What beer are we drinking this week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

adamski8 wrote: »
    Has anyone had this years dungarvan oatmeal stout? Loved 2011s but not 2012s

Haven't tried it yet but yeah, last years one was a bit off alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

This years is nice enough, I've had a couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

So what is everyone thinking on irish beer of the year? Toss up between amber ella and foam and fury for me.

Rustbucket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ciaran76

So what is everyone thinking on irish beer of the year? Toss up between amber ella and foam and fury for me.

Get a poll going :p

drumswan wrote: »
    Because Im worth it

eNfGLGY.jpg

Ruination is on sale for €6.40

I've tried it before, and nice an' all as it is, I think I'll pass this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

8 cans of heineken in most off licenses is 12e atm :D

Yer grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ruination is on sale for €6.40

I've tried it before, and nice an' all as it is, I think I'll pass this time.

For a 330ml?

I'll probably still give it a go but I won't be getting more than one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭upforit101

drumswan wrote: »
    Because Im worth it

eNfGLGY.jpg

Nice one, I picked up six bottles of The stone IPA 6.9% yesterday - A Christmas present to myself!

matrim wrote: »
    For a 330ml?

I'll probably still give it a go but I won't be getting more than one

355ml

The same as all there beers in the pic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Got in a case each of Founder's Dirty Bastard, Sierra Nevada Torpedo & Sierra Nevada Narwahl for Christmas...

I hate Christmas, this should see me through it :D :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Currently sipping a Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale from Lexington Brewing and Distilling Co.

It's a good beer, I think it's the sort of beer that would be very good for pairing with a lot of foods. I think it would go great with something like Venison with juniper berries.

It's not amazing or anything but considering I got it for free and Alltech got me half cut and stuffed with cheese and steak last night I'll say nice things about them.

their whiskey's are fecking fantastic.

I will say it's dangerously drinkable, it's 8.2%, I poured it about 20 minutes ago and I only have about 1/3rd left, fecking hell.

I did not like it at all. It felt like an average ale with a shot of bourbon adder after, rather than infused with it. Maybe I just only prefer darker stuff barrel aged.

One of my favourite Barrel agged beers was Great Device Rumble so I'm not going to agree with you at all there I'm afraid.

The burbon in this si very, very mild and adds sweetness more than anything else.

Speaking of barrel aged beers, I just opened a bottle of Porterhouse's new beer. It's a Dark IPA that's been aged in Kilbeggan Irish Whiskey Casks. It's called Devil's Half Acre and it rolls in at a whopping 13.5%!!! So far so good but you can really feel the %

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭donnacha

Currently enjoying a Kinnegar Long Tongue - its one of two specials they seem to have released for Xmas. Never been a huge fan of ginger in beer but this blend of ginger and pumpkin seems bang on. I've got the Coconut Porter lined up for tomorrow night.

My vote for Irish beer of the year is definitely going to Amber Ella. Mind you I haven't tried Of foam and fury yet - but hope to get some sample it this weekend. Kinnegars Rustbucket is also a mighty brew - and they'd get my vote for best new brewer in 2013.

donnacha wrote: »
    Currently enjoying a Kinnegar Long Tongue - its one of two specials they seem to have released for Xmas. Never been a huge fan of ginger in beer but this blend of ginger and pumpkin seems bang on. I've got the Coconut Porter lined up for tomorrow night.

I'm having a Rustbucket after putting up me tree with the ball and chain, it's a lovely brew.

Hadn't heard of either of those new Kinnegar brews, Coconut Porter sounds like one for having with the Xmas Chocolate, going to definitely pick up some of that.

Yes, considering I didn't like the Limeburner, or much care for the Amber Ale when they first appeared, Rustbucket is in a different class completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Will defo be trying a rustbucket although im not a fan of reds (if it even is one!)
    Had the coconut porter last night. Nice enough but something didnt quite work for me. Good that they are bringing out something more adventurous than just a regular stout

Will defo be trying a rustbucket although im not a fan of reds (if it even is one!)

There are more hops in it than a regular "Irish Red", but as in Ruthless, the Rye takes the edge off them - which is why I love it so much.

And yeah, it's good to see them bring out some "different" stuff alright, fair play to them for that.

Where did you get the Coconut Porter, I'll be in around the city tomorrow.

I'm having a Rustbucket after putting up me tree with the ball and chain, it's a lovely brew.
    So you like the Rustbucket?

Picked up my Christmas order from Drinkstore earlier, some really nice goodies to get through over the Chrimbo. :) One of them is the Coconut Porter by Kinnegar. If it's anywhere as good as the one I tried from Kona I'll be a happy chappy.

