Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭jameshayes

has this one done the rounds yet?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Nice work getting the persons numberplace and their face,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

^^ Sure its not like there was a no-overtaking sign or double whites or anything. :confused:

Jesus that is an accident waiting to happen. They must have locked up ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Davy wrote: »
    You done the right thing dropping anchor and staying back on the solid white line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

That's the sort of video that terrifies me because it reminds me that it doesn't matter how good or careful a driver you are, there is just no accounting for other people's stupidity.

And you can see by how close he stays to the vehicle in front and the way that he's still edging out and trying to overtake that the incident hasn't phased him or shook him at all. If I had a near-miss like that I don't think I'd be able to get back in the car for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Davy wrote: »

At least he indicated left when returning to left lane :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭cluelez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Tzardine wrote: »
    ^^ Sure its not like there was a no-overtaking sign or double whites or anything. :confused:

Jesus that is an accident waiting to happen. They must have locked up ?

Only for the other car stopped in time that was a head on collision, another very bad one for the Garda to investigate if you could make out the reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

Sobanek wrote: »
    What do you call a cyclist like that?

Suicidal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

a donor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

cluelez wrote: »

I know a guy who had very serious head injuries after a very similar incident with the Luas at Sandyford a couple of years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

A seed, because he is going in the ground soon. :D

Seriously though he was lucky. Tram driver was on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

ken wrote: »
    You done the right thing dropping anchor and staying back on the solid white line.

What an idiot:confused:

What is the story with wide loads etc being driven without a pilot btw?

I met a tractor with a portacabin being driven on a road with a saloon in front.
    The saloon car in front had his hazard lights on but there was no car behind the tractor. Seemed a bit silly to me tbh.

Are there any regulations to how these loads are managed?

The guy is an idiot, met few like them before, the indicators do nothing for me in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

wonski wrote: »
    I met a tractor with a portacabin being driven on a road with a saloon in front.
    The saloon car in front had his hazard lights on but there was no car behind the tractor. Seemed a bit silly to me tbh.

Are there any regulations to how these loads are managed?

Would you not just see the wide load ? Adding a 3rd vehicle to extend a usually slow moving convoy would just add more hazzard to everyone overtaking.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Blazer, restored vintage bike, chinos, thinks he is quicker and smarter than other traffic on the road.

I call him a hipster, and his survival only further dissuades me from believing any of the postulates in that "Origin of the species" book.

cluelez wrote: »

It looks to me, that tram was stopped and only started moving, when cyclist was already overtaking it. Cyclist probably didn't expect tram to start moving, and then struggled to accelerate no to be squashed between two trams.
    I wouldn't put all blame on cyclist.
    Looks like tram driver didn't check his mirrors before moving off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

CiniO wrote: »
    It looks to me, that tram was stopped and only started moving, when cyclist was already overtaking it. Cyclist probably didn't expect tram to start moving, and then struggled to accelerate no to be squashed between two trams.

I think you must have special glasses that let you see a different video than what everyone else sees.

GenieOz wrote: »
    I think you must have special glasses that let you see a different video than what everyone else sees.

Look at the speed of tram just at the beginning of the video, and then at speed of tram when cyclist runs in front of it.
    There's very big difference, so tram was definitely accelerating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I'd absolutely blame the cyclist - what kind of halfwit cycles down the middle of two tramlines that are in obvious use, putting himself in the position of having to fling himself across the front of a moving tram (whether it was accelerating or not) in order to avoid being squished? Even if he had started over taking a stopped tram, why would he not expect it to start moving? In the cities where I've seen trams, they generally stop for 15-30 seconds - it's not like they usually loiter around the place.

Thoie wrote: »
    I'd absolutely blame the cyclist - what kind of halfwit cycles down the middle of two tramlines that are in obvious use,
    See, that's the main thing.
    Those are not tramlines. It's normal road which cyclists and cars are fully allowed to use. Just tram lines go through it.
    If you cycle behind tram which stops, it's quite normal for cyclist to pass the tram instead of waiting for 1 minute behind him.
    He just misjudged it.
    putting himself in the position of having to fling himself across the front of a moving tram (whether it was accelerating or not) in order to avoid being squished? Even if he had started over taking a stopped tram, why would he not expect it to start moving? In the cities where I've seen trams, they generally stop for 15-30 seconds - it's not like they usually loiter around the place.

