Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Game By Neil strauss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭seenitall

Wibbs wrote: »
    *though he was just a little bit too full on, very "how to meet people and influence them" kinda thing and the local women weren't buying it at all. He did say that Irish women were a hard sell. :D

I find that there is also an element of caution in Europeans vs. Americans. The Americans I've met mostly seemed exceptionally open and trusting of people's motives, especially ones from smaller communities, compared to Europeans.

I just keep shaking my head and wondering how all this stuff we've been reading courtesy of Balaclava and some others could possibly work on any woman over here. Heck, I tend to proclaim a guy a smoothie or a player if he pays me more than one compliment, let alone anything else. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Balaclava1991

Think it should be ignored though - not even laughed at, as he seems to revel in any reaction at all. Best not to give such sinister abusive stuff oxygen.

Chill out. It's only a laugh!:D

Now iron my shirt, get me a beer and make me a sandwich!;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

I don't think women can truely know what a guy feels like on nights out.

There's 3 types of guys. (imo)

1. Just wants to have fun with mates (chances are he won't pull as he's not looking to)
    2. Wants the ride
    3. Wants to meet a woman which may potentially lead to a relationship.

The guys in no.2, whether they use PUA techniques from a book or not are PUAs. They only care about the ride. So to the girls saying the ones that use PUA techniques are creeps, the ones who don't use techniques from a book can also be creeps.

The ones who use PUA techniques are also in category 2 however probably, so I don't think it's correct saying because you use a PUA technique you are a creep. Women can't know what it feels like to be a guy on the pull.

Men are expected to do the chasing, make the moves etc etc. If a woman isn't "pulled" by the guy the chances are she'll get with someone else so actually closing the deal isn't easy.

Women (in category 2) have it much easier than guys imo.

The secret is to learn from each encounter.

Approaching 100 women and getting told to get lost is worthless if you didn't learn anything.

Instead approach 20 women get rejected, then hit on 15 women and get 5 numbers, hit on 10 more women and get all their numbers and 1 kiss close, then hit on 10 women and get all their numbers, 5 kiss closes and 1 shag.

Week on week improve and improve and improve and within a few weeks you will able to get numbers and kiss closes every time and you'll be getting laid effortlessly.

So you're telling me if I hit on 100 women I'll get 10 shags? :eek::eek:

I love the shags I do!

The secret is to learn from each encounter.

Approaching 100 women and getting told to get lost is worthless if you didn't learn anything.

Instead approach 20 women get rejected, then hit on 15 women and get 5 numbers, hit on 10 more women and get all their numbers and 1 kiss close, then hit on 10 women and get all their numbers, 5 kiss closes and 1 shag.

Week on week improve and improve and improve and within a few weeks you will able to get numbers and kiss closes every time and you'll be getting laid effortlessly.

And some other pua proponent suggested it wasn't a numbers game.

Sadly what Balaclava learns from each encounter is this gem from another post of his I've just read -
    if you are on a night out and you ignore these women and treat them like utter dogsh*t they will actually want to get to know you

You stay classy Balaclava.

Pen.Island wrote: »

I love the shags I do!

If you continue hitting on women at every opportunity you'll just get better and better and better at it until eventually you'll rarely be getting refused.
    You won't be fazed by approaching women like you once used to be.
    You won't have to follow a guide book because you won't even have to think about it. You'll just be in the zone.
    Many guys don't get laid with 10 women in their entire life.
    You could get laid by a different women every day of your life.
    Isn't that something to aim for!!!!!!

GO GET 'EM CHAMP!

Ah, little Balaclava is just messing around with us, though. In reality he's a 22 year old virgin afraid to go out on a Saturday night lest he meet any girls, and so he has decided to make us his captive audience instead. :)

Candie wrote: »

Sadly what Balaclava learns from each encounter is this gem from another post of his I've just read -

Now iron my shirt, get me beer and make me a sandwich while I put my boots on the table!

GO GET 'EM CHAMP!

Best laugh I've had in ages.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Vitaliorange

Candie wrote: »

Its not a numbers game. Its a practice and get better game. Being good with women is a skill you can learn through practice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

seenitall wrote: »
    I find that there is also an element of caution in Europeans vs. Americans. The Americans I've met mostly seemed exceptionally open and trusting of people's motives, especially ones from smaller communities, compared to Europeans.

