 12 hour blocks, another thing i hate about 24/36 hour blocks is when you get it wrong and have to go moving cows during the day because they have run out of grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Serious solids gg,would u be worried about urea been so high,could lead to a lot of repeats ???

Have tried everything to get urea down here don't know what it is tbh. Was up at 60 all year last year and we faired out okay. Tried low p high energy ration and milk dropped off along with bulling activity and urea stayed same.
    Just the ground I guess.

I'd like to get another litre out of the cows but will be hard do with autumn cslvers starting to go slack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Yes I know but only do much things I can change the fathers view on in one year.
    This year alone I've gotten an 8 WK autumn calving pattern where before we calved cows from sept all the way to march.
    Kept breeding away so no cows calve till very end of Jan.
    And I've gotten him to serve heifers so they Calve at 2 and not 2.5yrs old.
    My calving will be back over 400 this year but I've done a lot of work. So I should see it drop in coming years.
    Can't be arguing over something different everyday. He'll very quickly become very pee'd off. I'll work on serving everything next year.

Anyway say most of them cows do hold? Won't I be doing a hell of a lot better than most lads? Very few lads I know calving 50% of there herd in 2 weeks

Fair enough, I thought milk quota was the main restriction on most irish farms, didn't take 'slow to change with the times fathers ' into the equation! U've def made great strides, u'll just have to keep working on him!

Ah no worries. Ah I'll keep the pressure on. Hopefully all the changes I've made are for the better or I'll be screwed.
    Told the mother the other day we won't be calving any from October till Feb and she was like what will we do for money haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Fat >4 and pro >3.52

A bit disappointing milk urea hitting 40, serious growth

Fat >4 and pro >3.52

A bit disappointing milk urea hitting 40, serious growth

Unbelievable growth over the weekend here. Need to get back measuring . I'll have figures tomorrow I hope

That's the reality on a majority of farms, a lot of it may stem from bad advise from our advisor organisations in the past so to be fair they may have a poit sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭visatorro

Protein 3.30 bfat 3.44 urea 24. 21 litres average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

29 litres
    3.39 p
    3.66 f

on 3kgs of 14%, UFL 98

Was struggling with protein up to 2 weeks ago p was 3.15 and fat was 3.89. Acid buff was added to nuts ( thanks Mahoney). I presume this is what's lifted the protein. Had straw in diet briefly but dropped it, as cow loose but not very loose. Grass powering ahead, grazed in 24-36 hour blocks.
    A lot of P&k (as Richland) and Physiolith put out this spring and it seems to be paying dividends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

31 litres
    F 4.15
    P 3.5

Acid buff (Mahony) credit lifting fat from 3.7 to 4.15.

31 litres
    F 4.15
    P 3.5

Very good solids there for the yeild your putting out. Not to far off me own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Good proteins lads how ye getting them up to that level? I'm allocating 12 hour blocks I'm wondering if I had 24 hr one would mine improve some?

I'm in winter milk as well so the autumn girls are prob pushing up the protein now, also grass has been mainly leaf bar a few paddocks which were too wet last round to graze tight. feeding a flat rate of 4.5 kgs of 14%p postcalver coarse ration. With the good silage over the winter the autumn calvers are still milking well, was recording over the weekend so will have results soon but a good few are still motoring away at 30+L. about 40% autumn calvers 25% heifers in herd. The last few years used no bull with -ve prot% in breeding also, well at the time of selection anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

31 litres
    F 4.15
    P 3.5

Mighty figures there. Are you feeding much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I'm on 36 to 48 hour blocks,with 12 hours cows are been forced to graze tight every 12 hours whereas with 36 or 48 hour blocks it's only once every 1.5 to 2 days ,big help.

we use 12hr blocks all year round, have a mixture of 24hr, 36hr and 48hr paddocks on farm. How do you find wastage in terms of grass soiled/ knocked while resting with the 36 hr blocks?

Milked out wrote: »
    we use 12hr blocks all year round, have a mixture of 24hr, 36hr and 48hr paddocks on farm. How do you find wastage in terms of grass soiled/ knocked while resting with the 36 hr blocks?

As long as Pgc dosnt go over 1500 it's pretty good,excelkent in good weather .def feel it leads to better protein and yield

31 litres
    F 4.15
    P 3.5

Serious solids there with an equally serious yield.my yield is just under 32 and p is simillar to yours but my fat is gone to 3.68.acid buff with a hi maize but works very well at this time ofvyear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

As long as Pgc dosnt go over 1500 it's pretty good,excelkent in good weather .def feel it leads to better protein and yield

how many shares have you in acid buff inc:cool::):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

+1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Just on the 12 / 24 hour grazing the lighter,cows heifers and less aggressive grazers do it hard twice a day with 12 hr grazing compared to only once with 24hrs. if you let cow on fresh 24 hr block at night you can see in day light if you have gotten it wrong and they are going to go tight and let them over early. 36 hr breaks are great if your on a quick rotation at lower covers as mahoney pointed out. 12 hr breaks are great in wet weather and in the shoulders of the year were your trying to keep to a strict grazing plan and grazing on poorer ground conditions.

Milked out wrote: »

This is the problem I see with larger blocks they don't seem to clean it out for me. Maybe the covers are too high. What kinda covers are ye aiming for pre graze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

What form is the acid buff in? Do get it mixed into the nuts at the mill ? Is it like urea?

Right lads feck the cows "Jacks Back"

What form is the acid buff in? Do get it mixed into the nuts at the mill ? Is it like urea?

I get it mixed with nut at a rate of 15 kg per tonne

This is the problem I see with larger blocks they don't seem to clean it out for me. Maybe the covers are too high. What kinda covers are ye aiming for pre graze?

1500 max

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

yield 29 ltrs, pr:3.37, Fat: 3.76, in covers of 1450kg on 36 hr blocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Seeing as everyone is throwing up their figures I'll follow suit, yield 26, P 3.5, BF 3.9. Hopefully I can shove that yield closer to 30L next year at the peak with a more mature herd.

Also what is everyone paying for nuts? Had to cough up 270 for a 14% grazing nut today, as I was all out of nuts, I thought the price sounded steep. I have to use a nut, a ration will clog up the feeders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Used a snap test on a cow last tubed on monday morn. It was clear .
    Thats clear on the 5th milking even though it says eight on the box.
    Did another to be sure. I did try on clear cows and injected cows the day I got them and the results were easy to determine. But now I not confident in test.
    Are they accurate for other ppl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

28ltrs, pr 3.61, bf 4.08 12hr strip wire.