Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

5starpool wrote: »
    On the whole Chosen One banner thing, who put the banner up? I assume it was fans as it would be ridiculous if it was the club. Why would the club then prevent fans from taking it down, or is it a case of only the fans that put it up can request it be taken down? I'm assuming the latter, but curious in case it is something else.

A fans group called Stretford End Flags looks after all those flags and decide what goes up and comes down. If you're on twitter you should follow Andrew Kilduff, he is one of the owners. He gets dogs abuse on there ( brings a lot on himself, he talks as though he is the voice of all Utd supporters and anyone who disagrees with his opinion is "plastic"). He has said they wont take down the flag as it wouldnt achieve anything! Must be the final nail in the coffin if it was to come down IMO. I presume SEF asked the stewards to guard the flag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

its only a banner!! a banner doesn't pick the team or score 20 goals a season....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Scholesy legend!!!!! Good honest talking last night. Calling a spade a spade.
    Fellani has not got the legs for midfield and there is no room for him up front. What a way to pi** away 27 million!!!! #moyesout

Fellaini does have the legs, he's a very good defensive midfielder, the problem is the manager and tactics, a more mobile partner instead of Carrick would help too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Scholesy legend!!!!! Good honest talking last night. Calling a spade a spade.
    Fellani has not got the legs for midfield and there is no room for him up front. What a way to pi** away 27 million!!!! #moyesout

You have to look at the role he was asked to play yesterday. If he sat back and tried to break up City's play he could have been effective, Moyes had him on the wing and in CAM yesterday.

He will be a good player for us when utilised properly how many players are now rubbish ? Clev, Hernandez, Kagawa, Rafa, Mata.. strange how they all looked decent under good managers in positions and systems that suited them.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Cheers lads, bit of a farce situation with the banner then.

bangkok wrote: »
    its only a banner!! a banner doesn't pick the team or score 20 goals a season....

The banner going down would be a huge statement to the board and the rest of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,794 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

beno619 wrote: »
    It was mentioned here a few days ago there's a difference between form and class, Liverpool are playing at 100% right now and thats down to Rodgers and he should be commended with the exception of SAS I dont think any of the players you mentioned would get into the City or Chelsea they would improve United's midfield but who wouldn't at this stage.

Mmmm, I think Sterling would. He's been outstanding in some games and his potential is great.

I would agree on Henderson, as he is at present. But, even then, he's come on leaps and bounds from last year. In attack, he's been great at times.

And Gerrard? Maybe he's getting past it, but he's still one of the greatest distributers of a ball in the game.

Rodgers has been fantastic for Liverpool this year, no doubt, but remember, there were a lot of questions hanging of HIS head last season and he had pretty much the same squad, which finished 7th.

Maybe Moyes could get things together and make improvements to the team, which will see dividends next year? It doesn't seem that way now, though.

In general though, managers don't get enough time. There's WAAAAY too much chopping and changing going on at football clubs these days. People just don't get the time needed to make a success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

sigh....I'm gonna put this out there, and I don't know how to feel about it. I'm a bit torn.

If you told me now that we could replace Moyes for Klopp, I'd go with yes.

If you told me now that we could replace Moyes for Van Gaal, I'd say no.

I think it's finally starting to crack on me at this point, and while I still feel there is issue with the squad that has contributed more to the overall position rather then 100% being Moyes, there should be a better showing.

I think the big problem I'm seeing is the continous ineffectiveness of Mata and being deployed everywhere but where he should be, leading me to believe maybe Moyes can't make the tough calls.

I'll accept a change for Klopp, but would rather stick with him for next season over anyone else. And I don't, hand on heart, see him being replaced in the next 18 months to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

A fans group called Stretford End Flags looks after all those flags and decide what goes up and comes down. If you're on twitter you should follow Andrew Kilduff, he is one of the owners. He gets dogs abuse on there ( brings a lot on himself, he talks as though he is the voice of all Utd supporters and anyone who disagrees with his opinion is "plastic"). He has said they wont take down the flag as it wouldnt achieve anything! Must be the final nail in the coffin if it was to come down IMO. I presume SEF asked the stewards to guard the flag.

Its a pity Kilduff is in charge cause lot of them with SEF are not like that. I know a few who would not be big fan of Kilduff.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think the final nail in the coffin is when..........

Paddy Crenard even thinks we are ****e.

EVENFLOW

bangkok wrote: »

Its just the symbolic significance of taking it down would surely force the board to act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Rodgers showed improvement in the 2nd half of last season, United have gone backwards

Its a pity Kilduff is in charge cause lot of them with SEF are not like that. I know a few who would not be big fan of Kilduff.

