Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

Some pull with this lad yesterday out of a springer. Legs still a little sore. Mother only took to him there an hour ago when I brought the dog into the pen with me.

fine animal what bull is that. the calf is massive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

fine animal what bull is that. the calf is massive.

Limo stock bull, iv seen bigger but he was a big calf for a springer to be trying to push out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Some pull with this lad yesterday out of a springer. Legs still a little sore. Mother only took to him there an hour ago when I brought the dog into the pen with me.

whats that timber thing beside him,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭mayota

hugo29 wrote: »

Is it a golf bat?

A Hurley....you might'nt have ever stumbled across one in Sligo :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Some pull with this lad yesterday out of a springer.

Is that one of those hurlogs ?! :D

oh right i thought it was some sort off a fancy shovel, :D

It a kind of multitool. Slashook, herding stick, back up kayak paddle, garden spade and ball hitter. Endless uses really, you should invest!! I made that one myself, do you a good deal for one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

where did you find a 24" hurl to stand up against the calf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

It a kind of multitool. Slashook, herding stick, back up kayak paddle, garden spade and ball hitter. Endless uses really, you should invest!! I made that one myself, do you a good deal for one ;)

Not too much hurling done in your neck of the woods either :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

First batch of calves out, they have a run back to shed for the next week or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

i dont think they know what a football is either:):)

munkus wrote: »
    Not too much hurling done in your neck of the woods either :-)

No then, i always had a habit of picking a ball down the field ahead of me when I was hearing though. That's a 34 for the record bogman!!

naughto wrote: »

Ah jayus a mayo man slagging us, you ever heard of Sligo rovers, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Jaysus, even the calves in Clare come out with a hurl in their hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hands?!? What the feck are those clare bas***rds doing to their cows!!

Muckit wrote: »

They say Davey has cloven hooves:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    clare......where men are men and cattle are terrified :D

Jaysus, even the calves in Clare come out with a hurl in their hands

Maybe he shat the Hurley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Maybe he shat the Hurley

Nah, he just has a bad case of wooden tongue :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Following this lad yesterday. Had a lovely mural along the length of the tank. Pastoral scenes in multi colour, with cows grazing in a rural idyll. Looked wholesome and healthy. Then this warning on the back side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭mgwhelan

Two bull calves by our own LM bull

3 week old out of red LMX heifer (the cow at the back)
    2yp121f.jpg296hil4.jpg

2 week old out of black LMX cow
    smamf9.jpg2upzn1j.jpg

Sucking himself today, my job is done here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Sucking himself today, my job is done here!!

Good stuff! Always worth t seeing that happen after an initial struggle.
    What squeezed though the gate GSD?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

.Kovu. wrote: »

Or didn't get through :pac:

.Kovu. wrote: »

1 ton of a 7 year old limousin bull that had been isolated from the females. Every new gate here will be a heavy duty one in future.

2 for the bull in July, lim x shorthorn heifer on the left and cf61 heifer on the right. Lim about 350kg now and cf61 about 370, be happy if they were 400-420 to bull them. Neither are going to be huge big cows anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭mayota

naughto wrote: »

Best of luck Monday naughto.

2 for the bull in July, lim x shorthorn heifer on the left and cf61 heifer on the right. Lim about 350kg now and cf61 about 370, be happy if they were 400-420 to bull them. Neither are going to be huge big cows anyway.

Has the dam of the Charolais much milk?
    Two Powerful looking square heifers.

Has the dam of the Charolais much milk?
    Two Powerful looking square heifers.

Ya she's out of a very milky cow. Born the end of April and was about 330kg coming off the cow in October with no meal fed on rough grazing. They are a bit scruffy looking after the winter now but if the hit grass in a few weeks they would take off like a train.