Fury v Chisora II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Vitali got a shoulder injury during the fight an was going to quit on the stool.He only went on because Chisora had spat in his brothers face.He would not let a guy he disliked take the belt. Vitali beat Chisora with one arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,740 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Vitali got a shoulder injury during the fight an was going to quit on the stool.He only went on because Chisora had spat in his brothers face.He would not let a guy he disliked take the belt. Vitali beat Chisora with one arm.

That's what I recall from the fight, and mentioned by another poster too, that Vitali had an arm injury. Even with this he won by a country mile. Chisora had nothing to trouble him with. Too slow and ponderous. Yes, by HW professional standards, a decent plodder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭3mm

fury to win by TKO in the first 4 rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭RezwoK

3mm wrote: »
    fury to win by TKO in the first 4 rounds

Not sure what round but Fury by KO makes sense.

Chisora is a lousy fighter and the talk about a 'new' & 'inproved' fighter is hype based on what I've seen in his last few snoozefests.

I follow Fury on twitter and he is losing the belly and training hard. He can jab all night and grab on the inside.Chisora will get worn down.Unless he gets a lucky shot that knocks out Fury I would expect Fury to win.Both were fat the last time they fought.Both will be fitter this time.But remember Fury is young and getting better other people like the Ukraine brothers are getting old.Somebody has to take over at the top.Wilder is unproven and beating tomato cans.Haye is getting old an retired again and who knows if his shoulder will be able for the training.Young Joshua has not been hit by a real heavyweight who can punch yet.Price had no heart and is also on the other side of 30 yrs. Heavy weight boxing is not good at the moment I would rather watch the welterweights. Maybe Fury could win the big title if Wladimer retires or gets too old.There are not too many good heavy weights in the world.

He is one funny man on twitter this Fury chap.Some of the stuff is mental.

I like Fury, and do believe him to be quite good, but he's far from really tested himself. I would back Wilder against him. This issue of being tested is important, no doubt, but just because a BIG HW has not met quality opposition does not mean that he can't win via points or KO when he does meet them.

Fury-Joshua? Both men have a good chance. I reckon the one who lands the first clean power shot could end it. Joshua has just as much chance to do this as Fury. Joshua's chin is untested. We don't know how he will react when tagged clean. Fury's chin isn't grade A. He can be hurt and dropped. May make sense to be not too confident that Fury beats Joshua.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Have to admire Fury's honesty here from 4 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,487 ✭✭✭megadodge

walshb wrote: »
    Ok, so now it's gone from giving Vitali a very tough fight to going the distance with him? He went the distance with a man who is past his best, yet still enough in him to win very comfortably. He dominated Chisora. You seem to think that Chisora gave him a tough fight, "he gave Vitali such a tough fight." He did not.

No matter what way I look at Chisora to me he's not all that impressive.

Ok, here we go again.

A quick Google search brings up the following

http://www.badlefthook.com/2012/2/18/2808827/klitschko-vs-chisora-results-unanimous-decision-scores-undercard-boxing-recap-news

The actual headline reads -
    “Vitali Klitchko Wins Hard-Earned Decision in Munich”

In the article phrases like “hard-fought battle” and “Klitchko's toughest test in years” and “Chisora's stock once again may have risen, even in defeat” are used.

Like a previous poster they scored it 116-112 to Klitchko.

http://espn.go.com/boxing/story/_/id/7593955/vitali-klitschko-beats-dereck-chisora-one-hand

While Klitchko's arm injury is highlighted, the article also mentions such phrases as “Klitschko won a rough, physical fight against England's hard-charging, but much smaller, Chisora”, “Klitschko landed 211 of 605 blows (35 percent) Chisora 163 of 359 blows (45 percent)”, “He also dished out some punishment to Klitschko, who has taken so little over the years”, “Chisora's constant pressure”, “this was probably the toughest (and most crowd-pleasing) fight he has had since he won a vacant heavyweight title to begin his second reign”.

Looks like I'm not the only person who thought Chisora gave a good account of himself in that fight. It's just that his disgraceful behaviour before and after got all the headlines and people understandably forgot the fight itself. You said yourself you'd have to go back and look at it again. Instead you looked at the scores on Boxrec and decided it was a cakewalk, despite your regular assertion on here that (correctly) a fight can be lopsided on the scorecards but still be hard-fought.

Interestingly, the scores are virtually identical to that actual cakewalk Roy Jones v James Toney, you know, the fight where you always claim Jones “never dominated, he was just one step ahead”. Yet not one report of that fight would describe Toney's effort in the same language as I highlighted above, but you have no problem denigrating Chisora's effort. Double standards.

megadodge wrote: »
    Looks like I'm not the only person who thought Chisora gave a good account of himself in that fight. It's just that his disgraceful behaviour before and after got all the headlines and people understandably forgot the fight itself. You said yourself you'd have to go back and look at it again. Instead you looked at the scores on Boxrec and decided it was a cakewalk, despite your regular assertion on here that (correctly) a fight can be lopsided on the scorecards but still be hard-fought.

