Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Here ye go, it'll be grand after a clean :)

303190.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

YbFocus wrote: »
    Here ye go, it'll be grand after a clean :)

Not bad for €50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

€50 for that?! :eek:

Spend a few quid on Gtechniq C4 and you'll have those black trim pieces back to new again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Riveted flares because racecar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Spend a few quid on Gtechniq C4 and you'll have those black trim pieces back to new again!

Or y'know do what i done and repaint them ;)

Oh I'm going to go nuts :)

Exactly Cian 1400cc of NA goodness, 90Bhp to be exact :)

C4 is a less time consuming, MUCH less messy, neater and fast way of doing it.

True, but painting them is more fun :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I heard motor oil works well on black plastic trim. If you're planning to do an oil change, you could put the old one to some use. :)

GvidoR wrote: »
    I heard motor oil works well on black plastic trim. If you're planning to do an oil change, you could put the old one to some use. :)

And what happens the next time you wash the car?....used engine oil all over the place!

Well from what I've heard if you rub it in, it will restore the blackness.

Ah I have trim restorer anyway man, that would be a dirty messy way to go about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Peanut butter works quite well for this too. Just not the chunky one.

*insert sarcastic laugh here*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

*insert sarcastic laugh here*

No it actually does... try it

I thought it was a joke, but then I googled it and people actually seem to do that.

It's funny how you recommend using old engine oil which is a much worse idea and then laugh at peanut butter :pac:

It's just that when I first thought of peanut butter, it seemed to be the wrong colour for black trim - if that makes any sense. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

CianRyan wrote: »
    You got the 2.2 170 right?
    How do you find the power in it?

Good enough, lacks power below 3000 rpm, but above that it's quite nippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,668 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Sobanek wrote: »
    Good enough, lacks power below 3000 rpm, but above that it's quite nippy.

My son finds the same but misses the turbo of his old car :P

I'd love to try a 2.2 and 2.5 side by side, seeing as the 2.5 only has 11 more hp there seems to be a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

I'd love to try a 2.2 and 2.5 side by side, seeing as the 2.5 only has 11 more hp there seems to be a huge difference.

Been wondering about this myself. Only .9 of a second quicker to 100kph. Both are 24 v so I'm guessing they both have the VVT too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Mmm shneaky 99 on the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The 2.5 block has 22 more Hp. 192 vs 170.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The E34 always felt a lot faster than the E39.... I suppose the 20 odd hp helped there :pac:

Nice drive was nice, good to have the car back again :) but f*ck you Peugeot for making such an awkward mess of a simple job.... What dickhead thought it was a good idea to put the brake lines and an awkward bracket in the way? :mad: The new cable is a bit longer thus I can't get the usual 24psi boost nor the silly acceleration as before but it's early days yet

Feckin iphoney refuses to connect to the auld laptop.... libimobiledevice hurry up and get a working patch!

^^^^
    Found out what the code was by the way, its the di cartridge, getting a new one and all "should" be well with it then

^^^^
    Found out what the code was by the way, its the di cartridge, getting a new one and all "should" be well with it then

I had to look that one up :eek:

How much is that?

dgt wrote: »
    I had to look that one up :eek:

How much is that?

Ah jaysis :pac: you of all people should know! :P

It's ordered anyways, for 90 moneys, shipping and all included

The 2.5 block has 22 more Hp. 192 vs 170.

You sure?
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_M54

Ah jaysis :pac: you of all people should know! :P

It's ordered anyways, for 90 moneys, shipping and all included

Ah I don't claim to know it all.... Only a stupid c*nt does that :pac:

Yeouch! Hope that cures that mind you! :cool: