Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,794 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

v3ttel wrote: »
    Nothing to do with City? Ok then.

By the way, could you tell me, who were the "very good side" he was making reference to?

That's not really the point though.

The operative word in the sentence is "standard".

"I think we've played a very good side and it's the sort of standard and level we need to try and aspire to get ourselves to at this moment in time. I think we need to play better. We're needing to come up a couple of levels at the moment and we're not quite there."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

David Moyes took over at United wondering if Sir Alex Ferguson's shadow would overwhelm him when in fact it is members of 'Class of 92' who are most obvious threat

MUFC8.jpg

Planned or not – and in fairness only a mischievous mind would argue this was calculated - it was impossible to escape the conclusion Scholes and Neville were taking their first tentative step towards a silent coup to wrestle back control of their club in the wake of a dismal Premier League season.

They chose their words professionally and studiously - they came neither to praise nor bury Moyes - but pieced together they were damning. There were traces of perplexity but there was mostly annoyance and frustration in every syllable.

irish indo

Not sure if Chris Bascombe is serious or stirring . . . Surely it's stirring or there must be a hint of inside info, otherwise it's completely made up based on their demeanor on tv alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The day of the cross.

Should have played that game on Good Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Someone mentioned (can't find the post) about 92 coup on twitter, this is what it is all about. Scholes makes his debut on SkySports but also made his debut close enough dates wise for United so clearly he and GNev are coming too save us from the god awful Moyes.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/manchester-united/10723658/Have-Paul-Scholes-and-Gary-Neville-taken-first-step-towards-coup-to-wrest-back-control-of-Manchester-United.html

some people :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

user2011 wrote: »
    Someone mentioned (can't find the post) about 92 coup on twitter, this is what it is all about. Scholes makes his debut on SkySports but also made his debut close enough dates wise for United so clearly he and GNev are coming too save us from the god awful Moyes.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/manchester-united/10723658/Have-Paul-Scholes-and-Gary-Neville-taken-first-step-towards-coup-to-wrest-back-control-of-Manchester-United.html

some people :pac:

According to wiki the Ides of March (15th March) is when Julius Caesar was assassinated. Is this what he is basing his conspiracy theory on? :confused:
    No matter, whether by design or a quirk of timing, Scholes chose the most conspiratorial of months to offer a startling contrast between Manchester United’s glorious past, dire present and dilemmas of the immediate future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Steve Round (i had to google the name, didnt know who the **** he is) will stab Moyes in the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Tony EH wrote: »
    Agree 100%. Money has wrecked the game and the whole "premiership" bullshit has been a bad thing for football imo.

I'm old enough to remember when it was simply the 1st Division. It was smaller and made a lot more sense.

The Sky Sports/Premiership money oriented approach has bloated the game to a point where is just about money now.

Team loyalty is gone, managers are sacked on a whim (christ look at Harry and Spurs WTF?), there's WAAAY too much "player power", moneybags foreign owners buying the league, owners getting involved where they shouldn't...the list goes on.

Basically what Blackburn, Chelsea and ManC have shown is that you can buy the PL and that's what it's all about. Scratch under all the Sky Sports spoof and hype, it's really not that good.

As John Aldridge said, in the old days footballers were ordinary blokes who lived in a semi- and drove Ford Escorts. Pretty much like everyone else. Nowadays, even the most medicore PL footballer lives in another world of money agents, fast cars etc etc etc protected from the dirty masses.

I live in England and I can go to a PL every single weekend but I chose not to as I am the mug paying for the Bentleys in the car park. No thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Basically what Blackburn, Chelsea and ManC have shown is that you can buy the PL and that's what it's all about. Scratch under all the Sky Sports spoof and hype, it's really not that good.

As John Aldridge said, in the old days footballers were ordinary blokes who lived in a semi- and drove Ford Escorts. Pretty much like everyone else. Nowadays, even the most medicore PL footballer lives in another world of money agents, fast cars etc etc etc protected from the dirty masses.

I live in England and I can go to a PL every single weekend but I chose not to as I am the mug paying for the Bentleys in the car park. No thanks.

but yet you pay money for sky sports to watch it on tv??

bangkok wrote: »
    but yet you pay money for sky sports to watch it on tv??

