Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Bodacious wrote: »
    I passed that a couple of times and meant to take photo.. Balla, co. mayo.. must be underlying problem there though .. it floods ever year.. need to make a back road or raise front road

I've never seen that area flooded, but there's thectwo fields either side of the road just past keanes garage there as you enter balla that always flood very badly. The mother was over there recently though as was shocked at the way things were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

Sept 23/13 calf out of CWI. Mother a handy enough lim X first calfer with 22% holstein blood. My past experience with CWI, is his calves tend to be little on the low side. This guy is the opposite.
    Half thinking of casterating him, when I let him out to grass. Leave him on the cow until July / Aug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

Round Bale wrote: »
    Sept 23/13 calf out of CWI. Mother a handy enough lim X first calfer with 22% holstein blood. My past experience with CWI, is his calves tend to be little on the low side. This guy is the opposite.
    Half thinking of casterating him, when I let him out to grass. Leave him on the cow until July / Aug.

Very impressive animal. love the username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

Very impressive animal. love the username.

Meant to put up pic from his other end, but it didn't seem to load first time.
    This is it

Good ole Tesco, milking Hereford and Angus heifers. real pioneers :D

1656405_614111428668796_315603927_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Damo810 wrote: »
    Good ole Tesco, milking Hereford and Angus heifers. real pioneers :D

At least it's not bulls milk they're putting in the cartons :cool:

With Tesco you wouldn't know.

_66011739_017282432.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Damo810 wrote: »
    With Tesco you wouldn't know.

_66011739_017282432.jpg

Is it that 1 cut of meat that's horse free or is that the only cut you can't feed horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

First set of twins here in years . Pure friesan markings on the lad on the left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

moy83 wrote: »
    First set of twins here in years . Pure friesan markings on the lad on the left

What bull got them?

You're guess is as good as mine :D Possibly a blue or part weanling . She got a limo from ai but I'm not sure if she held to it . Mom is out of a fr so I'm thinking thats where his markings came from .
    Would I be right in thinking if a whitehead bulled her both calves would have white heads on them ?
    This craic of having cows , calves and weanlings running together has to stop around here , the father has cows calving all year long in dribs and drabs and its a PITA trying to mind them right when they are like that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,467 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

You're guess is as good as mine :D Possibly a blue or part weanling . She got a limo from ai but I'm not sure if she held to it . Mom is out of a fr so I'm thinking thats where his markings came from .
    Would I be right in thinking if a whitehead bulled her both calves would have white heads on them ?
    This craic of having cows , calves and weanlings running together has to stop around here , the father has cows calving all year long in dribs and drabs and its a PITA trying to mind them right when they are like that :o

A blue/fr cross can come that way. EDJ was well known for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

A blue/fr cross can come that way. EDJ was well known for it

I'd an EDJ calf off a whitehead cow come black. I can't remember was there any white on him.
    The twins look maybe to have BB in them. It's not easy to manage a herd calving all over the place. You could probably split them into spring calving and autumn calving groups for a start and try tighten them up that way?

I'd an EDJ calf off a whitehead cow come black. I can't remember was there any white on him.
    The twins look maybe to have BB in them. It's not easy to manage a herd calving all over the place. You could probably split them into spring calving and autumn calving groups for a start and try tighten them up that way?

It would be very easy to split them up that way if I was left to my own devices :rolleyes: But they are the fathers cows and he changes his mind like the weather . We had an old cow bulling yesterday , she has had about ten calves and is lame and thin and making a poor do of this years calf . I put her out of the slats so she wouldn't get hurt and we definitey agreed that she would be sold on for fattening when the calf is reared . He called down this morning and said he ai'd her last night anyhow " sure she probably wont hold anyhow " he said just to pacify me !
    Hard to deal with ould boys like that , but what can you do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

th_IMG_1733_zps5793cb3b.jpg

Not sure if this would work as it's a 2 second video rather than a photo

AHZ bull calf 3 weeks out of a heifer

Anyone know of that free app for Apple iPhone to take stills from
    A video, my GF had it but now has Samsung and can't remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Bodacious wrote: »
    th_IMG_1733_zps5793cb3b.jpg

Not sure if this would work as it's a 2 second video rather than a photo

AHZ bull calf 3 weeks out of a heifer

Anyone know of that free app for Apple iPhone to take stills from
    A video, my GF had it but now has Samsung and can't remember

You don't need one. Hold down the home button and press the hold button and it will take a screenshot of whatever is on screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

towzer2010 wrote: »
    You don't need one. Hold down the home button and press the hold button and it will take a screenshot of whatever is on screen.

3 weeks lastnight

photo_zps6e82f871.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭dh1985

Bull calf, calved during the week. Calved fine but looking at the size of him considering myself lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

dh1985 wrote: »
    Bull calf, calved during the week. Calved fine but looking at the size of him considering myself lucky

what bull was it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭dh1985

what bull was it ?

Out of a charolais stock bull off jupiter I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Buncha Fives

BZB bull calf five days old out of a white head heifer, he is fairly small but as I often heard said...better off with a small live one than a big dead one!! He should start filling out soon as the heifer has a lot of milk so much so that I am not sure if he will be able to drink her out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

BZB bull calf five days old out of a white head heifer, he is fairly small but as I often heard said...better off with a small live one than a big dead one!! He should start filling out soon as the heifer has a lot of milk so much so that I am not sure if he will be able to drink her out.

Would lads consider buying milky beef calves from dairy farmers and stick a second calf on them?
    Would ye make any more money?

Would lads consider buying milky beef calves from dairy farmers and stick a second calf on them?
    Would ye make any more money?

It would be more profitable alright , whether it would be worth the extra work is debatable . Its all grand when the calves take to the cow and the cow lets the extra calves suck her but when doesnt work out it is one sickening job .

I've to big AA heifers here 15 mths old now we don't know what to do with them yet tbh but I was thinking of putting a lim in them and put a fr bull on them when they calve and sell.
    I'd say we will end up milking them though

I've to big AA heifers here 15 mths old now we don't know what to do with them yet tbh but I was thinking of putting a lim in them and put a fr bull on them when they calve and sell.
    I'd say we will end up milking them though

Oh put up pictures of them going through the parlour , we milked a few of them when I was younger .

Father has milked charolais, Angus and Belgium blue in his time when he needed to build cow numbers ha.

Id say he is a happy man now to be able to buy fr and jerseys cheaper than beef cows .

Ye I don't know how he came up with the notion of putting cows in calve to beef breeds ha

Maybe keeping his options open at the time

I think that's how he managed to start his SFP by keeping bullocks