I just keep shaking my head and wondering how all this stuff we've been reading courtesy of Balaclava and some others could possibly work on any woman over here. Heck, I tend to proclaim a guy a smoothie or a player if he pays me more than one compliment, let alone anything else. :D
    I reckon I've figured where the PUA guys are going wrong with Irish women. Irish people when they meet a really good mate after any sort of absence tend to lead with what non locals think are dire insults. "Ahh jaysus, it's you, you old bollocks/wagon" etc. These PUA guys are using negs, but that's like letting off a fart in the face of an atom bomb around these parts. :D

I love the shags I do!
    I dunno P, I'm soooo much lazier than that. One rejection? "I'll have another beer please. I need a lie down and a cuddle".

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That's actually quite funny. For me anyway. Then again I'm juvenile that way. No feck it that is amusing*. :D

*NB I'm attacking the other half of that nice bottle of Rioja from last night so.... :s:)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I love the door routine.

Sick? Hell it works!:D

"Then she starts freaking out".
    Yep, sounds about right.

Please keep this thread going...I'm crying actual tears:D

Seriously though, what I always wonder with these little scenarios is where the woman's role in the conversation is, beyond enthusiastic agreement. I can't recall ever being in a situation where I'd let a guy I've just met bore the pants off me with a fecking psychotic sounding lecture. I have things to be saying too!

Semele wrote: »
    Yep, sounds about right.

Please keep this thread going...I'm crying actual tears:D

Seriously though, what I always wonder with these little scenarios is where the woman's role in the conversation is, beyond enthusiastic agreement. I can't recall ever being in a situation where I'd let a guy I've just met bore the pants off me with a fecking psychotic sounding lecture. I have things to be saying too!

You'll love this. :)

This is a clip from a show Louis Theroux did a number of years ago when he met Ross Jefferies who was the father of speed seduction and is believed to have been the basis of Tom Cruise's hilarious character in Magnolia (Respect The Cock! Tame The C*nt!)

Jefferies is a living legend.

Rather than being locked(as I am now: Rioja 1, Wibbs null point), this should be a sticky. No really. More informative and fun that way. Pure AH, informative and fun, with the hint of WTF and heres why thrown in. I bloody love AH I do. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

you really take this stuff seriously Balaclava. I find it strange because in your first post you spoke fairly coherently and relayed succinctly your own experience.
    I read The Game and The Mystery Method and a few other related books tried out some of their techniques and had a lot of fun chatting up loads and loads of women which I had never done before and probably wouldn't have done if I hadn't read them.
    I didn't need to read them in the first place and I don't need them now.
    All I needed to know and I didn't before was I just needed to get over my fear and relax and take a chance and talk to women.
    That's all there really is to say.
    you could have just stopped right there but you didn't. For some reason, you decided that wasn't all there was to say and you edited that post to add more and more and have continued to talk about the topic for near on 24 hours. If you were confident and bold enough to stop at that initial contribution you could have achieved a lot more with a lot less effort. Maybe that's something you could add to your repertoire with future candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Somehow this seems apt
    Next Friday
    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/psychopath-night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

The thing that gets me is the fact some guys advocate approaching women with the intention of being rejected to 'warm up'. Like wtf? In a perfect world, I approach only one girl a night and we spend the night together and enjoy ourselves. If the first approach doesn't go well I approach another and so on. To f*ck with overcoming nerves, they are the same eating, breathing and sh*tting creatures as you. Deal with it.

If you approach a girl spitting all these lines etc. that seem to hide your interest and preserve your ego, you're fooling nobody. When a girl is approached by a lad she knows exactly why he's done it, especially in a club. So just do everyone a favour, cut to the chase and be honest with yourself and her and state your intentions in an appropriate way. You don't have to be like 'oh baby you're so hot let's smash' but genuine remarks that convey interest and desire for people like 'hey you seem really cool, my name is ___ and I think you're cute' bla bla bla are better...

Wibbs wrote: »
    Rather than being locked(as I am now: Rioja 1, Wibbs null point), this should be a sticky. No really. More informative and fun that way. Pure AH, informative and fun, with the hint of WTF and heres why thrown in. I bloody love AH I do. :)

Wibbs seems to be the only person around here who is treating this thread with the amount of gravitas it deserves, and the topic at hand with the respectful consideration it demands.

