Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Cleanman wrote: »
    Some cigar puffing pull-ups is what you need TBL - that'll sort you out;)

Ha ha,

D`s the wannabe Chippendale around these parts so I'll leave that to him!

Although with his choice in music I'd say he'd be booed off stage shortly after his music walk on :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭Duanington

Ha ha,

D`s the wannabe Chippendale around these parts so I'll leave that to him!

Although with his choice in music I'd say he'd be booed off stage shortly after his music walk on :)

TbL

ha ha - trust me, I'd be booed off long before any music starts!

Splits for last Sundays Half Marathon!

1. 7.15
    2. 7.13
    3. 7.14
    4. 7.18
    5. 7.18
    6. 7.15
    7. 7.37 (start of toilet stop)
    8. 8.56
    9. 7.16
    10. 7.17
    11. 7.19
    12. 7.15
    13. 7.25
    14. 8.41 (another toilet stop)
    15. 7.14
    16. 10.08

Half heartedly jogged another half mile before pulling the plug

TbL

another good session in the bag :pac:

The Bogger is still in Jordan, I took a dip in the Dead Sea, the Jordanian water mass and not the anatomical part of the "model"!

Decided I couldn't face another evening on the dreadmill so decided to do a few miles along the Dead Sea "promenade".

I was delighted that I did, it was an amazing run. The sun was setting on the Dead Sea and there wasn't a puff of wind!

I was passed by lads on horses and donkeys and managed to pass a guy on a camel. It's the start of the Arab weekend and there were lots of people out on the prom enjoying the evening with their families. They were BBQing meats in cut out tree stumps and the smells were fantastic.

A couple of young lads were kicking a ball on an off road, beside the prom and one of them starting jogging beside me, he was about 9 or 10 I guess, he was barefoot and stated sprinting waving at me to try and catch him. After last weeks confidence downer in Seville, I decided I wasn't gonna be beaten by a 10 year old barefoot native. Smoked the little fecker over the next 100m :)

Every second truck and car was beeping at me so my running style must even be uglier than I thought.

I'll probably go out again in the morning and see if I can bump into my new running partner :)

Really enjoyable 8 miles, first mile in 11 mins finished in 65 odd mins.

TbL

Headed out onto the promenade again this evening after work.

It was absolutely bolloobas out there. The place was manic, a cornucopia of sound, motion and aromas. People, animals and all classes of vehicles milled around the prom, cooking, playing football, cycling, smoking from water bong pipes and one lad selling real candy floss from a rusty candy floss maker.

I didn't see one other tourist out at all, not to mind out running. It was hard to run properly through the craziness but enjoyable nonetheless.

I was getting a lot of people shouting at me as I passed and out of passing car windows.

I'm starting to wonder is running illegal in Jordan!

No watch but got 4/5 miles nice easy running in.

Didn't pass my running buddy from yesterday.

Going to try and do a long(ish) run tomorrow morning.

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

The Bogger is still in Jordan, I took a dip in the Dead Sea, the Jordanian water mass and not the anatomical part of the "model"!

Decided I couldn't face another evening on the dreadmill so decided to do a few miles along the Dead Sea "promenade".

I was delighted that I did, it was an amazing run. The sun was setting on the Dead Sea and there wasn't a puff of wind!

I was passed by lads on horses and donkeys and managed to pass a guy on a camel. It's the start of the Arab weekend and there were lots of people out on the prom enjoying the evening with their families. They were BBQing meats in cut out tree stumps and the smells were fantastic.

A couple of young lads were kicking a ball on an off road, beside the prom and one of them starting jogging beside me, he was about 9 or 10 I guess, he was barefoot and stated sprinting waving at me to try and catch him. After last weeks confidence downer in Seville, I decided I wasn't gonna be beaten by a 10 year old barefoot native. Smoked the little fecker over the next 100m :)

Every second truck and car was beeping at me so my running style must even be uglier than I thought.

