Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Who's the northern eejit doing the commentary on TG4? Bellyaching that a marginal tackle was a bang on penalty for Derry and then doesnt say word when mcmenaman gets pushed from behind as he shoots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 mhaigheo

Jarlath Burns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Too easy.Go on the Dubs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Welcome to Croke Park Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Good going lads, don't get overconfident now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Amprodude wrote: »
    Welcome to Croke Park Derry.
    Out with that rubbish!

Impressive from the Dubs today. Its gas the way hurling and football have almost done a swap in terms of predictions for the summer ahead. Football used always be more open with four or five teams with the potential to win the All Ireland but now its hard to see beyond one team. Whereas hurling it was hard to see beyond Kilkenny for years and now you have a situation where any of 7 or 8 teams are in with a good shout (ok to be fair i personally think the All ireland winners will come from Kilkenny, Clare, Tipp or Dublin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

An impressive display of firepower from the lads today with everybody putting in a decent shift. Spectacular goal from Brogan was the highlight followed by some cracking points from all over the pitch. It was a great follow on from the 17 point swing in the semi-final against Cork and it's long overdue that we see Dublin perform to their potential! Back to back league titles lads, you can be proud of that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Can't see past Dublin for the all Ireland again this year

Very very impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin have used 36 players in 9 league games.Appearances+Subs for 2014 League Games

Cooper, Jonny 9
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 8+1
    O'Gara, Eoghan 6+3
    Cluxton, Stephen 8
    McMahon, Philip 8
    McManamon, Kevin 7+1
    Byrne, Davy(Ballymun) 2+6
    Nelson, Darragh 2+6
    O'Sullivan, Cian 7
    Brogan, Alan 6+1
    Reddin, Ciaran 5+2
    Nolan, Kevin 4+3
    McCarthy, James 6
    Andrews, Paddy 5+1
    Fitzsimons, Michael 5+1
    Brady, Tomas 2+4
    McCaffrey, Jack 2+4
    Devereux, Nicky 2+3
    Connolly, Diarmuid 4
    Cullen, Bryan 4
    Flynn, Paul 4
    George, Sean 4
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 4
    O'Carroll, Rory 4
    Costello, Cormac 3+1
    Carty, Shane 2+2
    Whelan, Jason 2+2
    Lowndes, Eric 3
    Daly, Darren 2+1
    O'Mahony, Declan 2+1
    Hudson, Paul 1+2
    Brogan, Bernard 1+1
    Currie, Sean 1+1
    Mannion, Paul 0+2
    O'Brien, Kevin 0+1
    Watson, Daniel 0+1

Dublin have scored 14-138(180) and conceded 11-117(150) in 9 league games. Scorers 2014 League Games

McManamon, Kevin 3-17
    Connolly, Diarmuid 2-11
    O'Gara, Eoghan 3-7
    Brogan, Bernard 1-11
    Brogan, Alan 0-12
    Andrews, Paddy 1-8
    Costello, Cormac 0-10
    Cluxton, Stephen 0-10
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2-2
    Hudson, Paul 0-7
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-6
    Reddin, Ciaran 0-6
    Whelan, Jason 1-3
    Flynn, Paul 0-5
    Cooper, Jonny 0-4
    McCarthy, James 1-1
    Byrne, Davy(Ballymun) 0-3
    Carty, Shane 0-3
    Cullen, Bryan 0-2
    Mannion, Paul 0-2
    McMahon, Philip 0-2
    Nelson, Darragh 0-2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0-2
    Brady, Tomas 0-1
    McCaffrey, Jack 0-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Gael85

Jim Gavin managerial league/championship record played 24 won 19 drawn 2 lost 3 scored 37-376(487) conceded 21-294 (357)

2013 Championship Played 6 Won-6 Drawn-0 Lost-0 Scored 13-99(138) Conceded 5-71(86)
    2014 League Played 9 Won-6 Drawn-1 Lost-2 Scored 14-138(180) Conceded 11-117(150)
    2013 League Played 9 Won-7 Drawn-1 Lost-1 Scored 10-139(169) Conceded 5-106(121)

24 19 2 3 37-376(487) 21-294(357)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Not a team out there to beat us.

We're a class above atm.

COYBIB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Dublinproud

Slattsy wrote: »
    Im not sure about Devereux really lads, but i've not seen enough of him to make final judgement.
    Do you think he'll cut the mustard and make it this year?

On today's performance i don't think he did himself any harm at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Yeah agreed excellent all round performance from Devereux. He has a great turn of pace which gets him out of trouble defensively and also provides some attacking threat too would need to work a bit on his scorin tho. I'd have him ahead of Nolan at the minute as hes shown a greater adaptability across the HB line. Nolan struggled at 6 against Cork

Impressive from the Dubs today. Its gas the way hurling and football have almost done a swap in terms of predictions for the summer ahead. Football used always be more open with four or five teams with the potential to win the All Ireland but now its hard to see beyond one team. Whereas hurling it was hard to see beyond Kilkenny for years and now you have a situation where any of 7 or 8 teams are in with a good shout (ok to be fair i personally think the All ireland winners will come from Kilkenny, Clare, Tipp or Dublin)

I would rate a few teams above Dublin in hurling at the moment.

We're a class above atm.

