Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭fta93

The free was possibly soft but it's correct. The situation doesn't (or shouldn't) matter when it comes to decisions.

The Cavan 6 quite clearly has the ball in one hand and McHugh's jersey in the other. There is nothing McHugh can do there other than be pulled to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

fta93 wrote: »
    The free was possibly soft but it's correct. The situation doesn't (or shouldn't) matter when it comes to decisions.

The Cavan 6 quite clearly has the ball in one hand and McHugh's jersey in the other. There is nothing McHugh can do there other than be pulled to the ground.

How was it correct? It wasn't a free. He rode the tackle and then shot and missed.

What's the difference between what McHugh did and what Dillon did?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Cavan very poor losers. Dub v Roscommon will be interesting. Roscommon have come on a lot through the underage teams as have Dublin so a lot of lads with plenty to play for now and in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Dublin weren't great but they deserved their win for me. Lot of wasted ball into the forwards and players too eager to go for goal. Thought the ref got all the decisions people are moaning about correct bar the Cavan black card, a bit harsh. The winning score was a free and McHugh was most certainly having his jersey pulled.

Disgraceful scenes at the end mind you. Looked like someone spat at the ref as he entered the tunnel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Not trying to rub it in here but I actually thought the ref had a decent game. The black card was harsh....but technically correct. That's the start of the black card saga for the year, fair play to the GAA, they've tried it. It doesn't work. Drop it.

As for the scenes at the end of the game, no matter what the ref has done, he doesn't deserve that. It annoys me to see Gardaí waddling off with the ref when they should be battening and cuffing people who are trying to basically attack him. A number of players didn't fill themselves with glory screaming in his face. Im not a pro lip reader but it was easy enough to make out what they were shouting at him.

Disgraceful, thank God it was caught on camera. Hopefully large fines will ensue.

Lemlin wrote: »
    How was it correct? It wasn't a free. He rode the tackle and then shot and missed.

What's the difference between what McHugh did and what Dillon did?

Its correct because the referee is entitled to call it back if advantage doesn't ensue inside the specific time period. Its the rules. Simple.

The difference? McHugh's jersey is being pulled. I already said I didn't agree with the Cavan man's black card. Stop trying to create an argument from nothing.

Its correct because the referee is entitled to call it back if advantage doesn't ensue inside the specific time period. Its the rules. Simple.

The difference? McHugh's jersey is being pulled. I already said I didn't agree with the Cavan man's black card. Stop trying to create an argument from nothing.

I know the advantage rule. What I am saying is it shouldn't have been a free in the first place, advantage or not.

You say the ref didn't get much wrong but:

1. Dillon black card.
    2. McHugh non black card.
    3. Costelloe non black card.
    4. Free that shouldn't have been.
    5. Not enough extra time.

That's quite a bit in a one point game.

I know the advantage rule. What I am saying is it shouldn't have been a free in the first place, advantage or not.

You say the ref didn't get much wrong but:

1. Dillon black card.
    2. McHugh non black card.
    3. Costelloe non black card.
    4. Free that shouldn't have been.
    5. Not enough extra time.

That's quite a bit in a one point game.

They're all your opinions. From my view, two are possibly wrong - the Dillon one and the time-keeping one (in anyway, time keeping is completely at the referee's discretion).
    Arguable decisions don't merit bottle-throwing, spitting, and verbal abuse.

EDIT: Oh and this free 'that shouldn't have been' - I'm not sure what a two handed pull that doesn't get the ball warrants, but 100%% of the time its a free. Watch it back at 1.53 on the video. Not only its a free, its also quite possibly a card. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=1fM3Jj34-4E&list=PL6558A91C79FEE0C5

They're all your opinions. From my view, two are possibly wrong - the Dillon one and the time-keeping one (in anyway, time keeping is completely at the referee's discretion).

EDIT: Oh and this free 'that shouldn't have been' - I'm not sure what a two handed pull that doesn't get the ball warrants, but 100%% of the time its a free. Watch it back at 1.53 on the video. Not only its a free, its also quite possibly a card. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=1fM3Jj34-4E&list=PL6558A91C79FEE0C5

A pull? Where do you see the Cavan player make a pull action? He never moves his hand back to even action a pull. He tries to tackle. He doesn't use two hands together at any stage either. 100% of the time is it a free like fook. Even the Dublin people in the stand today thought it wasn't. You even said above its a soft free but now it's 100% a free.