I don't have Sky Sports. Honest. Jaysus...I am not that much of a hypocrite.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Chris Bascombe is generally just full of sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

irish indo

Not sure if Chris Bascombe is serious or stirring . . . Surely it's stirring or there must be a hint of inside info, otherwise it's completely made up based on their demeanor on tv alone.

Who is the bald chap ?

And Gary neville looks quite portly compared to the rest in that photo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Who is the bald chap ?

Nicky Butt!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Nicky Butt!!!!!!!

Wow looks better now than he did as a player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

According to wiki the Ides of March (15th March) is when Julius Caesar was assassinated. Is this what he is basing his conspiracy theory on? :confused:

:o

Yes that is it.

I'm dosed up with man flu fighting drugs I blame them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Burt Macklin

I can see it now, the fabled class of 92 ambush Moyes with daggers before the Bayern game to save the club

''Et tu, Brute Phil?''

Who is the bald chap ?

you don't know nicky butt?!!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

1999 united legend!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

TheDoc wrote: »
    Too much being made of the "aspire to be city" comment aswell by the way.

The comment came clearly in relation to the level of play on the pitch, and it is the truth and I'm glad he said it, rather then sugar coat it with some rubbish. We are completely off the pace this season, and City have looked the dominant force. LEague is theres to lose.

People getting ancy over it need to get over themselves, and learn how to take in a point with the relevant context.

City are a vastly superior football team this season, there is just no arguement in this.

You need to take the point in the relevant context. We just got hockeyed by City, they are a vastly superior football team this season and we, United fans, are fúcking livid about that situation. We should not be so far behind City. Being so far behind that we can only aspire to the quality of football that that shít club plays is a disgrace. Moyes brought us here and he should be begging us for forgiveness, not telling us how shít we are. We know full well how shít we are.

I don't have Sky Sports. Honest. Jaysus...I am not that much of a hypocrite.

you don't see much football then do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Because real fans are the guys who watch football on Sky and not listen to the radio or watch MOTD........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,794 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Absolutely.

Sure, look at the poor Arsenal season ticket holders a few weeks ago having to fork out another 100 quid or more for the cup game against Liverpool.

Feck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Its always been possible to buy it - it happens to be oil and gas now, but it was steel and coal and textiles and a ship industry in the 'good ole days'.

Because real fans are the guys who watch football on Sky and not listen to the radio or watch MOTD........

Real fans sit around moaning about the good 'ol days and wishing for a team of Johnny Gilles....rant rant rant...:mad:

Its always been possible to buy it - it happens to be oil and gas now, but it was steel and coal and textiles and a ship industry in the 'good ole days'.

Oh come on now....it may have been 'possible' and I know we are not football historians here but when has there been an equivalent period of such blatant buying of clubs and throwing money at it in English football.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Absolutely.

Sure, look at the poor Arsenal season ticket holders a few weeks ago having to fork out another 100 quid or more for the cup game against Liverpool.

Feck that.

Oh if we are talking about Cup games,well that's a different story.:D

I have been to countless PL games, FA Cup, League Cup semis, Championship and even League 1 games!! and plenty of LOI games when I was still in Ireland.

I have evan sat through Walsall v Portsmouth and Sunderland v Fulham..:(

You werent there...maaan, you wouldnt understand...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I have been to countless PL games, FA Cup, League Cup semis, Championship and even League 1 games!! and plenty of LOI games when I was still in Ireland.

I have evan sat through Walsall v Portsmouth and Sunderland v Fulham..:(

You werent there...maaan, you wouldnt understand...:mad:

I have been to a Mansfield v Dagenham and Redbridge.

Then again I have also been to Limerick v St James Gate in Rathbane years ago.

Good times....I think.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

You don't need SkySports to watch much football. Considering you haven't missed a game in 20 years i am surprised you don't know this.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Much like all Man Utd fans this season :pac:

Sorry, couldn't resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I must watch the Bayern game in the middle of drunk ManU supporters and just laugh my bollix off.

Your posting style mirrors this behaviour precisely.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    You don't need SkySports to watch much football. Considering you haven't missed a game in 20 years i am surprised you don't know this.

exactly....you can actually go to all the games... :pac: