Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭ellejay

Sadderday wrote: »
    holy shat!!!!

and thanks for bringing the thread back to life

It's even weirder that it didn't happen in one of our homes.
    The boyfriend is now and ex so we'll never be in his again!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

ellejay wrote: »
    It's even weirder that it didn't happen in one of our homes.
    The boyfriend is now and ex so we'll never be in his again!!

Thank bleedin jaysus says you, wha!? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

My mother mentioned something a couple of years ago.told me the story,brushed it off.in the context of 'something slightly curious happened'.didn't seem to phase her,but I thought it was creepy.bare in mind my parents are elderly and live in a rural/isolated area. mother wakes in the middle of the night to hear the scrunch of footsteps on the gravel drive.as soon as she turns the light on,the sound stops.looks out the window,nothing there.turns the light out,back to bed,and within a few minutes the sound of footsteps on the gravel starts again.this time she wakes my dad,who goes out with a torch.all quiet,nothing to see.he's slightly irritated and thinks she's imagining things.he goes back to sleep,but recurring theme all night for her.every time she lies down,crunch crunch on the gravel,every time she puts the light on and gets up to look out the window,noise stops and there's nothing to be seen.thinks in the end it's maybe deer or something. Anyway,morning comes.dad slightly annoyed about disturbed sleep,but all back to normal.later in the day they notice light on answerphone is flashing.message said 'ibe been waiting for you all night' strong African accent.they don't know anyone who speaks like that,but dI'd holiday in Africa a few years ago.if he was calling on them legitimately why skulk around at night?and f not how the he'll dI'd he have the phone number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

zoe 3619 wrote: »
    My mother mentioned something a couple of years ago.told me the story,brushed it off.in the context of 'something slightly curious happened'.didn't seem to phase her,but I thought it was creepy.bare in mind my parents are elderly and live in a rural/isolated area. mother wakes in the middle of the night to hear the scrunch of footsteps on the gravel drive.as soon as she turns the light on,the sound stops.looks out the window,nothing there.turns the light out,back to bed,and within a few minutes the sound of footsteps on the gravel starts again.this time she wakes my dad,who goes out with a torch.all quiet,nothing to see.he's slightly irritated and thinks she's imagining things.he goes back to sleep,but recurring theme all night for her.every time she lies down,crunch crunch on the gravel,every time she puts the light on and gets up to look out the window,noise stops and there's nothing to be seen.thinks in the end it's maybe deer or something. Anyway,morning comes.dad slightly annoyed about disturbed sleep,but all back to normal.later in the day they notice light on answerphone is flashing.message said 'ibe been waiting for you all night' strong African accent.they don't know anyone who speaks like that,but dI'd holiday in Africa a few years ago.if he was calling on them legitimately why skulk around at night?and f not how the he'll dI'd he have the phone number?

Hedgehog on gravel. Nigerian Prince! Son of Former President on phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭shaneon77

I lived in a rank bedsit in Slough and there was a massive fight between 5 or 6 lads from Algeria and the place got thrashed. The Indian landlord suggested that I move to a different flat of his and I went and had a look with him. It was another ****hole and I really didn't want to move in. A few calls later and I had agreed to move into my aunts spare room in Central London.
    A fortnight later and the flat was on the TV with the 2 residents and some other unfortunate Fec**r having been axed to death.
    I did not sleep well for a few weeks after that wondering what might have been if I did move in. I was spooked beyond belief. RIP to them all though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

donvito99 wrote: »
    I heard about this "thing".

They say it's as big as four cats, and it's got a retractable leg so as it can leap up at you better and you know what, it lights up at night, and it's got four ears. Two of them are for listening and the other two are kind of back-up ears, and it's claws are as big as cups and for some reason it's got a tremendous fear of stamps and herself was tellin' me that it's got magnets on it's tail so's if you're made out of metal it can attach itself to you, and instead of a mouth it's got four arses.

