Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Washing two milk tank's everyday is some pain in the hole.

Done it for 9 years fair pain in the hole in the summer time with one outside and the lid left open in the sun baked into it if you were away the day the lorry was collecting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,381 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

whelan2 wrote: »
    its a white can with red and green writting on it, mac is the brand
    scrap that, can broke my heart this evening, the can i used before that was called tell tail and was alot better, can kept getting blocked up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Washing two milk tank's everyday is some pain in the hole.

Grand to be filling them

last year i didnt use my second tank at all, this year is different thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

last year i didnt use my second tank at all, this year is different thank god

Ye ditto that. Think we only filled two tanks once for 3 days.
    This year were filling the two in 2 days. Had to go every day collection now :)

Ye ditto that. Think we only filled two tanks once for 3 days.
    This year were filling the two in 2 days. Had to go every day collection now :)
    there is an automatic washer on my kilkenny tank but its not working must ring the lads tomorrow to fix it. The other tank i get into it once a week

Ah mine have lids on them. Fullwood told us they would give us a loan of a tank if we were buying off them until we got grant sorted so might call in on that offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

best thing i ever bought bulk tank with low tbc, saving electricity and no worries about filling it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'm putting milk into a mobile tanker at the minute, I don't even have capacity for 2day collection anymore. Again a good complaint!

Is it one of them kilkenny washers? We have one, I don't know how it still goes, the circuit is fried on it, I've bypassed that with a normal switch that lets you manually washout the tank at least.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Is it one of them kilkenny washers? We have one, I don't know how it still goes, the circuit is fried on it, I've bypassed that with a normal switch that lets you manually washout the tank at least.
    ye, the other tank has a davey washer, the washer has a sticker on it from the spring show of 1983:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Reading this thread is starting to get scary with all you guys pu ping out themilk this year, same hear filled our tank for the first time since we bought it 13 years ago

keep going wrote: »
    Reading this thread is starting to get scary with all you guys pu ping out themilk this year, same hear filled our tank for the first time since we bought it 13 years ago

And next week looking very good too. Grass will be hopping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

keep going wrote: »

Until till August orcseptember when super levy deductions start .still it's great to have good weather loads of good grass and cows busting with milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Figures for April will be interesting, with all the milk brought in from March and the excellent conditions in April.

i will supply nearly double what i supplied last April

Arrabawn supplies up to last Wednesday were up over 30% on same stage last year !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Arrabawn supplies up to last Wednesday were up over 30% on same stage last year !!

Yep first time I saw lorries queued out the gate in ere in April.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I'd be comparing to '12 really seeing as spring '13 was such a right off for me anyways, April is looking like i'll be down a collection on 12 s, however it does show if any sport of a summer turns up, superlevy could be crazy unless Coveny pulls something out of the bag

i will supply nearly double what i supplied last April

Are you accounting for April is a 5wk period for Glanbia this year, last year the 5wks was March instead. But in any case, I've supplied about 1 1/2times the amount for the same 4weeks in April last yr.

Do ye have a service contract for ye're tanks?

My tanks only get looked at when something goes wrong. Usually once or twice a year.
    TBC 5 last collection. Getting fed up scrubbing everyday and ye end up getting lazy at it and things slip then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

the ones that havent had a heat will have a few colours on them

What we do is three weeks before mating we will paint everything red, as they cycle we will paint blue and then as they get mated we paint them green. Real easy way to spot cows that havent cycled etc.

Yep,it includes them comming out once a year to inspect and supply a cert for the gas used in compressors.covers call outs and parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Cups on 4.45 and 2 pm here radio on 24/7 in the parlour keeps the birds away .my cows dont like coming in to the shed when the radio isn't on As for the sticks theres no place for them in a milking parlour in my opinion have had one guy that every time I wasn't milking he would bring in a stick and use it to push the cows nearly bet him with the stick the day I caught him with it.

Paint, sorry but can only load 2 pics at a time?
    Have they still not got the litre bottles in Ireland yet ? I think them small bottles are water base the bigger bottes are oil base and last longer on the cow. Your doing well to get 60 cows out of them bottles I would only get 80-100 out of the bigger bottles

yes think the money comes out in april

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Have they still not got the litre bottles in Ireland yet ? I think them small bottles are water base the bigger bottes are oil base and last longer on the cow. Your doing well to get 60 cows out of them bottles I would only get 80-100 out of the bigger bottles

Yes they have and it's what we generally use. That's one in the jeep with ai gear to mark the odd heifer,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

They're forecasting a hape of rain for Wednesday, would ye chance going out with fert today.

Yes they have and it's what we generally use. That's one in the jeep with ai gear to mark the odd heifer,
    last time I done breeding season at home you couldn't get the bigger bottled by the time you had 400 cows painted there were bottles everyware