Yes, a fight can be 120-108 and be a very close fight. This fight was not that. Klit won clearly. It was not at all close. Me saying I must go back and view it again was being polite and diplomatic. Klit dominated Chisora. I am quite sure I posted on that fight here on boards on the night it happened.

pac_man wrote: »
    I remember watching that Vitali and Chisora fight thinking that Vitali had aged quite a bit rather than Chisora giving him trouble. In saying that,Chisora has improved a good bit since then.

Who has he fought since then? Haye knocked him out, and he had a few more nobody fights. He has still been plodding along. Vitali just showed it up that bit more because Vitali is streets ahead of the likes of Malik Scott and Kevin Johnson.

I don't get what you mean by plodder? My basis for the improvement was in terms of his conditioning and opponents. Before he fought Vitali, he was fighting people that were in around British title level. Take Haye out of the equation(Aside: Haye is argubly the best "heavyweight" outside of the klits) I would like to think that these "nobody" fights were beyond British title level.

Let's wait and see in July. If I see improvement I will be first to say it. I am not afraid of changing my mind or admitting that I got it wrong. Right now, and recently, he just doesn't/hasn't impressed me much. Slow, ponderous and plodding is what I see. Good trier and takes a decent shot. Can hit a bit. That's the good side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Andrew Flexing

I'm not disagreeing with you and I'm not claiming that he's a world beater. I just think he's in better shape to when he was a fat mess against Tyson and he seems a bit more mentally switched on.

I agree....he was just a Plodder back then but now Chisora is a Plodder 2.0 (slightly improved version), though I think in the grand scheme of things its a fairly irrelevant bout as far as the division goes-as a stand alone fight it will be interesting to watch.

Irish found footage movie (2025)

https://theghostofjimbray.wixsite.com/movie

I'm not disagreeing with you and I'm not claiming that he's a world beater. I just think he's in better shape to when he was a fat mess against Tyson and he seems a bit more mentally switched on.

Maybe I am a bit harsh on him. When I first saw him he did impress me with his compact style and pressure and shot variation. But over the past few years he seems very pedestrian and slow and cumbersome. It's plodding along style. Fury should beat this guy up if Fury is committed and focused.

http://t.co/HDPSRBvLGJ he means business lol

Yes, a fight can be 120-108 and be a very close fight. This fight was not that. Klit won clearly. It was not at all close. Me saying I must go back and view it again was being polite and diplomatic. Klit dominated Chisora. I am quite sure I posted on that fight here on boards on the night it happened.

At no stage did I state it was close.

I said it was a tough fight and hard-fought. Which it was.

At no stage did I state it was close.

I said it was a tough fight and hard-fought. Which it was.

It was a sparring session for Vitali. I wouldn't say he found it all that tough. Chisora did keep coming, but apart from that he had nothing to offer. Our definitions of tough must differ. He was more an annoyance than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Lads, Vitali badly tore ligaments in his left shoulder early in the Chisora fight, the same injury that made him quit in his defeat to Chris Byrd. He was in agony, but said no way was he gonna quit and lose to Chisora because he was such a tramp in the build up to the fight. The only reason the fight was a bit tough on Klitchko was because he beat Chisora with one arm.
    In my opinion both Fury and Chisora are no good anyway, the boxing world is crying out for a few good heavyweights to come on the scene.

It was a sparring session for Vitali. I wouldn't say he found it all that tough. Chisora did keep coming, but apart from that he had nothing to offer. Our definitions of tough must differ. He was more an annoyance than anything else.

Once again, when you don't like a fighter you just point blank refuse to give him any credit for anything... whereas when you like him you'll forgive him anything eg. Toney being 'ahem' "one step behind" Jones. Chisora gave Vitali a harder fight than Toney gave Jones. Even you can't deny that. But you'll try to wangle your way around it.

I don't like Chisora, I don't think many do. I don't think Chisora is some sort of latent talent, but he gave Vitali a damn good fight. If he didn't why did the reports I quoted above state what they did. Sparring session my arse!!

Once again, when you don't like a fighter you just point blank refuse to give him any credit for anything... whereas when you like him you'll forgive him anything eg. Toney being 'ahem' "one step behind" Jones. Chisora gave Vitali a harder fight than Toney gave Jones. Even you can't deny that. But you'll try to wangle your way around it.

I don't like Chisora, I don't think many do. I don't think Chisora is some sort of latent talent, but he gave Vitali a damn good fight. If he didn't why did the reports I quoted above state what they did. Sparring session my arse!!

Chisora used his face as a defense in that fight. Toney did not take near as much leather as Chisora took. Toney was one step behind. Go watch the fight. It was dull. Very little cleanly landed throughout. Jones was just that bit too cute and quick. Deserved winner.

