Fury v Chisora II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

gaybeer wrote: »
    Sorry to be off topic, just curious as to how you would judge a successful career? Prize fighters generally judged on money and titles and in both columns he has been very successful?

If it were me as a professional boxer I'd prefer to be judged on my boxing ability. Yes he's got the cash and some titles and some ability but I personally don't think he's a great fighter. The simple point I was trying to make (and obviously did so badly judging by the reaction my analogy received) was that ability and career earnings can be skewed.

Anyway, it appears that I've irritated the residents so I'll back out.

Fury by mid rounds ko for me

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,740 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You haven't irritated me. I agree with your post above.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

Really cant wait for Eubank Saunders also should be a great fight. I see Frankie Gavin is fighting Bradley Skeete also on the undercard, competitive fight that anyone any thoughts there?

Doubt it will be the most exciting to watch but its a 50-50 for me.

Really cant wait for Eubank Saunders also should be a great fight. I see Frankie Gavin is fighting Bradley Skeete also on the undercard, competitive fight that anyone any thoughts there?

Doubt it will be the most exciting to watch but its a 50-50 for me.

Find it ever so difficult to sit through a Gavin fight...Horribly boring style. He should win via points.

walshb wrote: »
    Find it ever so difficult to sit through a Gavin fight...Horribly boring style. He should win via points.
    Same very hard to watch, the Bundu fight was entertaining in parts but mainly due to Bundu lol

Yes, only due to Bundu. Gavin couldn't burst a balloon. Just his style and punch delivery. So boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,106 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »

If you don't like watching Gavin stay the hell away from Skeete !, one of the most boring fighters around.

Looking at this card makes me laugh at the thought Bellew vs Cleverly was ppv, because this card us far superior imo.
    You could question the World class potential of all the main fighters but still four 50/50 fights with fighters of European/fringe European level at the very least and a few fringe World level fighters in there too.

Fury vs Chisora
    Saunders vs Eubank Jnr
    Sykes vs Walsh
    Gavin vs Skeete

Even the undercard below that you've got some prospects in very interesting, and probably very entertaining fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Fury is worryingly heavy. Just wondering, are heavyweights obliged to weigh in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Just watched the weigh in fury wearing so much clothes. It would not surprise me if he had lead strapped to himself To make himself heavier.

Fury is worryingly heavy. Just wondering, are heavyweights obliged to weigh in?

I believe they are alright. Can't remember Heavyweights not weighing in before.
    Fury is 10 lbs lighter than he was vs Abell, when tbh he looked in terrible shape. But he's still 10 lbs heavier than he was vs Cunningham, when he looked in very good shape, and one of the heaviest weights he's been in his career.

As supersean1999 says though, he was wearing a lot of clothes and may have done the old Sugar Ray Leonard/Danny Williams trick !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Big Ears wrote: »
    I believe they are alright. Can't remember Heavyweights not weighing in before.
    Fury is 10 lbs lighter than he was vs Abell, when tbh he looked in terrible shape. But he's still 10 lbs heavier than he was vs Cunningham, when he looked in very good shape, and one of the heaviest weights he's been in his career.

As supersean1999 says though, he was wearing a lot of clothes and may have done the old Sugar Ray Leonard/Danny Williams trick !

That's sort of what i'm getting at. If you're obliged to weigh in, then surely you're not permitted to mess around like that.

I have a feeling Fury is in relatively good shape. He's been making noises about how bad his camp has been. I don't believe him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

You never know with Fury if he is wearing weights under the clothes I'd be very surprised if he's underprepared for this fight.

I remember the first time they fought Tyson was in no trouble after the second round and even found time to wave to the crowd! Here's a link:

http://youtu.be/Xx5Zx3SX1O4

Here's a link to the weigh in:

http://youtu.be/zdVdNRPk-Xg

Really interested to see how Eubank jnr Saunders turns out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

Yep hes going to be in decent nick id say, the clothes are obviously to throw off Chisora, cant wait for this card. Smashing compared to last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Just saw a statement tonight that Eubank snr made that Eubank jr beats GGG right now. Not only is he mad he's delusional

Well he may indeed be those things, but he doesn't actually believe his son will beat GGG, he's merely trying to grab attention for his son.
    I can't remember where it was but he pretty much admitted in an interview that the outlandish things he says about his son are to try and help promote him, and that it's his job to say such things.

While Eubank jnr has looked decent in his career so far, he's beaten absolutely no one. I mean what's his best win, Bradley Pryce ?, Frankie Borg ?, if it wasn't for the hype created by who his father is and what his father has been saying people probably wouldn't be interested in the fight at all.

Now it's good that there is hype, because he is actually a decent fighter and this is an interesting scrap. I'm really looking forward to this fight tbh.

That's sort of what i'm getting at. If you're obliged to weigh in, then surely you're not permitted to mess around like that.

Absolutely. Why have an official weigh in if it's guess work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Chisora is at the last chance saloon, lose and he's gone career wise. He only got 300k for the Vlad fight so he needs a few more decent paydays yet. Didn't like Fury's body language at all at the weigh in, he's usually loud and in his opponents face. He could be in good shape but as he was never the most fluent of boxers he has been out of the ring for a hell of a long time, must be really rusty.
    Chisora looks in good shape so have a sneaky feeling he could win this one.
    I would be in the camp that doesn't rate Fury that highly anyway, but you cannot deny he has a bit of heart about him and he's just so freaking huge! Any man that size has a chance of wearing alot of fighters down. But it doesn't seem up for this one.
    Gonna give Chisora a very cautious nod on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Fury for me, in fact I think a late stoppage is on the cards.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

I'm going to go with what Spike O Sullivan said Billy Joe to give Eubank a boxing lesson. Fury and Chisora can't call it. It could literally go anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

. Didn't like Fury's body language at all at the weigh in, he's usually loud and in his opponents face.

Its the new Fury. Was all on his twitter a few weeks back. Gone are the old ways, he's found Jesus, dont you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,879 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Well I'm subscribing....can't miss Saunders Eubank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Thinking of subscribing just for this fight.... I'm sure I could just stream it but not sure if it's worth the hassle.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

BoxNation trying to charge me 36 quid for fight in HD. Is that a mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

If you do subscribe. You will get the 13th of dec fights. Im not sure what to ecpect from either fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

I have a Fury-Saunders double since the fights were made. Lot of money gone on Eubank Jnr as the fight came closer. Ringrust could be an issue to Fury but he's trained constantly since returning to the gym a fat fecker last January. Saunders to be too fast and sharp for Eubank Jnr but if he decides to prove his ability to stand and trade bombs, machismo could bring him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭qwabercd

What time are the 2 main fights expected to start at?

Thinking of subscribing just for this fight.... I'm sure I could just stream it but not sure if it's worth the hassle.

Just checked and its 25 quid.....Not worth that, I'll have to stream it.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

You get boxnation for the month with that, its 100% worth it imo.

ASOT wrote: »

I know, but I'm at the parents gaff for the night and not here again until after christmas.

Saying that i'm half tempted to just get the HD channel for 30 euro. Sure twill keep me out of the pub....

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

DylanAFC wrote: »
    BoxNation trying to charge me 36 quid for fight in HD. Is that a mistake?
    ASOT wrote: »

Boxnation code tonight for no registration fee for tonight is HEAVYWEIGHT2

For the 2 months for 1 offer it is/was NOVEMBERTBE

I signed up with NOVEMBERTBE for Hopkins Kovalev a few weeks ago.