Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Then why do they have to seek an events license for it to go ahead then.
    why are licences needed for a lot of things?
    A lot of factors will be scrutinized
    yes.
    if the residents don't back down they could win.
    and then again they may not, they may have no option but to back down eventually anyway
    Look at aviva 3 concerts a year and that's it.
    i suspect the residents objections had only a very small part to play in that decisian
    what's to stop the people of the area wanting the same thing.
    as i said nothing, but i can't see them getting what they want, otherwise it could eventually lead to them objecting to sporting events also

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

as i said nothing, but i can't see them getting what they want, otherwise it could eventually lead to them objecting to sporting events also

They would never be able to object to sporting events taking place . It's a sports stadium . They can object and seek to have concerts blocked if they wish because it's not a typical concert venue .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Smidge wrote: »
    I'd LOVE to know where you're from that the women can do that? Classy :rolleyes:

I gave my account, 100% truthful of my time living there.
    It was the same for a lot of my neighbours who had yokels up to the big shmoke and thought it was "mighty craic altogether" to urinate into peoples homes, vomit all over my window and sill and other areas of the house, go to the toilet while leaning back against my hall door on my front step and leave their feaces there. I saw countless cars damaged and actually got into a verbal confrontation one time with two dunderheads who were standing on the bonnet of the man across the roads car after a gig. I told them to get off and was told to F*ck off! I put my coat on, closed my hall door and walked out and found a guard. Told him what had just happened and was told "What do you want me to do about it? They'll be long gone by now"

Its a sad state of affairs when people just think that anyone who relays what they have seen happen on the street where they live are all just "moaners".

I'll wager if any of the above were to happen to some of the posters on here, on one SINGLE occassion you could bet the farm on it the would be in AH like a shot raising all sorts of hell.

Its against the law to sh1t and piss in public?

What did the garda do after you brought some wrong doing to his attention?

If nothing, did you make a complaint to garda ombudsman on the gardas negligance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I'd LOVE to know where you're from that the women can do that? Classy :rolleyes:

I gave my account, 100% truthful of my time living there.
    It was the same for a lot of my neighbours who had yokels up to the big shmoke and thought it was "mighty craic altogether" to urinate into peoples homes, vomit all over my window and sill and other areas of the house, go to the toilet while leaning back against my hall door on my front step and leave their feaces there. I saw countless cars damaged and actually got into a verbal confrontation one time with two dunderheads who were standing on the bonnet of the man across the roads car after a gig. I told them to get off and was told to F*ck off! I put my coat on, closed my hall door and walked out and found a guard. Told him what had just happened and was told "What do you want me to do about it? They'll be long gone by now"

Its a sad state of affairs when people just think that anyone who relays what they have seen happen on the street where they live are all just "moaners".

I'll wager if any of the above were to happen to some of the posters on here, on one SINGLE occassion you could bet the farm on it the would be in AH like a shot raising all sorts of hell.

Wouldn't happen any other place. Up root Croke Park and bring it to Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Wouldn't happen any other place. Up root Croke Park and bring it to Cork.

So its Cork women who stand up to pee, I seeeeeeee!!

Its against the law to sh1t and piss in public?

What did the garda do after you brought some wrong doing to his attention?

If nothing, did you make a complaint to garda ombudsman on the gardas negligance?

Read my post again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

So its Cork women who stand up to pee, I seeeeeeee!!

Im not from Cork. I just love the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ah here, at this stage...it's the North Side, so suck it up ya boya.

Just pointing out the difference between D3 and D4 here..

It must be due to your opinion of the fairer sexes acrobatic ability to relieve themselves so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

I will 100% guarantee that these concerts will go ahead. Its a multi-million venture, millions have been paid out already on promotion etc. I'm sure the feasibility has been scrutinised before it was announced. Aitken are a huge company, not 2 young lads putting together a student night.

As much as they want to think they are important, the residents are a minor inconvenience to this, and nothing more.

Wow - that pretty much sums up your attitude? I bet you're a really nice neighbour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It must be due to your opinion of the fairer sexes acrobatic ability to relieve themselves so!

Have you never heard of the She-Wee???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

:eek: http://replygif.net/i/132.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

anncoates wrote: »
    Flouting the terms of the planning application is actually worse.

