Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hotels, Pubs, Restaurants will all be packed all 5 days and nights, you don't think they'll take on extra staff??? Stewards and security will be hired.

Oh you mean jobs that last 5 days.

Cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Smidge wrote: »
    Garth Brooks has a German fan base?
    Well, I never!
    And the Germans are seen as a sensible nation? :p

You're ****ting us right? These are the people who adore the "Hoff" :D

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/mar/19/david-hasselhoff-berlin-wall-fall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

This 'culchie V Dub' thing bemuses me. The entire nations population would fit into most cities suburbs. Dublin is a medium sized town and we bicker as if every one outside Dublin has never seen a double decker bus and every Dub isnt one family member removed from a culchie to start with. Jaysas lads. Get over your selves.

1.2m population is a medium sized town, wtf? Its a city and a large sprawling one at that thanks to the bad planning, It could be cut in half and still have the same population if we had proper higher densities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

anncoates wrote: »

5 days where some lucky unemployed people will get a few extra quid to put food on the table or pay some bills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

anncoates wrote: »

Cool.

Imagine, 5 days work if you were unemployed. Terrible Joe :rolleyes:

Gatling wrote: »
    5 days where some lucky unemployed people will get a few extra quid to put food on the table or pay some bills

It's creating - welcome - temporary work, not jobs. Just like any number of events in the city.

Any word on when Garth and the GAA will be eradicating world famine and war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

My point dear is that you come across as completely ungrateful and lack any sort of empathy. Who cares as long as YOU have a good time right?!

My own family & friends are going to the concert, hell I might even jump on the bandwagon for a bit of craic, but at least they can look past their own agendas & see where the residents are coming from! We get the point, you love Gareth Brooks but surely can you not understand the implications of a 5 day event on a small area has on its residents? Even acknowledge what disruption this will bring to the area or is it just "I'll have my fun & that's all that matters" with you??

People really do have the its okay as long as it's not in my back garden attitude!

Croke Park is about a 15 minute walk from the City.

Dublin has good public transport. What's the problem with more buses and trains? And there will be.

In fact, you can register your interest on irishrail for more trains on the day of the gigs.

http://www.irishrail.ie/cat_news.jsp?i=4985&p=116&n=237

I dont see an issue regarding transport. Surely anyone that bought tickets and plan on driving would realise that parking would be a b!tch and leave the car at home.

There must be some park and ride places up there too. Park the car and get a bus.

As for litter, we're not all dirty bunch of idiots. If I cant find a bin, I always put my rubbish into my bag until I do.

And im certainly not going to be dropping my pants to wee on someone's lawn and with 80000 people passing me.

And im not going to get drunk and causing havoc. So we're not all drunken idiots.

5 nights, so what?

What do people expect, they cancel their flights, hotels, etc.

Where else can they hold a concert for 80000 people for five nights ?

Thomand park holds something like 25000 people.

Would he not have to play 16 nights to satisfy 400000 fans. Thats ok pass on the problem.

I wrote this earlier in this thread.

Now excuse me, where did I ever say that I never cared about the residents ?

So long as I have my fun??? Im only playing along with the dry cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Really if they were going to have five gigs with 80k going to each of them the Phoenix Park is surely a much better venue than Croker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Interesting read regarding Croke Parks attitude to their neighbours.

http://www.crokeparkcommunityhandballcentre.com/#!history/c11rf

it's a shame really that they are willing to ride roughshod over their neighbours just to make a quick buck.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Croke Park is about a 15 minute walk from the City.

Dublin has good public transport. What's the problem with more buses and trains? And there will be.

In fact, you can register your interest on irishrail for more trains on the day of the gigs.

http://www.irishrail.ie/cat_news.jsp?i=4985&p=116&n=237

I dont see an issue regarding transport. Surely anyone that bought tickets and plan on driving would realise that parking would be a b!tch and leave the car at home.

There must be some park and ride places up there too. Park the car and get a bus.

As for litter, we're not all dirty bunch of idiots. If I cant find a bin, I always put my rubbish into my bag until I do.

And im certainly not going to be dropping my pants to wee on someone's lawn and with 80000 people passing me.

And im not going to get drunk and causing havoc. So we're not all drunken idiots.

5 nights, so what?

What do people expect, they cancel their flights, hotels, etc.

Where else can they hold a concert for 80000 people for five nights ?

Thomand park holds something like 25000 people.

Would he not have to play 16 nights to satisfy 400000 fans. Thats ok pass on the problem.

