Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭paulbok

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    They didn't sell him though. They kept him and Ballack moved on free transfer after his contract was done. I don't remember them selling any player against their wish, maybe only close one was Hargreaves.

I think they were quite happy to get €16-17m for a crock.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

What does he get up to?

He makes Suarez look like Gary Lineker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I thought the CL second leg was tonight. I am disappoint. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

I'd have Costa in a heartbeat. He is a beast :Dthat doesn't bite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Lads can we petition Moyes to sign Diego Costa?
    What does he get up to?

Ah here. Apologies to pick on you in particular, but this sums up exactly why a lot of football fans talk out of their arse. A striker scores 3 times in a round of 16 game, and immediately calls for him to be signed. If you'd have seen him play, even a handful of times, you'd have undoubtedly seen numerous examples of his on-field antics.

Google, "diego costa dive" and I'm sure you'll get plenty of reports of his general carry on. 6"2, build like a brick sh*t house, but made of skittles. Add that to the fact that he is incredibly temperamental, hot-headed, and is often involved in petty tussles and squabbles off the ball, and you will see why he would not be a good fit at United.

The Real Madrid players knew if he was booked in the Copa Del Rey first leg, he'd miss the second leg. He fell for it....he took the bait, hook, line and sinker and they literally laughed in his face when he fell for it.

Like Suarez, I admire him for his fantastic ability, but definitely not a character I'd want representing my club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

paulbok wrote: »
    I think they were quite happy to get €16-17m for a crock.

AFAIK Ferguson made it publicly clear in the Summer of 2006 that he wanted Hargreaves and Hargreaves wanted to join but Bayern made him stay for another season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

v3ttel wrote: »
    A striker scores 3 times in a round of 16 game

Apologies, typo here. I meant round of 16 tie, not game. 1 in the first leg, 2 last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

Ugh...Hargreaves....he could have been phenomenal for us. He played great in 2008. Terrible to see any player's career end because of persistent injuries. Always held on to the hope that he would get over it. Even when he signed for City I hoped he would kick on and get back to what he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,924 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Ah here. Apologies to pick on you in particular, but this sums up exactly why a lot of football fans talk out of their arse. A striker scores 3 times in a round of 16 game, and immediately calls for him to be signed. If you'd have seen him play, even a handful of times, you'd have undoubtedly seen numerous examples of his on-field antics.

Google, "diego costa dive" and I'm sure you'll get plenty of reports of his general carry on. 6"2, build like a brick sh*t house, but made of skittles. Add that to the fact that he is incredibly temperamental, hot-headed, and is often involved in petty tussles and squabbles off the ball, and you will see why he would not be a good fit at United.

The Real Madrid players knew if he was booked in the Copa Del Rey first leg, he'd miss the second leg. He fell for it....he took the bait, hook, line and sinker and they literally laughed in his face when he fell for it.

Like Suarez, I admire him for his fantastic ability, but definitely not a character I'd want representing my club.

You must only be talking about attitude when you say he isn't a fit for United because based on style of play he'd be an awesome fit for United.

Big strong striker (when he wants to be). Runs the defenders hard, runs the channel, holds the ball up well, 'earns' loads of free kicks and is a quality goal scorer.

In a team that plays a lot of, shall we say, direct passes like United for the striker to chase and make something of, Costa is fecking perfect.

I'd say Moyes would absolutely love him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Mitch you get alot of baggage with Costa. To much for my liking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Apologies, typo here. I meant round of 16 tie, not game. 1 in the first leg, 2 last night.

Ive only seen his Champions league games where I have been impressed,I never get to watch the spanish league, looks good but yeh from what you have all said he's mental :eek:

Headshot wrote: »

Meh - people say that when the guy isn't at their club.

Look at how liverpool fans hated Drogba and Ronald - yet adore Suarez.

As I always say, fans will generally side with: "He may be a ****, but he is OUR ****".

If he was leading our line well, pissing off Kompany or Terry etc with his 'antics' while scoring a bucket load of goals, we'd fecking love him, regardless of his antics - even in spite of them!

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

I'm intrigued with this 'baggage' everyone goes on about?

the guy is built of win.

Agueroooo wrote: »

the guy is built of win.

Really? The baggage is clear - he is a whinging, diving, nasty little fecker. That is clear baggage.

He is also really really good at football and goal scoring, so the annoyance to oppo fans is not only worth it, but a bonus really!

Meh - people say that when the guy isn't at their club.

