If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

OSI wrote: »
    Regardless of what it is, 11 grand for an 8 year old 5 series is a lot. Especially when you have to shell out another 1500 to tax it. I'd look at taking it below the magic 10 grand figure and price it at €9,950

11 grand for a 520i would be a lot, 11 grand (and the cheapest 06 535d on donedeal) is not. Anyway I'm aiming for close to 10, so I won't advertise it at 10 and take 9, I'll advertise at 11 (maybe drop to 10.5) and take 10.
    Marcusm wrote: »
    German font plates might, for older more conservative buyer, indicate modding/racy image. Ditto what appears to me to be tint on rear windows. I would assume the bigger market is of 35+ guys looking for an exec style car with a bit of poke.

The rear windows were tinted like that from the factory.
    Point taken re plates, I'll take new photos on friday on legal plates.

Bpmull wrote: »
    No harm to stick up a picture with the car idling with the mileage display Idrive screen just so people see there is no warning light and can see the actual mileage up on the screen. Also as said get a picture with the service history a few receipts nct cert keys it just gives people a sense that you look after the car as you have the things kept. The main thing about the ad is to make it attractive enough for someone to come and look at the car and once they come to look at it you practically have it sold it's just getting them to view it is the thing I suppose.

Done. Cheers :)

Its funny, all of this seems so obvious but I;ve never done it before (and I've sold a fair few cars - when you change as quick as I do you gotta sell too!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

YbFocus wrote: »
    I'm the first in my house to have any interest in cars, my da's biggest car to date is his current one, a 2010 1.6tdi Octavia :rolleyes:

He thought it was nuts when I said I was getting a 3.0!

"No need for it in Ireland at all" etc...

Your house sounds cool :cool:

The Trans Am and the 735 were mine, the woman was in the Leggo.

I use the Jeep as a daily now and the 520 gets her in and out of work and is also the weekend car.

Gave myself the short straw there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Big Nasty wrote: »
    The Trans Am and the 735 were mine, the woman was in the Leggo.

I use the Jeep as a daily now and the 520 gets her in and out of work and is also the weekend car.

Gave myself the short straw there......

I can only imagine coming out of the house in the morning and going "hmmm, which will I take" :)

At least you can say you owned them man!

YbFocus wrote: »
    I can only imagine coming out of the house in the morning and going "hmmm, which will I take" :)

At least you can say you owned them man!

I'll be back!

Certainly in a classic 8-pot but less likely in a daily. There's no less cash coming in but there's other priorities going on that made keeping the fleet impractical. Two mortgages for starters. The joys of growing up! ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I'll be back!

Certainly in a classic 8-pot but less likely in a daily. There's no less cash coming in but there's other priorities going on that made keeping the fleet impractical. Two mortgages for starters. The joys of growing up! ;)

Just started a build myself, that car of mine as ordinary as it is, is already looking like a worrying money pit :(

Can't wait for a few years now and to get something interesting, you seem to have had some beauts in your time man.

Trans-Am... consider me jealous. Certainly one of my (many at this stage) bucket list yankmobiles.

Yiz are here a while, surely you saw them posted before?

Old:
    13032011575.jpg
    IMG_1197-vi-1.jpg

New:
    20130915_154807_zps15341ae2.jpg
    20130915_153313_zpsb5d6e934.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

We just wanted t see them again :cool:

And ironically, I nearly ended up with a Cherokee myself not too long ago. That could have been awkward eh.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

I've seen that Trans Am come out of the Ilac Centre!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

pajor wrote: »
    I've seen heard that Trans Am come out of the Ilac Centre!

Sorted that there for ya ;)

Probably did see it before I heard it alright. :P

I've seen that Trans Am come out of the Ilac Centre!

Not when I had it but it's still in Dublin and is a regular at C&C. The 735 is also getting the love from another boards.ie. ;)

Had the 7er for 2.5yrs and the T/A for 5yrs to the day: 23/6/8 - 23/6/13

Two wonderful cars nasty, not much of an American muscle kind of guy but I can certainly appreciate it :)

That's a wonderful pic of the 735 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I saw the Trans Am in the flesh at the C&C 2 months ago, lovely car and the interior was a real surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Quazzie wrote: »
    Rent a quad. You'll enjoy it more, and get to see a lot more of the island.

I'll probably end up doing both to be honest.
    Looking like Zante is go, GF's sister and her fella are booked in down by Laganas, the quiet pair (myself and herself) should be booking for Kalamaki tomorrow. Quads would be perfect for the trip between the towns. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭kirving

Thought I'd ask this in the chat thread, as I don't believe it deserves it's own thread.

I paid a deposit on a 2008 car from a main dealer on the other side of the country, and agreed a price based on it passing the NCT, which the dealer has booked for next week. I believe it should pass as it looks like a pretty clean car all round, just want to be sure on emissions.

I don't have time to go get a bank draft with work(and no car!), so will transfer funds online, which takes a day or two to clear. On top of that, I can only transfer €5k per day, so I'll have to do it in two lumps. Bit of a tricky situation as I need (want) to get it ASAP.

