Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA "off topic" thread - No discussion relating to FSA or Soccer - please read post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Mike Ehrmantraut

I think it's very good in patches but it's certainly an acquired taste. It's full of pop culture references and is a "clever" show. You'll know whether or not you like it after a few episodes. Edit:In saying that season 2 is better than the first.

Parts of Season 3 and Season 4 were poor. The creator and main writer was ousted for season 4 but he;s back now and it's been very good so far again this year.

The Big Bang Theory or Two and a Half Men it is not. It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia is my favourite American comedy but I do really enjoy this but it's probably a marmite show. It's a favourite of the critics and has a cult following, doing well to survive in mainstream TV so far.

Thanks Mr.Prodston, might give it a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Brooklyn Nine Nine anybody???

Easily the funniest thing i've watched in a good while! Up to date watching it online! Chelsea Perreti who plays the Captains PA is definitely the best thing about tv at the moment! Hilarious! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,397 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

The League is a must watch for anyone on this forum surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Said I'd take this chat here. A Lucky 15 was described as this earlier by Kev:
    Its all the combinations of the 4 bets. So 4 singles, 6 doubles, 4 trebles and 1 4fold accum.
    Costs 15 * your stake so a 50cent one costs €7.50. Means that if any of your selections win you get something

So, to do one online, I'm with Bet365, do I just make all of the above mentioned selections or is there an easier way? Or do I just pick my four singles?

I've been having decent returns from soccer betting recently. It's added an extra bit if interest to games as well as FF.

Not sure how exactly it works on b365. But make four selections and see on the betslip if you have an option for lucky 15, it should be there. Is on pp and Boyles anyway

Just had a look on b365 it seems they dont do a lucky15 as standard. Just a Yankee which is same as a lucky 15 just without the 4 singles so 11 bets.

On the betslip click 'show multiples' once you have made 4 selections. Odd they dont do a lucky 15 mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

0iX2bSp.png

Went a bit crazy on the bets for tomorrows games :o

€40 down total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Only the 5 bets on goalscorers in the one game :D

Hazard is an awful price, he's in great form but 8/11 on to score is ridiculous imo.
    On current form he is nailed on to play a big part, but nailed on to score.... not so much.

Danger781 wrote: »
    0iX2bSp.png

€40 down total

You have some decent bets here in fairness. The acca looks decent and then Aguero first/anytime and Yaya anytime are good.

Edit: actually so is Ade anytime. I can't see City keeping a clean sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,984 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Only sport I seriously gamble on is baseball. If I bet on soccer I wouldn't win any money. I reckon you have to be seriously knowledgeable and a bit lucky to have sustained profit betting on soccer. You still have to have the same for baseball but it's less risky I feel. Cannot wait for the season to start again.

8-10 wrote: »
    Only sport I seriously gamble on is baseball. If I bet on soccer I wouldn't win any money. I reckon you have to be seriously knowledgeable and a bit lucky to have sustained profit betting on soccer. You still have to have the same for baseball but it's less risky I feel. Cannot wait for the season to start again.

I wouldn't be able for baseball at all.. it seems to go on forever!! and i like most sports!

It's hugely time-consuming I will agree. Someday I want to work in the sport though so I work pretty hard on statistical analysis. A lot of the times, especially in gambling terms, I follow what happens in the game through the stats without even watching a pitch. But I still love relaxing in front of a game when there's a good pitching matchup, or going to see a live game.

I always think it's hard done by over here with people dismissing it because of the length of time and pace of the games. But it's like any sport, once you get to properly understand the rules and nuances, it really comes into it's own.

It's hugely time-consuming I will agree. Someday I want to work in the sport though so I work pretty hard on statistical analysis. A lot of the times, especially in gambling terms, I follow what happens in the game through the stats without even watching a pitch. But I still love relaxing in front of a game when there's a good pitching matchup, or going to see a live game.

I always think it's hard done by over here with people dismissing it because of the length of time and pace of the games. But it's like any sport, once you get to properly understand the rules and nuances, it really comes into it's own.

Well i can understand if you are trying to get a career in it someday. For me personally i just can't get in to it at all. Seems like watching glorified rounders for the best part of a day to me! I'm a big NFL fan and those games can go on for about 3 hours too but some baseball games go well past the 3 hour mark!

i'd still like to go to a game some day though, just purely for the experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

They play a ridiculous amount of games a season in baseball.

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    They play a ridiculous amount of games a season in baseball.

162 regular season games in , 81 home/81 away. 30 teams.

You should try playing fantasy....daily roster changes, sometimes day/night double headers (same team playing twice in a day), 12 or more scoring categories, trades....time invested in FPL pales in comparison

Mexican skiing uniforms for the Winter Olympics. So much win

ladies-and-gentlemen-i-would-like-to-present-to-you-team-mexico-olympic-ski-uniform-your-move-norway_ldolu_0.jpg

KevIRL wrote: »
    Just had a look on b365 it seems they dont do a lucky15 as standard. Just a Yankee which is same as a lucky 15 just without the 4 singles so 11 bets.