So one minute you're saying Dillon's black card was harsh and the next you're agreeing with it? Read back over your posts re Dillon's black card above.

Read over your own posts and try to be consistent in what you're saying. You're struggling to back up your own blue tinted views here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭muincav

A pull? Where do you see the Cavan player make a pull action? He never moves his hand back to even action a pull. He tries to tackle. 100% of the time is it a free like fook. Even the Dublin people in the stand today thought it wasn't.

So one minute you're saying Dillon's black card was harsh and the next you're agreeing with it?

You're struggling to back up your own blue tinted views here.

Lemlin, as you should have noticed by now you will only get a biased reply, because he knows the truth and cant admit winning by a cheating ref who WANT Dublin to win no matter what it takes and anyone who couldnt see that is as blind as the officials who denied LOUTH a Leinster title after Joe Sheridan threw the ball into the net.....Yes Cavan were better but should have taken their chances, but the truth is....THE REF GOT DUBLIN THROUGH...Not sour grapes...FACT....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

A pull? Where do you see the Cavan player make a pull action? He never moves his hand back to even action a pull. He tries to tackle. He doesn't use two hands at any stage either. 100% of the time is it a free like fook. Even the Dublin people in the stand today thought it wasn't.

So one minute you're saying Dillon's black card was harsh and the next you're agreeing with it? Read back over your posts re Dillon's black card above.

You're struggling to back up your own blue tinted views here.

You seriously don't see the left arm stopping the Dublin player running through?

muincav wrote: »
    Lemlin, as you should have noticed by now you will only get a biased reply, because he knows the truth and cant admit winning by a cheating ref who WANT Dublin to win no matter what it takes and anyone who couldnt see that is as blind as the officials who denied LOUTH a Leinster title after Joe Sheridan threw the ball into the net.....Yes Cavan were better but should have taken their chances, but the truth is....THE REF GOT DUBLIN THROUGH...Not sour grapes...FACT....:mad:

It's clear to see alright. Can't even stay consistent in his views. One minute it was a soft free, the next it's 100% a free.

One minute Dillon's black card was harsh, the next he is disagreeing with me saying it was harsh.

Where you actually watching or listening on the radio? And as for the disgraceful scenes,,,,I would love to see the fans on the HILL if their team was treated in the manner Cavan were today...!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

A few point came out today.

Timekeeping should not be job of referee. The decision for the (last) free was correct but could be deemed a little harsh. The black card is here and I think it will stay but its confusing. The Cavan one was harsh and Dublin can feel lucky not to have had 1. Games have been won and lost on decisions like this since the game began

We all look at these games through rose tinted glasses when our team is playing. I have yet to see a referee who gets everything right and this leads to the debate of 2 referees for all inter county games.

Dublin over the years have been very harshly treated (you might say robbed) but Dublin fans will abuse like few others can but thankfully they behave a little better than the "people" masquerading as Cavan fans today. They have no place in the G.A.A and lets hope the deal with the players and official's promptly and severely. Actually a certain Cavan referee I dread to see coming in the gate as he does his best most days to nail a dub or 2, (All-Ireland final 2011 the exception)

Ref didn't rob Cavan when they were on top they didn't make it count. We could go through the video from start to finish and question every free but they dont have that luxury on the field. Their set up even with wind advantage was negative. A Cavan man said to me they set out to thwart Dublin but should have gone with their own strengths. They had the potential to beat Dublin.

This was a good result for Dublin who will be a bit stronger for the final with a few lads due back.

LeoB wrote: »
    A few point came out today.

Timekeeping should not be job of referee. The decision for the (last) free was correct but could be deemed a little harsh. The black card is here and I think it will stay but its confusing. The Cavan one was harsh and Dublin can feel lucky not to have had 1. Games have been won and lost on decisions like this since the game began

We all look at these games through rose tinted glasses when our team is playing. I have yet to see a referee who gets everything right and this leads to the debate of 2 referees for all inter county games.