I'll probably go out again in the morning and see if I can bump into my new running partner :)

Really enjoyable 8 miles, first mile in 11 mins finished in 65 odd mins.

TbL
    Good man, delighted you are back at it, I might get a flight out myself if there is no wind there!

Was on the road at 6.30 this morning.

Wanted to get the run in before it got hot and besides I didn't get much sleep with the guy in the room above me been audibly uxorious, whereas the only banging I was doing was on his ceiling to get him to keep it down :)

Headed out from the hotel onto the promenade and was shocked by the state of the place, it looked like it has been hit by a litter blizzard, with all sorts of crap strewn everywhere. (In fairness by the time I was finishing it had been cleaned up considerably)

Managed to get 20 miles in, felt strong throughout, the only issue I had was serious chafing of the ball bag, it's so bad it looks like a relief map of the Himalayas! It didn't help that the minute I finished I jogged down to the Sea for a quick dip!

Did the 20 in 2.37:03, splits;

1. 7.59
    2. 8.10
    3. 8.03
    4. 8.24
    5. 8.00
    6. 8.09
    7. 8.01
    8. 8.03
    9. 7.55
    10. 8.05
    11. 7.51
    12. 7.57
    13. 7.50
    14. 7.49
    15. 7.40
    16. 7.39
    17. 7.42
    18. 7.26
    19. 7.21
    20. 6.58 (a week late to be doing a sub 7 min mile 20 but was hurrying to finish as the BB was in ribbons)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

It didn't help that the minute I finished I jogged down to the Sea for a quick dip!

Isn't the Red Sea one of the saltiest seas in the world?! Ow!

Hey MM,

It's supposed to be 10 times saltier than a normal sea and the Dead Sea is supposed to be 400m below sea level. I didn't stay in long!

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Great run there.
    So you can say you''ve been 'in' Jordan and have the damaged ballbag to prove it!

On a serious note, great work this week. Would've been very easy to put the feet up etc, but you got straight back into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Was on the road at 6.30 this morning.

Wanted to get the run in before it got hot and besides I didn't get much sleep with the guy in the room above me been audibly uxorious, whereas the only banging I was doing was on his ceiling to get him to keep it down :)
    Nice word :D

I'm back in Amman (and before Cleanman says it, no not Peter Andre!)

Suitably lubed up I hit the dreadmill for an ER.

Had no love at all for this, in fact yesterday's long run seemed easier.

Listened to the Cramps compilation album "Bad music for bad people" to help me through the drudgery but even that couldn't see me past 5k

Need to start a formal training cycle again soon.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

I'm back in Amman (and before Cleanman says it, no not Peter Andre!)

Suitably lubed up I hit the dreadmill for an ER.

Had no love at all for this, in fact yesterday's long run seemed easier.

Listened to the Cramps compilation album "Bad music for bad people" to help me through the drudgery but even that couldn't see me past 5k

Need to start a formal training cycle again soon.

TbL

Tbl

If you are Amman any longer- I highly recommend going to Hashem:

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g293986-d1918356-Reviews-Hashem-Amman_Amman_Governorate.html

Best falafel I've had anywhere and it costs 50 cents or so a pop.

Also books@cafe is good for beers (they can be hard enough to find in Amman). Great city though

drquirky wrote: »
    Tbl

If you are Amman any longer- I highly recommend going to Hashem:

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g293986-d1918356-Reviews-Hashem-Amman_Amman_Governorate.html

Best falafel I've had anywhere and it costs 50 cents or so a pop.

Also books@cafe is good for beers (they can be hard enough to find in Amman). Great city though

Tnx DrQ, (you're up early!)

Do you know anywhere where I could get a few miles in outside, I've tried twice and failed. I asked at the hotel and they looked at me like I was mad and told me to use the dreadmill.

I was supposed to be here for two days and a week later the running gear is starting to look/smell like a used bidet towel :)

TbL

I got demobbed from Jordan and shipped to Sydney.