Nothing to do with liking Chisora. Get over it. He was beaten convincingly in a one sided fight. If you think it was a tough and hard fought, fine. I saw a steady one sided beat down.

Key the words 'Ring magazine the most dominant performance in a big fight in 20 years' into Google and see what fight Ring is talking about.

Hint: It's not Vitali v Chisora.

Yea...Chisora gave a past it, one arm injured Vitali a good fight? Sure! ...If Vitali was a few years younger and had two arms it wouldn't have lasted more than 7 or 8 rounds.

Yeah... well Vitali WASN'T a few years younger though. He was what he was. He hadn't lost a round in his comeback and all of a sudden he's "past it". Chisora gave the Vitali he faced a good fight, which was my point all along. And I'm sticking to it.

Whether you're aware of it or not, virtually all top-class boxers have won and lost big fights with injuries a lot more serious than the one Vitali had - broken jaws, broken hands, broken ribs, etc. Vitali didn't even need surgery on it, so how bad was it really? He certainly was throwing left hands throughout the fight, though obviously not as many as in the early rounds and not with as much power as normal, but he was still throwing and landing, so he wasn't exactly one handed.

If you really want to see a fighter win a fight one-handed, watch this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QY1jzjTjIhY

Wow! had never seen that williams vid before! pretty amazing!

But I think you are missing my point...and maybe Im missing yours....but it wasnt that Chisora was any good, it was that Vitali was a post prime version. Look at the Charr bout for example....Charr would be lucky to get the the end of the 1st or 2nd round versus a prime Vitali.
    Im a big K2 fan esp Vitali, glad he retired as champion and not defeated by a vastly inferior opponent such an Chisora that he would surely KO in the middle rounds if both in primes.

Wow! had never seen that williams vid before! pretty amazing!

But I think you are missing my point...and maybe Im missing yours....but it wasnt that Chisora was any good, it was that Vitali was a post prime version. Look at the Charr bout for example....Charr would be lucky to get the the end of the 1st or 2nd round versus a prime Vitali.
    Im a big K2 fan esp Vitali, glad he retired as champion and not defeated by a vastly inferior opponent such an Chisora that he would surely KO in the middle rounds if both in primes.

Sort of what I am saying. Chisorsa looked poor I thought against Vitali. He looked plodding. I know what mega is saying, that he gave Vitali a hard fought fight. I would not use that description. He was more an annoyance, but Vitali to me looked comfortable throughout, and clearly winning. That for me is not tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Gorman700

I'm saying my prayers and being a good boy in the hope that Chisora KO's Fury. I am sick to the back teeth of him and his complete rubbish. He is the most annoying boxer of all time, he's backed nothing up and has ducked a fair few fights over the years. Full of crap, horrible, sloppy, overweight and irritating, time he was given a good pasting so he's taken out of contention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

As a matter of interest who has he dodged?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It could be argued that he ducked David Price. He refused to fight him as he said he was top 10 and would only fight contenders from then on. Before he fought Vinny Madalone. I think Fury is hilarious and is coming on a lot. It'd be great to have an Irish heavyweight champion for the first time in a hundred odd years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Gorman700

FTA69 wrote: »
    It could be argued that he ducked David Price. He refused to fight him as he said he was top 10 and would only fight contenders from then on. Before he fought Vinny Madalone. I think Fury is hilarious and is coming on a lot. It'd be great to have an Irish heavyweight champion for the first time in a hundred odd years.

Is he legitimately Irish?

He's definitely ducked Price, was offered the fight at least twice befor Price met Thompson. He has also been offered Wilder a number of times apparently. As far as I know he was offered either Pulev or Adamek too. Keeps ****ting on about chasing the Wlad fight and getting nowhere. IDIOT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Gorman700 wrote: »
    Is he legitimately Irish?

He's an Irish Traveller who lives in a caravan. I wouldn't call him British!
    He has also been offered Wilder a number of times apparently. As far as I know he was offered either Pulev or Adamek too. Keeps ****ting on about chasing the Wlad fight and getting nowhere. IDIOT!

I've never heard about him being offered Pulev, I know there was talk of it but it fell through for some reason or another. He's in a bit of a quandary in the sense he's young enough to outlast Wlad and would actually be one of the main contenders for the title should that happen. He's in no rush whatsoever given the fact he's only 25. Similarly the fact he put himself up to fight Haye shows he isn't afraid of a challenge. (Well, not when he's getting £4m to take it up anyway.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I think your a little harsh on fury, let's remember that he wasted almost a year waiting for the biggest dodge of them all Haye. He's only 25 and he's had his fair share of tough fights.
    Wilder is full of ****e imo and some of his opponents have been absolute joke shops. As for price I don't think he'd last 5 rounds in the ring with Fury!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