Dublin over the years have been very harshly treated (you might say robbed) but Dublin fans will abuse like few others can but thankfully they behave a little better than the "people" masquerading as Cavan fans today. They have no place in the G.A.A and lets hope the deal with the players and official's promptly and severely. Actually a certain Cavan referee I dread to see coming in the gate as he does his best most days to nail a dub or 2, (All-Ireland final 2011 the exception)

Ref didn't rob Cavan when they were on top they didn't make it count. We could go through the video from start to finish and question every free but they dont have that luxury on the field. Their set up even with wind advantage was negative. A Cavan man said to me they set out to thwart Dublin but should have gone with their own strengths. They had the potential to beat Dublin.

This was a good result for Dublin who will be a bit stronger for the final with a few lads due back.

How can you say "Dublin fans" have behaved better than the people "masquerading" as Cavan fans today? Im old enough to know and have seen different,,,,thats why there was HUGE FENCES at the Hill16 my friend...I do know the Cavan ref you mean too and I totally agree....and agree with being dealt harshly in some games especially against Kerry and Meath, but today was a total disgrace by the ref...it was so obvious and blatant....kinda reminds me of when you watch a game and the ref gives some strange calls and everyone says "aw the ref is playing for a DRAW" to bring in more for the GAA....What you have to remember is, FOUR squads of young players went out today to play a match after having trained, and gave up a social life for who knows how long with their hopes hearts and dreams set on an All Ireland Final, but knowing only two could prevail.Even after All that to go out on BAD calls is even more heartbreaking for those players and CAN be enough to ruin their faith in the GAA....I know one of the Cavan players who gave up a promising soccer career to concentrate on the Under 21 campaign and he was blatantly fouled (more so than any) in the last 10 mins and was astonished that he didnt get the free, but what he did get from that moment is that the officials WERE NOT going to let Cavan win.....

Where you actually watching or listening on the radio? And as for the disgraceful scenes,,,,I would love to see the fans on the HILL if their team was treated in the manner Cavan were today...!!!

So basically you are saying that the ref deserved to be attacked by scum on the pitch? They should have been battered off by the cops.

bohsboy wrote: »
    So basically you are saying that the ref deserved to be attacked by scum on the pitch? They should have been battered off by the cops.

If you read my post I said NOTHING of the kind....and I hate TROLLS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

How can you say "Dublin fans" have behaved better than the people "masquerading" as Cavan fans today? Im old enough to know and have seen different,,,,thats why there was HUGE FENCES at the Hill16 my friend...

There were fences up in every inter county pitch in Ireland until the Hillsbourough disaster. And in Croke Park they went the whole way around the pitch wiring along the sides and fences at each end. I'm old enough to say hand on heart Iv never seen Dublin fans or players attack a referee, or Dublin officials either. Dublin fans invaded pitchs usually after a goal or near the end of a final, just like Offally, Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal, Derry and Galway fans did. As I said when it comes to abuse from stands or terraces Dublin fans are as good as any at dishing it out but that's as far as it goes. I'v seen fans from most counties behave disgracefully at grounds, from Mayo, Galway, Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin, Meath but they are not real fans they are the bandwagon fans who should not be given tickets by their clubs and they have no place in our games and we cant blame referees for how people behave.

Im looking at it through my Dublin rose tinted glasses and I dont think the referee robbed Cavan. Honestly. But Dublin got some tight calls. Having been on Inter county panel and knowing a good few referees I'V yet to see a referee "robbing" a team.

I take your points ok about lads making huge commitments to G.A.A and its not nice to see it it end in controversy now. Thats not fair on the players either to see it end like that either.

If you read my post I said NOTHING of the kind....and I hate TROLLS

You're quick to throw out the "troll" jibe. But you asked how would would the "hill" react, seemingly putting it out there that the reaction of your apes was acceptable?

Should have been hammered off the pitch by the cops in my opinion.

Disgraceful, hopefully the fine fits the actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

You're quick to throw out the "troll" jibe. But you asked how would would the "hill" react, seemingly putting it out there that the reaction of your apes was acceptable?

Should have been hammered off the pitch by the cops in my opinion.

Disgraceful, hopefully the fine fits the actions.

Bingo. The hypothetical reaction of hypothetical Dublin fans on the Hill is utterly irrelevant here. If and when they over react disgracefully after a match, lets by all means discuss it. But until it does, cheap shots about the supporters on the Hill have no place here. Bringing up their imaginary reaction to an imaginary game, in no way excuses the behaviour of the muppets who let their county down today.