Coconut Porter. I must have a look for that.

So you like the Rustbucket?
    Have I not mentioned that yet?:pac:

Picked up my Christmas order from Drinkstore earlier, some really nice goodies to get through over the Chrimbo. :) One of them is the Coconut Porter by Kinnegar. If it's anywhere as good as the one I tried from Kona I'll be a happy chappy.
    Drinkstore, grand.

I'm popping to The Headline tomorrow, probably come home past it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

Speaking of barrel aged beers, I just opened a bottle of Porterhouse's new beer. It's a Dark IPA that's been aged in Kilbeggan Irish Whiskey Casks. It's called Devil's Half Acre and it rolls in at a whopping 13.5%!!! So far so good but you can really feel the %

Saw this and meant to come on and ask about it. The picture on the drinkstore site showed a bottle of Celebration stout so wasn't sure if it was new or a re-name.

Will have to add one to my Christmas list, which is slowly getting bigger and more expensive every time I check. Last week when I checked with only 1 of each of the things I hadn't tried it was up to €100. That didn't include the new Stone stuff and I'd still have to add on the regular session beer after that. IIRC last year my order was around €160, but some of that did last me until nearly March.

Saw this and meant to come on and ask about it. The picture on the drinkstore site showed a bottle of Celebration stout so wasn't sure if it was new or a re-name.
    It's actually really nice. I've attached a picture (I think?)

Will have to add one to my Christmas list, which is slowly getting bigger and more expensive every time I check. Last week when I checked with only 1 of each of the things I hadn't tried it was up to €100. That didn't include the new Stone stuff and I'd still have to add on the regular session beer after that. IIRC last year my order was around €160, but some of that did last me until nearly March.
    Yeah my list ended up much bigger than I'd planned. :/ Worrying thing is, it could've been bigger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭jsa112

Had a few new beers lately
    • Stone Oak aged arrogant bastard - pretty average
    • Stone ruination - far better, and cheaper, DIPAs out there
    • Nogne 1000 and 1001, very interesting beers. Probably not worth the cost though
    • Nogne winter ale, not bad at all
    • Porterhouse devil's acre, a really good beer. They call it a BIPA, but this tastes like a barleywine. And it is strong like Bazmo said. Probably up there with foam and fury for best irish beer
    • Bear republics red ale, pretty good. But there is a big difference between their other beers and Racer 5.

Just finishing a bottle of Nøgne's half a world away. Really liking this one.

jsa112 wrote: »
    Had a few new beers lately
    • Stone Oak aged arrogant bastard - pretty average
    • Stone ruination - far better, and cheaper, DIPAs out there
    • Nogne 1000 and 1001, very interesting beers. Probably not worth the cost though
    • Nogne winter ale, not bad at all
    • Porterhouse devil's acre, a really good beer. They call it a BIPA, but this tastes like a barleywine. And it is strong like Bazmo said. Probably up there with foam and fury for best irish beer
    • Bear republics red ale, pretty good. But there is a big difference between their other beers and Racer 5.

Actually, a barley wine is probably a good description. Still drinking it now, ha! It's definitely up the with the best Irish beers I've had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭jsa112

Yeah got a little bit left myself. Their louder is not a barley wine imo. Great to have a nice beer like this for around 3.50 euros. I wonder is this on tap in any of their bars. Once foam and fury is bottled, we'll be sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

was lucky enough to try some Black's of Kinsale's specials in The Bierhaus, Cork last night. Unfortunately none of these beers are commercially available but I really hope that they are a sign of what the future might hold regarding the quality of their beers.

We got generous samples of a Double IPA, a Black IPA and a whiskey barrel aged Imperial stout.

Seriously, seriously good beers - all three.

The DIPA reminded me quite a bit of Of Foam and Fury - right up there in terms of quality - right up there with any DIPA in terms of quality 8.2% IIRC.

The BIPA, while I thought not quite as good as the former was also a very, very good example of the style. For me it didn't quite have the length and complexity of the DIPA. Would I buy it? YES! around 9% IIRC

The Imperial Stout is probably the stout/porter I've liked most in a long time. It is a style that I've gone off of late but this was a beauty. Rich, quite dry, subtle whiskey notes, well hidden alcohol, but beautifully light at the same time. Fantastic. Over 10% IIRC

Three superb beers and it should be noted that we were drinking Stone and Beer republic beers while tasting these. There truly is a revolution in Irish brewing this year - long live the revolution!!

I really hope Black's commercially release beers as big hitting and good as the three I tried last night.

Thanks to all from Black's and The Bierhaus!