Couldn't sleep so ventured out to try and get a bit of life into the legs and to see what the lay of the land is, running route wise.

Staying near the Botanic Gardens so ran around there for a while. Grand for a short run, but a lot of dead ends and steps. I'll have to try and find the Sydney equivalent of a long stretch of soft bog Connemara road, if I'm going to get a long run in at the weekend.

It was incredible to see the amount of people exercising so early in the morning.

Did 4.8 easy miles, I'll try and get out again this evening and find some LR route potential.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Couldn't sleep so ventured out to try and get a bit of life into the legs and to see what the lay of the land is, running route wise.

Staying near the Botanic Gardens so ran around there for a while. Grand for a short run, but a lot of dead ends and steps. I'll have to try and find the Sydney equivalent of a long stretch of soft bog Connemara road, if I'm going to get a long run in at the weekend.

It was incredible to see the amount of people exercising so early in the morning.

Did 4.8 easy miles, I'll try and get out again this evening and find some LR route potential.

TbL

Isn't aerobics oz style filmed in Sydney - I'd just run in circles around the park they do it in - cos I learned my best stretches from that show!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Gavlor

TbL

Are you in some kind of George Clooney movie role?!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Are you in some kind of George Clooney movie role?!

Ha ha, if I am I'm not attracting any decent calibre female fans!

More like the movie "run fat boy run 2" and if I don't get a LR in this weekend it'll turn into a horror movie :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Have you been home since Seville?

Do Mrs Lemon and all the little lemons miss their bitter lemon?

Have you been home since Seville?

Do Mrs Lemon and all the little lemons miss their bitter lemon?

Only for a couple of hours.

The middle little lemon misses his Da the other two wouldn't care if I was turned into fruit pulp and Mrs Lemon initially enjoyed the bitter free zone but is now starting to think TbL may be sampling the forbidden apple in the garden of Eve.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

The middle little lemon misses his Da the other two wouldn't care if I was turned into fruit pulp and Mrs Lemon initially enjoyed the bitter free zone but is now starting to think TbL may be sampling the forbidden apple in the garden of Eve.

TbL

:eek: What you getting up to??? Do tell!

TbL

I thought they were all with you, you jammy fecker, Im getting to Westport for a night on my own and I consider myself lucky!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

TbL

So the lemon needs to keep away from the passion fruit and ensure his banana doesn't ripen beside the juicy pears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

So the lemon needs to keep away from the passion fruit and ensure his banana doesn't ripen beside the juicy pears.
    Fruit porn:eek::eek::eek: I've heard it all now!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Fruit porn:eek::eek::eek: I've heard it all now![/QUOTE
    Oh there is a term for it is there? Im gone right off fruit after that.

(...stops by to see how TbL is getting on with his training.....moves swiftly along to the next log..)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

There's a really nice route along the seafront from Bondi to Coogee that you could incorporate into your long run. Perhaps drop in to Centennial Park en route from Botanic Gardens. That would give you a great basis for a long one with about 18km out and a shorter/less scenic/more direct route home making for a 35km run.
    What's the weather like? Very warm??

belcarra wrote: »
    There's a really nice route along the seafront from Bondi to Coogee that you could incorporate into your long run. Perhaps drop in to Centennial Park en route from Botanic Gardens. That would give you a great basis for a long one with about 18km out and a shorter/less scenic/more direct route home making for a 35km run.

Tnx Belcarra,

I'll look into that Centennial Park route.

It's too warm for me! I was sweating buckets after 4 miles before the sun even came up this morning.

TbL

belcarra wrote: »

Sorry Belcarra,

Are these two separate run routes you are suggesting? One out to Centenial park and another from Bondi to Coogee, I'm looking at a hotel map (without any scale) and they look miles apart.

I'll like to do the Bondi route, but am wondering how I'd get back to the hotel after.

Tnx for the tour guidance :)

TbL