Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

maximoose wrote: »
    Someone takes a vid of themselves necking a drink, and then nominates the next person to do it.

...... Le sigh.......... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

maximoose wrote: »
    Someone takes a vid of themselves necking a drink, and then nominates the next person to do it.

I weep(with joy) for humanity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

"RIP trig" what a total spa
    Ah, what is wrong with this? Everyone on this thread judges everyone else to the point where so called private postings are put on here for everyone to peruse by a pack of know it alls. Ye are all using people you call a 'friend' to entertain people on here. I'd say they would all be very pleased to see the nation looking at their 'private' posts regardless of their education and grammar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

just stumbled upon "Victorian facebook"... class!!! ricky gervais regular contributor... random quote.... "My youngest is coughing up blood.. lol"..
    https://www.facebook.com/hashtag/victorianfacebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Jimmymcnulty86

On my newsfeed this morning I came across a public picture that a friend had liked. It was a certificate to say had passed their driving theroy test, this person had a couple mutual friends.
    On the cert I could see name/address/pps number of the person. There was about 15 comments so I took a nosy surely somebody said it might be a bad idea to post those details publicly, no! all "well done Hun" etc comments.
    Now I think that's really dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭robbiezero

eternal wrote: »
    Ah, what is wrong with this? Everyone on this thread judges everyone else to the point where so called private postings are put on here for everyone to peruse by a pack of know it alls. Ye are all using people you call a 'friend' to entertain people on here. I'd say they would all be very pleased to see the nation looking at their 'private' posts regardless of their education and grammar.

So which one of them is yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

An old workmate has posted an instagrammed selfie of herself crying:confused: Seriously, a close up of her face as she lies on her bed, big upside down smile like a child's picture of a sad person, red nose and tears streaming down her face. Under this she has explained to us that this is how she feels today and is dissatisfied with many things in her life that she will now work on changing in 2014.

Now I have nothing but sympathy for someone feeling a bit crap, but why why why if you're having a cry would you think of photographing, attractively editing and circulating the proof of this? I cringe for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

First ever visit to York. It's pretty cool. Shame the quilting museum is closed :(

If it wasn't for newspaper headlines and the odd rant on the Indo facebook page, I'd close down the account completely as this kind of rubbish is posted by my 'friends' at least five times a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

El Siglo wrote: »
    If it wasn't for newspaper headlines and the odd rant on the Indo facebook page, I'd close down the account completely as this kind of rubbish is posted by my 'friends' at least five times a day.

You need more scobie friends to liven up your feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

You need more scobie friends to liven up your feed.

Stuck up kids they think they are better than everyone else are quite funny.

The likes that use the words scobie, score and like are definitely the most interesting people in society to observe.

GarIT wrote: »
    Stuck up kids they think they are better than everyone else are quite funny.

The likes that use the words scobie, score and like are definitely the most interesting people in society to observe.

You can observe me anytime. I find it a real turn on... I'm not much of a kid though so the state of dilapidated ballsack mightn't do it for you but if you're interested just PM the Kiltimagh Dogging Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

You can observe me anytime. I find it a real turn on... I'm not much of a kid though so the state of dilapidated ballsack mightn't do it for you but if you're interested just PM the Kiltimagh Dogging Club.

Do you have any insight on why there was a word made up so people from Dun Laoghaire can describe people they think they are better than?

I somewhat understand the use of the word scanger, because it describes a dress style etc but I don't understand the need for a word that means "from what I perceive to be a lower class than me".

Do you have any insight on why there was a word made up so people from Dun Laoghaire can describe people they think they are better than?

I believe it was during the Beef Stock famine of 1975, when notorious dole cheat Paul 'Scobie' Scoberson stole Oxo cubes to exchange for butter vouchers to support his 6 illegitimate children from four different mothers. The ensuing court case and the fallout from the different mothers arguing over who was the bigger slut and which one couldn't keep their legs stuck together meant that Scobie became an unlikely folk hero and his nickname became a term of endearment/abuse depending on what time of the day it was uttered.

Or something like that...

I somewhat understand the use of the word scanger, because it describes a dress style etc but I don't understand the need for a word that means "from what I perceive to be a lower class than me".

Tbh, I wouldn't have thought there was any difference between scanger and scobie but that is because of my ill-informed midlands roots where the heather smells like piss and t's are randomly dropped from words. I hadn't realised that 'scobie' was part of the ongoing class war struggle of my proletariat brethren. From now on I'll only use knick knack, scanger and junkie scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Anyone over the age of 20 on facebook has mental issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,426 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

WikiHow wrote: »

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Link?
    Anyone that questions that statement has mental issues.

Don't post in the thread if you don't get what it's about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Brian_Zeluz

Some of the not so subtle bitching here would put the cast of Jeremy Kyle to shame. No need for the handbags at dawn ladies.

Tbf, anyone under 20 on facebook would need to have their head examined. Why would you want to be looking at their parents' selfies or needs to know that Auntie Maeve was caught in traffic for 20 minutes and blames the bankers and the government for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

A beauty blogger has put up a picture of a tweet by Lana del Ray with the caption "such a deep tweet but I love it" it says "When I stand before God at the end of my life, I hope I don't have a single bit of talent left, and say, I used everything you gave me"

The comments underneath have me in stitches "profound", "moving" and "wow" among many.
    I can't figure out if they're being ironic or what! Or maybe it really is profoundly deep and moving and I just haven't the ability to appreciate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

mauzo! wrote: »
    If you look through this thread, it's very repetitive. Everyone posts near identical messages. 'Just havin a cup a tea n watchin x factor' etc.

This guy never fails to make me laugh, it's given other people a few laughs. He's hilarious in real life too. Kind of guy that would do anything for you, but is still a messer :) I enjoy it anyway.

I'll stop posting and we can go back to people posting mundane life updates about how people are 'checking in' in their bed and how much they love their other half.

No! Don't stop posting funny messages. Thread needs more to balance out the bitching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Anyone under the age of 20 has pi$$ed off the SnapChat. So where does that leave us?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

CarMe wrote: »
    A beauty blogger has put up a picture of a tweet by Lana del Ray with the caption "such a deep tweet but I love it" it says "When I stand before God at the end of my life, I hope I don't have a single bit of talent left, and say, I used everything you gave me"

The comments underneath have me in stitches "profound", "moving" and "wow" among many.
    I can't figure out if they're being ironic or what! Or maybe it really is profoundly deep and moving and I just haven't the ability to appreciate it!

All I thought of when I read those words (particularly "wow") is a "Doge" picture with "Wow", "How profound", "So true", etc. as an ideal reply!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

I had this offence to the english language pop up in my news feed recently

http://gyazo.com/2ddf816b5ea1ea39ab883d5e130498c4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

No Idea How to Embed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

threein99 wrote: »
    I had this offence to the english language pop up in my news feed recently

http://gyazo.com/2ddf816b5ea1ea39ab883d5e130498c4

That's brilliant, but can anyone translate it?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

coolhull wrote: »
    That's brilliant, but can anyone translate it?

I'm usually good at these things but even this has me stumped. I get to "rating ye ou" but they've completely lost me when they brought innocent mammals into the situation.

Is it related to deer hunting perhaps??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Wilberto wrote: »
    I'm usually good at these things but even this has me stumped. I get to "rating ye ou" but they've completely lost me when they brought innocent mammals into the situation.

Is it related to deer hunting perhaps??

Yeah something to do with being 'rated' out for deer.