Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Don't see an issue tbh.

You don't see an issue that he aspires to be at the level of a team we finished 11 points ahead of last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Good job Vidic is leaving, imagine the amount of hurls you would break.

If he went to hit Evra he wouldn't be in the place you'd expect him to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SlickRic wrote: »
    t

there is no logical reason apart from Moyes' ineptitude at his job that the team is performing in the way it is.

PL Champions, with additions, look like a pedestrian mid-table outfit. it's mental.

I imagine he was on the back foot before he'd even got inside Carrington. I think we can all guess at the underwhelming reaction to the appointment among the Utd squad and that such an appointment came entirely at the behest of their just retired manager.

A useless summer transfer season clearly wouldn't have removed any lurking suspicions that this season was going to be trickier that it ought to be and then came the training sessions and tactical discussions......a few players were probably fearing the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Doing the rounds on twitter:

If Moyes really wants Manchester United to aspire to be more like City, they could start by sacking an under-performing manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I must watch the Bayern game in the middle of drunk ManU supporters and just laugh my bollix off. I am just glad there are no Irish players on the team...but seriously, the only danger for Bayern is their arrogance.

ManC bought their titles and least ManU built it up over generations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Don't see an issue tbh.

Man u is a bigger club than city, a more succesful club than City....
    They should aspire to be more like Utd... But this man has brought the negative small time attitude into the club with him and now its as if Utd are small time compared to City, even tho Utd won the league last year.

I see what moyes meant (i think) or i hope, in terms of playing style. But he shouldnt say it ffs.
    Moyes needs to aspire to be a better manager, not the club aspiring to be like any other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

zerks wrote: »
    Wonder what records will be set against Bayern?

Least touches of the ball by a home team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Its fair to at DDG will be busy man for the 2 legs

Picking the ball out of net

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Doing the rounds on twitter:

If Moyes really wants Manchester United to aspire to be more like City, they could start by sacking an under-performing manager.

Look at it again and have a think about what it says. It makes no sense. Did a five year old write it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Strange how for a change none of us are looking forward to a Champions League quarter final.

Another 2 records set last night,quickest goal conceded at OT by us & first time in the prem that City & Liverpool have done the double over us.

Wonder what records will be set against Bayern?

I'm intrigued, so I wikipedia'd it.
    In the Champion's League era (quarter finals only), Bayern would be aiming to beat their own record, 6-0 v Kaiserslauten. Very do-able I'd have thought.
    For the all time record they'd need to win by 8 clear goals

Real Madrid holds the record for the biggest win in a quarter final, beating Sevilla 10–2 (8–0, 2–2) in 1957–58. During the Champions League era, Bayern Munich holds the record by beating Kaiserslautern 6–0 (2–0, 4–0) in 1998–99.

Bayern also has the record for all CL era knock out games
    Bayern Munich holds the biggest margin of overall home and away result in the Champions League era. They beat Sporting CP 12–1 (5–0, 7–1) in the round of 16 in 2008–09.

So maybe United can get one more record before the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭xtal191

Bjm5R_fIIAE5kkF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Tony EH wrote: »
    Sterling? Henderson? Gerrard? Allen? They've been doing pretty well too, at least in the latter half of the season. There's been games that they've played out of their skin and I've been extremely critical of some of Liverpool's squad this year.

I think, on the whole, the team have been playing well enough in a lot of their games, except the defence, which at times has nearly given me heart attacks.

Contrast that with some performances that the Utd team have put in, where they seem like they just aren't bothered.

We can point the finger at Moyes all day long and yes he does pick the team and tactics, but it's up to the team to go out and play game. Sometimes they seem like they couldn't be arsed.

Hate to praise any Liverpool player but in fairness to him Henderson has been outstanding this season. Shows the lad has great mental strenght as well considering all the flack he got early in his career there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

All Moyes said in the interview was that Man Citys football level was the level Utd should be trying to achieve.

Maybe not the smartest thing to say, although true in the cold light of day, but its been spun to make it sound like he said Utd should aspire to be like Man City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

I'd love to know what Ferguson is actually thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

What gets me is the total lack of any fight from the team, and Moyes seems to epitomise this.

Even Sunderland, Cardiff etc put up a fight against the big sides. Liverpool would always raise their game against us in the past (they now lower it!).

Whatever about injuries, aging squad, luck etc, Moyes has brought an acceptance of mediocrity to the club. He was the same at Everton. Hang-dog, woe is me, lucky to get a win here and there.

This is the reason he needs to go. How can any manager of a top club spend the whole season bemoaning the quality of the squad. Two transfer windows, 65m and he is complaining! How about set your team up properly and get some fu3king fighting spirit. This is Manchester United, this is Old Trafford and Moyes seems to have gotten across that it is acceptable to get beaten. It is never acceptable.

