Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Hang on.......1.2L D auto:eek:

What's the story boss, you weren't 80 last time I looked??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

YbFocus wrote: »
    Didn't want to put it in the pic thread as it's not my car but I am in love with this 86, she's an irish one too :)

1527125_685600621482067_763535384_n.jpg

That's a Trueno as opposed to a Corolla.

JDM so. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Big Nasty wrote: »
    That's a Trueno as opposed to a Corolla.

JDM so. ;)

Nit picker :)

Edit: I doesn't mean she was Irish in the sense that she was bought here, but that it was an Irish car on speedhunters :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Went out for a cigarette at work this morning and a 2008 520d pulled up to the traffic lights.
    The rattle was soooo bad.

Feel sorry for the man, his timing chain is probably gone.

And the only true Trueno is this:

initial_d_ae86.jpg

Hachiroku!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

pred racer wrote: »
    Hang on.......1.2L D auto:eek:

What's the story boss, you weren't 80 last time I looked??

I got a job sorted for after my Masters and theres gonna be a 40 mile each way commute, always liked those grande puntos and a map brings them up to about 120, cheap as chips to insurr etc. Ideally id prefer a manual but im gonna take a look anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I got a job sorted for after my Masters and theres gonna be a 40 mile each way commute, always liked those grande puntos and a map brings them up to about 120, cheap as chips to insurr etc. Ideally id prefer a manual but im gonna take a look anyway

You will hate yourself if you buy that auto. Remap or no! Get a 159 diesel wagon! The big engine one! I have a thing for them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I've just been in a 500L. I really really like them. Then again, I doubt I'd pay €26k for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

You will hate yourself if you buy that auto. Remap or no! Get a 159 diesel wagon! The big engine one! I have a thing for them now.

Im only going to see if i could live with the turbo lag from that particular engine. im keeping the spend low so i can flog it on easily enough if i A: move closer to the job, or B: when they give me a company car in a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Sweet mother of god what's becoming of this "motoring enthusiasts" forum??? :(

Im only going to see if i could live with the turbo lag from that particular engine. im keeping the spend low so i can flog it on easily enough if i A: move closer to the job, or B: when they give me a company car in a year
    I think you'd be far better served buying a small petrol Punto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I've just been in a 500L. I really really like them. Then again, I doubt I'd pay €26k for one.

That's the problem - from reading various reviews on 500s - it seems you can enjoy them - and many people do.

Honest John liked it so much he actually bought one :)

But the price you have to pay for one is a pain when compared to Pandas - or indeed what else you might buy on 2nd hand market for similar money

A Panda - new or 2nd hand - would probably work better I think

The 500 is however a cool looking car inside and out - especially in the context of normal modern cars.

The 500 L version looks interesting too I think.

Old diesel wrote: »
    That's the problem - from reading various reviews on 500s - it seems you can enjoy them - and many people do.

Honest John liked it so much he actually bought one :)

But the price you have to pay for one is a pain when compared to Pandas - or indeed what else you might buy on 2nd hand market for similar money

A Panda - new or 2nd hand - would probably work better I think

The 500 is however a cool looking car inside and out - especially in the context of normal modern cars.

The 500 L version looks interesting too I think.
    I think the regular 500 is well priced as a mini competitor really. I'd love one still. I'm trying to convince my OH to get one. The 500L is however expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Quick one lads,

If I pop into ndls naas today how long will I be waiting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

This forum needs more petrol cars with manual boxes, and preferably 5 years old or older. :P

I just bought a grand little astra for €50 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Nothing beats a €50 car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Wow. €50. Seriously?

Is it going to join the Volvo videos? :P

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Nothing beats a €50 car!

I'll throw up a pic later :)
    99 1.4, mouse ate some of the loom but we got it home this morning and done a bit of soldering and she fired instantly after lying up for a year :)

GvidoR wrote: »
    Wow. €50. Seriously?

Is it going to join the Volvo videos? :P

No this'll be going back on the road, it's worth far more in fairness. Lovely clean car!
    She should pass a test with little work, maybe none!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I'll throw up a pic later :)
    99 1.4, mouse ate some of the loom but we got it home this morning and done a bit of soldering and she fired instantly after lying up for a year :)

I had a fine 91 P10 Primera saloon in beige about two years ago. Brilliant car, bought it for €50 and sold it on for about €180 after I gave it a severe rallying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I don't think you'd sell a automatic diesel Punto too easily!

Oh and welcome to the real world of commuting...it's great...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Whats with all the diesel love on here...
    If its an alfa, it has to have a busso engine. Theres no engine out there that compares to it. While its hard to find one for sale, they're definitely worth holding out for.

At the same time, those 20 valve jtd engines are class. If I needed a diesel, id definitely buy one. However, id be finding every way possible to have a busso.
    They just don't make engines like them anymore:(

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I had a fine 91 P10 Primera saloon in beige about two years ago. Brilliant car, bought it for €50 and sold it on for about €180 after I gave it a severe rallying.

Deadly :)

I think this'll be kept for a while and then sold to the brother as he's starting out driving soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Whats with all the diesel love on here...
    If its an alfa, it has to have a busso engine. Theres no engine out there that compares to it. While its hard to find one for sale, they're definitely worth holding out for.

At the same time, those 20 valve jtd engines are class. If I needed a diesel, id definitely buy one. However, id be finding every way possible to have a busso.
    They just don't make engines like them anymore:(

I'm far from a diesel lover! The chao is commuting, a busso definitely does not suit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Glow in the dark roads make debut in the Netherlands.

Smart-Highway-glowing-lines-Studio-Roosegaarde-640x426.jpg

Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Hal1 wrote: »
    Glow in the dark roads make debut in the Netherlands.

Smart-Highway-glowing-lines-Studio-Roosegaarde-640x426.jpg

Source

Any real images of them yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The car itself looks nice but I'm not sure about that mix of transmission and engine. My astra was fine but really lacked on take of it took very long to get from 0-20kmh compared to any other car and adding an auto box wouldn't help that. Once it was up and going it was grand overtaking was obviously a bit of an issue.

Cruising up the motorway at 120kmh it was the same as any other car the engine was capable enough and fairly quite. I don't think I could go back to a 1.3 now. I'm to used to the bit of power the golf has and I think that 1.3 would just get frustrating. Considering you had a 325 your going to find it painfully slow but I suppose there's no harm in going for a test drive and if you could bare it it would be very cheap to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

OSI wrote: »
    It's not a love, it's a compromise. I can no longer justify mpg in the mid 20s. But, if I'm going to suffer a diesel, I'm going to get one that is at least enjoyable. And the 159 JTDm is one such diesel.

Definitely can see where you're coming from. Go for the 20v though.
    With a remap you're closing in on the same power of the gm v6 in the 159 (hateful yoke) but very impressive economy.
    A 156 should also be considered and while its nowhere near as refined as the 159, its a more sportier and funner car to drive.

Can I warn you though, alfas are contagious, you buy one, then you find yourself checking done deal every day for a cheap project:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

10264525_724926797527978_4615430599270729952_n.jpg

Cleaned her today :D

Broken foglight out as well, waiting for the new one - should be here any day soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You got the 2.2 170 right?
    How do you find the power in it?