Quoting this knowing it was posted over a year ago but it deserves to be read again. The last sentence cracked me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

shaneon77 wrote: »
    I lived in a rank bedsit in Slough and there was a massive fight between 5 or 6 lads from Algeria and the place got thrashed. The Indian landlord suggested that I move to a different flat of his and I went and had a look with him. It was another ****hole and I really didn't want to move in. A few calls later and I had agreed to move into my aunts spare room in Central London.
    A fortnight later and the flat was on the TV with the 2 residents and some other unfortunate Fec**r having been axed to death.
    I did not sleep well for a few weeks after that wondering what might have been if I did move in. I was spooked beyond belief. RIP to them all though.

on a vaguely similar note...the father told me before that years ago,when he right young (the early 60s),when people used never lock doors at night,his father for some reason unknown got up late one night and locked the door
    the following morning they found blood all over the yard outside there home, turns out some ould lad up the road had some kind of a breakdown,went out attacked a neighbour down a laneway and left him for dead (chap survived)...and attacked a few other animals (not sure if cows or horses,il have to ask him or uncle)
    and their house was next on the road but he couldn't get in by all accounts and went onto the next house up the road (near the river at this stage)

where he attacked people again but was overpowered and beat up....the following day he was sent away to the mental and the whole thing covered up (chap that got attacked in field never went about it-lived for years after it-I think)

makes you wonder if the grandfather hadn't got up for no reason and locked the door - the first time in years what would have happened:eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

Because of reading this thread as well as researching John Wayne Gacey, I've actually got chest pains and am genuinely considering sleeping with my lamp on tonight :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Because of reading this thread as well as researching John Wayne Gacey, I've actually got chest pains and am genuinely considering sleeping with my lamp on tonight :(

if you do
    the axe-murderers will know your home:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

if you do
    the axe-murderers will know your home:P

It's ok. Let them switch it off. I can see them just fine from here anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭tom_k

shaneon77 wrote: »

Holy sh!t! Was this the case?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/392194.stm

• Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

One minute it was 00:59
    Next it was 2:00 am.
    Think I was abducted by aliens - it's the only obvious explanation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

About a month ago we were sittig having dinner. We live in a rural location down a lane.

My daughter who is eleven sits facing the window.

"There's a white can coming in the drive" she says.

I explained it's probably the guy reading the esb meter. But he didn't read the meter.
    So I get up from dinner and go out and no white van.
    She insisted a white van came in. And she doesn't mess about.
    I go and roll back the CCTV and no white van came in at all.
    Talk to daughter and she described the van in detail but no sign of van.

We were sitting on finishing dinner and in comes the white van.
    "There he is again" she says.

I go out and ask had he been in 20 minutes earlier and he looked at me like I was crazy " why would I come twice" he said.

I checked CCTV and he only came the second time.

Daughter is sure she saw him the first time, described the van perfectly. but it appears like a preminition. We were well freaked out.
    Got her to pick lotto numbers, won €5 :(

• Registered Users Posts: 775 ✭✭✭roboshatner

Someone told me this years ago.

She worked in a nursing home.

One day at around lunch time all the were in one room.

The lady says doesn't that man look really well dressed.

She says What man ?

Which man

she points to the door frame...

He looks really dashing in his suit leaning against door frame smiling at me.

She says there is no one there.

Don't be silly she says he smiling and waving at me.

• Registered Users Posts: 775 ✭✭✭roboshatner

Its Tom Waits...

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭shaneon77

tom_k wrote: »

It probably is my friend but honestly....... I don't want to read up about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Someone told me this years ago.

She worked in a nursing home.

One day at around lunch time all the were in one room.

The lady says doesn't that man look really well dressed.

She says What man ?

Which man

she points to the door frame...

He looks really dashing in his suit leaning against door frame smiling at me.

She says there is no one there.

Don't be silly she says he smiling and waving at me.

Hallucination. More common than you'd think AFAIK, especially in an elderly population in a nursing home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Shane, that is such a horrible story :(

A much milder version happened to my landlady a number of years ago when I was on my study abroad. Lovely woman, British expat, we got on great with her. But we were her only normal tenants! She had a knack for picking weirdos/bad tenants.

She had two houses to rent and when she came over she would tell us stories about the other house. One of the guys in the other house used to watch porn in the living room, **** all over the bathroom floor- essentially he was a nightmare. So she evicted him.

Anyway, one guy comes looking at the house and even my landlady's senses are going mad, so she lets him down gently. Next thing she switches on the news- this guy is in an armed standoff with the police at his father's house on the south of the city! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Hallucination. More common than you'd think AFAIK, especially in an elderly population in a nursing home.
    Very common in lots of age groups in hospital situations, it's the medication they have to take. My mother was in intensive care for a good while, she saw lots of things that she only realised later were hallucinations, a big black dog that would sit at the end of her bed, blue lights floating around the room etc etc. The doctors said it was normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

Very common in lots of age groups in hospital situations, it's the medication they have to take.

http://www.medterms.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=7769

Also observed a lot in patients in intensive care units is what's called ICU psychosis. I read a great article on people's experiences but can't find it again! Some scary stuff though- being convinced you were in great danger, that evil was present, that the doctors and nurses were going to kill you and that your family were imposters featured heavily as themes:eek:

