Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Lapin wrote: »
    If I was an employer of any of the doss twats in those videos, I'd have their P45s typed up and in the post to them before they arrive in work the next day.

Good luck with that court case :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

To be fair, if the employee was supposed to be a public representative, I can see where Lapin is coming from. Would you really want someone posting stuff like that to be publicly represented? Not really different to your employer finding lewd drunk pics of you on a lads weekend in Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I ****ing hate facebook. That is all.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    To be fair, if the employee was supposed to be a public representative, I can see where Lapin is coming from. Would you really want someone posting stuff like that to be publicly represented? Not really different to your employer finding lewd drunk pics of you on a lads weekend in Spain.

Did they make the video in work? No
    Were they wearing the uniform of their workplace? No
    Did they mention their place of work? No
    Did they post it to their jobs page? No

You'd get a lump of compensation if you were sacked for no other reason than a video like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Neknomination is an abomination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

TheMza wrote: »
    So much hate on this thread haha, why does it bother yous so much?

If this thread has what you consider to be hate then I'm not sure I want to know what you classify as bullying, abuse, aggression etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Rabelais wrote: »
    I like drinking a dozen pints as much as the next fella, but don't see the point of this fad. Kind of thing obnoxious Australian lads do. Nothing worse than someone who can't handle their booze.

It is the Aussification of Irish culture. Now that we are sending a lot of our undesirables to Australia (Once again :D) they are copying the local customs and are bringing them home through social media.

It started off with the people turning into gym monkies and wearing vests in public and now to this. Of all the cultures to emulate, they pick Australia. The least cultured country on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Havnt seen any 'dangerous' ones yet, just seems to be a bit of banter challenging friends. Cha Fitz the former kk hurler has a very funny one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

urabell wrote: »
    It's the 'latest craze' the same way pogs are the latest craze, get with the times Grandpa
    What's a pog:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They're probably bloody students.
    But yes, necking a shoulder of vodka is beyond stupid. So is biting a dead chickens head off and referring to it as a grown up egg. Or maybe that's genius I'm not sure anymore.

To be honest, from what I have seen it is mostly skangers rather than students.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Did they make the video in work? No
    Were they wearing the uniform of their workplace? No
    Did they mention their place of work? No
    Did they post it to their jobs page? No

You'd get a lump of compensation if you were sacked for no other reason than a video like that.

Depends on the nature of the contract of employment between the two parties.

A judge or employment tribunal could legally find against any plaintiff if it was clearly shown that they were in violation of their contract of employment in relation to responsible social behaviour whether in an open public area or online.

Makes no difference if they were at work, mentioned work, wore a uniform or where they posted it.

And if an employer can convince a court that his business has been damaged in any way by the foolish acts of his employer, you may find that compensation flowing in the other direction.

Depends on the nature of the contract of employment between the two parties.

A judge or employment tribunal could legally find against any plaintiff if it was clearly shown that they were in violation of their contract of employment in relation to responsible social behaviour whether in an open public area or online.

Makes no difference if they were at work, mentioned work, wore a uniform or where they posted it.

And if an employer can convince a court that his business has been damaged in any way by the foolish acts of his employer, you may find that compensation flowing in the other direction.

I very much doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Havnt seen any 'dangerous' ones yet, just seems to be a bit of banter challenging friends. Cha Fitz the former kk hurler has a very funny one!

Two of the three videos posted are insanely dangerous.

Downing shoulders of vodka can be lethal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Im confused on what youre meant to do. Downing a drink seems to be part of it but in one a girl got down to her underwear in a public place and drinked. Another was a guy just drinking in a pub and then there are mentions of other things being added to it. If someone nominated me I would just ignore it, they would probably forget about it in 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

If I was an employer of any of the doss twats in those videos, I'd have their P45s typed up and in the post to them before they arrive in work the next day.

I've seen one of a guy necking a pint while at work (a well known chain of sandwich shops).

If I get nominated I'm recording a 30 minute video of me slowly sipping a pint in front of the telly. 10 minutes in I cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Think it's a disgrace some pubs are promoting it,By getting the whole bar to down a pint,Encourages stupid irresponsible drinking.

A disgrace Joe !

face1990 wrote: »

If I get nominated I'm recording a 30 minute video of me slowly sipping a pint in front of the telly. 10 minutes in I cough.

Go for it.

And mind that cough.;)

I very much doubt it

Yeah, well we're not going to prove it one way or the other here so lets not waste each others time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Go for it.

I've no one to nominate me, my friends are all dry shítes!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

The spilling of internet culture into peoples everyday lives bugs me.

How anybody found watching a 1 minute clip over the internet, of their friend downing a drink entertaining or impressive, is beyond me. Even more so the more that started doing it.

The later more extreme ones are just cringe-worthy attention seeking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Merging these two threads.

Mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Widespread access and availability to the internet, has ****ing killed, the internet

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

TheDoc wrote: »
    Widespread access and availability to the internet, has ****ing killed, the internet

Think you mean the modern day camera & ability to upload photos to social media :pac:

The internets size has grown exponentially from this alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

massy086 wrote: »
    i seen one today and the guy mixed pale ale and larger and peeper.oh and picked up dog **** from his back garden and dropped it in .my god he drank it in 1 go until the glass was completely empty .sick ****.

link please. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

Lighten up lads, pointless as it may be its only a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Daledge wrote: »
    Lighten up lads, pointless as it may be its only a bit of craic.
    The third video that was posted in the OP was not a bit of craic.

I get downing a shot or two and then trying to do something. Or necking a pint and trying to do something.

But come on, downing nearly a half bottle of vodka + absinthe isn't a bit of craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Push Pop

I've seen some very creative ones with professional looking recording equipment. Seems to be just 1 pint downed which isn't going to kill an experienced drinker although I don't endorse heavy drinking in general.
    I have laughed heartily at some efforts and i think it's one of the better viral trends we have to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

I have 100 or so friends on facebook and havent seen a single post about this.
    Either stop adding people you dont like, or just set it so that their posts dont ever show up on your homepage.

You really cant complain tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Some people really want to win a Darwin Award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I know of many who have done this and honestly the effort they put into making the videos (generally a big video before the 'nekking') is actually hilarious. I don't really see the harm in it as long as those doing it are not harming or endangering anybody else.