whats the weather like in your area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

think we escaped for a change, fcuk all rain and damn all wind last night, breezy for a hour or two

nice morning at moment mild and dry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

delaval wrote: »
    Well Con would be useful cleaning out sheds with a sprong and Reggie keeping crows out if barley.

Stop, ye couldn't afford expertise and experience like mine :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

We had several nights of 130km wind and heavy rain over christmas (at least 4). The south and east get 1 night of it and it's headline news :rolleyes:
    It'll be a national emergency if there's another windy night for ye!

We had a bit of a breeze last night around midnight. it settled after that. Very little rain. Level of the shannon looks to have gone down at least 6 inches overnight! Hopefully it'll keep going down and land will start to soak out. I have slurry to spread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

ark.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

rain stopped now but its very dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭jimmydkid

Wet Wet Wet in Tipperary. And it's not the band I'm talking about!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

heavy wind and rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

35 mm of rain since Sunday,

reilig wrote: »
    We had several nights of 130km wind and heavy rain over christmas (at least 4). The south and east get 1 night of it and it's headline news :rolleyes:

We had a bit of a breeze last night around midnight. it settled after that. Very little rain. Level of the shannon looks to have gone down at least 6 inches overnight! Hopefully it'll keep going down and land will start to soak out. I have slurry to spread!

They're soft!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

We had the usual blustery rain overnight and it has continued in one guise or another all day, and no signs of a clearing at all. It's just horrible.

Wind last night was strong enough to blow over the tall cylinders of gas at the house and blow the wheels bins into the middle of the lawn - a fine mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Donnacadh

bbam wrote: »
    We had the usual blustery rain overnight and it has continued in one guise or another all day, and no signs of a clearing at all. It's just horrible.

Wind last night was strong enough to blow over the tall cylinders of gas at the house and blow the wheels bins into the middle of the lawn - a fine mess.

Same sort of weather here - (Co. Down) - wheelie bin lying everywhere and the water running through it, total mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

nhg wrote: »
    They said on the rte news that the south east had hurricane force winds, it was serious at around 7pm yesterday evening
    sherkin island had one gust,that would have lasted 5 seconds that was 74mph yesterday, that's hurricane force for 5 seconds in one very exposed off shore island location.
    means never went anywhere near hurricane strength.
    Average speeds near the south and east coast at peak strength yesterday were somewhere in the low 50s for sure briefly at times.That's windy for sure and noisy near tree's but not a hurricane.
    The thing is,there have been so many storms now,that structures and trees are weakened,so its taking less and less to do damage.

Inland locations had lower speeds.Rain is becoming a problem though given the time of year and the things we would like to be doing.I've recorded 53mm since Sunday alone here in East wicklow and I won't mention what's fallen in December and January as ye will have a cardiac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

still dry , calm, mild and overcast

whitebriar wrote: »
    sherkin island had one gust,that would have lasted 5 seconds that was 74mph yesterday, that's hurricane force for 5 seconds in one very exposed off shore island location.
    means never went anywhere near hurricane strength.
    Average speeds near the south and east coast at peak strength yesterday were somewhere in the low 50s for sure briefly at times.That's windy for sure and noisy near tree's but not a hurricane.
    The thing is,there have been so many storms now,that structures and trees are weakened,so its taking less and less to do damage.

Inland locations had lower speeds.Rain is becoming a problem though given the time of year and the things we would like to be doing.I've recorded 53mm since Sunday alone here in East wicklow and I won't mention what's fallen in December and January as ye will have a cardiac.

I may be remembering wrong from the Weather forum, but there's no such thing as "hurricane force gusts". I believe hurricane force has to be a sustained wind and not a flash in the pan gust.

It's the meeja hyping again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

reilig wrote: »

It will become a National Emergency when Dart, Dublin Bus and Luas stop running!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

I may be remembering wrong from the Weather forum, but there's no such thing as "hurricane force gusts". I believe hurricane force has to be a sustained wind and not a flash in the pan gust.

It's the meeja hyping again.
    true,it's a gust that reaches hurricane speed to be pedantic about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

thats young fellas for you nowadays, you wouldn't want to be employing those two

The cheek of you sir, everyone is entitled to a rain check every now and then

Reggie. wrote: »
    The cheek of you sir, everyone is entitled to a rain check every now and then

Bob would find it fierce hard to write a rain cheque :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

Bob would find it fierce hard to write a rain cheque :D

Bob find it hard to write a cheque in any weather :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

The storm tonight from about 2 to 7.30pm was something else. was on the phone to a guy 30 miles to the west of me and he said it was a grand evening :eek:. Everyday seems to surpass the day before, already 2 times this week I have said thats the worst I have ever worked in. Maybe I just getting old. sound calm outside now:)

Was out last night and met the ESB guys working, its lashing so hard wipers were on full. These guys are taking some risks to keep the leccie going. Is it so necessary as a consumer to demand leccie on the worst night of the year? Doubt if my leccie was out I would ring looking for them to come out last night.

I've always said ESB lads and ladies earn their money in weather like we've been having.

case 956 wrote: »
    Bob find it hard to write a cheque in any weather :P
    wrote a cheque to glanbia during the real bad snow a few years ago, bank came back that signature wasnt like my normal one, like it was -10 or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

I've always said ESB lads and ladies earn their money in weather like we've been having.

Jeez Con I thought the average wage in ESB is circa €74k with a pension made in heaven. My heart bleeds.

sheebadog wrote: »
    Jeez Con I thought the average wage in ESB is circa €74k with a pension made in heaven. My heart bleeds.

I never mentioned the pensions. Averages are a questionable statistic.

They do earn their money working at height, at night, in bad weather, with electricity.

I never mentioned the pensions. Averages are a questionable statistic.

They do earn their money working at height, at night, in bad weather, with electricity.
    there was 6 esb lads looking at a pole in our field for 30 minutes last week:cool: electricity was off on outfarm yesterday on a planned outage, i never knew so many people worked for the esb as the amount of workers i saw yesterday

I never mentioned the pensions.

Did I mention AVERAGE wage? In fairness Con where I come from average wage of EDF is €21k. They also get wet now and again.

Yes, twice now. I disagree with you.

Ok. Your perogative. Relations in ESB?

Nope, none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

Dry and windy now, not as cold as earlier.