Thats good to hear, I wouldnt blame them from what I can see, he seems to like the attention, have seen him on Soccer AM etc over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭basillarkin

I must watch the Bayern game in the middle of drunk ManU supporters and just laugh my bollix off. I am just glad there are no Irish players on the team...but seriously, the only danger for Bayern is their arrogance.

ManC bought their titles and least ManU built it up over generations.

Sure Cantona, Keane, Cole, Yorker, Solskajeir, Berg, Sherringham, Stam, Barthez, Ruud, Veron, Forlan, Rio, Ronny, heinie, saha, Rooney, Evra, Vidiic, van de sar, carrack, Anderson, Nani, Tevez, Hargreaves, berbatov, tosic, smelling, Hernandez, bebe, young, degea, jones, RVP, zaha, Kawaga, Powell, Fellani and mata are all products of the youth team

Hococop wrote: »
    I'd love to know what Ferguson is actually thinking

My legacy is safe for another few years...

(joke)

I'd love to know too

Tony EH wrote: »
    Mmmm, I think Sterling would. He's been outstanding in some games and his potential is great.

I would agree on Henderson, as he is at present. But, even then, he's come on leaps and bounds from last year. In attack, he's been great at times.

And Gerrard? Maybe he's getting past it, but he's still one of the greatest distributers of a ball in the game.

Rodgers has been fantastic for Liverpool this year, no doubt, but remember, there were a lot of questions hanging of HIS head last season and he had pretty much the same squad, which finished 7th.

Maybe Moyes could get things together and make improvements to the team, which will see dividends next year? It doesn't seem that way now, though.

In general though, managers don't get enough time. There's WAAAAY too much chopping and changing going on at football clubs these days. People just don't get the time needed to make a success.

Sterling playing very well, City and Chelsea have decent wide men too. Id prefer a fully fit Nani. Sterling suits the Rodgers style to a tee but might not look so great in a more possession based team.

Henderson and Gerrard vs Yaya and Fernandinho and Ramires and Matic.

From January last season to now Liverpool have been making progress while Moyes has brought United further back with better players than Rodgers has had to work with.

As has been stated many times on here there has been no progress or signs of a plan to take us forward. He needs to go.Not time.

adox wrote: »
    All Moyes said in the interview was that Man Citys football level was the level Utd should be trying to achieve.

Maybe not the smartest thing to say, although true in the cold light of day, but its been spun to make it sound like he said Utd should aspire to be like Man City.

This is what Moyes said...

"I think we've played a very good side and it's the sort of standard and level we need to try and aspire to get ourselves to at this moment in time. I think we need to play better. We're needing to come up a couple of levels at the moment and we're not quite there."

Nothing really to do with City at all.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

The main difference between now and > 20 years ago though is money. The money difference between finishing 3rd or 7th in 1990 (for example) was probably relatively insignificant in terms of prize and TV money, but now with a team who is geared up to be in the CL every season it is a far greater impact. While Utd's revenues ensure that they can still compete financially with nearly anyone if they so wish, a 2 year absence from the CL would still leave a £70m+ hole in the finances, which is an almighty compelling reason to make a change sooner rather than later. I agree that many sackings in recent years are too premature, but the reason for that is financial pressures in the main.

Thats good to hear, I wouldnt blame them from what I can see, he seems to like the attention, have seen him on Soccer AM etc over the years.

He is meant to be excellent at getting things done and you can see that with the banners especially since 2008, some have been excellent, so he deserves credit.

But he just thinks he is the man and I have heard few unpleasant comments about him.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Moyes did an incredibly bad job last night. The team were a shapeless mess.

He tried a new formation (only used once previously I think, against Shaktar) and then abandoned it after a few minutes. He went to bring Valencia on in the first ten minutes, but then thought better of it. He moved Cleverley to the wing. Cleverley and Rafael obviously had no idea how they were supposed to defend together. Mata swapped between centre and wide. Fellaini kept on moving wide and Welbeck centrally. It all kind of looked okay when United were counter attacking in the first half, but when they were defending it was atrocious. Moyes even managed to make Carrick look poor at defensive positioning. That is an amazing achievement. We were also shíte at defending set pieces.

Then he subs on Kagawa for Cleverley at half time, for zero improvement. Moyes completely screwed Cleverley over last night. Cleverley's confidence has taken a battering this season, the fans are on his back and then Moyes goes and sticks him on the fúcking wing. Cleverley actually does a half decent job in possession so Moyes gives him the hook at half time. If Moyes was intentionally trying to shatter the guy's confidence he couldn't have done a better job.

Moyes is supposed to be good on the details and a defensive coach. Last night the team were a shapeless, clueless mess in defence. They obviously had no idea what to do when they were defending.

Then to top it all off, in a post match interview, Moyes says that City are playing at the level we need to aspire to.

GET THE FÚCK OUT MOYES!

