Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Outing - Carlow Golf Club 12th April 12:30PM

• 25-03-2014 12:03am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭

With no delay between rounds this year our journey takes us to the majestic Carlow Golf Club in just over 2 weeks. Unfortunately there was nothing we could do about the date on this one but the course will make up for it.
    A new course for me and probably a few more but it is one we have heard nothing but fantastic reviews.
    Lots and lots of practice for this one...........starting tomorrow!!
    Carlow%20Golf%20club.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Photo of the 16th hole from Kevin Markham's site (hope this is ok to post Kevin)
    Carlow16.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Will be a last minute decision for me, hopefully be able to go though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Rikand wrote: »
    Will be a last minute decision for me, hopefully be able to go though

I'm in the same boat. Will be close to the day before I can commit. Also want to be sure I can get home in time for the Masters coverage that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I should be good for this one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

In.... My home town but never played it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Missed portumna but looking forward to this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Really want to play this one, will try get permission slip sorted ASAP.

May have to car pool with someone to get there for this one, think the car will be out of action for me that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Really want to play this one, will try get permission slip sorted ASAP.

May have to car pool with someone to get there for this one, think the car will be out of action for me that weekend.

I will be traveling down for this and your more than welcome to catch a lift. We can firm up the details nearer the time.

We have the tee from 12:30 to 2:00 for this one lads so we will be going out in 3 balls to try speed things up.

One of the members brought up the use of a mobile phone as a GPS device. I personally have no problem with the use of them as getting wind direction or which way is north is not much advantage to us mere mortals and if you do find it helps then why aren't you on tour!! I DO have an issue with phones ringing / texts etc while on the course so if they are to be used its for GPS use only.

Many courses still do not allow them but if they do, then we will look at it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Jez, the R&A hounds will be after you ;)

My phone is being checked at each tee box at the moment, I have it in with my tees so when I go to grab one at each hole I have a quick check to see if she's gone into labour yet!!! I still wouldn't dream of having it on loud. :)

Suggestion for the Com-it-tee:
    I think having the 2's on each of the par 3's rather than just one hole adds to the craic during the round.
    None of us will be retiring on winning it and there may be more winners leaving sfa to someone with a 2 but it's all about a bit of banter when someone has one or an attempt at one, and the more attempts the better imo.
    If it's just going to be on one hole then a suggestion would be to have it separate to the "nearest the pin" hole.
    When it's on the same one there's a lost opportunity imo, sure if someone sticks it to the pin then they will probably get the two....unless it's myself, Fix of Scrubber (not quite sure if you're in our league just yet scubber but you can join to club :p)
    If someone gets it very close then conceivably there are two prizes wrapped up.

PARlance wrote: »
    My phone is being checked at each tee box at the moment, I have it in with my tees so when I go to grab one at each hole I have a quick check to see if she's gone into labour yet!!! I still wouldn't dream of having it on loud. :)

the question is...if you're 3/4 through a round & have just stitched the pin on a par 3 & are on for a breaking 80 round...what happens if the phone starts flashing???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

All this talk of 2s. The only way i would get a 2 is to bogey a par1.

the question is...if you're 3/4 through a round & have just stitched the pin on a par 3 & are on for a breaking 80 round...what happens if the phone starts flashing???

What phone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

@parlance, decision made Monday by Commitee that any 2 will get you a share of the pot. That is on any par 3, 4 or 5!

& before anyone asks we are backdating it to Saturday so anyone who had a 2 will get a share!

ssbob wrote: »
    @parlance, decision made Monday by Commitee that any 2 will get you a share of the pot. That is on any par 3, 4 or 5!

& before anyone asks we are backdating it to Saturday so anyone who had a 2 will get a share!

Drinks are on me in Carlow so. Best Commitee Ever :)

Did ye discuss excluding Reganovski from the long drives by any chance :)

Grand so my 2 on the 2nd hole gets me a share :):)

What a joke! I had a good chance for a 2 on the 5th aswell, but, uh, laid up my putt because I was making sure of my 3.... Yeah, that was it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Definitely in for this. Looking forward to it already.

Playing Castle GC Junior Scratch Cup the day too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Who on the committee made the decision? I was not consulted...

/only kidding

It's tough getting a 2 so should be on any hole.

Macker1 wrote: »
    Grand so my 2 on the 2nd hole gets me a share :):)

Did you not win enough already macker!!

Had a 2 on the 2nd myself, I don't mind sharing :D

FixdePitchmark had a 2 as well. I'll check all the cards again to make sure we get everyone.

I had a 2 last year at some stage too:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Carlow is a fantastic course. Any kind of weather and it should be a great day. And
    on Masters weekend, v excited for ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Would E=Benicetomonty;89632133]Carlow is a fantastic course. Any kind of weather and it should be a great day. And
    on Masters weekend, v excited for ye![/QUOTE]

We would love monty to make a guest appearance and have a low gross. But , no major.

