If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

Roared to work down the River Road today...

A little bit of city fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

The day of the nct and the reverse light switch decides to go 'hey **** you'. So I'll get that fitted over the weekend and a quick visual then for the cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Built a bridge today which was apparently the strongest ever made in dit :D passed one of my exams so far and ordered a mountain of stuff for the saab :D todays been a good day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Was driving home on the m8 today and an 12 reg Peugeot 508 came up behind me with blue flashing lights In the front and as it passed me the rear had flashing blue light built into the rear lights by the look of it. Did the gardai ever buy 508 as under cover cars its the first I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

article-2544798-1AE7FD5900000578-440_636x382.jpg

A beach in Newquay is not the place to try & drive a Ferrari 458 Spider.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think the problem is at the other end mate......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,991 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

. I'm only taking lessons for the licence now and hope to pass the test around June. I'll only need a run around to get to the train station on the odd bad day and eh at the ripe old age of 36 I'll do my dues in something small at first.

I too was 36 when I started learning to drive and passed the test. I wanted a mini as a first car but it became a second car (to a 1.9 cdti Vauxhall Signum). 6 years on, I have 2 v8s and a Mini. Stick with it, it's certainly changed my life - I've driven on 4 continents, both coasts of the US and 15 European countries.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No story there...:D
    Ah well, onwards and upwards. Might be a better version out there but a little closer to home.

Still might head on that trip to winnipeg anyway!

Wait a few months, it was minus 43 here yesterday :cool:

Stheno wrote: »
    Wait a few months, it was minus 43 here yesterday :cool:

When you back? you may pay a visit again :) hopefully I'll have my new brum brum up and going then

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

When you back? you may pay a visit again :) hopefully I'll have my new brum brum up and going then

Not until mid Feb!

Stheno wrote: »
    Not until mid Feb!

Perfect! :D as dead as this place is now, there's a lot of "behind the scenes" work going on ;) regards myself and a few certain individuals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »
    Some **** tried to steal my Mazda. :(
    The battery's flat in it and even if it wasn't, it's got an Alarm and immobiliser so they wouldn't have gotten it going but they've made a mess of my drivers door handle and look.
    New set of locks and keys on the list. :mad:

Sorry to hear that, I was mostly offline all day yesterday so only reading this now. Keep an eye out as they tend to come back a day or two after, might have a battery with them this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Built a bridge today which was apparently the strongest ever made in dit :D passed one of my exams so far and ordered a mountain of stuff for the saab :D todays been a good day

A.Riclei_w.jpg

One of these? :pac:

A.Riclei_w.jpg

One of these? :pac:

Yeah but it looked like this ;)

30axsat.jpg

How's your lessons going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Yeah but it looked like this ;)

How's your lessons going?

Ahh very swish indeed. Third one this Saturday. The fecker lied to me and said we'd be driving back to the house on the third lesson but he had me do it on the second one! It was really great, lots of driving got done- I think I'm really taking to it. In fairness to him he seems like an excellent instructor. I feel under no pressure in the car and that I can take onboard everything I'm being thought.

I hope the third lesson is as good as the second. I'm feeling pretty confident about it. Being a former *cough* cyclist *cough* I'm not so intimidated at being on the road- it just seems to be a case of having the mechanical process become second nature. I just need to practice a handbrake start on a hill- that killed my confidence when I went out for some practice with the missus the day after the second lesson.

Ahh very swish indeed. Third one this Saturday. The fecker lied to me and said we'd be driving back to the house on the third lesson but he had me do it on the second one! It was really great, lots of driving got done- I think I'm really taking to it. In fairness to him he seems like an excellent instructor. I feel under no pressure in the car and that I can take onboard everything I'm being thought.

I hope the third lesson is as good as the second. I'm feeling pretty confident about it. Being a former *cough* cyclist *cough* I'm not so intimidated at being on the road- it just seems to be a case of having the mechanical process become second nature. I just need to practice a handbrake start on a hill- that killed my confidence when I went out for some practice with the missus the day after the second lesson.
    Held 30 red bricks ;) the only reason i got to keep it was cos i ran out of red bricks :pac:

That's what you want in an instructor, mine was very direct and if you screwed up he'd say it straight out, after a while he stopped teaching me and forced me to teach myself which looking back on it really helped me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Did a bit of work on the 7, what do yas think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I think you need a proper paint job, a pair of diamond turf II shoes, knee jeans (not too low now) and Dr Dre as your producer :pac:

Now as for this.... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Quite an adventurous move voodoo :)

Looks as if you may have affected the ride height slightly though. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Quick shifter arrived. Nice 10 minute jobby for after work.

Hopefully gear changes will have a more positive feel now until my torque mount gets fitted.

Hate vague gear changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Oh dear. Sometimes the American scene just dumbfounds me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Quick shifter arrived. Nice 10 minute jobby for after work.

Hopefully gear changes will have a more positive feel now until my torque mount gets fitted.

Hate vague gear changes.

I love the feeling of the perfect slot in the Mazda after driving the Megane for months.
    The Renault's not the worst shift in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I love the feeling of the perfect slot in the Mazda after driving the Megane for months.

Mk2 focus is very bad.

The car just kinda falls into gear

Mk2 focus is very bad.

The car just kinda falls into gear

I know that feeling, it would drive me mad.
    Ask any of the lads that have been in a car with me, the way I shift I need a good, direct box. :P
    DSG ain't got nothing on me. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Any mazda box I've used is fantastic, even the one in the diesel 6 was nice and diesel boxes are usally that bit crappier. They seem to get the controls just right in all the cars.

Yeah, if there's anything they're good for it's their boxes, my mam's 6 is one of the shortest boxes I've ever used. So much so that it confuses my dad. Haha
    Only fault I can give that car is the steering is a little too light for me. Even with PAS I like it fairly heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Any mazda box I've used is fantastic, even the one in the diesel 6 was nice and diesel boxes are usally that bit crappier. They seem to get the controls just right in all the cars.

If you ever needed proof of mazda's attention to details, the mazda 2 was it. Entire car was torn apart piece by piece and new/better/lighter build materials used for every single part. Ended up saving a huge amount of weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Can't bate a tight little box. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Yeah, if there's anything they're good for it's their boxes, my mam's 6 is one of the shortest boxes I've ever used. So much so that it confuses my dad. Haha
    Only fault I can give that car is the steering is a little too light for me. Even with PAS I like it fairly heavy.

The steering on the GH needed half a turn lock to lock taken off too!
    If you ever needed proof of mazda's attention to details, the mazda 2 was it. Entire car was torn apart piece by piece and new/better/lighter build materials used for every single part. Ended up saving a huge amount of weight

They are a cracking little car to boot. Think they even trimmed down the rear view mirror on those to save weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Exhaust repair 2.0 has been installed on the Levin. In version 2.0 the laptop charger used in 1.0 has been replaced with a bike lock and a hose clamp.

I also had my new windscreen fitted today by Mr Windscreen which lead to getting this :D:D

10AED1B9B2FC4ECEA9EB32249E619D0B-0000363222-0003485112-01024L-A176113B39CE47FF942940E7ED02C99D.jpg