Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭xtal191

Dont get me wrong, I have no problem with amazon at all. On a few occasions my orders have arrived on different days even though they were dispatched at the same time, before they used to always arrive together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It is weird that stuff dispatched at the same time does not come together... Though I can only imagine what acluster **** is amazon warehouse and Postal warehouses at the moment...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

I have seen some super saver orders recently send half by UPS + An Post, and half by iParcel (Fastway), I wonder have rejigged their warehouses/shipping locations or policies recently.

Guys, a good software or website to extract music out of youtube? Misses has a few remixes favorite that she listens while doing her fitness stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

Guys, a good software or website to extract music out of youtube? Misses has a few remixes favorite that she listens while doing her fitness stuff.

there are plenty of chrome/firefox extensions for that

raymix wrote: »
    there are plenty of chrome/firefox extensions for that

Cheers, I actually found a separate Program that does it. Really handy. Getting one thing, that I could never find even for myself - full Hotline Miami soundtrack, all i need now is drugs! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I've done an RMA for a WD hard drive I have that's wonky.

Do they send you packaging to return it in or do I have to find anti-static bags and that kind of thing?
    Where would I get them from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

http://www.gamebreaker.tv/tech/digital-storm-reveals-1469-steam-machine-steroids/

I'm sceptical about this one. Titan was a bad call tbh, there are better solutions for that price range now, or even cheaper solutions if they are aiming at TVs only.
    Unfortunately I can't find any info about CPU - is it factory overclocked or not to justify totally unnecessary 700W PSU.
    What do you think?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

It doesn't even say what the form factor is :P It could be mDTX/mBTX or mITX or mATX, but the former are rare as hen's teeth of late, the latter is rarely considered particularly small nowadays, and mITX systems generally don't come equipped with 700W PSUs on account of the small ocean of cap-studded PCB not really fitting in a mATX/SFX PSU enclosure very well :p For all we know its a typo or something... or they've got a "small form factor" mobo sitting in a case the size of a small car ;>_>

As for CPU... well, it could be hot, or it could be hot. None of this generation's gaming CPUs are known for running cool and this quickly escalates under OC. I would expect that size PSU is in lieu of the fact that even if the system doesn't come OCd at all DS wanted to give their customers some decent headroom just in case they got adventurous... and let's be fair: a modern quad plus a Titan makes for quite the hotbox-cum-gas-guzzler even at stock clocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

haha

So, Operation "Get my buddy a PC + BF4" was complete success so far.

I invited him to my place and gave him a nicely xmasy wrapped BF4. When he opened he was like: " Ah cheers man, that is awesome". He did not realised it was for PC though... :pac:
    I said to him, that he is going to have to get PC now.
    him: "Yeah...".
    Me: "Well, I am giving you my one"
    Him: "What?! You will sell me it now?!"
    Me: "Nope, I am giving it to you, its yours, but two conditions: You start playing with mouse and keyboard and If I am extremely in **** and I have no money for food I will take it back lol"

He was extremely happy. though he was like " Oh man, I cant take it, its way too much" etc. He could not believe it that it is happening. :)
    So I droped him off home now, he will pickup his daughter from Cresh ( I dont know how you spell it ) and hopefully tonight will have a chance to Set it up. He will become a PC gamer tonight! ( hopefully lol )

On other news, My Asus O play still did not came in. ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

Sure its the gpu and not cpu? 8350 runs hot so ifs theres any issue with the cooler mounting could easily cause issues. I would say add more fans, but as long as you've at least one intake/one outake, there definitely should be no overheating to the point of actual shutdown.

Its the pcie 60 oc slot so i figured that would be to do with my gpu I think its a case of warm bedroom, its not shutting down but I get warning telling me your computer is warm which can be slightly worrying...
    ED E wrote: »
    Run temp monitoring software and see what's causing it.

It say pcie slot is at 60oc....
    Gumbi wrote: »
    How do you know it's overheating? Honestly, with a water cooled CPU that shouldn't be an issue. VaporX cooling is good so I wouldn't think it's that. Maybe the VRMs are overheating?

