Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ya, I was going to take a load of like p10 or something, sandpaper and sand the crap out of them, old skool! And then find some silver paint and do a job on them. No matter what I do I'll make a balls of them, but I have to try!

Sure that's how I've learned how to do things too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Sobanek wrote: »
    How do you convince a sensible, 45 year old woman, who currently drives a 2006 Volvo V50 2.0D to consider a 2008 3.6 Petrol 4x4 with €1,809 tax? :D

Ehhmmm......are you serious like???? :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Sobanek wrote: »
    How do you convince a sensible, 45 year old woman, who currently drives a 2006 Volvo V50 2.0D to consider a 2008 3.6 Petrol 4x4 with €1,809 tax? :D

//edit: A Porsche Cayenne :pac:

I'm seriously considering an old Porcshe as my next car, there is a dealer near my work that sells them and I drool everytime I leave there

On the alfa front, nct next week, have sorted the bush, and the nasty alternator noise, so fingers crossed

edit: jesus christ, just noticed it's a Cayenne, sure that's a Volkswagen in disguise, shares the chassis with a Volkswagen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I need to get comfortable with it but I got it to dance around some turns. It's very well controlled and really inspires confidence in its abilities.

And it's great for up setting boy racers in Nenagh.

Anyone coming to Durrow tomorrow?

Really want to try to get down to thst actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Dord wrote: »
    Is that the hazards coming on during emergency braking?

Yeah but if the memory/ecu has just been reset they come on if you come off the throttle and on to the brakes, it cops on to itself after a week or so.
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    I need to get comfortable with it but I got it to dance around some turns. It's very well controlled and really inspires confidence in its abilities.

And it's great for up setting boy racers in Nenagh.

Anyone coming to Durrow tomorrow?

The Nenagh/portumna/birr/roscrea branch of the boy racing tribe do seem particularly donkeyish:D

What time is the show on?
    Borrisinossery to durrow is a fun road;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Borrisinossery is a real place ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

pred racer wrote: »
    The Nenagh/portumna/birr/roscrea branch of the boy racing tribe do seem particularly donkeyish:D

What time is the show on?
    Borrisinossery to durrow is a fun road;)

They were being lemons. When they couldn't accelerate away the decided it would be a great idea to drive in the middle of the road. I just held back and laughed.

I'll be heading down early to go in with a friend on a trade stand so I'll be in Durrow before 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I used to spend a lot of time their when the Buses used to stop for a break.

Its a shyte hole, sorry to anyone who lives there but that's my memory of it

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If you mean Borris in Ossory, it's a pain in the hole with it's speed limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

No random car fetishes today, looks like i have come into a circle of 3 cars im lusting after if i want a sporty DD this time around depending on my mood on the given day.

2 of them are bimmers, one isn't

Stheno wrote: »
    If you mean Borris in Ossory, it's a pain in the hole with it's speed limits.

Once you turn off for ballacolla it's not;)
    I have a particular bend where I can measure how well I've gone through the previous series of bends.......best yet 170kmh :D

Once you turn off for ballacolla it's not;)
    I have a particular bend where I can measure how well I've gone through the previous series of bends.......best yet 170kmh :D

Are you not going back on yourself going to ballacolla to borris?

In other news, I had the nicest day today

Spent time with the OH, then he buggered of to visit his dad, I sailed from Dun Laoighire to Howth and back, and had a super time

I've always wanted to do that, or swim it but I can't swim :o

Nope, if I'm going to durrow it's birr, roscrea, borris, ballacolla, durrow. I've been using that road as a personal racetrack since I was 17 in my dad's passat.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Here is a shot of the JDM EURO style meet that was on in Swords last night,
    1974348_615253708567485_5390686578888594484_o.jpg
    (taken from the PistonsLife facebook page )

There were over 400 cars there, It was a bit of crack.

Here is a shot of the JDM EURO style meet that was on in Swords last night,
    1974348_615253708567485_5390686578888594484_o.jpg
    (taken from the PistonsLife facebook page )

There were over 400 cars there, It was a bit of crack.

Mother of god the amount of them! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That actually looks whopper! Once I have a car that I'm proud to own again and I have some time I'll have to come to some good meets!!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    That actually looks whopper! Once I have a car that I'm proud to own again and I have some time I'll have to come to some good meets!!

You and me both, I know my car doesn't "fit the critera" so to speak but i'd like to check it out anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

You and me both, I know my car doesn't "fit the critera" so to speak but i'd like to check it out anyways

Not fitting the criteria is good IMO. Another civic there is like a grain of sand on a beach! Not saying that it's bad or that civics are a bad car but it is nice to be different :)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Not fitting the criteria is good IMO. Another civic there is like a grain of sand on a beach! Not saying that it's bad or that civics are a bad car but it is nice to be different :)

True that alright, sure I'll see what happens i guess :D

I can see a lot of track suits there.

Looks like a serious turn out though, is than an annual thing or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I can see a lot of track suits there.

Looks like a serious turn out though, is than an annual thing or what?

every month and this was the biggest turn out ever id guess;)

used to be the 1st friday of every month if i recall right but was moved for april only as the DUBSHED was on that weekend:) this is the link to the airside meetups FB page:

https://www.facebook.com/EuroJdmStyleEire

I didnt get my new-ish Suzuki taxed on time and didnt want to chance it:o

davycc wrote: »
    every month and this was the biggest turn out ever id guess;)

used to be the 1st friday of every month if i recall right but was moved for april only as the DUBSHED was on that weekend:) this is the link to the airside meetups FB page:

https://www.facebook.com/EuroJdmStyleEire

I didnt get my new-ish Suzuki taxed on time and didnt want to chance it:o

I can imagine Garda presence was plentiful, I wouldn't bother showing up with an un-taxed car myself at such a meet.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I can imagine Garda presence was plentiful, I wouldn't bother showing up with an un-taxed car myself at such a meet.

The Garda are informed well before these meets go ahead and having their presence is a good thing IMO, it wasnt a messing affair.

What happens after the meet maybe a different story but at the meet is was friendly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,668 ✭✭✭✭vectra

The Garda are informed well before these meets go ahead and having their presence is a good thing IMO, it wasnt a messing affair.

What happens after the meet maybe a different story but at the meet is was friendly enough.

Your car looked well there.
    My son was admiring it.
    "Taken from Freshfix FB page"

1978629_701971389846159_4949416096633028496_n.jpg

vectra wrote: »
    Your car looked well there.
    My son was admiring it.
    "Taken from Freshfix FB page"

1978629_701971389846159_4949416096633028496_n.jpg

Unfortunately that was not my car:D
    Thats a Mark II and it looked deadly, My car just looks like a normal car at the minute, but I hope once I get the OME kit back on it will look the part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Unfortunately that was not my car:D
    Thats a Mark II and it looked deadly, My car just looks like a normal car at the minute, but I hope once I get the OME kit back on it will look the part.

I was like holy ****, Chris got that thing sorted out without a word :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

I popped into the Swords meet for a little while. That pic is only half the vehicles there.
    My car probably didnt fit the criteria either but feck it, i wanted to see shiny metal. Some nice ladies wandering around too...some not so nice :D

Pissed that i missed your Chaser Chris. Love that car.

I've just watched a couple of episodes of Extreme car hoarders that I had on sky+. And I have to say.......what a load of absolute bollix!
    I've taken it off series link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I've just watched a couple of episodes of Extreme car hoarders that I had on sky+. And I have to say.......what a load of absolute bollix!
    I've taken it off series link.

I hate that show, they bully the hoarder into getting rid of all their crap.