On the betslip click 'show multiples' once you have made 4 selections. Odd they dont do a lucky 15 mind

I think it depends on the selection. I was just playing around there and selected a 4 team acca of City, Sunderland, Bayern and Athletico for tonight and it gave me a Lucky 15 option.

Lemlin wrote: »
    I think it depends on the selection. I was just playing around there and selected a 4 team acca of City, Sunderland, Bayern and Athletico for tonight and it gave me a Lucky 15 option.

Best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,351 ✭✭✭G1032

I've a relation who worked for a bookies before. Very possible to win money at soccer he said but only if you do singles. Doubles, trebles and accums are to be avoided. Also bet only the win/lose market and stay away from 1st goalscorer etc markets.There is also superb value to be gotten from the lower leagues. Bookies find it very hard to price lower league matches so if you do proper research there value be found.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Best of luck with it

Didn't place it.

G1032 wrote: »
    I've a relation who worked for a bookies before. Very possible to win money at soccer he said but only if you do singles. Doubles, trebles and accums are to be avoided. Also bet only the win/lose market and stay away from 1st goalscorer etc markets.There is also superb value to be gotten from the lower leagues. Bookies find it very hard to price lower league matches so if you do proper research there value be found.

That's how I find it with baseball. The bookies generally price it conservatively as you sometimes feel that they don't know how to price it correctly and if you do your research sometimes you see crazy odds posted up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Danger781 wrote: »
    0iX2bSp.png

€40 down total

Came out with €54.97

Profit! :D

For anyone interested, Javier Ballesteros, son of Seve, is playing in the European Tour event in Dubai...

Kinda surreal seeing Ballesteros back on a leader board.

(He is still an amateur, but got an invite, and he didn't embarrass himself in a field of Pro's. T95th of 132 after Round 1)

Lemlin wrote: »
    Didn't place it.

I should have placed it. It would have came in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

As noted in another thread there are quite a few Harps men around here.

As a matter of interest are there many other LOI fans around here? Or are most big EPL team fans?

I find it a help not to be ardently supporting any of the PL sides in trying to be objective at FPL. I used to support Man U but when I fell in love with the joy and glamour of LOI I can't really get passionate about them any more.

(I know it says no soccer, but most of ye probably don't count LOI as proper soccer :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

FHFC wrote: »

As a matter of interest are there many other LOI fans around here? Or are most big EPL team fans?

I find it a help not to be ardently supporting any of the PL sides in trying to be objective at FPL. I used to support Man U but when I fell in love with the joy and glamour of LOI I can't really get passionate about them any more.

(I know it says no soccer, but most of ye probably don't count LOI as proper soccer :) )

I used to be a huge Cork City fan, all the home games and the odd away match too, it was always the ambition to get up to Ballybofey but in those days nobody owned a car that we'd trust for that journey and nobody fancied the hungover return drive. Moved to Limerick over 10 years ago and that was the end of it, now I go to the occasional Limerick FC game but wouldn't be passionate about it to be honest. Harps seem to have good travelling support if I recall right, they played an early round cup match here in Limerick a few years ago and had most of the support(Limerick LOI football was at a particularly low ebb at the time to be honest).

I'll often stop to watch a junior league match when I'm out for a walk, sometimes they can be as enjoyable as LOI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I've just finished season 2 of Boardwalk Empire now and seeing as plenty of ye watch it here I'll explain what I'm thinking right now.

Spoilers up until the end of Season 2 so please don't read if you haven't seen and don't want to be spoiled:
    Holy moses lads and lasses. I was not expecting that to happen. He was my favourite character (aside from Richard) so far and found that story much more interesting than anything Margaret has to offer, although the end suggests a thickening of that plot to come there. In saying that I guess it was great tv and they explored as much as they could with him. Hopefully Richard becomes more badass now

And a final observation that links in with the first season of Game of Thrones. So spoilers up until the end of season 1 there too:
    It's a bit like Ned really as in I imagined the show to relate more to him than Nucky in a sense

Obviously don't tell me what happens but I just needed to get that off my chest :pac:

Edit: Also if anyone does reply remember to spoiler any spoilery stuff please. i wouldn't want people to find out stuff because I needed to vent about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

FHFC wrote: »

I was a Harps man back in the day. How long do you support them?

I started following Sligo a good few years ago when my younger brother was with them. He had a couple of LOI games but his career there was cut short with that common problem footballers have....he had to have an operation on his Varicose Veins!!!!!! :)
    He still lives of the fact that he used to train with Seamie though.

Can't say I'm a supporter (couldn't get to into them being a Mayo man) but I "follow" them a bit more than most.

Played Harps (underage, up to U21s) myself quite a bit.... Between the different teams I don't think I was ever on the right end.... 'Twas a long way to go for a beating :):(

@ Mr P re Boardwalk, dont worry it just gets better and better, season 3 is a bit slow to start but dont despair

GOT likewise really.