Def get some software (hardware monitor for example) and check it out.

I run Hwin

I just spent 30 mins playing my v-cores are in the high 40s.
    Out of curiosity could it be the case?
    Sabertooth motherboards have sensors all over the place.
    It could be your case airflow. It was for my P67 Sabertooth. Moar fans.

Thats an interesting point, I've got a bit merc alpha Im not 100% bought on the air flow and since I added the rad, The cooling hasnt been as good so maybe it the case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭McSasquatch

*fills out Be a Friend of ShadowHearth application form*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Surely that's not safe :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

Danger781 wrote: »
    Surely that's not safe :eek:

Doubtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

So, Operation "Get my buddy a PC + BF4" was complete success so far.

Fair play to you,so nice to see things like this in this day and age.

game4it70 wrote: »
    Fair play to you,so nice to see things like this in this day and age.

Well, he was extremely happy. I got him on the Vent and he thanked me even more lol. He got Steam, Vent, BF4 installed. He gave it a go and it works. Looks like his TV can only do 720p, but he said that it looked amazing on ultra settings and he is getting about 50fps. He does not really know what he is doing with setting, so I will come over his place someday and optimise properly and get better performance.
    I did gave him Walking dead game, BF3, Crysis 2 CD-keys I had spare. He set to download Warthunder too, he tried it on my ps4 and loved it. :o He is a very very happy bunny.
    When his daughter goes to sleep tonight, he will come over to play some BF4 with us. Ill take him out for some proper BF4 experience! :D

Hmmm I came over to buddies place. Looks like it barely can do 720p on low settings. 20-30 fps, I don't know, but it should do more. I have a feeling it is not just bf4 that tanking it... Really weird.

Edit: super weird. It gets more fps if you put from 720p to 1600x900....

Hmmm I came over to buddies place. Looks like it barely can do 720p on low settings. 20-30 fps, I don't know, but it should do more. I have a feeling it is not just bf4 that tanking it... Really weird.

What are the specs again to save me going looking for them?

game4it70 wrote: »
    What are the specs again to save me going looking for them?

It's q6600 3gb ram and 6870.

Looks like it gets more fps at 900p then 720p, which very weird.
    I think 3gb ram is a huge bottle neck here. I jus. Checked and my ram usage goes way above 4.5gb when playing bf4...

Thats weird about the higher res.My ram usage only barely goes 4gb with lots of other programs running when playing bf4.I'd have said 3gb would be okish.

Try a not to full locker server as that should better than one of the big maps.
    What about single player is that as bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭deceit

What drivers are you using on the card?

deceit wrote: »
    What drivers are you using on the card?

Beta newest ones i Think, can't remember. I will tell him to try update again just in case.

I am going in to 5gb ram now... Well if anyone got cheap ddr2 ram tell me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

What's the model of the TV?

the_syco wrote: »
    What's the model of the TV?

He is using some old Packard Bell Monitor he had from ages. Its native resolution is 1600x900.

I sow good few videos online of 6870 in action and they all manage 1080p with med settings easily. Though all of them have about 8gb ram. I just think if we could get him 2x2gb sticks that would help him a lot, maybe old 2x1gb would work together so we could get him 6gb ram. That would help for sure to get good few fps.

I was just wondering. In theory even different type ddr2 ram should worktogether? Lets say if we get 2x2gb sticks now and then use different 2x2gb sticks.

The other thing, if we get 3x2gb sticks we can just use them all for 6gb ram in 4 slots ( 3 used slots ), those dont need to be paired, Like 2x2gb and 2x1gb? ( sorry I have flashback from when rams were Simms )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Yeah, I put all sorts of RAM into my dads Socket 775 mobo and it picks it all up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Anyone use Amazon.de? They just sent me a €10 off a €50 purchase code, better than .co.uk have ever done.

By the way lads. I forgot to mention about Asus O play yoke. Its damn great and works like it should. So far it plays every single file in my library. Having a remote just to pop that sucker on and watch something is great. It is a bit pricy, but it is functional and does video playback perfect.