Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

ellewood wrote: »
    loading a mad bitch of a heifer this morning and the nothing do her only break her fecking leg vet coming to her -
    is she going to be for the gun as well??

My one is gone to cow heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    nice, and maybe a new grape as well

Got her one for her birthday hasnt it worn out yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Had a bit of luck, won a Teagasc Drainage manual, very appropriate, I may make a submission to next years eidition :D Delighted with that and the Ploughing tickets earlier in the year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Had a bit of luck, won a Teagasc Drainage manual, very appropriate, I may make a submission to next years eidition :D Delighted with that and the Ploughing tickets earlier in the year :)

What use would you have for a drainage manual, sure you could write one.

td5man wrote: »
    What use would you have for a drainage manual, sure you could write one.

I like to see how the other half live :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I see gerald potterton is giving out about christmas again in the journal. He took some flak for that this time last year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

reilig wrote: »
    There were pikes around here in the 1700's

SuperStock_1889R-29376.jpg

not much need for them since - they're not great for pushing up silage

A two r a four prong pike is wat everyone down this neck of the woods calls um.
    And you never know when they're gonna in handy. They haven't gone away you know. A fork? Well la di da

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I see gerald potterton is giving out about christmas again in the journal. He took some flak for that this time last year :D

And dairy farmers and cows and Athy and jobs in IFA if I remember properly.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    A two r a four prong pike is wat everyone down this neck of the woods calls um.
    And you never know when they're gonna in handy. They haven't gone away you know. A fork? Well la di da

It's a fork around us. A 2 grain or Pitchfork and a 4 grain or Dungfork.

A grape is the fruit of a vine and a Pike is a Coarse Fish. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Bizzum wrote: »
    It's a fork around us. A 2 grain or Pitchfork and a 4 grain or Dungfork.

A grape is the fruit of a vine and a Pike is a Coarse Fish. :)

We have no vines in Leitrim - never had! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We have no vines in Leitrim - never had! :D
    Well around here the women are di vine;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

delaval wrote: »
    Well around here the women are di vine;);)

And you are da cheese......

So so cheesy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

And you are da cheese......

So so cheesy

Smelly too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    A two prong is a fork around here and a four prong is a grape.

Fork is great to stick people in the ar....

Fork is great for moving unchopped hay.

What's a 3 prong then? :)

simx wrote: »

Broken ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

simx wrote: »

They're known as a silage fork - came about the place in the 1970's. It was figured that too much silage fell through a pitch fork which was initially invented for pitching hay into cocks or reeks or later sheds. It was figured that a grape (shortened version of grapple - called a grapple because of the 4 prongs ability to hold onto material like manure covered bedding when lifting it) held on to the silage too well and was more difficult to push up silage with. So out of evolution came the 3 prong fork or the silage fork (some people call it a sprong which is short for silage prong)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

biddy2013 wrote: »
    My one is gone to cow heaven

Yea same as that

one shot, bang bang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

They're known as a silage fork - came about the place in the 1970's. It was figured that too much silage fell through a pitch fork which was initially invented for pitching hay into cocks or reeks or later sheds. It was figured that a grape (shortened version of grapple - called a grapple because of the 4 prongs ability to hold onto material like manure covered bedding when lifting it) held on to the silage too well and was more difficult to push up silage with. So out of evolution came the 3 prong fork or the silage fork (some people call it a sprong which is short for silage prong)!

Have four prong here boss man got a three prong couple of weeks ago way handier for silage a lot lighter to use

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

delaval wrote: »
    [/B]
    Smelly too:D

:D give him a wash next time ur in the shower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Have four prong here boss man got a three prong couple of weeks ago way handier for silage a lot lighter to use

Never seen one around these parts. Good sort of job for part of a Christmas present for the auld lad?

christmas party tonight:pac::pac::pac:

Never seen one around these parts. Good sort of job for part of a Christmas present for the auld lad?

Aurivo has em

Interesting......may have to send the brother to find one in Galway:D
    Although I don't think he'd have a clue what to look for. He's still not figured out which cow is his in the shed.

(cow is out the field hardy harharhar:P)

Kayak has just arrived. Met the dude at the lake and it has 2ft high waves at the moment:eek::eek:

House to myself tonight, weather fit for doing nothing. Got a quiche in the oven and finally there's something on the box worth watching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

House to myself tonight, weather fit for doing nothing. Got a quiche in the oven and finally there's something on the box worth watching!

Real men don't eat quiche!!!

ABlur wrote: »

Real men have a quiche with the other half! ;):D

ABlur wrote: »

I like it better than hunger :D
    Real men have a quiche with the other half! ;):D

She bought it, does that count?

Will it be a hay or silage fork you will use to eat it, and I suppose a hedge knife to cut the fcuking thing:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Real men have a quicke with the other half! ;):D

fixed that for ye :D

Will it be a hay or silage fork you will use to eat it, and I suppose a hedge knife to cut the fcuking thing:D

I was thinking of asking Bob for a loan of the diet feeder.