Look at how liverpool fans hated Drogba and Ronald - yet adore Suarez.

As I always say, fans will generally side with: "He may be a ****, but he is OUR ****".

If he was leading our line well, pissing off Kompany or Terry etc with his 'antics' while scoring a bucket load of goals, we'd fecking love him, regardless of his antics - even in spite of them!

I would say the very same thing if he was at the club tbh, that's just me. Costa is a nutter and cant be relied on. There's no doubting he has great talent but if you cant keep his head straight for the majority of games, whats the point buying him? In the past you hear utd buying policy is to look at the player themselves, what they'll see is a great player but a player that is lacking mentally in terms of diving none stop, kicking out at players, easily wound up. If he got that out of his game, what a player he would be but you cant change a player like tbh

the guy is built of win.

You're blinded by your Suarez blinkers :pac:

I would say the very same thing if he was at the club tbh, that's just me. Costa is a nutter and cant be relied on. There's no doubting he has great talent but if you cant keep his straight for the majority of games, whats the point buying him? In the past you hear utd buying policy is to look at the player themselves, what they'll see is a great player but a player that is lacking mentally in terms of diving none stop, kicking out at players, easily wound up. If he got that out of his game, what a player he would be but you cant change a player like tbh

Rooney kinda cut that out, RVP is a little dirty bollox at times too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Its still a bit weird speculating on who will arrive in the summer as their impact will be hard to call, not knowing if Moyes will be in charge next season or not.

You do feel, if we do sign the "right" type of players, they will only have a real chance of flourishing under a different manager.

Rooney kinda cut that out, RVP is a little dirty bollox at times too.

Costa is way worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

costa was voted the most hated player in spain and hes only had 2 really good seasons in spain. for the amount of money you would be spending i don't think he would be worth the investment... Brazilian players have a habit of goin lazy in their late 20's. not worth the effort imo

bangkok wrote: »
    costa was voted the most hated player in spain and hes only had 2 really good seasons in spain. for the amount of money you would be spending i don't think he would be worth the investment... Brazilian players have a habit of goin lazy in their late 20's. not worth the effort imo

Adriano style :p

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Really? The baggage is clear - he is a whinging, diving, nasty little fecker. That is clear baggage.

He is also really really good at football and goal scoring, so the annoyance to oppo fans is not only worth it, but a bonus really!

whinging, diving .. not really baggage per say.

spitting (Ramos incident) and being nasty - Yes definite baggage!

but I watch a lot of La Liga and the reason he stats have gone through the roof (compared to other seasons) is that he has cut a lot of that nastier crap out of his game,concentrating more on the football, and he is destroying defences up and down the league.

the guy is literally unmarkable at times and if he came to the PL I would be confident he would enhance any of the top teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

but I watch a lot of La Liga

That you Eamon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Some more for you history Buffs.

http://www.unitedreds.net/xfa-blog-entry/update-7-united-teams-through-the-ages-newton-heath-1899-1900.18/

There's also a few other blogs in there that I wrote myself, nothing like as good as this one, but I just started an Ask The Oppo section today with Q&A from Liverpool fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

If Kroos is the answer to our Man Utd's problems, why did Bayern not start him last night?

Negative vibes man....

They have a world of talent in fairness and he's played plenty of games this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Negative vibes man....

They have a world of talent in fairness and he's played plenty of games this season.

Don't mean to be. Just wondered why he would be dropped for such an important match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    They didn't sell him though. They kept him and Ballack moved on free transfer after his contract was done. I don't remember them selling any player against their wish, maybe only close one was Hargreaves.

They chose to let his contract run out. That says it all really.
    Hargreaves is a different matter, one might argue only for Unites interest they wouldn't have let him go. Althoguh it must be said while Hargreaves was a very good player he wasn't rated quite as highly in Germany as he was in England. Him declaring for England probably played a role in the price and I thought United paid a bit over the odds for him. 25m if I remember correctly. I'd say Bayern were quite happy with the deal. United or not I really felt for the guy when shortly after his injury woes started that effectively ended his career. Nobody could have seen that coming and it didn't play a role in the transfer obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Watching the Champions League right now, I think I hate Barcelona more than City :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Owen_S wrote: »
    Watching the Champions League right now, I think I hate Barcelona more than City :o

Valdes, Alba, Alvez, Mascherano, Busquets, Neymar...
    What's not to like :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

some good news for change;)
    Manchester United's Rafael Da Silva and Marouane Fellaini have both been named in the European team of the week.

EVENFLOW