If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

deise08 wrote: »
    Stupid question.
    currently have 10w30 oil in car. Was given 5w30 yesterday .can I just pour that in or do I have to empty out whats in it!? Would it do any harm if I just put it in?

What car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

What car

05 Micra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

deise08 wrote: »
    05 Micra

I really wouldn't be mixing oils, not even in terms of draining one and using another.
    Your car has a specified oil type, whatever it is I'd use that (and also specced accordingly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Mmm Pizza and internet car browsing
    Oh and beer, need the Polish beer
    I'm considering the top bit very strongly, i can hear dominos calling me :pac: I have a hankering for an old Saab 900 too, I have a problem i know

Haha b*tches, bet ye to it :P I've been all day trying to find out how waters getting into the boot of the 206. It's coming from no where :mad:

Well feck ye anyways! well it has to come from somewhere so maybe start at the top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

EDSBS-Bollywood-Are-You-A-Wizard.gif

Well feck ye anyways! well it has to come from somewhere so maybe start at the top?

I went into the boot and got dad to pour water on the back with the hose :P Now i've just given up and I'm putting fillers in every possible spot that looks like it will let water in!

Jaysus desperate times! :pac:

http://www.pistonheads.com/classifieds?Category=used-cars&M=615&SortOptions=PriceHighToLow

Weekly check done, depreciation still says feck you jim, oh well :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Halfway through this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGWp8R-IqoE

Really enjoyable

Five days after polishing exhaust tips within an inch of their life and they are black again.

Ho hum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Five days after polishing exhaust tips within an inch of their life and they are black again.

Ho hum

Are you sure that's not a TDDI focus? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Any one going to watch Mean Streets tonight at 9:30 on RTE ONE? Might be interesting see all the crazy sh*t that happens on the roads without been behind the wheel for once.

Ho hum

Of course they're going to be black! Carbon doesn't bead :P

Polishing them with metal polish means that the carbon won't bake onto the tips so it's a lot easier to clean off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ho hum

406 exhaust never goes black, just the back of the car.... You're doing something wrong :pac:

Are you sure that's not a TDDI focus? :P

No but on gear changes I'm sure you could cook some marshmallows :p

At the next meet I'll bring some :pac:

Speaking of meets, when is the next bigun?

Dunno i was hoping late feb to mid march ideally.

I guess we will see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

What happened the karting?

I won't have a car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Coming up to a roundabout (a small single lane roundabout) yesterday, I stopped, as you do, to wait to get on to it. I was going straight through (its got 4 exits) and a van was coming on to the roundabout going straight on, or so I thought (no indicator that he was going right). I wasn't taking a chance on it, I had loads of time, and pulled out on to the roundabout to go straight on, but as I did, the van veered around the roundabout towards me to take the 3rd exit. Needless to say I put the foot down to get out of his way, and he absolutely sat on the horn, and made all sorts of lovely gestures towards me, I gave him a good long beep back as I drove away.

I probably should have expected the unexpected and waited to make sure he wasn't going right and just never indicated, so I'm partly to blame, I know that. Especially as I constantly give out about people not using their indicators. What really worried me though, was that this guy obviously believed that it was completely my fault.

I've learned a lesson from it, but he hasn't. I hope he doesn't have to learn the hard way!

Anyone wanna take a stab at what the problemo is here :confused:
    Going like this for ages, mostly after been driven hard, or when reversing.
    The car cut out about 5 seconds after i stopped recording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That is quite a nose :eek:
    No clue man sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Anyone wanna take a stab at what the problemo is here :confused:
    Going like this for ages, mostly after been driven hard, or when reversing.
    The car cut out about 5 seconds after i stopped recording.

Make?
    Model?
    Engine?
    EML on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Sounds exactly like my Passat TDI when the cam lobes wore out.

You'll need to give details on the car other than it's a 03 G.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Make?
    Model?
    Engine?
    EML on?

Ohh, how rude of me :P

2003 Peugeot 206, 1.1 petrol, no dash/warning lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Ohh, how rude of me :P

2003 Peugeot 206, 1.1 petrol, no dash/warning lights on.

Does it even out when you rev it? Is it just the video or it it much louder than normal?

EDIT: Does the exhaust smell normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Does it even out when you rev it? Is it just the video or it it much louder than normal?

EDIT: Does the exhaust smell normal?

When idle the rev pin doesn't really fluctuate up and down. But when i rev it to about 1500 it runs fine. Yeah there's an awful sulfur smell off it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Someone banging to get out of the boot :pac:. Or a blowing exhaust...not sure.