COYBIB

Don't be overconfident now. Yes Dublin are good but can be beaten on any given day. Remember last year they were supposed to give Kerry a roasting in the semi and only barely fell over the line in the end. Any great team can be beaten, that's what makes the GAA interesting.

Cork beat Dublin once in the League already and only for a complete collapse in the second half in the semi they were on course to beat Dublin going by their 1st half display but Dublin were better in the end and final score is all that matters. Cork Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, Derry won't be too far away from having a say in the championship.

Its already been shown that there's a handful of teams that can dominate Dublin for long periods of a game - Cork twice this year, Mayo & Kerry but I personally don't think that there's a team that can keep with them for 70 odd minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

. only for a complete collapse in the second half in the semi they were on course to beat Dublin going by their 1st half .

only for that completely self induced collapse that dublin had nothing to do with :o

I would rate a few teams above Dublin in hurling at the moment.

Your underestimating Dublin. One thing for sure they are a draw that no one would like to get come knock out time. They have some classy hurlers but they also work extremely hard. Id definately have them over Galway and Limerick. Probably a puck of the ball between them and Cork and they aren't far off Clare, Kilkenny and ourselves. Capable of beating anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'd agree he had about three lovely disposessions today where he flicked the ball out of a players hand. Looked good against cork too. I think he's good enough.

Great game by Cooper today he had a great game on lynch a lad Dublin couldn't stop earlier in the year.

The game today was not great imho. I think it was a combination of Derry not showing up and Dublin studied the DVD of the last game and simply fixed everything. O'Gara was fantastic today he put scores on a plate for brogan and Connelly. Flynn was also very good.

I'd say Monaghan will be the surprise team this year they have plenty of lads who can score from play, they have a great mix of big strong players and fast ball carriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd agree he had about three lovely disposessions today where he flicked the ball out of a players hand. Looked good against cork too. I think he's good enough.

Great game by Cooper today he had a great game on lynch a lad Dublin couldn't stop earlier in the year.

The game today was not great imho. I think it wad a combination of Derry not showing up and Dublin studied the DVD of the last game and simply fixed everything. O'Gara was fantastic today he put scores on a plate for brogan and Connelly. Flynn was also very good.

I thought Nicky did very well today,and did not look out of place on that team, but that wasn't the test I expected from Derry yesterday. They seemed nervous, and with the exception of their full back line, almost stand offish.

I don't know what Eoghan O'Gara has to do to get a free. He got at least three "pucks" to the face in the first 15 minutes. He makes life so much easier for Brogan and the other forwards, and has to be one of the first names on the team sheet.

I was surprised that Bernard got MOTM. He played very well, scored a great goal and three good points from play, but Cooper and Flynn were brilliant today. Cooper kept a grip on Lynch and added to the attack on a number of occasions. Flynn was everywhere. It might be the blue boots, but he was up and down the pitch all day.

Very good performance from the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

What I didn't see was a black card for Dublin, but I assume we got one given that we had six replacements on the field. I assume it was Paddy Andrews, but I didn't see it.Anybody care to enlighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭bren2001

Past30Now wrote: »
    What I didn't see was a black card for Dublin, but I assume we got one given that we had six replacements on the field. I assume it was Paddy Andrews, but I didn't see it.Anybody care to enlighten me.

You are allowed 6 subs nowadays. Either way, a black card would use one of the subs anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

We're a class above atm.

COYBIB

Wouldn't be getting cocky just yet. The only team that can be us is ourselves.:D

Played great stuff at times yesterday, the pace in the team is frightening. As previously posted can see teams putting it up to us during the summer,but over the 70mins I cant. Mayo couldn't see it out again 13 men in last years final.
    And the U21 still have to come back in, Mannion,Jack Mc,Costello, aswell as Cullen,Brennan.
    Few head aches for Jim.

So lads, whats the team come 8th of June?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Palz

what was the attendance yesterday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Palz wrote: »
    what was the attendance yesterday ?

Just under 39.000 - of which 6,852 bought blue noses for autism !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I thought that the Derry support was thin on the ground, a decent colourful crowd for Donegal and Monaghan game. There appeared to be almost no supporters at the Division three game. I wonder if it's possible to get three games in CP, I'd imagine Cavan and Roscommon would rather have had a crowd at an earlier time then no crowd on a Saturday night.

Stoner wrote: »
    I thought that the Derry support was thin on the ground, a decent colourful crowd for Donegal and Monaghan game. There appeared to be almost no supporters at the Division three game. I wonder if it's possible to get three games in CP, I'd imagine Cavan and Roscommon would rather have had a crowd at an earlier time then no crowd on a Saturday night.

Coincidentally I was speaking with one of our girls involved with the Senior Ladies - she was saying they would've loved the chance of say a 12 o'clock slot in Croker yesterday rather than the hike upto Cavan (later switched to Dunleer). Great win for the ladies to reach their 1st ever league final too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Well, i'm glad to be proven wrong. I was voicing concerns about the team in the past few weeks but they've improved with every game and look very strong now.

I think out of every team that has won the AI in the past few years, we have the best chance of stringing a few of them together.

Cork, Kerry, Mayo and maybe Tyrone might have something to say about it but I fancy our chances now.

COYBIB.