Its not that we are poor, it is that we are now an irrelevance. We sit alongside the likes of Villa and Swansea. Able to get results every now and then but not something anybody pays any great attention to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Moyes -

The Frozen One

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Hococop wrote: »

Love the man, but he has such an ego he is probably sat there thinking how imporatant he actually was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Its fair to at DDG will be busy man for the 2 legs

Picking the ball out of net

I think we'l have to park the whole bus depot to stop Bayern running riot,one bus wont cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,165 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Nuts102 wrote: »
    You don't see an issue that he aspires to be at the level of a team we finished 11 points ahead of last season.
    And of all clubs, City? I know united were playing them, but he could have said Barca, or Bayern. But uniteds most hated rivals?

31 reasons why Moyes must leave United.

When there is actually just one.

moyes1_2856977a.jpg

moyes2_2856978a.jpg

Stopped reading the article when those pics came up, that Fulham game is going to live long in my memory for all the wrong reasons

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/managers/david-moyes/10709107/31-reasons-David-Moyes-must-leave-Manchester-United.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

user2011 wrote: »
    31 reasons why Moyes must leave United.

When there is actually just one.

moyes1_2856977a.jpg

moyes2_2856978a.jpg

Stopped reading the article when those pics came up, that Fulham game is going to live long in my memory for all the wrong reasons

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/managers/david-moyes/10709107/31-reasons-David-Moyes-must-leave-Manchester-United.html

The day of the cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

Hococop wrote: »

In fairness Fergie has a lot to answer for himself now, anyone with any sense could see Utd's squad wasn't up to much when compared with City and Chelsea's.

For years Utd's midfield has been useless, Paul Scholes the exception of course it would appear his retirement has been a major blow, yet what had Fergie done to replace him the first time he retired? Nothing, and as for the rest of the team they look like a shambles, Chris Smalling, Phil Jones, Tom Cleverly, Rafael, Valencia, Young, Zaha are all players Fergie has previously mentioned as being brilliant and world class yet how many of them could get into a Liverpool, Arsenal, City or Chelsea team?

Years of buying unfulfilled potential appears to be catching up with Utd as the older players are entering the declining path section of their careers. Basically had great players, with age catching up on them they are no longer as good as they once were, so should have been replaced yet that hasn't happened, a pile of young lads bought for their potential leaving Utd as a team of never to be fulfilled potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Even Paul Scholes said last night that United did nothing about CM for years

EVENFLOW

The day of the cross.

The day the light bulb went fully on in my head, He isn't/never will be good enough for United.

And Fergie got it is so wrong.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

On the whole Chosen One banner thing, who put the banner up? I assume it was fans as it would be ridiculous if it was the club. Why would the club then prevent fans from taking it down, or is it a case of only the fans that put it up can request it be taken down? I'm assuming the latter, but curious in case it is something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,011 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't expect to see Moyes go before the end of the season. The day you will know his fate is the first Monday after the season ends. If he is still there on the Tuesday then the United board are going to give him a summer to sort it out.
    I don't think he is good enough to manage at the very top level based on what has transpired at United this season but there is a good argument to be made that he was handed a mammoth task and deserves to have a summer to get things right.

5starpool wrote: »
    On the whole Chosen One banner thing, who put the banner up? I assume it was fans as it would be ridiculous if it was the club. Why would the club then prevent fans from taking it down, or is it a case of only the fans that put it up can request it be taken down? I'm assuming the latter, but curious in case it is something else.

Stretford End flags were behind the idea

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

5starpool wrote: »

Stetford End flags. They claim to represent the fans, and despite recent polls, and numerous calls by fans groups to remove the banner, they refuse.

That is why people were threatening to take it down themselves, if the owners of the banner won't do it themselves. I presume SEF informed the stewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

SlickRic wrote: »
    this is the thing that is fascinating.

i'm no manager. i'm no expert on what goes on at football clubs. i don't know about all the intricacies of preparation, tactics, etc.

like most here I'd imagine, I'm a novice when it comes to really knowing what it takes to manage a football club and coach a team.
    I stopped reading here as it should be obvious that this forum has a lot of professional managers who know exactly how to manage a football club, all thanks to fancy computer games.
    If you're admitting to not being a top class coach who has won multiple trophies on the Playstation, I'm afraid you have no place here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Even Paul Scholes said last night that United did nothing about CM for years

Scholesy legend!!!!! Good honest talking last night. Calling a spade a spade.
    Fellani has not got the legs for midfield and there is no room for him up front. What a way to pi** away 27 million!!!! #moyesout