One thing this has shown though is the defensive arrogance of the GAA and some of its supporters.

Some of you have as good as stated you think its a good thing a commercial organisation can flout planning and inconvenience an entire community and the only alternative to this is to basically get out of the area if you don't like it.

The arrogance is mind blowing and symptomatic of the gombeen culture of this country of which the GAA is a major part.

One thing it has shown up is the people who'll use anything to have a go at the GAA.

AFAIK there was no concerts last year so that's probably why they planned 4 or 5 this year. 5 in a row seems a lot but obviously there's a huge demand there.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Thankfully, no.
    But having seen the certain section of society that attend certain concerts, I have no doubt in their ability to do so.
    Reckon they aren't used to using "indoor conveniences" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bet the residents will still be out on the road on the day of each concert with their dodgy made Garth Brooks merchandise trying to take advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

What about the stadium pal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

K-9 wrote: »
    One thing it has shown up is the people who'll use anything to have a go at the GAA.

AFAIK there was no concerts last year so that's probably why they planned 4 or 5 this year. 5 in a row seems a lot but obviously there's a huge demand there.

I don't think it's a case of people using any excuse to have a go at the GAA! I'm a great fan of the GAA, played it, my kids play it, I'd be in croke park maybe 4 times a year. But the GAA have a responsibility to be a good neighbour, just like everybody else, and I think that they are falling short allowing 5 or 6 concerts in a row there. Aside from planning or licensing issues. Just normal 'neighbourly' stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭CFlat

Apparently a lot of Irish people abroad are coming home for the Garth Brooks concert. We spend all of 2013 trying to make the Gathering a success and an American C&W singer sorts it all out in 5 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whats_my_name

You can spot the culchies in this thread a mile off.Don't care/understand that their beloved GAA and Aiken have broken planning laws by exceeding 3 concerts per year and don't give two sh!tes about the legitimate problems local residents experience as long as they get their day of fun up in the big schmoke.

Same crowd telling residents to ''just get on with it'' or slagging them off for looking for compensation would scream blue murder if the ESB wanted to put a pylon in the middle of one of their fields.

Emmm...this is awkward...I'm a culchie! & I have done nothing but empathise with residents... generalisations aren't a good idea especially when your a Dub :-P

Do you know what a "she-wee" is so?

Kidding :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

But surely people knew what to expect when buying their homes?

I don't know, it's a hard one to call.

the majority of the people living there, are there for a long long time and concerts and night events were never on the agenda for them until the last 10-20 years or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

GET YER GARTH BROOKS HATS, SCARVES AND HEADBANDS. HATS, SCARVES AND HEADBANDS.

That alone in would drive you mental, nevermind the actual gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭clunked

the majority of the people living there, are there for a long long time and concerts and night events were never on the agenda for them until the last 10-20 years or so.

First pop concert if you can call it that was 1984 with Neil Diamond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭clunked

GET YER GARTH BROOKS HATS, SCARVES AND HEADBANDS. HATS, SCARVES AND HEADBANDS.

That alone in would drive you mental, nevermind the actual gig.
    Might have more musicality that the bould Garth though.

clunked wrote: »
    Might have more musicality that the bould Garth though.

I can hear the stomping en masse of cowboy boots and the danger to people with visual problems from the clashing of check shirts :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭deadlineday

the only conclusion from this thread after reading it all is that
    end of the road, Madcon, weldoninhio own alot of Chipper vans around Croker.they win and f**k everyone else.oh am i cluchie wit no interest in Garth Brooks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

the only conclusion from this thread after reading it all is that
    end of the road, Madcon, weldoninhio own alot of Chipper vans around Croker.they win and f**k everyone else.oh am i cluchie wit no interest in Garth Brooks

I'd burn cornflakes, and am a Dub.

But you are a Garth Brooks fan though right?
    Along with Hard Luck woman, River of Love and several other posters on here who are very nonchalant and in some cases downright arrogant and rude about what happens to the people who actually live there.

Just as long as you can see Gareth though, that's the main thing! :rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dry sh1tes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

350+ posts in and we're inundated with Croke Park locals defending the concerts.