What's the best practice in these situations? Wait another week to pick it up after the NCT, or just take it on face value that he'll get it through the NCT and pay before I get the result and get the car the Saturday after the test?

You're buying the car on the basis that it passes the NCT and nothing needs to be done to it in order to get it through. Wait until it has passed before giving them any money. This means that it's up to them to repair whatever it needs and you still pay the agreed price whereas if you paid money, you'd then have the car and it would cost YOU to get it through the NCT.

Also it will give them time to get it ready for you NCT wise and valeted etc.

I know it's a pain in the arse not having a car but in the long run, I think this is the best thing for you to do.

Oh how I hate that bulb dash light. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I reckon we'll have a thread on Sunday night but there's a one off special on Irish drivers called Mean Streets on RTE1 Sunday at 9.30pm. Even the promo shows some nuts behaviour that we've all witnessed.

Oh,special mention goes to the young wan with a toddler walking out in front of me earlier while she texted oblivious to the fact she was stepping out into traffic.:mad:

So it turns out it may be cheaper for me to fly to canada and drive the truck I'm looking at buying, to the ferry port than to pay an agent to do it for me.

Impromptu holiday to canada? Yes please :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Today I had my first ever component failure to the point of being undrivable in the Levin. :( Not bad going though I don't think after 2 years of happy driving in a 15 year old car :)

What happened was a couple of days ago the strap holding the back box up rusted through on one side. This left the exhaust swinging and hitting the body etc. I didn't drive the car as I had no where to go and cleaning to do so today I took it down to Wicklow to get the exhaust tip welded back on (fell off at the start of the month), a slow puncture fixed, and the exhaust bracket replaced. They said they would have to get the bracket ordered and it would be there by Friday. Unfortunately on the way home the other side of the bracket shaped dropping the exhaust onto the ground :( I pulled in onto a muddy gateway to see what I could do :(:(. I didn't have anything to tie it up with but after a few mins a nice man pulled over and gave me a broken laptop charger to tie it up with :D:p
    It's pretty difficult and scary to lie on your back partially blocking a busy,wet and fast moving R road! While trying to lift and tie up a heavy and sharp exhaust with electrical cable. Anyway here's the job I managed and got me the 2km home :)

AB8B44ED55CF420592B9A622F4177DCA-0000363222-0003484370-00800L-3E757B0E9F464192879E8A6F053BF90A.jpg

I always carry a HiVis vest which I was glad of but I might throw a couple of lengths of rope into my emergency kit too :pac:

Bungee cord and wire hangers will also work as good. :D

Works fine on the carina to keep the boot closed and receive radio reception respectively!:cool:

DedZebra was that a road out in wicklow where you were lying under the car? I'd hate to be on the likes of the old military road under a car...:eek:

Works fine on the carina to keep the boot closed and receive radio reception respectively!:cool:

DedZebra was that a road out in wicklow where you were lying under the car? I'd hate to be on the likes of the old military road under a car...:eek:

It's the road between Ashford and Roundwood. At least on the old military road other cars wouldn't be driving past you at 60+Km/h spraying water at you!

Bungee cord is just the thing! Must put one in my emergency pack :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

One set of these ordered - €235

one crankcase breather kit - €75

Badge, indicator lens and bonnet struts - €30

Saab service kit which includes, 4 NGK spark plugs, air, oil, cabin, and fuel filters 5w30 oil and wipers €50

About 370ish euro

Free delivery

My face upon seeing this :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

I have been playing phone tag for the last 30-45mins with various windscreen replacement companies and Liberty to try to get my windscreen fixed:rolleyes:

Why can't they make these things easy :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Why can't they make these things easy :mad:

Whats the issue?

I had trouble with AllGlass before. They'll never damage another car I own again.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Whats the issue?

I had trouble with AllGlass before. They'll never damage another car I own again.

Well I called one company that does crack repair rather than just replacing the screen. They told me that they work with Liberty and it was no problem. They then called me back to say that they couldn't repair it because the type of damage it was, they then said that a new screen was €490 and could only be bought from Toyota because it's an import. They then said they couldn't do it because I'm with Liberty :rolleyes:

I then called liberty and they put me through to AutoGlass. They then called me back to say that at the time I bought my policy Liberty were working with Mr Windscreen so I had to call them. I'm now waiting for them to call back to make an appointment.

I also curbed one of my alloys today :(:mad:. Really isn't my day :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Just paid tax for the first time on the car and ouch kinda stings a bit :(, still worth it :). Baby on the way though which I'm hoping won't make me sacrifice the car, ill get at least one more year out of it anyway.
    You're buying the car on the basis that it passes the NCT and nothing needs to be done to it in order to get it through. Wait until it has passed before giving them any money. This means that it's up to them to repair whatever it needs and you still pay the agreed price whereas if you paid money, you'd then have the car and it would cost YOU to get it through the NCT.

Also it will give them time to get it ready for you NCT wise and valeted etc.

I know it's a pain in the arse not having a car but in the long run, I think this is the best thing for you to do.

I got my old Accord without a N.C.T head gasket was gone so needed a car a.s.a.p all I done was got it it writing that if it failed the N.C.T that they would fix any resulting problems. Which could be an option.