Boards Golf Society Outing - Carlow Golf Club 12th April 12:30PM

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Making up for lost time??

Jammy git!!

Planning on being in full flow come the Saturday !

Il be able to hit a ball in front of me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Am reading this thread and dreading that someone says Carlow on the next week.

Hopefully not, I doubt it as they have one of their first opens of the year on the Thurs before.

Anyone fancy that btw? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Got my name down for this lads, first outing of the season I can actually make, but I need to be back in Dublin by around 6 / 6.30, so could I get out in one of the first couple of groups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

dwd wrote: »
    Got my name down for this lads, first outing of the season I can actually make, but I need to be back in Dublin by around 6 / 6.30, so could I get out in one of the first couple of groups?

If no one minds I'd go with you Dwd. Trying to get back to Cork as early as I can too.

Haven't replied on teamer yet lads, I'm hoping to be there, herself has her friend arranged to call over and help her out with the kid for the day. Mobility isn't great at the moment... but enough about my swing.
    I'll prob have to leave it right up until the wire to make a shout on it all the same.

If there are early slots going on the day it'd be great as it's getting to that stage were an hour or so counts.

Hoping to get there, it was on the must play list this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

dwd wrote: »
    Me too if possible charlieirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Declined there now. Going to be busy that weekend. Raging too cause I've never played Carlow and I'd love to have a go at it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I'll be going.

may want to go in last group and save a days leave.
    will be onto you by pm Charlie thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

sorry not yet replied as I have an outline planning permission granted, applied for full planning but just got hit with a request for additional information so will have to wait a little longer for final grant and confirmation of availability............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭tigerwood1

kkelliher wrote: »
    sorry not yet replied as I have an outline planning permission granted, applied for full planning but just got hit with a request for additional information so will have to wait a little longer for final grant and confirmation of availability............

I would just go ahead and worry about planning permission afterwards:) that happy wife happy life bowloney dosent work just look at heidi and seal.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭kieran.

kkelliher wrote: »

Its a simple enough project, you should have no problem getting retention permission at a later date :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

kieran. wrote: »
    Its a simple enough project, you should have no problem getting retention permission at a later date :D

As anyone who has ever had to go for retention will know, it costs a hell of a lot more and there is no guarantee of a successful outcome 😊

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Or regularisation, you'll be made pay 4 times as much!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

lads . Are there 2 courses in Carlow Golf Club ?

If so , which one are we playing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Macker1

lads . Are there 2 courses in Carlow Golf Club ?

If so , which one are we playing ?

I would certainly expect it to be the 18 Hole Deerpark course. The other course OakPark is only a 9 Hole.

Really looking forward to this outing as I've never played Carlow. Heard and read nice things and hopefully we get the weather to enjoy it even more. :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

Macker1 wrote: »
    I would certainly expect it to be the 18 Hole Deerpark course. The other course OakPark is only a 9 Hole.

Really looking forward to this outing as I've never played Carlow. Heard and read nice things and hopefully we get the weather to enjoy it even more. :):)
    I played it once about 20 years ago & got my first & only hole-in-one there.
    I know the shot so ye might as well write my name on the sheet for nearest the pin! :-)

From what I remember it was a lovely course but then any course you get a hole-in-one is going to be nothing but lovely....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I do hope it is the Deerpark course, IMO it's one of the best parkland courses in the country

Christ ye had me double checking there but yes, it's the deerpark course we're playing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

played it last year. the other 9 hole track must be well hidden cause i didn't see any sign of it!

Christ ye had me double checking there but yes, it's the deerpark course we're playing!

Sorry - just was surprised when seen website. Was hoping we would not be sent off to other 9.

They may not know we are the best little most committed knowledgeable best fastest longest least sexist carbon neutral golfers of any society in Ireland ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

I do hope it is the Deerpark course, IMO it's one of the best parkland courses in the country

It is the deerpark Course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

God i would love to be going and with only myself and rikand the only 2 from top ten not going there should be a lotof movement to GOTY.

scrubber72 wrote: »
    God i would love to be going and with only myself and rikand the only 2 from top ten not going there should be a lotof movement to GOTY.

Gives the rest of us a chance!!

I'm still a maybe and prob will be up until Sat morning lads.

In a way, if that iron had smashed into the door last night, it might have brought on the labour... It could have freed me up for Saturday :)
    I'm guessing she would have had the clubs melted by then however

PARlance wrote: »
    I'm still a maybe and prob will be up until Sat morning lads.

In a way, if that iron had smashed into the door last night, it might have brought on the labour... It could have freed me up for Saturday :)
    I'm guessing she would have had the clubs melted by then however

what if you get the call when you have turned with 23 points?

stevieob wrote: »

"Hold on baby. They are quick golfers.
    breath relax.
    I'm thinking of you. "

Phone down.

6 iron to 6 feet.

Lads i seem to always ask awkward questions.

Sorry.

What tees are we playing. I like to have a tee strategy in advance.

"Hold on baby. They are quick golfers.
    breath relax.
    I'm thinking of you. "

Phone down.

6 iron to 6 feet.

I'd go with the "I'm leaving now love" then when she asks what kept you it would be the fact that when she rang you were at the far end of the course, so had to make you way slowly and carefully around all the other golfers and then "the traffic on the Naas road was just chockers.....must of been a crash love, anyway i'm here now, where is me kid?"

What tees are we playing.

I use extra long wooden ones

stevieob wrote: »

If I turn with 23 points I'll name the kid 23 points....