My grandfather was a proud Cavan man. Last summer, I posted several times (in the Cavan thread) about how proud I was to see then doing so well. But that kind of boorish behaviour from their supporters, just leave a sour taste in the mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The mighty Dubs should have won that game by 10 points. Cavan should be lucky it was only 1. Rather than abuse the ref.
    Embarrassing stuff.

On another day it would have been a hiding for Cavan and that would have been harder for them to take. They should count themselves lucky tbh. Very lucky. Dublin best team by a long long way. Shooting boots next time.

What action be taken? Nothing I guess. They'll get away with it no doubt. Thankfully those thugs won't be seen on the senior side of things for a long time.

Slattsy wrote: »
    The mighty Dubs should have won that game by 10 points. Cavan should be lucky it was only 1. Rather than abuse the ref.
    Embarrassing stuff.

On another day it would have been a hiding for Cavan and that would have been harder for them to take. They should count themselves lucky tbh. Very lucky. Dublin best team by a long long way. Shooting boots next time.

What action be taken? Nothing I guess. They'll get away with it no doubt. Thankfully those thugs won't be seen on the senior side of things for a long time.

Coming from a supporter of the county that field this man:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dublin-star-diarmuid-connolly-ordered-to-undergo-anger-management-29962027.html

And ye prefer to have the row before the game:

McDonald and Cosgrove recall infamous Hill 16 warm-up (via @thescore_ie) http://jrnl.ie/578821
    Dublin emerged afterwards and also warmed up at that end of the pitch. The then Dublin manager Paul Caffrey was subsequently slapped with a one-match touchline ban after an altercation with Mayo selector John Morrison while Mayo dietician Mary McNicholas fell to the ground after being accidentally struck with a football.

The actions at the end of the game were wrong but I don't think Dublin supporters can take a holier than thou view and brand others "thugs".

The rest of your post is biased beyond belief. Cavan were there until the end and deserved to be. The bottom line is the referee got ye over the line by getting five key decisions wrong:

1. The Dillon black card. I don't think it was a black card and if it was McHugh and Costelloe both should have been gone from the Dublin side.
    2. McHugh scored the equalising point. He should have been off the pitch for a black card.
    3. Costelloe scored the winning point. He should have been off the pitch for a black card.
    4. The free should not have been a free. Moynagh doesn't even use two hands at once and he certainly doesn't pull or grab at the Dublin forward. The Dublin forward rides his tackle and gets his shot away.
    5. Two minutes added and 1 minute of it was spent with the Dublin player on the ground. Cavan should have been allowed to attack.

Five key decisions at best 50/50 all awarded Dublin's way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Think that post, actually ALL posts, needs more RANDOM capitalisations

Great too see two wins yesterday, away abroad atm, scenes afterwards don't sound good

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Think that post, actually ALL posts, needs more RANDOM capitalisations

Great too see two wins yesterday, away abroad atm, scenes afterwards don't sound good

What post? Mine was the last and there are no random capitalisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

What post? Mine was the last and there are no random capitalisations.

Nah not you the lad above, gave me a chuckle on a Sunday morning

Note the word "former" in the headline. That happened in 2010 and Gaynor hadn't played for Cavan for years.

If you want something more recent:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/bonner-facing-gaa-life-ban-if-guilty-of-drug-taking-26329498.html

Tbh, this is going down a tit for tat road that I'm not interested in. For Dublin supporters to be labelling others is a bit rich is all I was getting at.

Enjoy the final. I wish I could say good luck but I'm bitter and won't even attempt to hide it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Slattsy wrote: »
    Embarrassing stuff.

Jesus I was wasted last night!!

I stand by the above lol

For Dublin supporters to be labelling others is a bit rich is all I was getting at.

Anyone going onto a pitch to attack/confront a ref is a cretin. No place for it in the game. I don't care where they are from or why they feel justified in doing it. It would be a great pleasure to see these fools being arrested on the spot for a public order offence.

Where did I disagree with that? There's no defending the actions of those that did. We all agree they are idiots.

Let's not let the actions of those however take the limelight off what was a dreadful refereeing display.

Cavan manager Peter Reilly even said after the game that he had no grievances with Dublin. It is hardly McHugh or Costelloe's fault that they weren't punished correctly by the official.

He laid the blame squarely at the feet of the referee.