I'm not saying cyclist is not to blame.
    I'm just saying that from what I can see, trams started moving, when cyclist was already overtaking it, so tram driver wasn't the wisest as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

Killinator wrote: »
    I'll just leave this here, 2 days ago:

So in follow up to this I reported it today at the local station(gave them a copy on disc).
    They're happy to pursue it as long as I know I may need to stand in court (which I've no qualms with).

They gave the the option of them issuing a caution/warning or full out pursual of the matter to court.
    I chose the former as maybe the guards showing up at the door with video evidence will scare them enough,
    With that said the guard also said if they had a bad attitude upon receiving their caution then they'll give them a visit to court to complain about:)

So there, civic duty done:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I'm not saying cyclist is not to blame.
    I'm just saying that from what I can see, trams started moving, when cyclist was already overtaking it, so tram driver wasn't the wisest as well.

While I couldn't say it happened here, but Trams generally have a sign they are about to move, be it lights going off, a bell noise or the doors closing. A cyclists at the speed he was at would only have taken seconds to overtake so it is reasonable to assume that he either started the overtake as the tram was either moving or clear indication that it was about to start moving had occurred. He also would have seen the other tram as he started the overtake unless he was paying no attention. No matter how its painted, the cyclist is completely at fault. The tram driver in fact appears to slow before he falls presumably because he realises what the numpty is up to.

CramCycle wrote: »
    While I couldn't say it happened here, but Trams generally have a sign they are about to move, be it lights going off, a bell noise or the doors closing. A cyclists at the speed he was at would only have taken seconds to overtake so it is reasonable to assume that he either started the overtake as the tram was either moving or clear indication that it was about to start moving had occurred.
    Trams there can be quite long (3 coaches) - maybe 40 metres. At 10km/h it could take cyclist 15 seconds to overtake.
    He also would have seen the other tram as he started the overtake unless he was paying no attention. No matter how its painted, the cyclist is completely at fault. The tram driver in fact appears to slow before he falls presumably because he realises what the numpty is up to.

Cyclist shouldn't be overtaking there in the first place.
    It's continuous white line, pedestrian crossing and junction.
    He obviously is at fault.

All I'm saying though is that on a video I can see tram accelerating and cyclist struggling to accelerate more to pass the tram, which kinda tells us that tram driver didn't really check his mirrors before moving off, which he should have done.

I know this place very well, as 10 years ago I lived 300 metres from there.
    It's narrow road in strict city centre with tram lines and plenty of long trams stopping every 300 metres, sometimes for longer times (up to minute or two).
    I cycled there regularly, and I often overtook trams on by bike, like every other cyclist.

It's herehttps://maps.google.com/maps?q=ul.+karmelicka+krak%C3%B3w&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=50.068758,19.926862&spn=0.000528,0.000871&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=59.379225,114.169922&t=h&hq=ul.&hnear=Karmelicka,+Krak%C3%B3w,+Wojew%C3%B3dztwo+ma%C5%82opolskie,+Poland&fll=50.068008,19.927877&fspn=0.001055,0.001742&z=21&layer=c&cbll=50.068758,19.926862&panoid=edo70CbGlNLTFli7p1p5Gw&cbp=12,318.28,,0,8.66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

gutteruu wrote: »
    Would you not just see the wide load ? Adding a 3rd vehicle to extend a usually slow moving convoy would just add more hazzard to everyone overtaking.

What is the point in having a saloon driving on with hazard lights then since everyone can see the wide load?

The whole thing looked funny tbh, unorganized at every level.

What is the point? Drive it to the destination, the car in the front makes no difference to me:confused:

Traffic Corps passed us at some point and no interest at all:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,479 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Seen that video clip a million times today and it has annoyed me everytime she's just as much a moron as he is if not even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Seen that video clip a million times today and it has annoyed me everytime she's just as much a moron as he is if not even worse.

No, sorry I could not possibly agree. The man or boy let down all mankind. If you are showing off, you better be GOOD!

Last man standing, erm, driving, happens to be a woman ~ if I ever meet up with that guy, I'd like to slap him around the face with a wet fish and make him wash womens' cars for Ninety Nine Years.

Total disgrace to manhood. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Not a 'saves your ass' video but this seriously annoyed me yesterday. Skips up in a bus lane, takes extreme left lane to turn right. :mad: Poor quality as it was in one of the older run about cars.