Sure Cantona, Keane, Cole, Yorker, Solskajeir, Berg, Sherringham, Stam, Barthez, Ruud, Veron, Forlan, Rio, Ronny, heinie, saha, Rooney, Evra, Vidiic, van de sar, carrack, Anderson, Nani, Tevez, Hargreaves, berbatov, tosic, smelling, Hernandez, bebe, young, degea, jones, RVP, zaha, Kawaga, Powell, Fellani and mata are all products of the youth team

Well you can plead ignorance but im sure you know the money to sign the players you mentioned was generated by the club/fans and not a suger daddy owner ala City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

In fairness to Rodgers it took a season to get Pool playing the way he wanted,there seemed to be a plan in place.

With Moyes so far there seems to be no plan and no clue yet in what direction he wants Utd to go,playing wise the team seems to be all over the place.

5starpool wrote: »
    The main difference between now and > 20 years ago though is money. The money difference between finishing 3rd or 7th in 1990 (for example) was probably relatively insignificant in terms of prize and TV money, but now with a team who is geared up to be in the CL every season it is a far greater impact. While Utd's revenues ensure that they can still compete financially with nearly anyone if they so wish, a 2 year absence from the CL would still leave a £70m+ hole in the finances, which is an almighty compelling reason to make a change sooner rather than later. I agree that many sackings in recent years are too premature, but the reason for that is financial pressures in the main.

Agree 100%. Money has wrecked the game and the whole "premiership" bullshit has been a bad thing for football imo.

I'm old enough to remember when it was simply the 1st Division. It was smaller and made a lot more sense.

The Sky Sports/Premiership money oriented approach has bloated the game to a point where is just about money now.

Team loyalty is gone, managers are sacked on a whim (christ look at Harry and Spurs WTF?), there's WAAAY too much "player power", moneybags foreign owners buying the league, owners getting involved where they shouldn't...the list goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

This is what Moyes said...

"I think we've played a very good side and it's the sort of standard and level we need to try and aspire to get ourselves to at this moment in time. I think we need to play better. We're needing to come up a couple of levels at the moment and we're not quite there."

Nothing really to do with City at all.

Nothing to do with City? Ok then.

By the way, could you tell me, who were the "very good side" he was making reference to?

I think the final nail in the coffin is when..........

Paddy Crenard even thinks we are ****e.

I think when I firmly join the Moyesout camp, it will be the point of no return

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

beno619 wrote: »
    Well you can plead ignorance but im sure you know the money to sign the players you mentioned was generated by the club/fans and not a suger daddy owner ala City.

Fans don't care where the money comes from once their team wins - Chelsea and City have been elevated to compete with United in the transfer market and thus on the pitch.

United have spent a lot on transfers and wages over the years - to good effect.

I don't think United fans can throw stones at City or Chelsea re "buying silverware" (as if how the silverware was won mattered)!

Too much being made of the "aspire to be city" comment aswell by the way.

The comment came clearly in relation to the level of play on the pitch, and it is the truth and I'm glad he said it, rather then sugar coat it with some rubbish. We are completely off the pace this season, and City have looked the dominant force. LEague is theres to lose.

People getting ancy over it need to get over themselves, and learn how to take in a point with the relevant context.

City are a vastly superior football team this season, there is just no arguement in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Bayern must be shaking in their boots, its gonna be a massacre

nuxxx wrote: »
    Bayern must be shaking in their boots, its gonna be a massacre

If they stay professional and don't let complacency set in. Bayern are Bayerns worst enemy this season to be fair.

Only chance I see for us is a MASSIVE surge in tempo,pace and incision in the final third, coupled with Bayern having a loo laa after not playing an important fixture for two weeks.

In fairness to Rodgers it took a season to get Pool playing the way he wanted,there seemed to be a plan in place.

With Moyes so far there seems to be no plan and no clue yet in what direction he wants Utd to go,playing wise the team seems to be all over the place.

I can't say that I saw that all the time last year though and if you asked any Liverpool fan at the beginning of the season, would the team be challenging for top spot, VERY few would have said yes.

However, while Rodgers has done a great job, the players too deserve great credit. They battle constantly on the pitch and always look like scoring more than the oppo got against them. The service to Suarez and Sturridge has been excellent and the two lads have really melded to form a superb strike team.

Even so they still can go behind twice to Cardiff?

The difference is that the fight is still there. With Utd, I see no fight, no balls. They go behind a goal and the heads go down. They look defeated at the drop of a hat.

It's extremely difficult for a manager to fight that sort of attitude.

Maybe Alex needs to drop off the hair dryer at the changing room.

To be honest, I don't think even Ferguson could turn this team around at the moment, which is why it makes no sense to get rid of Moyes now. Play it out to the Summer and then do a real overhaul of manager AND team.