Suggested causes are things like fever, strong medication, social isolation/sensory deprivation, lack of time cues due to constant lighting etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭exercise

We'll I'm living to this day with freaky ghosts in my house, weird things happen every day and night, I could sell tickets for this freak show, although it's only noise, so far, but that's how it starts is in it, a crack bang every half hour from the kitchen fridge, while I'm in the house anyway, and no it's not the fridge, it only new, at night sound like people walking across the lounge room floor, crack bangs in the bathroom, dropping noise in the bedroom on the wood floor, voices, and the kitchen noise, I can hear while I'm in bed at night,
    Any advice about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

exercise wrote: »
    We'll I'm living to this day with freaky ghosts in my house, weird things happen every day and night, I could sell tickets for this freak show, although it's only noise, so far, but that's how it starts is in it, a crack bang every half hour from the kitchen fridge, while I'm in the house anyway, and no it's not the fridge, it only new, at night sound like people walking across the lounge room floor, crack bangs in the bathroom, dropping noise in the bedroom on the wood floor, voices, and the kitchen noise, I can hear while I'm in bed at night,
    Any advice about this?

Boardsies sleepover at exercise's house everyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

exercise wrote: »
    Any advice about this?

Earplugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

ONE TIME I WAS HITCHING FOR A LIFT HOME AT NIGHT AND A CAR PULLED IN ABOUT 10 FEET AHEAD THEN I WALKED UP AND OPENED THE PASSENGER DOOR AND THERE WAS A SKELETON DRIVING THE CAR

This thread pops up in AH quite frequently and each time I have to find this one again for fresh lols :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Boardsies sleepover at exercise's house everyone?

I am in!!! I'm so very skeptical about these stories, would love to "witness" an incident like this to form my own opinion..... Just don't want to be alone when it happens.... Or for it to happen in my own home!!!

Exercise any strange vibes? Has this been happening since you have lived in the house or is it a recent thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭exercise

gg2 wrote: »
    I am in!!! I'm so very skeptical about these stories, would love to "witness" an incident like this to form my own opinion..... Just don't want to be alone when it happens.... Or for it to happen in my own home!!!

Exercise any strange vibes? Has this been happening since you have lived in the house or is it a recent thing?

Yeah depression vibe, this started happing shortly after I moved in to this new apartment, it's not fair, I payed alot of money for the house, I can't live normally in it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Semele wrote: »
    http://www.medterms.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=7769

Also observed a lot in patients in intensive care units is what's called ICU psychosis. I read a great article on people's experiences but can't find it again! Some scary stuff though- being convinced you were in great danger, that evil was present, that the doctors and nurses were going to kill you and that your family were imposters featured heavily as themes:eek:

Suggested causes are things like fever, strong medication, social isolation/sensory deprivation, lack of time cues due to constant lighting etc.

I had something happen me like the above. Was in hospital after a crash and developed pneumonia. Was delerious with pain and fever and was brought back to ICU having been back on the ward for afew days. When in ICU, most patients have an arterial line put in. Basically it's a tiny line put into your artery in your arm that constantly monitors your blood pressure etc. Anyway it extremely sore on the patient and notoriously difficult for the doctor to put in correctly. I remember waking up, seeing two doctors one at each arm trying to put in the lines. As clear as day I 'remember' them talking about seeing who could get the line in faster and it's no big deal if it wasnt done correctly and I bled out.

I had a CPAP mask on to help my breathing that's literally welded to your face so I couldn't talk. I have never felt fear like I did in those few minutes until I blacked out again and I can remember it so clearly. I was so sure I was going to die because these two doctors didn't give a hoot either way. Horrible feeling, kinda gave me a new sense of how someone with a mental illness might see the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Phew, start to finish. In 2 days. Amazing thread.

I'm a sleep paralysis veteran, first started when I was 14. I agree a lot of these stories could be explained with SP, dare I say, even the crutches one! I think I had a something similar to the crutches happen to me actually!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Phew, start to finish. In 2 days. Amazing thread.

I'm a sleep paralysis veteran, first started when I was 14. I agree a lot of these stories could be explained with SP, dare I say, even the crutches one! I think I had a something similar to the crutches happen to me actually!!

Thanks for bringing Crutches up again, now I'll have another week of no sleep. :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Vojera wrote: »
    Thanks for bringing Crutches up again, now I'll have another week of no sleep. :mad: :mad: :mad:

No sleep = safety.

Sleeping = danger!

Remember this and all will be good ;)