Right, permission slip in & it's on the calendar so can be no excuses that it's been forgotten about, looks like I'm in for carlow :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

O yes I am looking forward to this one ,

My week will be as follows

Apr 5 Blainroe

Apr 9 Doonbeg Golf Club
    Apr 10 Adare Golf Club
    Apr 11 Castlemarty
    Apr 12 Carlow Golf Club
    Apr 13 Old Head Kinsale

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

The legs will be hurting by April 12th

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

3putt wrote: »
    The legs will be hurting by April 12th

I will struggle on :D

Apr 5 Blainroe

Apr 9 Doonbeg Golf Club
    Apr 10 Adare Golf Club
    Apr 11 Castlemarty
    Apr 12 Carlow Golf Club
    Apr 13 Old Head Kinsale

Making up for lost time??

Jammy git!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Apr 5 Blainroe

Apr 9 Doonbeg Golf Club
    Apr 10 Adare Golf Club
    Apr 11 Castlemarty
    Apr 12 Carlow Golf Club
    Apr 13 Old Head Kinsale

I was looking at that deal but unfortunately couldn't go. It is an unbelievably brilliant deal... maybe i'll get on it next year.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Making up for lost time??

Jammy git!!

Planning on being in full flow come the Saturday !

Il be able to hit a ball in front of me :eek:

Am reading this thread and dreading that someone says Carlow on the next week.

Hopefully not, I doubt it as they have one of their first opens of the year on the Thurs before.

Anyone fancy that btw? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Got my name down for this lads, first outing of the season I can actually make, but I need to be back in Dublin by around 6 / 6.30, so could I get out in one of the first couple of groups?

dwd wrote: »
    Got my name down for this lads, first outing of the season I can actually make, but I need to be back in Dublin by around 6 / 6.30, so could I get out in one of the first couple of groups?

If no one minds I'd go with you Dwd. Trying to get back to Cork as early as I can too.

Haven't replied on teamer yet lads, I'm hoping to be there, herself has her friend arranged to call over and help her out with the kid for the day. Mobility isn't great at the moment... but enough about my swing.
    I'll prob have to leave it right up until the wire to make a shout on it all the same.

If there are early slots going on the day it'd be great as it's getting to that stage were an hour or so counts.

Hoping to get there, it was on the must play list this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

dwd wrote: »
    Me too if possible charlieirl

Declined there now. Going to be busy that weekend. Raging too cause I've never played Carlow and I'd love to have a go at it :)

I'll be going.

may want to go in last group and save a days leave.
    will be onto you by pm Charlie thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

sorry not yet replied as I have an outline planning permission granted, applied for full planning but just got hit with a request for additional information so will have to wait a little longer for final grant and confirmation of availability............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

kkelliher wrote: »
    sorry not yet replied as I have an outline planning permission granted, applied for full planning but just got hit with a request for additional information so will have to wait a little longer for final grant and confirmation of availability............

I would just go ahead and worry about planning permission afterwards:) that happy wife happy life bowloney dosent work just look at heidi and seal.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

kkelliher wrote: »

Its a simple enough project, you should have no problem getting retention permission at a later date :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

kieran. wrote: »
    Its a simple enough project, you should have no problem getting retention permission at a later date :D

As anyone who has ever had to go for retention will know, it costs a hell of a lot more and there is no guarantee of a successful outcome 😊

Or regularisation, you'll be made pay 4 times as much!!

lads . Are there 2 courses in Carlow Golf Club ?

If so , which one are we playing ?

lads . Are there 2 courses in Carlow Golf Club ?

If so , which one are we playing ?

I would certainly expect it to be the 18 Hole Deerpark course. The other course OakPark is only a 9 Hole.

Really looking forward to this outing as I've never played Carlow. Heard and read nice things and hopefully we get the weather to enjoy it even more. :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

Macker1 wrote: »
    I would certainly expect it to be the 18 Hole Deerpark course. The other course OakPark is only a 9 Hole.

Really looking forward to this outing as I've never played Carlow. Heard and read nice things and hopefully we get the weather to enjoy it even more. :):)
    I played it once about 20 years ago & got my first & only hole-in-one there.
    I know the shot so ye might as well write my name on the sheet for nearest the pin! :-)

From what I remember it was a lovely course but then any course you get a hole-in-one is going to be nothing but lovely....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I do hope it is the Deerpark course, IMO it's one of the best parkland courses in the country

Christ ye had me double checking there but yes, it's the deerpark course we're playing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

played it last year. the other 9 hole track must be well hidden cause i didn't see any sign of it!

Christ ye had me double checking there but yes, it's the deerpark course we're playing!

Sorry - just was surprised when seen website. Was hoping we would not be sent off to other 9.

They may not know we are the best little most committed knowledgeable best fastest longest least sexist carbon neutral golfers of any society in Ireland ;):p