I wrote this earlier in this thread.

Nice :rolleyes:

bumper234 wrote: »
    You're ****ting us right? These are the people who adore the "Hoff" :D

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/mar/19/david-hasselhoff-berlin-wall-fall

You take my point so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

JRant wrote: »
    Interesting read regarding Croke Parks attitude to their neighbours.

http://www.crokeparkcommunityhandballcentre.com/#!history/c11rf

it's a shame really that they are willing to ride roughshod over their neighbours just to make a quick buck.

Ah, a website set up by one side of a dispute telling everyone how terrible the other party are. Always well balanced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

But you are a Garth Brooks fan though right?
    Along with Hard Luck woman, River of Love and several other posters on here who are very nonchalant and in some cases downright arrogant and rude about what happens to the people who actually live there.

Just as long as you can see Gareth though, that's the main thing!
    only Hard Luck woman is a Garth Brooks fan, i'm certainly not, however if i live beside a large stadium i can't be surprised about it getting used more and more as the years go on

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Is that an admission that you're posting purely to wind people up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

All you care about is seeing an ageing and somewhat bloated has-been warble out some very dated(and even when it was new) pretty poor CM songs.:rolleyes:

Best comment of the thread, 100% agreed.
    Only in Ireland eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whats_my_name

You are missing the point, I don't do drugs, does that mean nobody else does drugs?? It only takes the small minority, nobody is saying that you yourself is going to be relieving yourself in someone's garden but that doesn't mean it won't happen.

Why not split it, like Bruce Springsteen did last year? Can you not understand where the residents are coming from, especially with gigs during the week?? Are you a mother? There wouldn't be a hope my child would settle with the noise! You do understand that the noise levels won't be just during concert hours, it will be the week before & week after & then sound checks all day everyday for the duration..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Ah, a website set up by one side of a dispute telling everyone how terrible the other party are. Always well balanced.

Where did I say to take it as gospel?

Here are the minutes from a meeting in May 2011. Don't think the residents were being whingers in some of the suggeztions they made.

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&ei=5GX1UsrrG-KM7Aazm4GwBA&url=http://www.crokepark.ie/getmedia/edd8fca6-c576-4e5f-ba76-f0b60900ceff/Community-Meeting-Minutes-31-5-11.pdf&cd=1&ved=0CCQQFjAA&usg=AFQjCNGQZxJi2CBneLEV8tuPMZWCrJftPA

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

God, how did Galway get on at all, at all for the Galway volvo ocean race in 2009 and 2012. A week of festivities each.
    i know, the post you replied to reminds me of the london tube strike this week, a vox pop type thing on 1 of the uk stations (LBC) one man claimed to be traumatized because he had to get a bus instead of the tube for which he had to walk a little bit extra (i **** you not) another idiot then described the tube staff as "terrorists" (again i **** you not)

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

only Hard Luck woman is a Garth Brooks fan, i'm certainly not, however if i live beside a large stadium i can't be surprised about it getting used more and more as the years go on

I have no problem with it being used.

I have a problem with what goes along with it being used by some members of society and the attitude of others who think because you don't like sluicing out vomit and excrement form your hall door with buckets of scalding hot water and Jeyes fluid or forking out yet again for damage to a car as just something you should have to "put up with" and if you don't put up with and shut up about it, you are considered a "moaner".

Can I ask, EOTR, if this were to happen to you on multiple occasions over the years at your home(and before anyone gives the stupid reply of "move", don't bother, its a foolish and utterly simplistic response)that either you or your partner/wife had to clean up this filth, would you be as dismissive about it?
    Honestly?

sabat wrote: »
    It's nothing at all to do with logistics; it's the fact that the GAA and the promoters are as good as taking over the city for a week at the expense of everything else. How can someone travel up for any other gig and have a night out or even take a train from Dublin for a few days down the country? Want to have your wedding here that week? Fúck you.
    more nonsense, theirs enough demand for the concerts, so subject to licence, the promoters decided to apply for an events licence and put them on, nothing stopping anyone from going to any other concert, nothing stopping you from having your weding, all rabel rabel, dublin is a city, large events are going to happen which will attract large amounts of people, tough

P_1 wrote: »
    Really if they were going to have five gigs with 80k going to each of them the Phoenix Park is surely a much better venue than Croker?
    possibly, i don't know why they didn't go for that instead? maybe they tried and couldn't get a licence for it? who knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

You're right. There'll actually be loads of parking around Croker the evening of the gigs because everyone will leave the car. Fear not residents, you won't have any parking problems.