Buck up, folks. Look sharp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

This thread would put you off dating for life!

beano345 wrote: »
    This thread would put you off dating for life!

Carbon dating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

The thing that gets me is the fact some guys advocate approaching women with the intention of being rejected to 'warm up'. Like wtf? In a perfect world, I approach only one girl a night and we spend the night together and enjoy ourselves. If the first approach doesn't go well I approach another and so on. To f*ck with overcoming nerves, they are the same eating, breathing and sh*tting creatures as you. Deal with it.

If you approach a girl spitting all these lines etc. that seem to hide your interest and preserve your ego, you're fooling nobody. When a girl is approached by a lad she knows exactly why he's done it, especially in a club. So just do everyone a favour, cut to the chase and be honest with yourself and her and state your intentions in an appropriate way. You don't have to be like 'oh baby you're so hot let's smash' but genuine remarks that convey interest and desire for people like 'hey you seem really cool, my name is ___ and I think you're cute' bla bla bla are better...
    I know it's a bit different but I don't think I would be capable (or stupid enough) of approaching a woman deliberately (with the intention of "bagging" one). I remember years ago someone asked me had I read The Game because apparently I "play it well". I genuinely hadn't a clue what they were on about. In my defense I really wouldn't be trying, I wouldn't consider most women in that capacity so it's nice surprise the odd occasion when I find out they do. Admittedly, it is sincere so maybe it only works when you're not actually trying to screw them.

pharmaton wrote: »
    I know it's a bit different but I don't think I would be capable (or stupid enough) of approaching a woman deliberately (with the intention of "bagging" one). I remember years ago someone asked me had I read The Game because apparently I "play it well". I genuinely hadn't a clue what they were on about. In my defense I really wouldn't be trying, I wouldn't consider most women in that capacity so it's nice surprise the odd occasion when I find out they do. Admittedly, it is sincere so maybe it only works when you're not actually trying to screw them.

But...if you are going out to "bag" someone, which is what most guys try/want to do on nights out you can't treat every girl like she's the only one there. You have to go into it with the mindset that if she doesn't like you, just brush it off and onto the next.

Btw I never try and pull on nights out but that's my problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

pharmaton wrote: »

But I don't approach a girl thinking 'oh yeah she's the one I wanna go home with tonight'. I approach girls who catch my eye and think are worth talking to. If I just wanted a f*ck from anyone I'd go to the dancefloor, find someone and take them home. But yeah I approach the girl because she's attractive to me naturally and I'm going to let her know that, how subtly or obvious depends on the moment...if I don't like her based on talking to her etc. I move on. I approach girls out of pure natural desire to be in their company and be part of their time and to enjoy myself. It's a natural thing. I don't go talking to them just so I can have sex with them, that's just an added benefit when it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

But...if you are going out to "bag" someone, which is what most guys try/want to do on nights out you can't treat every girl like she's the only one there. You have to go into it with the mindset that if she doesn't like you, just brush it off and onto the next.

But girls can pick up on that and it's a turn off.

Pick up on what?

Most of the lads I know who are succesfull with women are pricks (i.e couldn't give a **** about them).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

But I don't approach a girl thinking 'oh yeah she's the one I wanna go home with tonight'. I approach girls who catch my eye and think are worth talking to. If I just wanted a f*ck from anyone I'd go to the dancefloor, find someone and take them home. But yeah I approach the girl because she's attractive to me naturally and I'm going to let her know that, how subtly or obvious depends on the moment...if I don't like her based on talking to her etc. I move on. I approach girls out of pure natural desire to be in their company and be part of their time and to enjoy myself. It's a natural thing. I don't go talking to them just so I can have sex with them, that's just an added benefit when it happens.
    Yeh that's the healthy way to go about it. Going out with "Must have sex, must have sex" attitude every time one goes out - I've never understood (I emphasise "every" time one goes out; no harm in it the odd time - you can't help horniness). From men OR women. If sex happens, it's a happy bonus.

Lads are more inclined to want sex though than a woman on a night out. Women prefer to know fellas longer before doing the deed imo. But if you ask a guy would he go home with a girl on a night out I would guess the percentage saying yes would be 90%+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Pick up on what?

Most of the lads I know who are succesfull with women are pricks (i.e couldn't give a **** about them).

Pick up on the fact that you are going from 1 girl to another until one eventually says yeah ok. It's not flattering.

It all depends on how you measure success though.