I won't even bother with the rest of your points.

800.000 visitors attended the Galway Ocean race in 2012 over the course of a week.
    In an entire CITY.

400.000 people will be descending over the course of these concerts IN A VERY SMALL RESIDENTIAL area.

There's a big difference, wouldn't you say?

Not really a big difference.

125000 per day in Galway. Where most of the activities were at the docks. And people living in apartments there, and not a word from them.

Croke Park, its 80000 people a day for 5 days. They spend 3-4 hours in Croke Park and then the rest of the time travelling to go home again on buses, trains or even staying the night in Dublin. Dublin, an entire city is also bigger than Galway. Dublin is well able for it.

But lets complain some more. Its not just 5 days. We cant forget One Direction. And this happens for sporting events too.

What do you want? Ban everything.

You are missing the point, I don't do drugs, does that mean nobody else does drugs?? It only takes the small minority, nobody is saying that you yourself is going to be relieving yourself in someone's garden but that doesn't mean it won't happen.

Why not split it, like Bruce Springsteen did last year? Can you not understand where the residents are coming from, espically with gigs during the week?? Are you a mother? There wouldn't be a hope my child would settle with the noise! You do understand that the noise levels won't be just during concert hours, it will be the week before & week after & then sound checks all day everyday for the duration..
    again, thats what comes with living near a large venue

I have no problem with it being used.

I have a problem with what goes along with it being used by some members of society and the attitude of others who think because you don't like sluicing out vomit and excrement form your hall door with buckets of scalding hot water and Jeyes fluid or forking out yet again for damage to a car as just something you should have to "put up with" and if you don't put up with and shut up about it, you are considered a "moaner".

Can I ask, EOTR, if this were to happen to you on multiple occasions over the years at your home(and before anyone gives the stupid reply of "move", don't bother, its a foolish and utterly simplistic response)that either you or your partner/wife had to clean up this filth, would you be as dismissive about it?
    Honestly?
    if i lived near a large venue then theirs not a lot i could do about it apart from looking to put up protection infront of my door, or if i have a guarden plant some nettles by the wall, anti-social behaviour happens in these areas anyway, the guardai are there to deal with it, if their not, then launch a complaint

800.000 visitors attended the Galway Ocean race in 2012 over the course of a week.
    In an entire CITY.

400.000 people will be descending over the course of these concerts IN A VERY SMALL RESIDENTIAL area.

There's a big difference, wouldn't you say?

The area around Croke park is bigger than the area where both the ocean race was and where the races crowd is contained every year. On top of that most of the people spend most of their time in the area inside Croke park.

Small residential area :rolleyes:

Not really a big difference.

125000 per day in Galway. Where most of the activities were at the docks. And people living in apartments there, and not a word from them.

Croke Park, its 80000 people a day for 5 days. They spend 3-4 hours in Croke Park and then the rest of the time travelling to go home again on buses, trains or even staying the night in Dublin. Dublin, an entire city is also bigger than Galway. Dublin is well able for it.

But lets complain some more. Its not just 5 days. We cant forget One Direction. And this happens for sporting events too.

What do you want? Ban everything.

You really don't see a difference between that amount of people descending on the small residential area around Croke Park and an entire city who has an event?
    Really?

Also, the part in bold, thanks for making a point for me ;)

Why not split it, like Bruce Springsteen did last year? Can you not understand where the residents are coming from, espically with gigs during the week?? Are you a mother? There wouldn't be a hope my child would settle with the noise! You do understand that the noise levels won't be just during concert hours, it will be the week before & week after & then sound checks all day everyday for the duration..

Well then why didnt they play like Bruce Springsteen last year?

Why are you asking me?

I have no control over what the promotors do, where they decide to play, and for how many days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whats_my_name

again, thats what comes with living near a large venue

The response to that argument is about a million pages back!

Completely OT but is there an option to ignore somebodies posts?? Repetition bores me!

The area around Croke park is bigger than the area where both the ocean race was and where the races crowd is contained every year.

Small residential area :rolleyes:

So the people attending the Garth Brooks concerts won't actually be around the area of Croke Park?
    I mean, the event in Galway wasn't just confined to the dock. Have a wee google there and you'll see that many. many events were held away from that area.

So what we will be having is Garth Brooks fans, instead of being in the locality of Croke Park, wandering the city like a zombie hoard?